QUOTE(mnajem @ Oct 12 2021, 03:58 PM)
wah you are replying to a 4-yo post.Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.
Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.
Oct 13 2021, 09:49 AM
5,529 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Nov 18 2021, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 17 2021, 08:00 PM) Did anybody read anywhere saying that ALL FOREIGN INCOMES MUST BE REMITTED BACK ? Yes, just attended a talk conducted by tiger bank and one of the big 4s. Did anybody read anywhere that ALL FOREIGN INCOMES will be taxed regardless of where they are ? Did anybody read anywhere that Msia will impose INTERNATIONAL TAXATION ? Yes, all foreign sourced income remitted back to msia will be taxed. income arising from dividend, interests, etc, but excludes capital gains, so if you use the income to reinvest and make further gains, then they will see how they will tax you, this part is still pending clarifications from the MOF, but be sure to keep your documents ready. however, they are also trying to seek for exemption for certain things like dividend income, which has already been taxed at source country, should not be subject to tax again. but this is now still pending from MOF. Will share more once I hear from them again. thanks. Edit: on the bolded, especially for those companies with real substance, i.e. for example, manufacturing plant overseas, hiring ppl, paying overheads, sell goods, making income then declare dividend type of companies/businesses. This post has been edited by tehoice: Nov 18 2021, 12:50 PM donhay, wongmunkeong, and 1 other liked this post
Nov 18 2021, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 18 2021, 12:48 PM) Yes, just attended a talk conducted by tiger bank and one of the big 4s. Another keyword is also remittance, you will be taxed when you remit/repatriate it back to the country, so they are also seeking for more clarifications, because prior to 2003, they have this "deemed remittance", now it's not there.Yes, all foreign sourced income remitted back to msia will be taxed. income arising from dividend, interests, etc, but excludes capital gains, so if you use the income to reinvest and make further gains, then they will see how they will tax you, this part is still pending clarifications from the MOF, but be sure to keep your documents ready. however, they are also trying to seek for exemption for certain things like dividend income, which has already been taxed at source country, should not be subject to tax again. but this is now still pending from MOF. Will share more once I hear from them again. thanks. Edit: on the bolded, especially for those companies with real substance, i.e. for example, manufacturing plant overseas, hiring ppl, paying overheads, sell goods, making income then declare dividend type of companies/businesses. So from accounting perspective, your FSI will be recorded in your books on a consolidated basis (group level), but you will not be taxed for this, if the money hasn't been repatriated back to the country. hope this clarifies. Note: i am not tax expert, but merely sharing what i learnt from the tax experts from one of the big 4s. not the bogey ones. This post has been edited by tehoice: Nov 18 2021, 12:53 PM donhay, wongmunkeong, and 1 other liked this post
Nov 18 2021, 12:55 PM
i got some materials, but i am not consented to share it publicly for now. until i have the greenlight. thx.
Nov 18 2021, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 18 2021, 01:17 PM) QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 18 2021, 01:19 PM) Yes, based on what I learnt this morning, you are right. Capital gains are not taxable at the moment.QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 18 2021, 01:19 PM) thanks for update... Not all monies remitted or repatriated shall be taxable, only the income (revenue in nature) not gains (capital in nature).i just wanna know monies in overseas banks, stocks, etc. as at 31 dec 2021, are these tax-free or not when remitted in future... |
Nov 18 2021, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 18 2021, 01:28 PM) KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 16 — The Inland Revenue Board (IRB) is offering a Special Income Remittance Programme (PKPP) to Malaysian residents who have income deposited abroad. That's why it is very important to keep all your documentations and proper record so you can explain clearly if being audited.The agency said this is in line with the abolishment of tax exemption on foreign-sourced income, which was announced by Finance Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz when tabling Budget 2022. “The programme will be implemented from January 1 to June 30, 2022, during which a gross tax rate of three per cent will be imposed on income repatriated back as proposed under the Finance Bill 2021 “There will be no audit review, investigation or penalty on income brought in during the PKPP period; all income brought in will be received in good faith by IRB,” it said in a statement today. IRB said other criteria include the income must be brought in or remitted within the PKPP period and taxpayers must make a declaration to participate in PKPP at the latest within 30 days after the expiry of the period. Besides that, it said, tax payment must be made in accordance with the normal payment order prescribed for the year of assessment 2022 or 2023, whichever is applicable. The programme does not cover income derived from Malaysia which is subject to tax for the year of assessment 2021 and subsequent years of assessment and remitted or brought back in the period of PKPP. “After the expiration of the period, IRB will review and examine the income information of Malaysian residents deposited abroad that has been received through tax information exchange agreements with other countries. “If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said. Therefore, IRB said taxpayers are encouraged to participate in this special programme in order to update their tax position. It added that it would issue a list of frequently asked questions and guidelines related to PKPP to the public which could be found at IRB’s official portal. — Bernama https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...sidents/2021425 so yes, income (revenue in nature) shall be taxable and gains (capital in nature) shall not be taxable, based on my knowledge now. |
