[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2015, 07:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jul 28 2015, 06:57 PM)
Interesting...

I cycled quite many times around the school before, so far no any interesting insects found  sad.gif
It takes time to develop "bug" eyes bro haha laugh.gif
Just like how you used time to develop your photographer's eye thumbup.gif

Will ask you to join next time... I will go look for a nice spot for spiders around the campus first thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 30 2015, 08:50 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageSalticid by Ji Tan, on Flickr

More on Macro Photography here: PixelsDimension
Check out Malaysia's wildlife here: WildLife Malaysia
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2015, 10:19 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 2 2015, 12:04 PM)
I didn't even have explanation for that laugh.gif
Maybe I focus more on composition more than technical settings hmm.gif
Nothing wrong with it ah haha, some people prefer the image effects of higher ISO thumbup.gif
Overly high ISO can be very nice especially when indoors~

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 2 2015, 05:56 PM)
Some street shots smile.gif

Great shots!
I just noticed that the landscape on the road to Tanjung Tualang (keep on going after Kampar Putra) is really majestic! Definitely have to go shoot there thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2015, 01:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Aug 3 2015, 12:01 PM)
taken 2 years back before I graduated, that time the road still in construction

[attachmentid=4686019]
Wah, awesome man notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Dayum!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2015, 08:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 3 2015, 02:25 PM)
really? haha i want to go there then but cycling that far is pretty crazy  sweat.gif
I have some students crazy enough to cycle the whole 30KM trail sweat.gif

Anyway, the place will be superb for macro, landscape, milkyway and birding thumbup.gif If only I have the suitable lens for the latter(s) laugh.gif

user posted imageHyllus cf. keratodes with food by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A heavy jumper feeding on another jumping spider. Although spiders are quite capable of eating everything (polyphagous), they certainly have their own preferences if they get to choose!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 6 2015, 11:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 6 2015, 09:36 PM)
Something other than spiders tongue.gif

Nice one!
Really colourful!
I think this particular bug has a "face" when shot from the top drool.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 6 2015, 11:58 PM

24,193 posts

Macro time!

Something similar hehe
user posted imageRed Stink Bugs mating (Dindymus rubiginosus?) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Found these two lovebirds mating in public! I supposed its their season now, they seemed to be everywhere!

These bugs can attract one another via hormone or sound, and the copulation process can take minutes and possibly hours.

Back to spiders:

user posted imageHyllus cf. keratodes ♂ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A young, male Hyllus heavy jumper. it seems that the two, characteristic "horns" on the heads of male spiders of this particular species tend to fall off as they age, often misleading people to think that they are different species.

user posted imageYellow caterpillar by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A very beautiful and hairy caterpillar! The striking yellow colour was so brilliant that the caterpillar looked like a spark of light from afar. Very impressive!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 7 2015, 01:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 7 2015, 12:25 AM)
You are right biggrin.gif They are stink bugs right?

And talking about mating season, I think it's the same for the following insect too, I saw 3 or 4 of them around the same plant.

I think I need a better light diffuser, the current setup is quite harsh  cry.gif
Great find! I have yet to shoot this type of stink bug yet laugh.gif

As for the yellow beetle, its a Gold Dust Weevil (likely Hypomeces squamosus). Quite common on shrubs, and very beautiful to photograph~

Yeah, a good diffuser will surely improve your shots more thumbup.gif

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 7 2015, 01:14 AM)
Wahhh macro bojio! I also want.  drool.gif

Great shot hehe brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 7 2015, 05:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 7 2015, 05:39 PM)
when you wanna lend me your diffuser  brows.gif
@DS_Legacy punya diffuser better than mine already, I am emo cry.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 7 2015, 05:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 7 2015, 05:11 PM)
Is it safe to jump? So high from here.
Soo Yeak Choo, on Flickr
Awesome shots, diffusion damn nice thumbup.gif
The snake is an Oriental Vine Snake (Ahaetulla sp.). It has very specialized and good eyesight.
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 8 2015, 01:00 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 7 2015, 07:36 PM)
Teach me DIY too  drool.gif
Will ask you to join us for our next casual outing, then you can copy the one owned by DS_Legacy laugh.gif
I think you guys have pretty much the same setup~ thumbup.gif

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 7 2015, 10:44 PM)
Wahhh! Ninja skills! I never stand a chance to take such close up photo leh. Every single time I walk near to them, they will flee one. rclxub.gif

The trick to photographing lizards is to go out during early morning, say 7-10am, when the lizards (poikilotherms) have to bask in the sun for energy. Most of them will not have enough energy to run away from you, and will often just perch lifelessly on tree trunks or twigs etc. laugh.gif

Lizards that are alert to your presence and ready to flee will press their bodies towards the ground/bottom, as seen in the shot above. Those that are still feeling pretty okay (un-threatened) will not do that (see below)- you will have an idea whether they are going to run away or not~

user posted imageGreat Angle Head Lizard- Gonocephalus grandis ♂♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 8 2015, 01:08 AM

24,193 posts

user posted imageStingless bees guarding their nest (Tetragonula sp.?) by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Stingless bee guards protecting the entrance to their hive.

Stingless bees, as the name suggests, are not capable of stinging. They build their hives in tree cavities, rock crevices and even man-made structures.

The bees store pollen and honey in large, egg-shaped pots made of beeswax mixed with various types of plant resin. Because of this, stingless bees are often cultivated for their honey.

user posted imageLong Bodied Jungle Pholcid (Calapnita deelemanae) with Salticid prey by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Nature always has its ways.

