Sep 30 2016, 04:04 PM
400 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(Loseeker @ Sep 30 2016, 03:42 PM) Well, I think the Sony fans didn't realize you've already had your eyes set on the zeiss 55mm f1.8. Because you asked about FF bokeh, so they advised you to get a good nikkor lens for that bokeh look. I personally think the A7R ii is overkill for you. Just go with the first option, the A7ii + the 2 lenses. Don't buy beyond your mean. Just my 2 cents. Yea, actually i was thinking to get A7ii, by the time i want click down the "Place order", i suddenly found a review regarding A7ii focusing system weakness, especially in low light, even worst than entry level DSLR. This thing is stopped me from continue looking at this model....By the way, I got my camera and a lens from Kengdim also. Very good service. So... really quite complicated in my mind to make decision....argh... |
Sep 30 2016, 04:08 PM
899 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: The Land of Smile |
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:04 PM) Yea, actually i was thinking to get A7ii, by the time i want click down the "Place order", i suddenly found a review regarding A7ii focusing system weakness, especially in low light, even worst than entry level DSLR. This thing is stopped me from continue looking at this model.... Can you share the link? Perhaps in the sony fanboy page and see what they think ? So... really quite complicated in my mind to make decision....argh... Just a simple reference to A7ii AF, please refer to : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SMFI3dc0ZQ This post has been edited by Loseeker: Sep 30 2016, 04:19 PM |
Sep 30 2016, 04:11 PM
11,861 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bangalasia |
best is ask your friend who use nikon system and lend you 35/50mm f/1.8, then ask another sony system friend lend you body and lens together and compare... also compare AF focus system before you waste money and then regret XDDD
Sep 30 2016, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(Loseeker @ Sep 30 2016, 04:08 PM) Can you share the link? Perhaps in the sony fanboy page and see what they think ? Bro, is actually a comparison video between focusing of A7ii and DSLR and iphone 6 or 6s (4got d), i remember A7ii just having difficulty in low light focus.I been asking this question in Sony thread, and there was an actual A7ii user feedback the same thing for me, he is jumping from Canon entry DSLR to A7ii He do agree that the focusing of A7ii lose to DSLR, even entry level one. But still, he told me he is enjoy using this camera, and i saw all his photo with 55 1.8, just fabulous. QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:11 PM) best is ask your friend who use nikon system and lend you 35/50mm f/1.8, then ask another sony system friend lend you body and lens together and compare... also compare AF focus system before you waste money and then regret XDDD My group all use Nikon and Canon... nobody dare to buy Sony for their very own reason.My area also a small town, camera shop only have A6k and Nikon D800 the most expansive unit for test, other need pre order. Ask JB sony center also no show unit... sign... |
Sep 30 2016, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:24 PM) Bro, is actually a comparison video between focusing of A7ii and DSLR and iphone 6 or 6s (4got d), i remember A7ii just having difficulty in low light focus. You know, you can use AF assist light to help in AF. And ask yourself, how frequent you need to shoot in those extreme low light condition? There will be way to work around your gear limitations. I been asking this question in Sony thread, and there was an actual A7ii user feedback the same thing for me, he is jumping from Canon entry DSLR to A7ii He do agree that the focusing of A7ii lose to DSLR, even entry level one. But still, he told me he is enjoy using this camera, and i saw all his photo with 55 1.8, just fabulous. I hope you don't mind me saying this, you worry too much.....and it started to sound like you haven't really understand the full potential of your D5200. I think it will make more sense to just stick to your D5200 with better lenses as others already pointed out. You might be very surprise with what it can do for you with the right lens, instead of blindy chasing after gears, which will leave you disappointed in the end if you don't know how to unleash their full potential. Better gears doesnt necessary mean better image. Again, just my 2 cents. This post has been edited by Loseeker: Sep 30 2016, 04:50 PM |
Sep 30 2016, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(Loseeker @ Sep 30 2016, 04:36 PM) You know, you can use AF assist light to help in AF. And ask yourself, how frequent you need to shoot in those extreme low light condition? There will be way to work around your gear limitations. Yea, is ok, i know u all are giving the best word to me. Much Appreciated.I hope you don't mind me saying this, but it started to sound like you haven't really understand the full potential of your D5200. I think it will make more sense to just stick to your D5200 with better lenses as others already pointed out. You might be very surprise with what it can do for you with the right lens, instead of blindy chasing after gears, which will leave you disappointed in the end if you don't know how to unleash their full potential. Better gears doesnt necessary mean better image. Again, just my 2 cents. I admit that i never fully used the D5200, as i said i wanted to shoot in FF in someday. And, i am the kind of person like to one shot to get the best one, instead of slowly upgrade. So once i know there is FF system with better sensor, better bokeh, better IQ (maybe?), then i stop investing in APS-C field. Again, i thank you for your words, u guy are just too kind to me instead of keep poison me, haha really appreciated, i will take all the consideration before fire my bullet. |
Sep 30 2016, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:51 PM) Yea, is ok, i know u all are giving the best word to me. Much Appreciated. Welcome Bro, and thanks for not taking my words the wrong way! I admit that i never fully used the D5200, as i said i wanted to shoot in FF in someday. And, i am the kind of person like to one shot to get the best one, instead of slowly upgrade. So once i know there is FF system with better sensor, better bokeh, better IQ (maybe?), then i stop investing in APS-C field. Again, i thank you for your words, u guy are just too kind to me instead of keep poison me, haha really appreciated, i will take all the consideration before fire my bullet. |
Sep 30 2016, 05:00 PM
2,452 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawakland |
happen to come across this blog which i find quite interesting ...