Nov 18 2021, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 18 2021, 02:17 PM) Just curious, did you ask them about funds like ASNB, EPF or mutual funds that invest overseas? What kind of tax treatments are given to their foreign dividends/interests etc. ? the same shall be taxed on these entities too (some other participants also brought this up), so in a way, our income from EPF would also be taxed at certain level.however, like what MUM mentioned earlier, those special entities would have some special exemptions, it wasn't very clear still, they are waiting for the MOF to clarify as well. So yes, on personal level, if your mutual funds distribute dividends, it shall be taxable because it is revenue in nature. This post has been edited by tehoice: Nov 18 2021, 02:36 PM |
Nov 18 2021, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 18 2021, 02:56 PM) ... old foreign income from few years back... hence the problem if taken literally it is taxable Yea, i think it is also a good way to mitigate this, tax planning is important.Maybe can hold 7 years until the statue runs out and remit... But i think it's also very important to keep the proper documentations and record, just in case if you need to repatriate it back. QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 18 2021, 03:54 PM) Wanting to thank Tehoice here for the good updates shared with us from his seminar,.... No worries, just sharing what I learnt.Bros,... I think IRB has a lot of work to do after this. I honestly doubt the tax officer will chk all our documents to justify whether to grant exemption or not. Actually one of the main reasons why they want to do this is also to: "Serve as a revenue-raising measure for the government and in response to European Union's recent inclusion of Malaysia in the "Grey List" (just early October 2021). QUOTE(Vector88 @ Nov 18 2021, 03:54 PM) Thanks @tehoice, a little clearer now. Based on my understanding, yes. 1) Capital gain not taxable 2) dividend taxable 3) If both forever not remitted back to MY, then not taxable, correct ar ? Interest income is also taxable yea. TOS liked this post
Nov 18 2021, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 18 2021, 05:52 PM) HK also grey-listed, but it didn't bow to the EU and retains its tax structure. Seems like MY has no bargaining power. haha okay, let me share with you what's their views on HK, and what HK is doing in trying to uplift themselves from the grey list.HK's response to being added to the grey list: 1. Continue to adopt the territorial source principle. 2. Legislative amendments to target corporations with no substantial economic activity. 3. Individual taxpayers will not be affected. Credit: one of the big fours. Edit: So essentially, we can't really say that HK is not doing anything in response to this also. This post has been edited by tehoice: Nov 18 2021, 06:07 PM TOS liked this post
Nov 26 2021, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 24 2021, 03:47 PM) keep it simple lah... imho further question. send 100k out... bring back 100k... capital money, no tax share sold with profits... bring back capital gain profit 50k, should be no tax share paid dividend $100... bring this back kena tax how you roll your money, margin loan or not... all these are inconsequential... if you reinvest your dividends received turn it into capital. then this capital makes further capital gain. you decide to bring back these newly made capital gain. how should it be treated? |
Nov 26 2021, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 26 2021, 01:56 PM) just follow dividend reports showing the values...anything else is capital & profit... can stress enough.I would only bring these dividends back after retirement below taxable threshold... so effectively paying zero tax lawfully... so just make sure at any time, account value > sum total of dividends received... this proof you haven't brought back any dividends... bottom line is, keep your documentations in good order. |
Dec 27 2021, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 27 2021, 03:53 PM) Bros and Sis,... the word here is always : remit back. yes the keyword is remittance.The moment you need to bring back in,... then you'll have start thinking what is the right thing to do. Like,.... in my case now,... I am thinking,... since my USD dividends will be tax-withheld anyway by the IRS, I can bring them back to Msia and will enjoy tax-credits. But I can't back any SG dividends at all. Let's see after writing the above, will the faqs change to say that USD dividends will never be granted tax credits, regardless,.... However, is there any loosely defined term of remittance? or any deemed remittance? |
| Change to: | 0.0353sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:09 AM |