Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.25, D500 out now

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 1 2015, 03:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slow stalker @ Dec 1 2015, 12:47 PM)
No model for me to shot portrait  cry.gif
Yeah, same here haha, that's why I turned to shooting bugs.. its really sad actually haha cry.gif

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 1 2015, 01:32 PM)
Thanks Tan Ji, I see you branched into wedding photography already eh recently  brows.gif
Haha, not really la bro, just helping and teaching some friends laugh.gif
Not easy to do wedding photography on a part time basis huhu

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Dec 1 2015, 01:40 PM)
I was thinking to get 85mm last time but at the end... x jadi... I also poor liao la.  cry.gif
Eh tipu one ni, everyday eat fancy restaurant icon_idea.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 8 2015, 09:33 PM

24,193 posts

It's been a while laugh.gif

user posted imageHeavy Jumper- Hyllus diardi ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A mature, large and very hairy heavy jumper. The hairs and bristles on this one appear to display some slight yellowish tint (its usually white). I wonder what governs the colour variation.

Despite the scary-looking appearance, heavy jumpers are usually shy, sometimes even curious.

Since they are relatively huge, and don't really move around much, they make great photographic subjects.

user posted imageOrange comb-footed spider (Theridiidae) ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

ID appreciated! smile.gif

A tiny comb-footed spider in brilliant orange. A brown variant was also seen. This mother spider is busy protecting her egg sac.

user posted imageEriovixia sp. ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Seen quite a lot of different Eriovixia morphs, not really sure whether they are of the same species. If they are not, what governs the difference in colour?

Is it food, genetics, or other environmental influences that we know not of?

More on Macro Photography here: PixelsDimension
Check out Malaysia's wildlife here: WildLife Malaysia

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 12 2015, 08:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 12 2015, 07:45 PM)
last minutes buy some "bullet" for my dslr...

today went to lowyat want to get 64gb x 2 CF card, did research of the price from lowyat main page... so price is 289 i researched... i checked date of the price list is april 2015 so i think price will drop like phone price...

then when i go there...boom... 370 per card.

ouch.

i didn't expected memory card rise up that much... summore i bought 2.  doh.gif  cry.gif
laugh.gif Need so many or not sifu?
My 3x 32GB cards (sharing with Fuji) seems quite enough already hmm.gif
But I will usually bring my HDD and laptop along for professional work la, just in case tongue.gif For the price of the CF cards you can even buy an SSD liao drool.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2015, 12:42 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 12 2015, 09:34 PM)
8gb = 100 shots (actually lesser, 94 something for raw only), so i guess 64gb=800 shot.
i will go trip for 16 days wor... duno la because this time is my dream trip so bring more better than less.
my last turkey + athens + santorini, about 2 weeks, i got 8gb CF + 16gb SD inside, i go borrow my brother in law 32 gb micro SD, 8 GB sd card...something... still not enough... my old HTC M7 phone with 16gb built in one also pecah memory because i shot video there...

thats why now change to LG G4 and get 64GB card for video spam, 128GBs for shotssssss , mainly for upskirt some highschool girl in train  whistling.gif
ayam use 1gb when i use D70s, 300 plus shot for that, till when i get my 8gb card (now in D800), it was jacked up to 1.2k shots ayam so terharu and like bring my machine gun snap snap snap... when change body, become 300 shots left  doh.gif

i didn't bring laptop so i buy big storage one  unsure.gif
Ohh, just for your info, you can actually shoot at 16MP, that will double, or triple the amount of shots you can actually take brows.gif
This feature works well with the 24-70 since you won't gain that much range (after x1.5) thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2015, 12:43 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2015, 12:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 13 2015, 12:55 AM)
true also, but just potential of cropping image will be lesser or not? i also lazy to keep switch setting every time XD  unsure.gif

or actually i loss wide angle only? 24 into 35mm widest in 16mp
Yeah, shooting in DX mode will reduce cropping potential since you reduce the 36MP to 16MP laugh.gif 16MP is still plenty to crop what brows.gif And since the photo sizes are smaller, editing will be much faster too in LR and Photoshop.

