4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.

dwRK
post Nov 17 2021, 09:42 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 17 2021, 09:29 AM)
my guess is,
if you can proof that that money is legally acquired in Malaysia, paid taxes and had documented proof that, that money was transferred out of malaysia previously....
then i guess you should not be taxed...

something like
"Taxpayers are going to have difficulties in dealing with this issue since the monies would have been accumulated over a long period of time and unless you have good records, you may have difficulty in arguing that the amount remitted is capital in nature."

in the link posted in post 133....
me thinks is related to not disclosing the info in the tax form... then they can penalize you... if can't prove is capital from Malaysia, they can just assume is fsi and tax you again...

anyways... gov getting desperate... stupid things can and are happening...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 17 2021, 09:44 AM
dwRK
post Nov 17 2021, 12:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 17 2021, 09:56 AM)
other than "counter checking" with the tax form,....

for it mentioned in earlier link,...
"IRB will review and examine the income information of Malaysian residents deposited abroad that has been received through tax information exchange agreements with other countries."

for most Malaysians working in Spore but stayed in JB, i think they don't submit ITR form to LHDN.....
so i guess LHDN does not know about the foreign a/c if LHDN just rely on the "tick" for disclosing in the form...
yeah... also if you have income locally but working and paying tax overseas... you need to pay local tax too... maybe it's related to this
dwRK
post Nov 17 2021, 09:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 17 2021, 08:05 PM)
Bro,... even if you disclose the money was from Msia, taxation contention shld still not come into play here because this money that you remitted out is post-tax, for which you have diligently paid tax onto earlier, before you have this extra funds to send out, right ?

Why shld the jurisdiction have any prejudice towards this money of ours that we TT'ed out earlier ?
eh... this thread suddenly hot n heavy... smile.gif

no. if you expat/tax residence outside... and say got rental income in Malaysia... quite sure a lot of ppl don't disclose, lari tax n send money out... we're supposed to pay non-residence flat rate tax... des why they talk about punca di Malaysia and penalties...

this is different from some of the other discussion here... separate topic from foreign sourced income...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 17 2021, 09:39 PM
dwRK
post Nov 18 2021, 11:47 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 18 2021, 12:06 AM)
Bro,.. to this topic we are talking here,... it's hard to write. We're going in separate directions. Anyway,...

To ur second paragraph,.. I know very well what yu are talking abt,... many pals in Aus doing this,...but I can't understand how you relate this to punca di Malaysia,...

To ur third paragraph, you are right. It's quite a different matter,... but you can relate too,.. why, because, you were the one who said this earlier,... what abt the money we sent out earlier and then bring back in 2022 and beyond ? Why shld we be taxed for our own money here, right ?
a real shit show lah mof and irb dragging us through... to be fair to us here, the tax accountants and lawyers are also scratching their heads based on headline statements by mof/irb...

anyways wait for irb faq ahh... no point wasting time on suppositions... can't beat stupid...

i'll continue to move some monies back before year end... but like most of us will still keep some offshore
dwRK
post Nov 18 2021, 01:19 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 18 2021, 12:48 PM)
Yes, just attended a talk conducted by tiger bank and one of the big 4s.

Yes, all foreign sourced income remitted back to msia will be taxed.

income arising from dividend, interests, etc, but excludes capital gains, so if you use the income to reinvest and make further gains, then they will see how they will tax you, this part is still pending clarifications from the MOF, but be sure to keep your documents ready.

however, they are also trying to seek for exemption for certain things like dividend income, which has already been taxed at source country, should not be subject to tax again. but this is now still pending from MOF.

Will share more once I hear from them again. thanks.

Edit: on the bolded, especially for those companies with real substance, i.e. for example, manufacturing plant overseas, hiring ppl, paying overheads, sell goods, making income then declare dividend type of companies/businesses.
thanks for update...

i just wanna know monies in overseas banks, stocks, etc. as at 31 dec 2021, are these tax-free or not when remitted in future... wink.gif these are currently tax-free when remitted, the new law shouldn't retroactively tax "old fsi monies"...
dwRK
post Nov 18 2021, 01:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

but the other big question is... what the heck are these?

