Vw Passat 1.8tsi, Looking for feedback

TSBliz
post Mar 7 2015, 05:21 PM, updated 11y ago

2,734 posts

As per topic, I am trying to find out from owners of any passat 1.8tsi ( be it CC or normal passat with 7speed DSG ). Kindly leave the feedback like below

Model : 1.8Tsi passat/cc
Mileage : xx km
Issues so far : etc, mechatronic changed at xx Km
Remark : Recommended? Not recommended? Reason

Strictly no bashing please, found out the discount is really great nowadays, kind of tempted to get this car sweat.gif .
Boy96
post Mar 7 2015, 07:03 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Model: 2012 Passat 1.8TSi Sport (CBU germany)

Mileage: 47k KM

Issues:
1. Rattling sound from the 3rd brake light - SOLVED
2. Clock Spring mechanism faulty, steering got ticking sound - got conned by SC, they say theres nothing wrong with it, went to another SC and it say the mechanism faulty and not under insurance warranty (after the first 2 years)
3. DSG jerking - SC refuse to change clutch pack, saying nothing is wrong with it..

Aside from the DSG jerking issue. There is nothing wrong with the car, 2nd most powerful acceleration for a D segment sedan (fastest being mondeo ecoboost)..

Everything else just works...fine.. Great highway cruiser.. 215-220km/h still stable like a rock.

This post has been edited by Boy96: Mar 7 2015, 07:08 PM
TSBliz
post Mar 7 2015, 09:29 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 7 2015, 07:03 PM)

Issues:
2. Clock Spring mechanism faulty, steering got ticking sound - got conned by SC, they say theres nothing wrong with it, went to another SC and it say the mechanism faulty and not under insurance warranty (after the first 2 years)
3. DSG jerking - SC refuse to change clutch pack, saying nothing is wrong with it..

Aside from the DSG jerking issue. There is nothing wrong with the car, 2nd most powerful acceleration for a D segment sedan (fastest being mondeo ecoboost)..

Everything else just works...fine.. Great highway cruiser.. 215-220km/h still stable like a rock.
So far how's the gearbox ? Still rattling I assume ?
rizal.buzo
post Mar 9 2015, 11:59 AM

Issues:

Consumers need to be aware of the car condition before sending it to the SC. If you guys got any friend of foreman or they got few knowledge about the car, check with them. At least, by doing this, you guys will likely avoid unwanted things to happen like misunderstanding with the SC especially.

This post has been edited by rizal.buzo: Mar 9 2015, 05:37 PM
rcracer
post Mar 9 2015, 01:16 PM

?????
3,772 posts

jsut came back from VW roadshow lah
fr0sti3
post Mar 9 2015, 04:05 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

the main issue with VW now is the service centers (glenmarie is crap)
rizal.buzo
post Mar 9 2015, 04:43 PM

We need to list down all the crap SC and post it in all forum, tell the people. Let em know and they might change it to better afterwards (hopefully).
mozact89
post Mar 9 2015, 08:41 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

Passat promotion from hicom cheras is good. Pre owned for 4 days.. Mileage 900, they sell it at rm139k..
TSBliz
post Mar 10 2015, 11:12 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Mar 9 2015, 08:41 PM)
Passat promotion from hicom cheras is good. Pre owned for 4 days.. Mileage 900, they sell it at rm139k..
Wow that's very good price, Melaka can only offer 20k off for Pre-Reg 2014 ( Mileage 39km )
Alan
post Mar 10 2015, 05:24 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Mar 9 2015, 08:41 PM)
err... usually how to check if it bangs/gets banged before...?
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 10 2015, 05:40 PM

4,145 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 9 2015, 01:16 PM)
jsut came back from VW roadshow lah
And, ...?? Care to share what was discovered?
sexualpower
post Mar 10 2015, 05:56 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 7 2015, 05:21 PM)
As per topic, I am trying to find out from owners of any passat 1.8tsi ( be it CC or normal passat with 7speed DSG ). Kindly leave the feedback like below

Model  : 1.8Tsi passat/cc

Strictly no bashing please, found out the discount is really great nowadays, kind of tempted to get this car  sweat.gif .
bro, long time no c

a friend of mine commented far superior pick-up as compared to Camry and Jetta
dtna7
post Mar 10 2015, 10:16 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Mar 10 2015, 05:56 PM)
bro, long time no c

