147 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Transformers Thread v73.0, Combiner Fever, who's your favorite?

tnsai
post Mar 21 2015, 10:51 AM

1,418 posts

Still waiting for mine, but watching some reviews, was a little disappointed with how the helmet is held on by a clip that detaches and reattaches.. Was hoping for some nifty engineering that allows for that part of the transformation and still have the head rotate hehe ..
omichael
post Mar 21 2015, 01:24 PM

49 posts

So far it seems like MP Ultra Magnus is the overall better figure compared to MP Star Saber.

SS looks like a faithful visual upgrade to the old toy... but in terms of engineering I wish there were some fun surprises.

Even the brainmaster gimmick has been simplified compared to the old one, where the face was spring-loaded into the body.

guarayakha
post Mar 21 2015, 02:47 PM

QUOTE(omichael @ Mar 21 2015, 01:24 PM)
So far it seems like MP Ultra Magnus is the overall better figure compared to MP Star Saber.

SS looks like a faithful visual upgrade to the old toy... but in terms of engineering I wish there were some fun surprises.

Even the brainmaster gimmick has been simplified compared to the old one, where the face was spring-loaded into the body.
The Brainmaster had to be simplified because it is significantly smaller now, at least by 50%. I'd rather have a sturdy simplified Brain than one that's G1 toy accurate but is fragile as a kuih kapek.
omichael
post Mar 21 2015, 03:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Mar 21 2015, 02:47 PM)
The Brainmaster had to be simplified because it is significantly smaller now, at least by 50%. I'd rather have a sturdy simplified Brain than one that's G1 toy accurate but is fragile as a kuih kapek.
That's where I feel clever engineering could have come in. A premium update of a classic toy should find a way to improve on the old design, not dumb it down.

But don't get me wrong, I'm happy to welcome SS. Bought two pieces myself.

It just lacks that WOW factor that Ultra Magnus or MP10 had for me!

I'm prepared to swallow my words, though, if MP Victory Leo shows up smile.gif
guarayakha
post Mar 21 2015, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(omichael @ Mar 21 2015, 03:09 PM)
That's where I feel clever engineering could have come in. A premium update of a classic toy should find a way to improve on the old design, not dumb it down.

But don't get me wrong, I'm happy to welcome SS. Bought two pieces myself.

It just lacks that WOW factor that Ultra Magnus or MP10 had for me!

I'm prepared to swallow my words, though, if MP Victory Leo shows up smile.gif
I just think no amount of clever engineering (currently) could provide us a brainmaster that transform into bigface mode+ neck articulation without the posibility of the brain snapping in half after several transformations. Perhaps if they diecast the entire thing...but then we'll have the issue with paint chipping. I think the workaround they had with the face hidden in the saberjet is quite a good alternative. Maybe some genius 3rd party could do it with replacement parts later on?

MP V-leo would be the s*** yo. It'll also be the 1st MP that combines with another, if they make one tongue.gif .

Gundam84
post Mar 21 2015, 07:38 PM

115 posts

Anyone know where to get mp-24 without PO at klang valley area? And how much?
narutokun83
post Mar 21 2015, 10:06 PM

2,108 posts

Just got my Star Saber today. I noticed a something strange on mine. there is a flaw on the frame on the sides of the battle suit.
Is it only on mine?

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by narutokun83: Mar 21 2015, 10:07 PM
tnsai
post Mar 22 2015, 12:10 AM

1,418 posts

I was so surprised I got a message from Famitoy that he took a preorder for me. (I emailed him, but never got a reply so i didn't think he preordered for me). Needless to say I wnet to famitoy to collect my Mp24. Haha the thing is, I preordered one from X2O as well. Was thinking of selling that one once I get it from X2O but now that I have him in hand, might just keep him for future.
mchw08
post Mar 22 2015, 08:44 AM

Is that a bent narutokun83?. Here mine for reference

D-y
post Mar 22 2015, 09:45 AM

29 posts

Anyone knows if any stores have mp23 exhaust in stock? Preferably online stores
Or it haven't reach our shores yet?

Missed the PO coz keep delaying till forget sweat.gif
narutokun83
post Mar 22 2015, 11:01 AM

2,108 posts

QUOTE(mchw08 @ Mar 22 2015, 08:44 AM)
Is that a bent narutokun83?. Here mine for reference
Thanks for the reference, it doesn't seem to hinder the transformation, probably a flaw during the molding process. That particular piece is hard plastic so its very hard to bend.
guarayakha
post Mar 22 2015, 01:36 PM

Looks like the peg(grey) was not plugged correctly into that port(blue) causing it to bend. Maybe a simple disassemble and readjusting can fix(assuming it's possible)?
orestes
post Mar 22 2015, 02:44 PM

19 posts

good job taktom!!!
great quality and great price!!!

snipersnake
post Mar 22 2015, 05:09 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

surfing

user posted image\
new found power

Where is Star Saber without his..saber tongue.gif

no comment tongue.gif

good transition!