How does a tiny and seemingly fragile pholcid spider end up preying on a much larger and agile jumping spider?

This leaf-dwelling pholcid is often found beneath foliages and has 6 eyes (instead of the usual 8 in spiders).

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 8 2015, 10:12 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Aug 8 2015, 03:05 AM)
Currently i am eyeing on this deal, Kindly advise guys?  nod.gif

[WTS] Nikon D750 + Nikkor 50mm f1.8G + YN568EX, As good as new. Bought on 30/03/15
Seems like a pretty good deal if everything is in good order thumbup.gif
Have to check thoroughly when COD nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 8 2015, 01:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 8 2015, 01:31 AM)
haha I think having a 150mm focal length helps a lot too, but I lose out a lot in terms of DOF compared to shorter macro lenses sad.gif
yeah  drool.gif

learnt something new from you as usual  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 8 2015, 11:24 AM)
Wahhh next time can go early morning and get a few shots ady. Thanks for the tips! thumbup.gif
Yeah, every lens has its respective pros and cons. I don't know if there is any solution for a better DOF for a longer macro lenses. If got, sure no need photo stack ady. biggrin.gif
The longer your focal length e.g. 105mm vs 50mm (no accessories), you can reach 1:1 from a farther distance, but I am not too sure about the DOF itself, let's try it out sometimes thumbup.gif

What I noticed based on my setup (FF + 105mm + Raynox-150/250) versus a (DX + 50mm + 20+12 ET), my DOF seems to be thinner for the same subject, although I do not need to get as close... Not too sure about the specifics, have to really test out to find out whether there's really any difference in DOF, or its just my imagination lol tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 8 2015, 01:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Sadru @ Aug 8 2015, 11:57 AM)
the reason i was interested is since it stated non filled warranty and i assume it was just like buying a new set with a lower price, but i might be wrong. kindly correct me if anything  notworthy.gif
Its from Altech Camera. He did provide me with the actual receipt.  Do they follow on receipt date if we plan to claim the warranty?
quite unclear about all this non filled warranty card issue  hmm.gif
I've never got the chance to really use an unfilled warranty card, so I can't really comment on whether it will work or not with Nikon Malaysia hmm.gif
Need to ask the other sifus notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 8 2015, 01:07 PM

24,193 posts

user posted imageMangrove Cross Spider- Argiope mangal ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Meet Joseph! Named after the scientist who caught and describe this particular spider from Singapore!

Mangrove Cross Spiders, although naturally confined to mangrove areas, they certainly have no problems living in non-mangrove areas. If this is the case, then why confine themselves in mangroves? Competition? Predatory?

user posted imageYellow-Silver Cross Spider (Argiope catenulata ♀) with blowfly prey by Ji Tan, on Flickr

One of the most beautiful Cross Spiders in Malaysia, the female Arigope catenulata displays striking silver patterns on both her abdomen and cephalothorax. Despite its relative uncommonness here, this species seem to be more abundant in Northern South-east Asia all the way to India.

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2015, 10:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 9 2015, 12:59 PM)
Another Jumping Spider biggrin.gif

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 9 2015, 05:39 PM)
Nice photo!  rclxms.gif
And imho the eyes of the spider will definitely look nicer if you have a better diffuser.  icon_idea.gif
Great find man! Not exactly a very common Jumping Spider thumbup.gif
A nice diffuser will not only help soften the light, it can also help produce nice, different-shaped catch lights in the eyes, which are especially attractive in Jumping Spiders thumbup.gif

user posted imageDouble-striped Carrhotus- Carrhotus viduus ♂ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Keep it up! I guess you are getting really good and hunting for Salticids already thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 11 2015, 04:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 10 2015, 12:12 AM)
Very rare. Although some spiders feed on caterpillar, I never encounter this situation before. You are so lucky!  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 10 2015, 12:31 AM)
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw this, how could a little spider lift a caterpillar that's like 2 times the size of it  shocking.gif
Welcome to the fascinating world of Nature haha thumbup.gif
The more you go out and shoot, the more you will see how awesome some of these creatures can be! rclxms.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 11 2015, 05:00 PM

24,193 posts

More macro!

user posted imageBig-bellied Tylorida with prey- Tylorida ventralis ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A very common spider that you can find pretty much anywhere in the wild. The males can often be seen hanging out with the females on the same web, and it is not uncommon to see them mating in public tongue.gif

user posted imageCommon Garden Lynx Spider- Oxyopes lineatipes ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

A very common spider that frequents your house garden, keeping the insect populations there in check~

Like Jumping Spiders, Lynx Spiders do not use webs to capture their prey. Most of the time they just sit on or beneath foliages, waiting for oblivious prey to stop by.

user posted imageWolf Spider carrying egg sac- Pardosa sp. ♀ by Ji Tan, on Flickr

Female wolf spiders, like many other spiders, take care of their young even before they hatch, carrying them around either attaching the egg sac to its abdomen, or pushing the roundish egg sac using their pedipalps as the spider moves.

It is not uncommon to see hatchlings staying on top of the abdomen of the wolf spider, where they will stay until they are old enough to head out into the vast world.

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 11 2015, 08:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Aug 11 2015, 06:48 PM)
Wahahha that Tylorida abdomen sipek niceee!  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
Well, its called Big-Bellied for a reason I suppose laugh.gif
Anyway, the diffusion is not very good cry.gif

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:13 PM