Camry is definitely out of the question. But Jetta? Similar mid 8s for century sprint.
6UE5T
post Mar 10 2015, 10:38 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Alan @ Mar 10 2015, 05:24 PM)
err... usually how to check if it bangs/gets banged before...?
Takes experience and sharp eyes for details.
Boy96
post Mar 10 2015, 11:32 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

bro, long time no c

Ofcourse, no other D segment car in its class can shift as fast as the Passat

TSBliz
post Mar 11 2015, 08:25 AM

2,734 posts

bro, long time no c

I am well aware of that, most of the cars i have tested before laugh.gif , am currently using ford focus tdci so cars with weak pickup is out of the equation tongue.gif
JunJun04035
post Mar 11 2015, 08:45 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 7 2015, 05:21 PM)

Model  : 1.8Tsi passat/cc

Strictly no bashing please, found out the discount is really great nowadays, kind of tempted to get this car  sweat.gif .
Dad get his first CKD batches with huge discount, 3 months ago
Run very less, just rack in 5k km IINM.

Boot light do not lit up first day onwards. sweat.gif
Rattling at passenger seatbelt housing.

Jerk wise, not really. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBliz
post Mar 11 2015, 08:46 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Mar 11 2015, 08:45 AM)
Dad get his first CKD batches with huge discount, 3 months ago
Run very less, just rack in 5k km IINM.

Boot light do not lit up first day onwards.  sweat.gif
Rattling at passenger seatbelt housing.

Jerk wise, not really.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Mind to share the price? laugh.gif
JunJun04035
post Mar 11 2015, 09:02 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 11 2015, 08:46 AM)
Mind to share the price?  laugh.gif
less than 140k icon_rolleyes.gif
TSBliz
post Mar 11 2015, 10:37 AM

2,734 posts

Is that Pre-Reg or brand new?
fr0sti3
post Mar 11 2015, 04:43 PM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

QUOTE(sykang @ Mar 11 2015, 03:56 PM)
What's the issue? Mind to share with me?
Because sometimes i'll send my car to there for servicing
i went there for regular service, they ask me to leave the car for the day
friend A go there to replace battery under warranty, took them 3 days just to replace it
friend B go there for 90,000km service, after service next day he found brake fluid not yet change
tishaban
post Mar 11 2015, 06:23 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Mar 11 2015, 04:43 PM)
friend A go there to replace battery under warranty, took them 3 days just to replace it
friend B go there for 90,000km service, after service next day he found brake fluid not yet change
VW Malaysia has promised to improve service, has the situation changed at all in the past few months?

SUSkevin23
post Mar 12 2015, 12:09 AM

1,803 posts

Issues:

As a owner of 2 VW cars, i would never buy a VW again.

Their cars are really good ....... Only for the first year. After that the car seems to deterioriate very quickly...

fr0sti3
post Mar 12 2015, 01:04 AM

F0NZz1e
1,095 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 11 2015, 06:23 PM)
VW Malaysia has promised to improve service, has the situation changed at all in the past few months?
friend B case happen in Jan 2015 at Glenmarie SC
some SC is still shitty doh.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 12 2015, 07:01 AM

4,145 posts

http://www.autoblog.com/2015/03/03/the-vw-...hings-for-bran/

The look of the new CC

Comments please ?
JunJun04035
post Mar 12 2015, 07:38 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 11 2015, 10:37 AM)
Is that Pre-Reg or brand new?
new
But the catch is, bought November 2014 yet manufacturer date is 2013
TSBliz
post Mar 12 2015, 08:55 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Mar 12 2015, 07:38 AM)
new
But the catch is, bought November 2014 yet manufacturer date is 2013
Wah then the car is 2 years old yawn.gif
JunJun04035
post Mar 12 2015, 09:30 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Mar 12 2015, 08:55 AM)
Wah then the car is 2 years old  yawn.gif
As long it's cheap, and doesn't affect the warranty length. rclxms.gif
mozact89
post Mar 14 2015, 07:55 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

Yes agree with u.. I report there are wind sound from window. They say have to leave the car for 3 days to inspect..

Then i go to mhv autohaus at gombak. They just settle it for about 2 hours only.. Demn wtf they want to leave the car there..
LeeKW888
post Mar 14 2015, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Mar 14 2015, 07:55 PM)
Yes agree with u.. I report there are wind sound from window. They say have to leave the car for 3 days to inspect..