The Leaders smile.gif

Basically a dream come true for Victory fans. There are two mysterious ports in his legs, indicating Victory Leo, but personally i will let 3rd party mess around with Victory Leo .. we need MP Deathzaras. Liokaiser should be a good combiner for 3rd party folks to explore.
guarayakha
post Mar 22 2015, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 22 2015, 05:09 PM)

Basically a dream come true for Victory fans. There are two mysterious ports in his legs, indicating Victory Leo, but personally i will let 3rd party mess around with Victory Leo .. we need MP Deathzaras. Liokaiser should be a good combiner for 3rd party folks to explore.
LOL how you manage to break of G1 StarSaber's shoulder cannons?

But yeah MP Dezaras, though he's technically be a heavy retool of Grimlock due to how similar their transformation is. And seriously 3P needs to move on to Japanese G1 already. Landcross, JRX, LioKaiser and RoadCaesar pls!
Fansproject has already started with their Dinoking tease

snipersnake
post Mar 22 2015, 06:29 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Mar 22 2015, 06:02 PM)
LOL how you manage to break of G1 StarSaber's shoulder cannons?

played him like hell last time biggrin.gif after tuisyen, straight open RTM1 i think, Sundays at 10am . The all the sound effetcts came from mouth ..was in standard 5 at that time. my friends already pandai girlfen boyfriend ..after tuisyen go to Yaohan and dating there.. .. i went home straight to watch and play with my toys.. biggrin.gif

But yeah MP Dezaras, though he's technically be a heavy retool of Grimlock due to how similar their transformation is. And seriously 3P needs to move on to Japanese G1 already. Landcross, JRX, LioKaiser and RoadCaesar pls!
Fansproject has already started with their Dinoking tease

ya, he he like Grimlock with wings..and stuff several flat animal robots on his chest, quick buck for Takaratomy biggrin.gif

and I agree with you on the G1 combiners... Raiden anyone?!!

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Mar 22 2015, 06:30 PM
SUSadvocado
post Mar 23 2015, 12:31 AM

2,948 posts

quickly get it exchanged from the shop you bought. looks like the peg isn't fully in, maybe bent plastic.

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Mar 21 2015, 10:06 PM)
Just got my Star Saber today. I noticed a something strange on mine. there is a flaw on the frame on the sides of the battle suit.
Is it only on mine?

user posted imageuser posted image
zeroglyph
post Mar 23 2015, 09:56 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

my brain formulated an interesting topic to discuss (for those of us who don't buy MP and 3rd party stuff sweat.gif ).

"what do you think is the most underrated tf you have in your collection?"
here's some t&c so we don't go off topic too much
- pick just 1 from any series/class
- obviously, it has to be some relatively unknown supporting character. main character are usually overrated.
- state reason(s): why you underrate it?, why you now think it's actually good? etc
- add pic so people can see
- put in spoiler so it's more fun to discover

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Mar 23 2015, 09:57 AM
alanyuppie
post Mar 23 2015, 10:04 AM

2,833 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Mar 21 2015, 11:51 AM)
Still waiting for mine, but watching some reviews, was a little disappointed with how the helmet is held on by a clip that detaches and reattaches.. Was hoping for some nifty engineering that allows for that part of the transformation and still have the head rotate hehe ..
Exactly one of my anticipations to. I didnt watch the video, but its no longer relevant since I not decided to get him. Kinda dissapointed with MP UM QC coz the crotchplate snapped broken after less than 2 months of play ( not even transform him often). I have better luck with cheaper MP carbots that survived tortures by my nephews the last CNY.

Bobby V
post Mar 23 2015, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(tnsai @ Mar 22 2015, 12:10 AM)
I was so surprised I got a message from Famitoy that he took a preorder for me. (I emailed him, but never got a reply so i didn't think he preordered for me). Needless to say I wnet to famitoy  to collect my Mp24. Haha the thing is, I preordered one from X2O as well. Was thinking of selling that one once I get it from X2O but now that I have him in hand, might just keep him for future.
Bro tnsai, since u pre order from X20, can consider to sell it to me brows.gif (if the price is below rm500 lor)

147 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:26 AM