[PF] T.J.
post Aug 11 2015, 08:41 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageCommon Four Ring- Ypthima huebneri by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A very common butterfly in Malaysia.. not sure why its called a "Four Ring" when it clearly has more than that haha...
Oh well, don't know too much about butterflies, they all look the same, and are all very hard to photograph!

user posted imageCommon Big-Jawed Spider- Tetragnatha mandibulata ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

The common Big-Jawed Spider is hardly a favourite for any macrographer. They are long, thin and dull-coloured, not the most interesting of subjects.

Still, these spiders are highly abundant near water bodies, and are very important biological controls in many agricultural sectors, keeping insect pests in check~

user posted imageHeliocypha biforata ♂ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Imho one of the most beautiful damselflies, Heliocypha biforata can often be found in quiet places near streams.

More on Macro Photography here: PixelsDimension
Check out Malaysia's wildlife here: WildLife Malaysia
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2015, 10:49 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 11 2015, 10:49 PM)
True true, it's just so addictive biggrin.gif
Beautiful butterfly shot biggrin.gif

Any idea of the ID for the following spiders?

Holy! Where did you find #2 and #3? In Kampar?
@DS_Legacy will be interested to know since his project is on these spiders laugh.gif laugh.gif

Glad that you are seeing more types of arachnids now hehe~

As for the ID:
#1- can't really tell, need more angles
#2- Leucauge decorata- Decorative Leucauge (from the family Tetragnathidae). Members of the family Tetragnathidae (commonly know as big-jawed spiedrs) are all very long and slim, and sometimes have very big jaws.
#3- Opadometa sp.- This one is very closely related to Leucauge (also from the family Tetragnathidae). Try to take a look at the 4th pair of legs (counting from the front), you will see some very beautiful comb-like bristles that are worth taking thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 12 2015, 10:50 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2015, 10:52 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Aug 12 2015, 12:02 AM)
I'm like watching National Geographic Channel in this thread.
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 12 2015, 09:44 AM)
it is, but i dont hate it at all  tongue.gif
Sorry ya guys if we spammed too much cry.gif

I've recently taken some wedding/event shots, but client doesn't want to me upload their photos... so I don't really have anything else apart from macro shots sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2015, 03:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 12 2015, 02:12 PM)
i didn't say it is bad spamming spider whistling.gif
i am actually okay for seeing spider... maybe cats next time :3
Someone mention cats?
Cat spam then laugh.gif

user posted imageCute Kitten 1 by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Moar cats!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 12 2015, 03:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 12 2015, 03:10 PM)
This reminds me of the stray cats that loiter around at my house. Should really go and photograph them someday.  biggrin.gif
Kampar cats all so ugly cry.gif cry.gif

Nice one! Apart from the comments given in FB, I have another non-constructive one laugh.gif (hope you don't mind lol)
Maybe can ask Queensley to change her hairstyle next time, the current one makes her look like she is losing hair cry.gif

Anyway, she is really improving in her facial expression, no more laughing XD
Good work, keep it up man~

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 12 2015, 03:53 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2015, 02:21 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 12 2015, 04:17 PM)
thanks for the info regarding the spiders  rclxms.gif

Haha too bad I didn't shot them in kampar, I shot them back in the last sem break at FRIM which is really close to my house (i'm from KL) biggrin.gif
Aiya, if only there were here cry.gif cry.gif
FRIM is a pretty good place to go shooting, provided you know where to look for the bugs laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2015, 02:24 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageTiger moth by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A very common moth that people don't really bother seeing or photographing. These moths can be found on open patches of flowers in gardens or parks.

user posted imageWeaver ant holding on- Oecophylla smaragdina by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Kerangga ants build their nests using leaves, and inside is where the queen will reside. In order to keep the nest intact, some ants have to use their bodies and fangs to connect and hold pieces of leaves in place.

These ants show extremely high level of discipline and will not move a single bit even when disturbed.

user posted imageFly extending proboscis by Ji Tan, on Flickr

It is reported that the extension of a proboscis in Drosophila is associated with brain movement. I wonder what this fly was thinking about, if it was thinking at all!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 13 2015, 09:49 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageBianor cf. angulosus ♂ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

This particular spider has exceedingly long and well-developed legs 1, and is closely related to Harmochirus.

Found this one staying on plants that are dangerously close to water.

user posted imageMother Siler semiglaucus guarding her eggs by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A Bottle-Brush Iridescent Jumper guarding her rounded eggs under a protective web cocoon.
Inside, the mother will patiently care for her eggs, guarding them from predators.

user posted imageA Lynx Spider- Hamataliwa sp.(?) ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A fairly large lynx spider, probably waiting for prey to land near it. Wasn't expecting to find a Lynx spider that's not an Oxyopes in the garden lol.

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 14 2015, 09:27 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageBrown Plume Moth (Pterophoridae) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Looks like a Brown Plume Moth sucking sap from a leaf.

Despite being one of the weirdest-looking moths I have ever seen, plume moths are very common. These moths have uniquely developed wing structures that look like skeletons; its amazing how they can still fly like this. Apparently these structures are supposed to make them look like dead leaves, camouflaging them from predators.

user posted imagePill millepede (Oniscomorpha) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Ahhh, the good O' pill millepede, I remembered when during our childhood years, whenever we see a pill millepede, there was only one thing to do- disturb it!