You can actually customize the FF --> DX --> FF conversion into one/two buttons, its very straightforward and fast actually; there's no need to go into menu to change. I would recommend you to try it out, its one of the most amazing things of the camera haha... took me 1 year to realize that doh.gif

The trick is to switch between FF and DX intermittently, depending on what you shoot. E.g. wide angle shot, or shots that require the full potential of FF, then shoot at FF. For extra zoom (1.5x), or not-that-important shots, shift to DX. Doing this will greatly reduce the amount of space taken up by the photos thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2015, 12:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Dec 13 2015, 01:43 AM)
Guys and Sifus,
Currently I'm planning an upgrade into full frame.

But I'm am facing a dilemma on either to stick with Nikon and opt for (D610) or switching into Mirrorless ( Sony a7 2nd hand )

I'll be mainly focusing on doing pre-wedding shots and actual days.
(Currently assisting my friend)

Thanks in advance.
I would definitely make the jump if only shooting for weddings thumbup.gif Its too bad its very difficult to shoot macro with mirrorless cameras cry.gif

The biggest thing that you will be giving up is the feel of the optical finder, although that's also the main reason for the bulkiness and weight (D610 is actually not very heavy already lo laugh.gif laugh.gif ); but you gain quite alot from the mirrorless system, especially when the sensors in Sony/Nikon are similar (right?).

The nicest thing about shooting with mirrorless cameras (I have an XT1) I think, apart from the relatively light weight, would be the face detection functon (to me, at least). Its not easy to get faces in focus with an optical viewfinder in some cases where you want to have very thin DOF; and shooting with Liveview on a DSLR is kind of awkward too sweat.gif

Of course, there are alot of useful functions which are not present in some FF DSLR like WiFi, which is kind of weird since they can be quite useful. And then there's the neat stabilization feature drool.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2015, 12:21 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2015, 01:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 13 2015, 01:14 PM)
not yet have that habit, in trip always have unexpected shot one. like walk on street see ah moi from far, later want shoot baru tau forget switch...  sweat.gif

best is to have all 36mp only haha. since i already bought the card canot turn back liao  laugh.gif
since after i get back to PC, i zoom in and find something funny inside photo one. normally when i shoot i dont care much one haha... me is shoot and run type  hmm.gif

Haha, yeah its quite understandable; everyone has his or her own shooting style thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2015, 03:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 13 2015, 01:48 PM)
one thing can make sure is 128gb sure can tahan more  brows.gif  laugh.gif
QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Dec 13 2015, 03:19 PM)
Tarak money la guys laugh.gif
I wonder how many MP does the upcoming D5 has? 24MP?
As for ISO, I guess it doesn't really matter even if it can go up to 409600 like the Sony A7... most of the time we are not going to shoot at those levels anyway, its more like a marketing gimmick..

As a macro shooter who also shoot some other events, I wish Nikon will come out with something like the 50MP Canon and the MPE65 super macro lens laugh.gif It will certainly help me with my research and work... but then based on Nikon's history I think its just wishful thinking cry.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2015, 10:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 13 2015, 09:40 PM)
jump to canon la, problem solved  brows.gif

Shooting into the sun is a lot harder than I thought, so hard to balance the exposure  rclxub.gif

Donasi plsss notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Anyway, I don't really like the ergnonomics of Canon camera's, that's how I ended with Nikon in the first place haha~

Nice shot btw! notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2015, 09:04 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 13 2015, 10:42 PM)
too bad you can adapt nikon lenses to canon bodies but not the other way, how about this lens? http://www.venuslens.net/laowa60/

thanks  biggrin.gif
Thanks for sharing 2:1 laugh.gif
Unfortunately 2:1 is not good enough in terms of magnification for scientific work.. I'm looking for something that is comparable, or only slightly simpler than that of a dissecting microscope. Only the mpe65 fits this scenario sadly cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2015, 09:13 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 14 2015, 12:11 AM)
oh yeah, was talk about trip with friend, then we talk about electronic voltage thingy...

so any one of you use AP set DSLR ? what you use with it in malaysia?

because my one is japan AP set, so i checked japan is 120V, malaysia is 240V.

a little skeptical because one of my friend phone (note 2) mother board fried during his japan trip... so i'm kinda scare my charger fried too if use here. (if i travel to japan, that one i have to worry my phone charger there...)
Ahh.. I happened to come across the same topic yesterday. In fact, I noticed that plenty of DSLRs that have a cheap price tag usually have a China-style charger.

