Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.25, D500 out now

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2015, 03:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slow stalker @ Mar 28 2015, 03:30 PM)
Im using nikon d3100, so u mean really hard to get sharp image in manual focus?Yeah love the prime lens BOKEH!!
Hmm how about half body shot? hmm.gif saw some pic that came out from this lens really nice haha
Wah.. on a dx the focal length will be alot longer oh (x1.5).. focusing will be relatively difficult and slow. But of course.. the results will be stellar if done right... wub.gif too bad Nikon doesnt have the 135mm f2 like Canon does huhu

Half body shots will be easier.. since the face (especially the eyes) are easier to see

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 28 2015, 03:42 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2015, 03:41 PM

24,193 posts

Sorry duplicated post T___T

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 28 2015, 03:43 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2015, 04:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slow stalker @ Mar 28 2015, 03:48 PM)
Yeah I did realise the focal length will be longer on dx body but most of the time the object that I want capture was sitting still so I will have time to slowly focus haha so should I keep my kit lens and buy this as second lens?hmm I saw somewhere there is a nikon 135mm f2 but of course manual focus not like canon auto focus
Hmmm if you ask me.. a 85mm f1.8 is a much better pick haha brows.gif try it for yourself and see what I mean haha laugh.gif
Autofocus is definitely nice to have imho XD
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 28 2015, 06:28 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageColourful mantis by PF T.J., on Flickr

Found this bold and beautiful mantis in a garden. After photographing it for awhile I noticed why mantises are so popular among Macro Photographers- they don't really move much, and they will almost certainly "attack" your camera's light diffuser- resulting in great poses tongue.gif

Though I have not tried, I suppose it is not difficult to "encourage" a mantis to show their beautiful threat display stance.

This is pretty much my 2nd encounter with a large mantis (pathetic I know huhu), I hope I will see more of them in the future biggrin.gif

More on Macro Photography here: PixelsDimension
Check out Malaysia's wildlife here: WildLife Malaysia

user posted imageCurved Long-Spined Spider- Macracantha arcuata ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr
This spider is undoubtedly one of the most bizarre and beautiful out there due to its brilliant colours and of course, the two long protruding abdominal spines.

As wonderful as they may be, I am always amazed at how this particular species of spider (along with those of the genus Gasteracantha) manages to survive in the wild- although tough, the weird abdominal shapes actually hinders their movements significantly. The relatively short legs mean that they cannot really handle larger preys and have to rely very heavily on their large web constructions for food.

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Mar 28 2015, 06:28 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 2 2015, 10:03 AM

24,193 posts

user posted imageBlack morph of a Pretty Cross Spider- Argiope pulchella ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

Found this spider building her web very strategically on the metal rails directly directly opposite a waterfall- an extremely good way to catch insects that got carried away by the strong airflow generated by the waterfall.

user posted imagePale daddy-long-leg spider with egg sac- Smeringopus cf. pallidus ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

Yet another common daddy-long-leg spider that can be found in corners of walls of buildings. The mother is seen holding onto her egg sacs which will hatch in a few weeks time.

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 2 2015, 10:05 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 3 2015, 05:27 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageOrnamental Coin Spider- Herennia multipuncta ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

The Ornamental Coin spider can be found mostly on tree trunks, although they may sometimes be found on walls of buildings near forest fringes.

To me, these spiders are some of the most bizarre-looking spiders out there! With the unique crown-shaped abdomen and bright pinkish-orange colours; these spiders are sure to grab your attention, if you can notice them!

Check out the underside of this spider here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/59583171@N07/15405525346

user posted imageLaglaise's Garden Spider- Eriovixia laglaizei ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

There were many instances where I have marked the location of a few spiders and their webs so that I could come back and photograph them later. However, many a time I couldn't find them when I came back.
This is when I realized that some spiders tend to eat up/ destroy their own webs. This Laglaise's Garden Spider is seen destroying its on web during an early morning.