"Selepas tamat tempoh tersebut, pihak  HASiL akan menyemak dan meneliti maklumat-maklumat  pendapatan  pemastautin  Malaysia  yang  disimpan  di  luar  negara  yang  telah
diterima melalui perjanjian pertukaran maklumat percukaian dengan negara-negara lain. 

Sekiranya  berdasarkan  semakan,  didapati pendapatan  yang  disimpan  di  luar  negara yang berpunca dari Malaysia masih belum dilaporkan, taksiran tambahan boleh  dibangkitkan berserta dengan penalti selaras dengan peruntukan Akta Cukai Pendapatan 1967."

and this...

PKPP tidak melibatkan pendapatan yang terbit dari Malaysia yang tertakluk kepada cukai bagi tahun taksiran 2021 dan tahun-tahun taksiran seterusnya dan diremit atau dibawa balik dalam tempoh PKPP.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 18 2021, 01:27 PM
dwRK
post Nov 18 2021, 01:39 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 18 2021, 01:28 PM)
hmm.gif  mentioned: income repatriated back,...what about capital or income with capital + capital gained over the years? how to separate it out?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
burden of proof is on you... if cannot proof, TAX!!! and FINE!!! sweat.gif
dwRK
post Nov 18 2021, 02:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 18 2021, 02:31 PM)

Not all monies remitted or repatriated shall be taxable, only the income (revenue in nature) not gains (capital in nature).
... old foreign income from few years back... hence the problem if taken literally it is taxable

Maybe can hold 7 years until the statue runs out and remit...
dwRK
post Nov 19 2021, 09:45 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 18 2021, 03:48 PM)
Bro,...

Think I'll reply to your curiosity here first. After reading that article a few times and discussing with my pals today,... that article is meant more for companies that derive foreign income from their overseas customers and clients. The goods and services 'sold' to those overseas customers were 'produced' in Msia.

But when payment is made,... the funds were 'parked' in overseas accounts,...  biggrin.gif

IRB going after these companies now.
thanks bro... I slept on this a while, I came up with similar answer smile.gif

"Selepas tamat tempoh tersebut, pihak  HASiL akan menyemak dan meneliti maklumat-maklumat  pendapatan  pemastautin  Malaysia  yang  disimpan  di  luar  negara  yang  telah diterima melalui perjanjian pertukaran maklumat percukaian dengan negara-negara lain. 

Sekiranya  berdasarkan  semakan,  didapati pendapatan  yang  disimpan  di  luar  negara yang berpunca dari Malaysia masih belum dilaporkan, taksiran tambahan boleh  dibangkitkan berserta dengan penalti selaras dengan peruntukan Akta Cukai Pendapatan 1967."

when IRB uses the term permastautin, they usually refers to individual residents, not companies...so your friends slightly off here...

1st para example, they can ask USA, give them all W8Ben on Malaysian and any income taxes paid, maybe even bank account number and values... but for countries that you have no tax, financial or banking presence, it will be almost impossible for IRB to check

2nd para ties in with below...

PKPP tidak melibatkan pendapatan yang terbit dari Malaysia yang tertakluk kepada cukai bagi tahun taksiran 2021 dan tahun-tahun taksiran seterusnya dan diremit atau dibawa balik dalam tempoh PKPP.

the 3% doesn't cover local source income parked offshore for ya2021 onwards... current law is you need to include in your filing and pay your individual tax rate anyways because it's locally sourced... just in case some smart ass try to be funny, IRB put this extra warning to ppl...the "belum dilaporkan" from 2nd para refers to the filing...

anyways gonna chill n wait for faq...

cheers

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 19 2021, 09:54 AM
dwRK
post Nov 19 2021, 10:04 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 18 2021, 06:33 PM)
You guys may want to look at this too:

https://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...=5000&bt_sequ=2

Scope of Taxation

An individual who is resident in Malaysia is taxable on all income accruing in or derived from Malaysia and on income received from outside Malaysia. The scope of taxation of an individual depends on his resident status.