You have to check the adapter or manual of the device for the details.. most electronic devices have a range of 120-240 laugh.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2015, 09:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Dec 14 2015, 01:36 AM)
DSLR more durable ?
Optical view finder cant see clear under strong sun rite? and the EVF will be able to adjust itself iinw.

yea mirrorless lens expensive, but Nikon juz bought over Samsung mirrorless tech right?
really hope nikon could step up its mirrorless tech.. wanna be nikonian 4eva

battery mirrorless one not that good compared to DSLR.
I think the acquisition of Samsung tech by nikon was just a rumor hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2015, 01:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Atsumori @ Dec 14 2015, 11:42 AM)
i need opinion guys
i have D5500
i want to buy extra batteries, is it ok to buy 3rd party batteries like DSTE EN-EL14?
Nikon Original EN-EL14a very expensive, i want to save money to buy prime lens.
Like what the others have suggested, I think it will be nice to stick to ori batteries as its less risky.
Recent Nikon promotions offered free batteries as well. I think 2nd-hand ones can be relatively easy to find since several models may share the same batteries hmm.gif

Personally, having 2 batteries will be most useful, especially when you are covering events or having vacation overseas. Of course, learning to review photos less after each shot will help conserve batteries i.e. the more you use the screen, the faster you will lose battery life. laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2015, 04:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 14 2015, 01:58 PM)
i 1 battery shoot 2 days  whistling.gif  tongue.gif
maybe 1 day now...
It depends on how much photos you take also one ah laugh.gif
Oh ya, it also depends on the temperature... the battery won't last under cold conditions cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2015, 10:56 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageMother Cyrtophora with giant egg sac- Cyrtophora sp. ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A colourful tent spider in brilliant yellowish orange. This mother spider was busy connecting silk lines to her egg to make sure that the egg doesn't fall.

Probably the same colour morph as this one: https://www.flickr.com/photos/59583171@N07/...g-kqymXr-jLpeeW

More on Macro Photography here: PixelsDimension
Check out Malaysia's wildlife here: WildLife Malaysia
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 16 2015, 09:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Dec 16 2015, 08:57 PM)
Guys, were considering Nikon D750 or D810
currently there is a end year promo for D750 ( 1+1 year warranty + battery )
while D810 no promotion.

any takes/recommendation on this?
topup a bit or go ahead?
I would recommend the D750, its even more worth it with the promotion thumbup.gif

D810 may be an extremely good camera, but the main advantage, i.e. the high MP counts, can also be its biggest disadvantage. Based on my experience, you will also need to fork out more for a more powerful computing system in order to be able to process and edit those photos smoothly, and all of that together will cost a fortune! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 16 2015, 09:45 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 16 2015, 11:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 16 2015, 10:54 PM)
biggrin.gif 24MP vs 36MP - that's 50% more pixels to process per picture!

D750 has faster AF system and flip LCD too.
Yeah, my computer still lags even with i7, SSD and 8GB RAM laugh.gif
But the high MP sure shines in macro, no doubts about that~ thumbup.gif

The D750, on the other hand, offers the best of both worlds thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 16 2015, 11:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Dec 16 2015, 10:19 PM)
Budak ni keep poisoning pipu brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2015, 10:18 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Vox @ Dec 17 2015, 09:31 AM)
Any reason why the Nikon 17-55 so expensive other than brand?  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Dec 17 2015, 09:59 AM)
Because is Nikon.  laugh.gif

The lens is sharp, good handling vignette at low F stop and solid.  smile.gif
+1 laugh.gif
Although the brand itself will cost you some money, the price is still quite justifiable.
However, if you are not planning to stay with DX in the long run, it will not be worth to get the Nikon 17-55 (even though its better) because it will be difficult to sell it out when you upgrade to FF/ jump ship later on cry.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 18 2015, 05:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(acap_p @ Dec 18 2015, 03:05 PM)
If i wanted to take photos of lillies in malaysia, is the only best bet at the florist shop?...wonder if they'll chase me out for snapping without buying?
There are many types of lilies oh laugh.gif
Are you referring to the ones on land or in water? XD

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0712sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:09 AM