Why do they consume and destroy their webs? Perhaps it is to reduce waste of nutrients and also to "cover up" the location of their territory (most spiders tend to hide in leaves just beside their webs- easy to find and preyed upon).

user posted imageHeavy Jumper- Hyllus sp. ♂ by PF T.J., on Flickr

Heavy Jumpers usually refer to large-sized Jumping Spiders which are often very hairy. They can be very fast when provoked, but most of the time they are very trustful, and don't mind doing their own things while you photograph them~

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2015, 06:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Apr 4 2015, 12:07 AM)
Another night spam here smile.gif finally finished all my travel pic...  sweat.gif

Here are some of it... Have a great weekend smile.gif

Superb shots there! Why we no have anything like this here cry.gif
I love #1 and #3, especially #3 thumbup.gif
#2 maybe cramping a little bit too much already haha; and the skies may be a little bit too blue laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2015, 07:24 PM

24,193 posts

By the way, not sure whether there are any bird-shooting Nikonians here.. but if you are interested, Kampar is a very nice place for bird-shooting thumbup.gif
I have only been working here for a few months but the variety of birds I have seen is pretty shocking laugh.gif

Cannot afford birding lens, too insanely expensive sweat.gif Couldn't get a single shot using my longest (105mm) lens also, despite "formidable" ninja skills T@T

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2015, 09:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Apr 4 2015, 08:09 PM)
wah Tan Ji green tag liao
Thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Always thought I would get that tag during my time in Mobile Computing laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 4 2015, 09:38 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageReinwardt's Argiope Spider with butterfly prey- Argiope reinwardti ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

An adult female Cross Spider working hard to knock out a struggling butterfly that flew into her web.

This particular species of spiders may look thin, fragile and slow, but their webs are large and formidable.

user posted imageDoleschall's Argiope Spider- Argiope doleschalli ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

A large, female Cross Spider. This particular species of spider is usually found near streams in deeper parts of forests.

This large-sized spider is known to be extremely sensitive, agile in addition to producing very strong webs. It is therefore quite strange that these spiders do not dominate over the other Argiope species.

user posted imageRajah Brooke's Birdwing- Trogonoptera brookiana ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

This is Malaysia's National Butterfly, named after Captain James Brooke, a White Rajah of Sarawak.

The female is relatively uncommon compared to the male, and are often larger in size. This photo shows a female having to stay in-flight to sip nectar from a yellow daisy. Due to the large size and heavy weight; the daisy will snap if the female Rajah Brooke decides to land on it lol..

The males of this species can be seen here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/59583171@N07/14962792974

user posted imageCelebes Leucauge feasting- Leucauge celebesiana ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr

Celebes Leucauge are not as common as the Decorative Leucauge (Leucauge decorata). However, at higher elevations, Celebes Leucauge seem to thrive a lot better than all its counterparts.

These spiders build mostly horizontal webs, where the spider can be found hanging lazily in the centre.

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2015, 11:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Apr 4 2015, 11:50 PM)
Hahaha thank you thank you... #2 was trying the gigapixel affect(Well almost)... stitched 32 images in to one huge image... the details were really an eye opener... hahaha but I scaled it down alot to put in Flickr.. original was 24MP x 32  drool.gif

Yeah last time used to be alot of postings... especially CY Pixels.... very quiet now...  hmm.gif
Wah, so many shots in one! shocking.gif
My laptop will hang even with 10 shots laugh.gif

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Apr 5 2015, 11:00 PM)
I was a student at Kampar UTAR and I know a lecturer in UTAR is actually a bird photographer or more of a bird lover.

