Maxis Connect Maxis/Unifi Using TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V2
TSpeacelover1990
Mar 7 2015, 03:41 PM, updated 11y ago
P/S : I am not a network expert, just for sharing purpose, if i am wrong please correct me. Equipment Used : TP-Link TL-WR1043ND V2
Features : 1. 300Mbps wireless speed + 4 Gigabit Ethernet Ports.2. 5dBi*3 Detachable Omni Directional Antenna3. Support wireless speed boost up to 450Mbps.4. Bandwidth Control.5. USB 2.0 Port -> Local Printer Sharing, File sharing, FTP Server.6. Supports both Maxis and Unifi.Picture :
 Current Retail Price (as of 7 March 2015) ViewNet - RM159 Thunder Match - RM148
===================================== Step 1 :-Connect the LAN Cable from your VDSL Modem / BTU to WAN Port of the router. -Power On the Router and Connect to the router SSID. [Starts With TP-LINK_XXXXXX, unencrypted] - Ensure your network adapter is not configured to static IP. -Once Connected, Open your browser and key in http://192.168.0.1 -You will be prompted for Username and Password.Default User Name and Password :
Username : admin Password : admin Step 2 :-Once Authenticated, you will be landing at Quick Setup Page -Press Next button to proceed.
Step 3 :- If you are using Unifi, choose Unifi Mode. - As I am using Unifi, the tutorial will be based on Unifi, however Maxis configuration should be very similar. - Press Next button to proceed. Step 4 :- You will be landing at VLAN configuration page. - Just leave the configuration as it is if you have no idea what it is. - Press Next button to proceed. **After completing the configuration, please connect your IPTV LAN Cable to LAN1 of the router as IPTV VLAN is configured at Port 1 of the router. Step 5 :- Key in your UniFi username (remember to append @unifi at the end) - Key in your UniFi password - If you forgot your password, you can call TM UniFi Centre @ 1300 88 1222 to reset it. - Press Next button to proceed. Step 6 :- Key in the wireless network name. (any name you prefer) - Choose WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK as the security encryption and set your wireless password. - Press Next button to proceed. Step 7 :- Now you are done with your configuration, press reboot to restart the router. - The reboot time takes approx 1 -2 minutes. - Once rebooted, you can connect to your new WiFi Network Name configured in Step 7. - Once connected, you will be able to surf the web. ======================================= As a security precaution, you may also want to disable your WPS as it posses some security concern on your WiFi network. Please visit the link below for more information,http://www.howtogeek.com/176124/wi-fi-prot...uld-disable-it/ Steps to disable your WPS.1. Connect to your newly configured WiFi Network. 2. Repeat Step 2 of the tutorial above. 3. Once authenticated, click on the WPS link (Left Side Bar) 4. Click on Disable WPS button. 5. Restart your router. ======================================== Some review about the router1. Gigabit LAN Port is cool.
2. Signal strength is good - able to cover (20 x 75sq ft) double story house - may not be accurate due to the difference of house structure and placement of router.
3. Love the bandwidth control feature. Read more about the detailed product review at
http://us.hardware.info/reviews/5160/tp-li...llent-follow-up======================================== Wanted To Enable Bandwidth Control? Refer to the link below,https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry73306153======================================== Slow WiFi? You may be experiencing WiFi Channel Congestion / Inteference, Refer to link below for more info.http://www.howtogeek.com/126327/how-to-get...k-interference/This post has been edited by peacelover1990: Mar 7 2015, 04:44 PM
HavenFlies
Mar 10 2015, 09:17 AM
hi there~ can I chg the IPTV port to normal lan port? me n my fren rent a house together, and we dun have TV....
High-Speed
Mar 13 2015, 08:09 PM

QUOTE(HavenFlies @ Mar 10 2015, 09:17 AM) hi there~ can I chg the IPTV port to normal lan port? me n my fren rent a house together, and we dun have TV.... Hi there, actually you can still use the rest port instead of first port only..not nothing different.
Nightingales
Mar 13 2015, 11:28 PM
hello,
can someone help me in setting up dd-wrt for this router?, im using dd-wrt (beta 03-05-2015-r26446), i managed to get it work but can't connect to internet using laptop wireless, it get quite long to connect but managed to get ip address, still.., no internet. Using lan and phone(android and ios) it can connect and surf web smoothly but not on windows wireless and whenever i reconnect lan cable to pc, it take some time before i can connect and surf internet.
Thanks you.
This post has been edited by Nightingales: Mar 13 2015, 11:30 PM
wideawake
Mar 26 2015, 05:53 PM

