[PF] T.J.
post Mar 16 2015, 11:08 AM

24,193 posts

Grats grats laugh.gif
Would be nice to have more non-macro photos in this thread, and also less talk on buying stuffs laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 18 2015, 09:03 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Mar 17 2015, 11:58 PM)
Been a long time since I last posted, just to share some photos from my travel to SG recently.

Still having a hard time getting used to EVF though.
Great photos man, but wrong thread liao haha laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 18 2015, 02:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Mar 18 2015, 01:13 PM)
Spam spam spam. The thread is so quiet.

Wah sifu wub.gif wub.gif
The lens of the Canon AV1 is a bit too long, would be nicer if its shorter- not so blurred out because of the DoF laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 18 2015, 02:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Mar 18 2015, 02:40 PM)
Sifu please advise.  laugh.gif

Okay. I will tell the owner of the Canon AV1 to change to a shorter lens next time.  whistling.gif
Please buy new lens for the AV1 otherwise I pose your monkey and crapping photographing stance here brows.gif brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 18 2015, 05:29 PM

24,193 posts

I also have laugh.gif
user posted imagePhotowalk V2_4 by PF T.J., on Flickr

user posted imagePhotowalk V2_5 by PF T.J., on Flickr

user posted imagePhotowalk V2_2 by PF T.J., on Flickr

More in my Flickr~

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 18 2015, 05:31 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 20 2015, 03:36 PM

24,193 posts

Back to macro laugh.gif

user posted imageSpiny-tailed gecko (Hemidactylus frenatus ?) by PF T.J., on Flickr

Found this supposedly common fella in an abandoned shed near the forest.

The red-coloured "spots" on the fingers/toes are actually parasitic red mites! @@

user posted imageCommon Garden Spider- Parawixia dehaani ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

The Common Garden Spider is not exactly very "common" to most people, simply because these spiders only come out during the night, where they wait on the centre of their large webs for prey .

During the day, the spider will abandon its web (without destroying it), and hide on or inside nearby tree leaves.

More on Macro Photography here: PixelsDimension
Check out Malaysia's wildlife here: WildLife Malaysia
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 20 2015, 04:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Mar 20 2015, 04:04 PM)
Wanted to ask .

Currently I am choosing between d700 and d600.

D600 is lighter, newer, more megapixel and Bette high ISO (not sure).

D700 is heavier, bigger, better AF system.

That's the main differences that I can see, both of them are around 3k used. I am going to pair it with 35mm or 50mm f1.8g. The 35mm works on ff too albeit with little bit of vignetting right?

Which is the better body to choose? I don't really need the higher MP but its handy to have.
QUOTE(alpha001 @ Mar 20 2015, 04:34 PM)
better AF is better, can nail more shots. I personally choose d700/d750
+1.. or perhaps save more for a used D610 or D750?
D600 seems a bit risky to get cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 21 2015, 10:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Mar 21 2015, 11:59 AM)
Happy Saturday guys!  biggrin.gif

There is more on my Flickr if you are interested  wink.gif
Awesome photos! Very very nice~
Keep it up man thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 21 2015, 10:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Mar 21 2015, 12:56 AM)
the dust issue? I thought Nikon will replace it for free or?

hmmmm the 200g more on the d700 and also the age puts me a little off compared to the d600. it seems that I have to go Nikon TS to try them when i'm free to get the answer.

Anyone has used 35mm dx or 50mm f1.8 letting go?  tongue.gif
Even if they change for you for free for a lifetime its not worth it if your d600 spends more time in the sc than in your hands huhj T____T
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 21 2015, 10:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 21 2015, 05:35 PM)
Sifus sekalian. I am planning to get UWA zoom soon.
Who here has own/tested Tamron 15-30 VC before ?
Kinda attractive given the price, compared to 16-35 F4 vr
Maybe can ask wkwong91 sifu, he is looking for something similar and has been doing some research for some time icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 21 2015, 10:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Mar 21 2015, 10:41 PM)
they're not replacing it with a d610 shutter? (the fixed ones) instead of using the "new" d600 shutter?  shocking.gif
Dunno neh haha tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 23 2015, 06:12 PM

24,193 posts

Macro come liao brows.gif brows.gif
user posted imageOrange longhorn beetle (Cerambycidae; Coleoptera) by PF T.J., on Flickr

This moderately large longhorn beetle displays some striking orange and metallic green colourations- awfully attractive!

As the name suggests, longhorn beetles are beetles that have long antennae "horns" which may be longer than their bodies.

user posted imageGiant centipede- Scolopendra subspinipes by PF T.J., on Flickr

A giant centipede! Probably a different subspecies or different colour morph this time (as opposed to the usual one which is mostly red in colour).

This beautiful centipede has legs that vary from green to yellow to bright red- nice!

user posted imageOrchid mantis nymph- Hymenopus cf. coronatus by PF T.J., on Flickr

This tiny but beautiful mantis may likely be the 1st instar of the beautiful, famous and ferocious orchid mantis that many people adore.

