Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.25, D500 out now

DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2016, 12:42 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 28 2016, 08:00 AM)
Hi guys, i am casual D5200 shooter, thinking to upgrade to FF system.
Now considering to switch to sony mirrorless system or Nikon FF.
i want to know is D810 worth the upgrade? the price is quite steep tho..
My mainly shooting landscape, portrait, travel vlog (used to work with 1080 60p), and thinking to step in wedding
photo in near future.
Hi there!

Since you are taking this as an hobbyist, I will recommend you to stay with DX first. Personally, I don't really think you need that jump yet. As you mentioned VLOG, D5200 is more capable and has a bigger advantage here with the flip screen as you can see yourself as you do the VLOG. No one can do VLOG well without looking at the screen and D5200 can perform well here. Besides, assuming you do landscape and portraits often here, you must already have some DX lenses lying around. smile.gif

So, here is my amateur advice, stay with DX first, get a speedlight (a must for wedding). Train yourself with DX + speedlight well. Then when you are financially capable (capable of buying FF with your photography earnings), then you jump FF for better dynamic range and FF crop sensor. Everything is expensive in FF. DX is cheap and lighter too. I understand this well because I own both D5300 and D750. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2016, 01:45 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 28 2016, 01:23 PM)
Well, i really appreciated, all u guy here are so nice and thoughtful, all ask me to stay in DX instead of poison me,  laugh.gif
Actually i am shooting along with my group of friend, some of them has already upgrade to FF system, even it is the same angle of shots, my IQ just can't match to them, bokeh, dynamic range, focusing speed...etc (thy using D610, D700).

Since you have both 5300 and D750, may i know your feedback for the difference? is it worth for you to upgrade?
There is definitely a huge difference in the focusing speed and dynamic range. Since you are not shooting sports, you don't really have to bother about focusing speed right? icon_idea.gif

Bokeh wise, it is the lens that matters. Get a 85mm F1.8 for the bokehlicioussss brows.gif brows.gif

I bought D750 to shoot for wedding/events. Both is capable of shooting video at 1080p with 60fps and capable of shooting photos at 24MP. But sometimes i prefer to use D5300 since it is so much lighter and it is really tiring to hold a FF camera for video. laugh.gif

I still use D5300 a lot (it is so much lighter and smaller) for casual portraits and landscape. biggrin.gif

But when it comes to professional service, people tend to judge a lot. A professional holding a D5300 doesn't look more professional than a noob holding D750. bangwall.gif

This is also another reason why I only use D750 during actual day wedding and also corporate event shoots. nod.gif

That's why I recommend you to go for full frame when you are shooting wedding often. Otherwise, D5300 should suffice. thumbsup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2016, 02:51 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Sep 28 2016, 02:18 PM)
very well said... or if u budget is really really steep u may also get D800
Actually I once consider D800. 32MP, 1/8000 SS. Super impressive. brows.gif

But too bad, it shoots max at 1080p with 50 fps. And more expensive than D750 laugh.gif

So i got D750 in the end drool.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2016, 03:08 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 28 2016, 02:25 PM)
oh yeah before i forget, list all of your gears (so far we only know you got D5200)

and maybe some of your friend's gears so we can know why you think of wanted to "upgrade" to FF because merely focus speed, IQ, here and there makes you underwhelming.

also location/ some environment that makes your DSLR body not perform well.

maybe end up just suggest you change lens (if you use default lens) or just add flashlight lol.
Yeah true. Sometimes we can also borrow lens from our friends if there is really a need to do so. brows.gif

QUOTE(leongkokloon @ Sep 28 2016, 02:58 PM)
budget constraint broo... i only can afford that that time... and i didnt quite like the titly screen idea
Now can afford liao mah thumbsup.gif

After your japan trip, i am waiting to see you in action with your 70-200! devil.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2016, 06:02 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 28 2016, 05:47 PM)
I used D5200 for 3 years already. Just felt that i can improve the IQ and looking for more beautiful bokeh in FF.
I been shooting with kit lens which is 18-55 F3.5-5.6 only, since i am plan to upgrade system, so i didn't invest on other lens to fully utilize this camera.

