Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.

post Dec 23 2021, 09:27 PM

761 posts

QUOTE(myoliech @ Dec 23 2021, 09:24 PM)
Hi all experts, just wondering if someone remits $$$ into a Malaysia bank account, say RM200k before 31/12/2021, the bank would usually call the account holder and ask about the incoming remittance. Usually what is the right answer to tell the bank? And what is the purpose of the bank calling the account holder? Is it for compiling data, for anti-terrorism financing efforts, etc? TQVM for being patient with me.
Like you mentioned, AML and anti-terrorism financing acts. They need to understand that the monies coming in are legit, and not from an illegal source. And also if it's taxable tongue.gif

Added: In most cases, they will ask you to furnish documents supporting what you just mentioned. I remember PBB asking me to furnish documents on some small amount of compensation from Amazon once, like not even 500 ringgit worth of USD.

This post has been edited by 000022: Dec 24 2021, 10:26 AM
post Dec 31 2021, 09:01 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 30 2021, 08:15 PM)
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mof-...nsourced-income

U-turn already.

So if I freelance for a US company and they pay me via Wise, do I need to pay taxes?
Yes. This has always been the case, regardless of the foreign income exemption. Your work here in Malaysia generated you the income. Unless of course, you're not based in Malaysia.
post Jan 1 2022, 07:22 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(ruudygh @ Jan 1 2022, 02:04 AM)
I work freelance from msia for an australian company. They pay me USD to my msia bank acc every month.
My work is very simple, only need a laptop and a few clicks, once a week, and job is done.

So if i bring my laptop to singapore every weekend and do a few clicks then come back JB, do i have to pay tax? blink.gif  blink.gif
Am not sure if that is the case, might be better to ask a tax accountant. But there are appeal cases against LHDN's decision on this:
https://chengco.com.my/wp/2018/03/16/local-...foreign-income/ , so generally, if the tax accountant is confident that you shouldnt be taxed, then it's your call.

0.0346sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:22 AM