Upon disturbance, the millepede will quickly roll itself into a "ball", and we would let it roll here and there. Come to think of it, we were quite cruel during that time @@

user posted imageHeavy huntsman spider- Thelcticopis sp. ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Heavy huntsman spiders can be differentiated from the usual, Heteropoda huntsmen by their larger body size and shorter legs.

Juveniles of this spider are known to hide among foliage in silk retreats during the day, making them easy to be mistook for Pisaurids or even Clubionids.

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 17 2015, 08:14 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 17 2015, 11:44 AM)

Nice macro drool.gif drool.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 17 2015, 08:14 PM

24,193 posts

Today's macro features metallic green bugs laugh.gif

user posted imageA metallic green Frog Legged Beetle (Sagra sp.?) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Frog-legged Beetles are so called because of their hind-legs that sort of resemble those of frogs. Even so, these beetles don't use their legs to jump. They are capable of flying, but they rarely do so, possibly because of their inefficient manoeuvrability.

These beetles are usually come in a variety of metallic colours, and can be found on foliages.

user posted imageA metallic green Long-legged fly (Dolichopodidae) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Long legged flies are true flies that often come with beautiful, metallic colours on their body. These flies are predatory and usually feed on mosquito larvae.

Long-legged flies are known to be very sensitive to the flash of a camera, and is fast enough to escape the frame of your shot! Amazing reflexes!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 19 2015, 10:50 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageTetragnathid spiderlings by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A cluster of Long-Jawed spiderlings. The remains of the white egg sac can be seen in the background.

Spiderlings lack morphological characters and are thus very difficult to identify based on visual cues alone.

user posted imageA Brown Cockroach- Periplaneta cf. brunnea (?) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 23 2015, 11:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slow stalker @ Aug 22 2015, 11:11 AM)
Hi every sifu here!Can I join with this set up  icon_rolleyes.gif

Awesome lens there, very good for portraits thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Aug 23 2015, 12:47 PM)
Hi all,
May I know the market selling price of Nikon DF Body (if it's original and brand new unit with warranty)
A new unit (body only) is around ~RM8050 or higher, so you can just try something around that range, or a bit lower to sell quicker rclxms.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 23 2015, 11:21 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 23 2015, 05:39 PM)
The built-in flash in my D5100 does not pop out, even after I press the flash button. Any idea what is causing it or how to fix it?
Maybe the internals are stuck?
Not very familiar with this problem cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 23 2015, 11:21 PM

24,193 posts

More macro on the same outing!

user posted imageA Mud Dauber- Sceliphron sp. ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A beautiful, black-and-yellow Mud Dauber. This female wasp lives a solitary life and builds her nests using mud. A female Mud Dauber enjoys hunting spiders to feed her young.

user posted imageGreen-and-Red Long-Jawed Spider- Tetragnatha hasselti ♂ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A beautiful, greenish male Tetragnatha hasselti featuring a unique green abdomen and some red spots. The males can often be found resting on foliages at forest fringes. Although thin and seemingly fragile, these spiders are extremely fast, and thanks to their greenish camouflage and body shape; they can easily disappear within a blink of an eye!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 24 2015, 10:23 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Aug 24 2015, 01:09 AM)
haha alright I see!!

what's the cheapest nikon lenses i can get which can pair with the nikon DF body?
im totally unfamiliar with nikon system    tongue.gif
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 24 2015, 09:55 AM)
almost all DSLR lens, unless you want Auto focus or something.

i mean all nikon F mount

cheapest ar... 50mm f/1.8 D ?  unsure.gif
that one almost all newbie buy one for crop system & FF system (in future)

i forget DF got auto focus motor or not.

a good read for you lol
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/nikortek.htm

basically now in market mostly is G version, slightly older is D one... those label in AI or something like that is more vintage XD
RM8k body sure have AF motor haha laugh.gif
Agito sifu is right, the 50mm F1.8 d/g are the best picks for both a DX/FF system thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 24 2015, 05:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 24 2015, 04:24 PM)
I use Darktable to edit this photo since lightroom CC cant be installed on linux doh.gif
still  rclxub.gif  using it
gave me headache

Great shot! Love the sense of depth in this one thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 24 2015, 05:02 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageAn aphid world (Aphididae) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

An aphid infestation- a colourful assortment of aphid pests on a yam plant. Aphids are serious pests to the agricultural sector as they are capable of reproducing really quickly, with or without sex!

If you take a closer look, you can see liquid droplets attached to the legs of the aphids. These are "honeydew" that serve as food for ants, which in turn provide protection to the aphids.

Also, you will notice white-coloured "things" in the photo, those are actually exuviae- the remains of the exoskeleton that is left after an aphid moults.

user posted imageCommon Garden Spider- Parawixia dehaani ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

The Common Garden Spider is not exactly very "common" to most people, simply because these spiders only come out during the night, where they wait on the centre of their large webs for prey .

During the day, the spider will abandon its web (without destroying it), and hide on or inside nearby foliages.

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 25 2015, 09:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Aug 25 2015, 08:56 PM)

Fuyoh, awesome thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 26 2015, 02:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 26 2015, 02:17 PM)
My camera is underutilized. Last used during Hari Raya only, having difficulties to find time for this hobby. sad.gif
I totally understand how you feel man cry.gif
I used to love shooting people, then I noticed that most of my friends don't like being photographed, so it was really demoralizing laugh.gif
Then I discovered macro, and I can take whatever photos, whenever I want haha; been shooting ever since laugh.gif

I guess it all depends on which genre you are interested in, and whether you have a group of like-minded people to push you haha

You can do it! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 26 2015, 02:31 PM

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0683sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:02 PM