Then i go to mhv autohaus at gombak. They just settle it for about 2 hours only.. Demn wtf they want to leave the car there..
I also drive passat b7 cbu, how mhv autohaus gombak to solve wind sound ? Do u mind share this with me ?
Boy96
post Mar 15 2015, 03:41 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Mar 14 2015, 07:55 PM)

Wind sound from window? At what speed? And which window?
Micky78
post Mar 16 2015, 12:09 PM

1,193 posts

Any idea when B8 passat coming to MY?
zweimmk
post Mar 16 2015, 12:16 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Mar 16 2015, 12:09 PM)
Any idea when B8 passat coming to MY?
2016 confirmed.
Micky78
post Mar 16 2015, 12:19 PM

1,193 posts

Ok.. can start save money now. .tq
SUScheechongfun
post Mar 16 2015, 12:22 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Mar 12 2015, 12:09 AM)

Their cars are really good ....... Only for the first year. After that the car seems to deteriorate very quickly...
This quote can apply to Proton too
SUSMamapapamsia
post Mar 16 2015, 01:38 PM

304 posts

Hw in world would ur friend know if the brake fluid is changed or not?
mozact89
post Mar 16 2015, 08:28 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(LeeKW888 @ Mar 14 2015, 08:07 PM)
I also drive passat b7 cbu, how mhv autohaus gombak to solve wind sound ? Do u mind share this with me ?
Normally they will allign back ur weather strip and put myk or what. I forgot edy..
takr
post Mar 18 2015, 02:40 PM

39 posts

Model : 1.8Tsi passat
Mileage : 59k km
Bought: 2012

Issues so far :
1) Battery changed 2x - solved (1st time free, 2nd out of pocket)
2) Speed sensor changed 2x - solved (free)
3) Temperature sensor 1x - solved (free)
4) Mechatronic 1x - solved (free)
5) Dashboard + B pillar rattle (DIY free)
6) Have to topup engine oil around 8-9k (DIY ~60 per 1litre - but weird since i dont rempit and interval should be 15k)

EDIT: Just remembered, the stock Contiseal expensive (1.2k per tire) but doesnt seem to handle punctures that well.. I ended up have to change it anyways

Remark : Recommended? Yes, when no issue really nice cruiser, steady as a rock. Huge interior.
Equipment a bit stingy - depending on model, might not get bluetooth, fully auto seat, folding side mirror
A bit of uncle car lor

This post has been edited by takr: Mar 18 2015, 02:43 PM
kaneshi
post Mar 24 2015, 01:24 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(takr @ Mar 18 2015, 02:40 PM)
Model : 1.8Tsi passat
Mileage : 59k km
Bought: 2012

Issues so far :
1) Battery changed 2x - solved (1st time free, 2nd out of pocket)
2) Speed sensor changed 2x - solved (free)
3) Temperature sensor 1x - solved (free)
4) Mechatronic 1x - solved (free)
5) Dashboard + B pillar rattle (DIY free)
6) Have to topup engine oil around 8-9k (DIY ~60 per 1litre - but weird since i dont rempit and interval should be 15k)

EDIT: Just remembered, the stock Contiseal expensive (1.2k per tire) but doesnt seem to handle punctures that well.. I ended up have to change it anyways

Remark : Recommended? Yes, when no issue really nice cruiser, steady as a rock.  Huge interior.
Equipment a bit stingy - depending on model, might not get bluetooth, fully auto seat, folding side mirror
A bit of uncle car lor
Mind to share how you resolved the rattling issue? I have the similar rattling issue on dashboard near the steering wheel and the backseat roof.
takr
post Mar 24 2015, 05:42 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Mar 24 2015, 01:24 PM)
Mind to share how you resolved the rattling issue? I have the similar rattling issue on dashboard near the steering wheel and the backseat roof.
I just jammed a touch n go card @ the gap between the steering wheel and the dashboard..
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 26 2015, 12:15 PM

4,145 posts

aiyo

http://www.therakyatpost.com/motoring/2015...gen-cc-problem/
Batmain
post May 22 2015, 02:58 PM

My friend was just offered rm70k for his 2012 Passat 18tsi. He lost RM100k+ in 3 years. Depreciation of 60% in 3 years says a lot. Not to mention his problems with the car reliability. He got stranded on the highway to Penang once with his whole family. Had to call VW service to tow the car due to fault fuel pump. Then stranded in k.l due to DSG. He had to fork out more money to sell his car due to the loan. He is going to get the new Camry and staying with jap brands in future, to avoid having to pray first before driving his car. Those still looking to buy the new model good luck to you. VW = very worrisome.

0.0283sec    1.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:11 PM