I should read it as "income received from outside Malaysia" upon remittance?
QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 18 2021, 06:39 PM)
i read as by refering to the way the sentence are framed....YES.
if not yet remit from outside, then means not yet received in M'sia
no no no... this is slightly different...

If you are resident Malaysia and the "economic activity" is in/from Malaysia... you pay tax per your normal filling... it doesn't matter where it's banked in or you remit or not...

dwRK
post Nov 19 2021, 11:19 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 19 2021, 10:41 AM)
if you are resident Malaysia and the "economic activity" is in/from Malaysia... you pay tax per your normal filling.....it doesn't matter where it's banked in or you remit or not.

what if i do investment in M'sia like Unit trust funds or SA/Wahed/etc....that focused in overseas...i think that is also economic activity and this economic activity is in/from Malaysia
i don't pay tax per my normal filling

the dividend distributions of the unit trust from the gains and dividend income received in the holdings of the UT .....are reinvest
if the UT fund or SA/Wahed/etc did not remit income back (when i don't redeem) then it does not matters or does matters?
UT investment is slightly different... capital gains should remain tax free...div and int income currently exempted from tax, that's why we don't file it... there was a time we need to file these but probably way before your time wink.gif

if you look at the US, it doesn't have reinvestment, all funds are distribution type precisely because div & int are taxable at respective payers tax rates...

it's going to be tough to change all the local UT... but imho is a way around it... the fund house will do the segregations and issue a tax statement how much is taxable and not... you just have to report the taxable as income

anyways there's a very strong push back for these to be exempted... will have to wait for the fine prints

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 19 2021, 11:30 AM
dwRK
post Nov 19 2021, 05:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 19 2021, 05:10 PM)
Tq first, bro,....

It's hard to write and debate ilke this,... that's why sometimes, when discussions become complicated, I'd rather drop-off,... we can't talk face-to-face anyway.

I was earlier referring to that article three days ago in The Malay Mail, which was published at 10.30pm that night. THat article was solely in English. That article,... like I mentioned,... is more targetted for companies, not individuals.

In your texts above, you are using the word : pemastautin, a Malay word. This word came up from a different article, which was not discussed with my pals. My pals wouldn't
t be wrong then if they were only commenting on the English article from The Malay Mail. That's all,... anyway,.. I'm not here to defend my friends, bro,... lame activity here,...

Better talk abt : pemastautin. YES - you are right, when this word in used, it normally refers to an individual person,... but,.... emm,.... if you look at some documents in the IRB website, could be referring to companies and businesses too.
thanks for replying bro... no worries lah, yum cha easy to talk... ding dong here troublesome ... I just gonna chill out lah... weekend already... got better things to do man than talk tax... smile.gif
dwRK
post Nov 22 2021, 11:01 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 21 2021, 09:48 PM)
Aust financial year is 1 July - 30 June while Msia financial year is the calendar year (1 Jan - 31 Dec). If you have assets in Aust and is a non-resident, then you pay a flat 10% tax. Declaring yourself as a non-tax resident may actually save you tax if your income (from your assets) is quite substantial.
maybe you thinking of witholding tax...

Let me quote you an example:

Let's say you have an income of A100k. As a non-tax resident, you will pay a flat 10% which is A10k. Now if you were a tax resident of Aust, you will have a tax bill of around A23k (not including the 2% Medicare levy). This is why a lot of people do not want to stay more than 183 day/yr in Aust so then they become non-tax resident and their tax bill is a lot less.

resident cheaper...
dwRK
post Nov 22 2021, 11:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 21 2021, 09:54 AM)
i have a question here:

This tax is based on tax residency.
I believe it means one that is staying in malaysia for 180 days of the tax calendar year.

If one is staying in Aus, but having his/her income coming into Malaysian bank account, how does this work?