Actually, i am quite confusing when everybody is claiming Sony Mirrorless focusing system is not there yet, and slow.
But i check through the review on youtube, all i saw is positive feedback especially for Sony A7R II.

Do you know that AF speed is slow in kitlens? biggrin.gif

Invest in a 50mm F1.8. It can be used in both FF and DX. Then you will have more bokeh already! bruce.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2016, 12:50 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 28 2016, 10:10 PM)
Well, 99% opinion i got here ask me stay in D5200... GG
Get a 50mm F1.8G. You will notice the difference in bokeh a lot brows.gif

Although it will be sharper and AF faster than your current kitlens, the sharpness still can't fight good glass la. icon_idea.gif

Invest on a better standard DX lens. Usually people will buy stock DSLR with kitlens. Then, invest in better standard/prime lenses. If there is really a need, then change a new body and new lenses. biggrin.gif

If you have the money wanna straight buy new body and lenses also okay. brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2016, 01:39 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 29 2016, 12:57 AM)
Hmmp... one more question, in term of IQ and Sharpness, can Nikon Rm3K-4K ED lens can comparable to Sony Zeiss series prime lens?
Well to be honest, I don't shoot with Sony and so I can't comment much. smile.gif

I have to leave this question to other sifus to answer. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 29 2016, 04:45 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 29 2016, 11:12 AM)
Yes, the edge out data may not showing significant different result.
But the price of that sony new lens is just about 2.6K, thats tempting, i had seen the result from this lens, really perfect.
And its price doesn't drop much when comes to used lens, if compare to Nikon used lens, usually dropped more than 30% IMO.

I am thinking... possible to use Sony FE lens on my 5200? if in future, i am comfortable to upgrade Sony system still can use it.

Btw, i saw in KLDSLR, a lot of Nikon used Big F-stop 50mm G lens, price at around 8-900 up to 1.5k only, these lens can buy?
Anyone bought used Nikon lens from them?
You have to remember that you need more spare batteries if you are shooting with Sony mirrorless. biggrin.gif

Personally, I would prefer to do COD to buy used units. To check not only the condition but also to make sure the seller is legit. Less risk. smile.gif

DS_Legacy
post Sep 30 2016, 06:26 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(avatargod @ Sep 30 2016, 03:28 PM)
its D3100, selling for 1k with 2 lenses plus sb700. Seller use it for about 2 + years, sell because need money, seller not selling online. From colleague to colleague.
Wah so cheap? Second hand SB700 already around rm650
DS_Legacy
post Sep 30 2016, 06:32 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Sep 30 2016, 04:04 PM)
Yea, actually i was thinking to get A7ii, by the time i want click down the "Place order", i suddenly found a review regarding A7ii focusing system weakness, especially in low light, even worst than entry level DSLR. This thing is stopped me from continue looking at this model....
So... really quite complicated in my mind to make decision....argh...
I find slow AF annoying whenever I wanna take candid shots. laugh.gif

The moment you able to focus the subject, the special moment gone sad.gif

I got that a lot during my days in uni where they asked me to shoot for stage event in college. Some events like orchestra cannot use flash and need to perform under low light. Hard to get good photo.
DS_Legacy
post Sep 30 2016, 11:42 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(avatargod @ Sep 30 2016, 07:41 PM)
I already sapu... hahaha

plus..inside got 16GB class 10 punya Card
Wahhh seriously your colleague memang despo. Untunglah! brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Oct 2 2016, 10:47 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Oct 1 2016, 06:45 PM)
Yearly F1 Spam  tongue.gif

Nikon D750, 70.0-300.0 mm f/4.5-5.6