If you happen to know Mr. Tou Jing Yi, that's him.
Thanks for sharing man! notworthy.gif
Okay, now I know who to look out for laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2015, 10:39 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Apr 6 2015, 12:35 AM)
Lols what software you use for stitching? Try Autopano Giga wink.gif
Oh I just use Photoshop to stitch sweat.gif
Thanks for sharing, will try it out~

Here's a shot stitched from 5-6 shots:
user posted imageKellie Castle by PF T.J., on Flickr

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Apr 6 2015, 12:36 AM)
ehh u at utar already? find one day come out yumcha and shoot macro together  brows.gif

who else got "green tag" here haha.
Yeah man, been here for a few months already laugh.gif
I think I know where you usually shoot your macro too laugh.gif
Sure thing, let's go shooting some times, I am still looking for a good macro spot nearby.. the University is not that good since they spray insecticides a lot sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2015, 10:40 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 6 2015, 09:23 AM)
Honda.

Honda Everywhere.

Great shots, love #3 the most thumbup.gif

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 6 2015, 10:38 AM)

Testing.  laugh.gif
Wah sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2015, 04:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Apr 6 2015, 03:51 PM)
Not bad ma... hahaha when export for stitching I normally lower the resolution of export (8-10MP) per pic... so won't be too big the file... I tried full res(24mp) also... no issues but final product file wayyyyy to big... lols

Export to tiff before you stitch and after stitch so you can still play around with the image abit in lightroom before final export wink.gif

I tried using it on the Bernizer method on my 50mm f1.4... the ou put very nice... hahaha but I cannot post public coz my friends pic. Add me in FB if you canna c  brows.gif
Soso only la haha, I had problems stitching the remaining 3 shots laugh.gif
Thanks for the input, I guess my computer is bogged down by the huge file sizes laugh.gif

Just read up a bit on the Bernizer method, sounds very interesting, will definitely try it out drool.gif
What is your FB address? notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 9 2015, 08:45 PM

24,193 posts

Macro Macro

user posted imageGreen Scarab Beetle- Anomala sp.) by PF T.J., on Flickr

A common, likely female Green Scarab beetle with an attractive, metallic bronze underside and legs.

The beetle may be slow and clumsy, but it is very well protected by its thick and tough armour.

user posted imageTailed Jay- Graphium cf. agamemnon by PF T.J., on Flickr

This beautiful, black and green butterfly is common all the way from India to Southeast Asia. Due to the short life cycle of only 1 month (from egg to adult), this species of butterflies can produce many broods per year.

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 15 2015, 11:33 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageRobberfly action by PF T.J., on Flickr

A robberfly about to lift off, probably shocked by the sudden burst of light~

Robberflies are efficient, agile hunters that are so great that they are able to pierce through prey with their sharp proboscis in mid-air!

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2015, 12:56 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageGecko on glass by PF T.J., on Flickr

A gecko climbing a piece of glass. Most geckos are capable of climbing walls and ceilings thanks to their specialized, adhesion-capable toes.

The footpads on each toe are able to form attractive forces with the surfaces which are strong enough to support the weight of the entire gecko body.

The strength of adhesion will increase when water is present in minute quantity.

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 16 2015, 11:32 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageJumping Spider ♀ with prey by PF T.J., on Flickr

This particular scorpion-like Jumper has beautiful, yellowish-green coloration on the body, and the knack to raise its abdomen as seen in photo.

This particular species of spider is known to be extremely stubborn when they are eating (another Jumping Spider in this case)- extremely unwilling to let go of their precious food!

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 17 2015, 04:55 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageA mother Sumatran Two-Tailed Spider (Hersilia sumatrana Jumping Spider ♀ with prey) guarding her egg sac by PF T.J., on Flickr

A plus-sized mother Hersilia sumatrana safeguarding her egg sac, which is extremely well camouflaged like herself.

As the name suggests, Two-Tailed spiders have two long and protruding appendages which look like tails.

These spiders excel at climbing walls and tree trunks, moving at blazingly fast speeds. It is not uncommon to lose sight of the spider within the blink of an eye!

[PF] T.J.
post Apr 20 2015, 05:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Apr 20 2015, 10:17 AM)
just wondering, do you think a slightly faulty D3100 body worth much to be sell? hmm.gif
QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 20 2015, 10:40 AM)
RM500-600? hmm.gif
Probably less kua cry.gif cry.gif

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:39 PM