When can I actually see an adult? T____T

user posted imageHuntsman spider- Heteropoda sp. by PF T.J., on Flickr

This huntsman spider was waiting for prey on some patches of lichen during the day- must be real hungry. Despite this, it wasn't easy to locate this spider!

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 23 2015, 06:15 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 24 2015, 08:08 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageParallel-spined Spiny Spider (Gasteracantha diardi) under UV illumination 1 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Spiders are easy to find at night, mainly because their eyes will fluoresce when being shined by UV. However, certain spiders have entire body parts that fluoresce instead.
It is unclear as to why this happens. Some say its for males to locate the females; some say its an attractant towards preys; and some say it serves as a warning to the spider itself that its exposed (under moonlight) to predation.

user posted imageParallel-spined Spiny Spider (Gasteracantha diardi) under UV illumination 2 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Top view of the spiny spider. Note that certain parts of the body appear brighter than others.

It is too bad I have been conned about the wavelength of the UV torchlight- this one is way too bright (390nm)!

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2015, 10:54 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Mar 24 2015, 10:26 PM)
I only have 85 mm lens, so ill just spam this focal length... laugh.gif

so which one better?
85mm is a superb focal length wub.gif

Can't see the 2nd one laugh.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2015, 01:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Mar 25 2015, 11:19 AM)
Hi guys, as mentioned before I'm extremely new to not only DSLRs but photography in general. I'm still learning about ISO, exposures etc. So now I'm just using the setting file as provided by Ken Rockwell, he's using Portrait picture control for people and Vivid for landscapes & objects. I thought it would be great to get me started.

But on my D750, the portrait picture control seems to be like too bright, almost like over-exposed compared to Vivid with every other setttings unchanged. Is this common? What do you guys use to shoot people/portraits? Or probably I'm missing something?

Settings from here (scroll down to Usage): http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d750.htm

Sorry if this seems to silly a question.

By the way, I'm letting go a Nikon 50mm 1.8G just in case anyone interested. smile.gif
Ken Rockwell has the tendency to exaggerate things. Its best not to follow his shooting style hmm.gif

Most people start off using Program (P)> Shutter Speed (S)> Aperture (A) and eventually Manual (M) modes; as this will give you a rough picture of how each settings work and how they are related to one another. At the end of the day it doesn't matter what mode you use for your shooting so long as it gets you the result you want nod.gif But usually its best to learn about the basics so that you know what settings to use if needed.

Just in case you are not familiar:

Feel free to ask if you have any more questions thumbup.gif
I'm sure the sifus here will be more than willing to share their advices notworthy.gif It may all sound very complicated in the beginning, but after more shooting it can only get easier ~
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2015, 11:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Mar 26 2015, 11:32 AM)
Thanks for the super valuable info bro! I am actually testing all modes and settings right now, but a bit like on reverse. That's just how I learn new things at my age now. smile.gif
Perfectly understandable man, everyone has his or her way of learning thumbup.gif
If you are shooting manual, be sure to keep check of the light meter display (usually within the optical viewfinder); that meter will inform you whether your shot will be underexposed or overexposed with your current camera setting thumbup.gif
All the best~
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 27 2015, 05:22 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageHeavy Jumper- Hyllus diardi ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

A mature, large and very hairy heavy jumper. Despite the scary-looking appearance, heavy jumpers are usually shy, sometimes even curious.

Since they are relatively huge, and don't really move around much, they make great photographic subjects.

Same individual, but 2 moults more than this one: https://www.flickr.com/photos/59583171@N07/15865035734/

user posted imageDouble-striped Carrhotus- Carrhotus viduus ♂ by PF T.J., on Flickr

This curious little spider can be recognized fairly easily by its thick, white moustache.

Often found in gardens, this spider can usually be found waiting on leaves for prey. Unlike many other Jumping Spiders, this one seldom flees when photographed.

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 27 2015, 10:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slow stalker @ Mar 27 2015, 08:59 PM)
Hi every sifu here  whistling.gif  just have a question about is it worth change my kit lens 18-55mm VR to vivitar 135mm f2.8(nikon mount)?I dont mind losing the auto focus and set all the setting myself rolleyes.gif 

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Mar 27 2015, 09:50 PM)
what cam u use, srsly manual focus on dslr is pain a in the a** sweat.gif
easier on sony a7 line(video/photo)
btw fixed prime lens is good for practicing photography thumbup.gif
I agree, its going to be very difficult, especially for portrait-style, full-bodied shots- the subject's face will be so small you can't really tell whether its in focus or not cry.gif
Times like this face detection will come in more handy than normal autofocus haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2015, 02:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Mar 28 2015, 12:28 PM)
2nd shot is so beautiful  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(d@odao @ Mar 28 2015, 12:32 PM)
Agreed... 😊
Thank you guys notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Shot was taken using Raynox + 105mm + flash, more light coming in