Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.

propriete
post Jan 26 2024, 04:41 AM

195 posts

Hello, a quick one. If I am NOT a tax resident in Malaysia, but I opt for my oversea salary to be received in Malaysia bank. Do I have to proof that this income has been taxed in source country? TIA.

Ps: It's just hassle to get tax cert from my current company.
propriete
post Jan 26 2024, 10:44 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 26 2024, 07:35 AM)
While waiting for real sifus that really knows this stuffs, ...I just kay pph, ....I think, if the transferred in amount is consistent, and large, ....the banks may report it to the authorities.  Perhaps under the BNM directives of suspicious transactions reporting?
The transfers are consistent and mentioned my name on a monthly basis. It's clear that they are monthly salary. But I don't work in Malaysia and not a tax resident.

I know for MY tax resident, they have to prove that this income already tax in source country to qualify for exemption. My question is for NON-resident, is it a blanket tax exemption? or I still have to prove? I can prove with passport that I'm not tax resident.

0.0163sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:04 PM