Thanks in advance.
foreign source income implies you're local tax resident/payer with foreign income... if you're now a foreign tax resident with foreign income, this law probably doesn't apply to you...

but you can't simply stay >180day somewhere and declare you're not a local tax resident anymore... need to clear tax with irb and tell them sayonara...

and now any income in malaysia (e.g., rent out your old house, etc), you supposed to pay a flat-rate non-resident malaysian tax...and also top-up foreign source income tax to you australian tax...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 22 2021, 02:24 PM
dwRK
post Nov 24 2021, 02:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 24 2021, 01:02 PM)
hmm.gif good scenario,...
if i have lhdn undeclared money overseas,...i used that to buy property,...i mortgage that property (loan money),...take that "loaned" money back to Malaysia with all the paper work of that loan...

hmm.gif  hmm.gif
very good... no more foreign sourced income...now very much like money laundering... rclxm9.gif

joking ah... obviously you got paperwork where money comes to buy house... but money still need to flow back out wor to service loan... nett zero

dwRK
post Nov 24 2021, 03:47 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Nov 24 2021, 03:37 PM)
Was thinking the tax implications if I perform a margin loan backed by securities on foreign brokerage. If I pay the loan back with my salary, then it's already taxed locally normally. If my securities price go up, then sold to pay back the loan, then does my initial loan remitted back to Malaysia becomes realized capital gains instead?

Feels like a mess and open for interpretion and potentially incredible harmful to the honest tax payer...
keep it simple lah... imho

send 100k out... bring back 100k... capital money, no tax

share sold with profits... bring back capital gain profit 50k, should be no tax

share paid dividend $100... bring this back kena tax

how you roll your money, margin loan or not... all these are inconsequential...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 24 2021, 04:26 PM
dwRK
post Nov 24 2021, 04:29 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 24 2021, 02:46 PM)
Loan is serviced in the country of loan origin,... While earning income n pay taxes there. Maybe if can use to offset some taxes for loan repayment too 🤔🤔 ( like offset interest on loan when seeking rental income tax rebate in msia)
Loaned Money back to msia if can no tax 👍👍

🤑🤑😁
too cryptic... cannot decipher...
dwRK
post Nov 26 2021, 01:56 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 26 2021, 11:23 AM)
further question.

if you reinvest your dividends received turn it into capital.

then this capital makes further capital gain.

you decide to bring back these newly made capital gain.

how should it be treated?
just follow dividend reports showing the values...anything else is capital & profit...

I would only bring these dividends back after retirement below taxable threshold... so effectively paying zero tax lawfully... wink.gif

so just make sure at any time, account value > sum total of dividends received... this proof you haven't brought back any dividends...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 26 2021, 02:03 PM
dwRK
post Dec 13 2021, 09:56 AM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbullies @ Dec 13 2021, 06:26 AM)
This criteria's a little funny though.

They said they will accept any locally sourced income brought in from overseas during the PKPP period without conducting any "audit, investigation and penalty."

Then how would they know if someone decide to bring back locally sourced income parked offshore for YA2021 onwards under this scheme since there won't be any audit/investigation?

By logic, since this scheme will start from 1st of Jan 2022 until 30th of June 2022, shouldn't the criteria be YA2024 onwards instead since any locally sourced income that is brought in from overseas after the date the scheme ends can be easily differentiated & tracked?

rclxub.gif
they know when you have inward xfers to your account... they say will close one eye won't investigate how you get the funds provided you declare in a special form and pay 3% tax

after June, any new taxable transfers you declare in YA2023...

they won't track all the xfers... they just flag suspicious ones then ask you come prove to them its legitimate... so it's up to you to track your own...

dwRK
post Dec 13 2021, 05:39 PM

the consummate chartist
6,224 posts

QUOTE(Cyberbullies @ Dec 13 2021, 04:07 PM)
Which is why I don't understand the YA2021 onwards rule lol.

I don't see how the violation of this rule will not happen given the good faith promise (up to June 2022 of course).

Can you think of any legitimate reason why they included this superfluous rule?
this is them covering their base lor imho...

some smart ppl might take advantage of the 3%... so instead of declaring and paying tier rate for YA2021... they try push it to 2022 and pay 3%...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0354sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:32 PM