http://petapixel.com/2016/09/29/wont-buy-new-camera/ But of course depends on what you want to do, and most importantly how you justify your upgrade. Im still using my d300. but less lately due to other commitments, I shot my own product advert using the d300 results still quite decent. for the most part, lightroom and photoshop can do a lot of 'saves'. Just the shutter might be dying on me. it got stuck a few times last month. Only when Im needed to shoot video, then I would bring out the d600 ![]() 160828-celica-05 by Gerald Lim, on Flickr |
Sep 30 2016, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Sep 30 2016, 05:00 PM) happen to come across this blog which i find quite interesting ... Good article, thanks for sharing gerald7. While reading it, I stumbled across another great article.http://petapixel.com/2016/09/29/wont-buy-new-camera/ But of course depends on what you want to do, and most importantly how you justify your upgrade. Im still using my d300. but less lately due to other commitments, I shot my own product advert using the d300 results still quite decent. for the most part, lightroom and photoshop can do a lot of 'saves'. Just the shutter might be dying on me. it got stuck a few times last month. Only when Im needed to shoot video, then I would bring out the d600 ![]() 160828-celica-05 by Gerald Lim, on Flickr http://petapixel.com/2016/09/28/tip-rush-c...k-lenses-first/ |
Sep 30 2016, 06:26 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
Sep 30 2016, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:04 PM) Yea, actually i was thinking to get A7ii, by the time i want click down the "Place order", i suddenly found a review regarding A7ii focusing system weakness, especially in low light, even worst than entry level DSLR. This thing is stopped me from continue looking at this model.... I find slow AF annoying whenever I wanna take candid shots. So... really quite complicated in my mind to make decision....argh... The moment you able to focus the subject, the special moment gone I got that a lot during my days in uni where they asked me to shoot for stage event in college. Some events like orchestra cannot use flash and need to perform under low light. Hard to get good photo. |
Sep 30 2016, 06:38 PM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Sep 30 2016, 06:26 PM) Waaa....I don't really know that... usually shooting on film slr(Pentax Me Super & Olympus OM10)..this is my first time owning digital slr. My colleague need urgent money so sell me all that for RM1k. I take it.Any dslr sifu around here suggest me...izzit okay to use my old manual lens on digital slr( my case : pentax 50mm 1.4 lens on nikon) using adapter... is there any calibration/other setting needed to be done? This post has been edited by avatargod: Sep 30 2016, 06:46 PM |
Sep 30 2016, 07:29 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sep 30 2016, 07:41 PM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Sep 30 2016, 10:14 PM
1,557 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 30 2016, 02:50 PM) My initial idea was same with you, selling my Nikon and jump to Sony Mirrorless FF, but Sony fans ask me to stay in where i am. Hmm.. I din really compare the prices and from which dealer. But i found a dealer selling a7ii at rm4823. timesquare one and it's sony set, not import.So i came to here and survey Nikon, mana tahu here people also say the same thing... Yea, i really love how the image is presented by using that 55mm 1.8 zeiss, and the price is affordable for me. But Sony camera body price is no joke... So now i considering 3 combination: Sony A7ii + 55mm 1.8zeiss + 16-35mm F4 zeiss Sony A7R ii + above same lens (not enough fund for this, but can installment) Nikon D750 + 50mm F1.8G ED Bro, the seller is KengDim, which have a shop in Cheras. he is selling official Sony Malaysia Warranty set. Both Shashikin and KLDSLR also selling this lens at the same price. Perhaps you go update your list =) |
Sep 30 2016, 11:02 PM
14,899 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
Sep 30 2016, 11:24 PM
Sep 30 2016, 11:42 PM
Sep 30 2016, 11:46 PM
14,899 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
| Change to: | 0.0182sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:42 PM |