Hi there,
Nice write up. Is there a possibility to connect the phone as well somehow in this configuration? As you know the VOIP is connected to the Thompson router.
With the Thompson router out of the picture, how do you get the phone working?
kuekss
May 17 2015, 05:23 PM

Hi, after setup Maxis Fiber IPTV, TP Link C7 router can watch IPTV but cant online. Dont know what happen???
wind01
Jun 26 2015, 11:07 AM
Folding@Malaysia Team
Thanks for the guide on how to setup TPlink router with Maxis. I'm good with the Internet part.
The only problem is I don't seems to get the VOIP to work. So far, I have: -
VLAN setup: - > LAN1 - IPTV - vlanID : 823 > LAN2 - Internet - vlanID : 621 > LAN3 - Internet - vlanID : 621 > LAN4 - VOIP - vlanID : 821
Connect LAN4 of TPlink to WAN of Thomson....VOIP not working.
Is there anything that I need to adjust on the Maxis router ?
Appreciate guidance. Thanks.
broadcast
Jul 29 2015, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(oknoproblem @ Jul 29 2015, 05:02 PM) Anybody know after upgrade the latest firmware(TL-WR1043ND_V2_140912(Unifi_Maxis_Fiber)) is more powerful? Yes it is.after you upgrade the latest firmware,the coverage and everything is improved
sidearound
Jul 29 2015, 05:09 PM
Can i change these anttena to 8dpi,does it work?
tencentpoker
Jul 30 2015, 07:47 PM
my house 2 floor,the wifi coverage very good after upgrade the latest firmware.
omggod
Jul 30 2015, 07:50 PM
really? may i know this model price is?
farisfoo
Aug 6 2015, 11:59 AM
Can you please show me how to use this router with my Astro IPTV in replace of the Thomson router. I do not have a VOID....Need Help urgent.
broadcast
Aug 6 2015, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(farisfoo @ Aug 6 2015, 11:59 AM) Can you please show me how to use this router with my Astro IPTV in replace of the Thomson router. I do not have a VOID....Need Help urgent. Hi Bro,you can try to change to 821 for VOIP This post has been edited by broadcast: Aug 6 2015, 05:04 PM
broadcast
Aug 6 2015, 05:05 PM
i use this in unifi so far so good,about coverage and everything is great.i like it
Hsbc88
Aug 11 2015, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(kuekss @ May 17 2015, 05:23 PM) Hi, after setup Maxis Fiber IPTV, TP Link C7 router can watch IPTV but cant online. Dont know what happen??? May i know what is your C7 firmware version router ,then you said can't online mean you are connect lan cable or wifi for your PC/desktop PC.Second make sure your IPTV are connect to router lan 1.
pl95077
Aug 11 2015, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(wind01 @ Jun 26 2015, 12:07 PM) Thanks for the guide on how to setup TPlink router with Maxis. I'm good with the Internet part. The only problem is I don't seems to get the VOIP to work. So far, I have: - VLAN setup: - > LAN1 - IPTV - vlanID : 823 > LAN2 - Internet - vlanID : 621 > LAN3 - Internet - vlanID : 621 > LAN4 - VOIP - vlanID : 821 Connect LAN4 of TPlink to WAN of Thomson....VOIP not working. Is there anything that I need to adjust on the Maxis router ? Appreciate guidance. Thanks. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBRbk1FSFj0Please see this video
UJil
Aug 15 2015, 07:49 PM

i've set vlan port to 600 for iptv, but still my hypptv cant connect to internet while my laptop and smrtphone is fine.
bell2roy
Aug 23 2015, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(UJil @ Aug 15 2015, 07:49 PM) i've set vlan port to 600 for iptv, but still my hypptv cant connect to internet while my laptop and smrtphone is fine. Hi,May i know what is your ISP Provider,may i know are u using Unifi so can you provide your model wireless router,firmware version and hardware version.You can login to web browser to check it by type it tplinklogin.net or 192.168.0.1 then go to status.I want u to catch the picture for your IPTV is what kind is it because If u are using Unifi,there are many kind of IPTV version.May I know does your IPTV have set up the account for your IPTV device.Final make sure your router lan 1 is connect by IPTV.