how to publish a book in malaysia?, anyone working in a publishing industry?

TSPlant
post Mar 7 2015, 11:46 AM, updated 11y ago

219 posts

Hi all.

Before I create this topic, I done some research and already contact some of the publisher, most publisher have theme, like selling children book or autobiographic but never a novel. I also know selling novel in English isn't that great cause many Malaysia don't read English and only a small market of people do.

However, I am relentless and want to publish my novel out. At least try first, who knows. If all else fail, I might consider to self-publish using ebook.

anyone can help me? sad.gif
SUSAmeiN
post Mar 7 2015, 11:49 AM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

book publisher.. theres alot in malaysia.

karangkraf for example
even_steven
post Mar 7 2015, 12:03 PM

Perut Jauh Kedepan (PJK)
636 posts

If you have money, you can just pay a printing company to print it out for you.
ConstantLove
post Mar 7 2015, 12:06 PM

234 posts

how bout putting up as ebook, 1st chapter for free. then if people interested can buy ur ebook.
JaniceWLV
post Mar 7 2015, 02:10 PM

163 posts

*out of topic

yes, i do agree with you, Malaysians rarely read! in fact I am the only one among my friends who at least reads a little.
Btw, what kind of novel are you writing? I will buy your book if it interests me
yoyo_icecube
post Mar 7 2015, 03:02 PM

66 posts

hello,

for english novel publisher we do have fixi novo. did you contact them??
https://www.facebook.com/FixiNovo

tobleronesss
post Mar 7 2015, 03:43 PM

124 posts

I know every process from editing to layout design to isbn and cip registration. BUT, I'm not a publisher yet, so ccan't help you because I'd need a legit company in order to do the formal registration laugh.gif

Unless you can wait until I establish my own publishing house biggrin.gif
wodenus
post Mar 7 2015, 10:06 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Mar 7 2015, 11:46 AM)
Hi all.

Before I create this topic, I done some research and already contact some of the publisher, most publisher have theme, like selling children book or autobiographic but never a novel. I also know selling novel in English isn't that great cause many Malaysia don't read English and only a small market of people do.

However, I am relentless and want to publish my novel out. At least try first, who knows. If all else fail, I might consider to self-publish using ebook.

anyone can help me?  sad.gif
No offence, but why? your English isn't good, no one will take you on smile.gif you might want to self-publish I guess smile.gif

TSPlant
post Mar 7 2015, 11:13 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Mar 7 2015, 11:49 AM)
book publisher.. theres alot in malaysia.

karangkraf for example
yea, a lot of them but not a lot of them publish fiction novel.

QUOTE(even_steven @ Mar 7 2015, 12:03 PM)
If you have money, you can just pay a printing company to print it out for you.
Prefer to go the hard road first before self-publishing. smile.gif

QUOTE(ConstantLove @ Mar 7 2015, 12:06 PM)
how bout putting up as ebook, 1st chapter for free. then if people interested can buy ur ebook.
good idea, might consider that.

QUOTE(yoyo_icecube @ Mar 7 2015, 03:02 PM)
hello,

for english novel publisher we do have fixi novo. did you contact them??
https://www.facebook.com/FixiNovo
not yet, thanks. Will looks into it.

This post has been edited by Plant: Mar 7 2015, 11:53 PM
TSPlant
post Mar 7 2015, 11:51 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(JaniceWLV @ Mar 7 2015, 02:10 PM)
*out of topic

yes, i do agree with you, Malaysians rarely read! in fact I am the only one among my friends who at least reads a little.
Btw, what kind of novel are you writing? I will buy your book if it interests me
story blog, but i removed the story because polishing the book
discussion thread ( Contain spoiler )

Most of the views are local.

QUOTE(tobleronesss @ Mar 7 2015, 03:43 PM)
I know every process from editing to layout design to isbn and cip registration. BUT, I'm not a publisher yet, so ccan't help you because I'd need a legit company in order to do the formal registration laugh.gif

Unless you can wait until I establish my own publishing house biggrin.gif
probably get rejected by a lot of publisher and sure i can wait you open ur own publishing house. laugh.gif

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 7 2015, 10:06 PM)
No offence, but why? your English isn't good, no one will take you on smile.gif you might want to self-publish I guess smile.gif
None taken. smile.gif
-
I haven't send my manuscript to the publisher yet. Just asking around and calling to get a feel of it.

This post has been edited by Plant: Mar 8 2015, 12:11 AM
SUSAmeiN
post Mar 7 2015, 11:59 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Mar 7 2015, 11:13 PM)
yea, a lot of them but not a lot of them publish fiction novel.
Prefer to go the hard road first before self-publishing.  smile.gif
good idea, might consider that.
not yet, thanks. Will looks into it.
i think karangkraf do publish fiction books hmm.gif
TSPlant
post Mar 8 2015, 12:03 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Mar 7 2015, 11:59 PM)
i think karangkraf do publish fiction books  hmm.gif
but their company is in Malay wor.

my story got a bit... erotic so.... i really don't want to offend them >.>"

This post has been edited by Plant: Mar 8 2015, 12:10 AM
yoyo_icecube
post Mar 8 2015, 12:51 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Mar 8 2015, 12:03 AM)
but their company is in Malay wor.

my story got a bit... erotic so.... i really don't want to offend them >.>"
erotic?? xD try fixi lah... fixi is very urban.. even their malay novels (fixi) got hot scenes.

tobleronesss
post Mar 8 2015, 12:53 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Mar 7 2015, 11:51 PM)

probably get rejected by a lot of publisher and sure i can wait you open ur own publishing house.  laugh.gif

what's your niche? or genre?
TSPlant
post Mar 8 2015, 01:18 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(yoyo_icecube @ Mar 8 2015, 12:51 AM)
erotic?? xD try fixi lah... fixi is very urban.. even their malay novels (fixi) got hot scenes.
I see i see. Will contact them but before i do, need an editor first.. haha.

QUOTE(tobleronesss @ Mar 8 2015, 12:53 AM)
what's your niche? or genre?
Suspend, Mystery and Romance.

ohman
post Mar 9 2015, 12:02 AM

1,178 posts

Congrats on your amy story!!!
TSPlant
post Mar 9 2015, 12:35 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Mar 9 2015, 12:02 AM)
Congrats on your amy story!!!
thanks smile.gif smile.gif
arubin
post Mar 9 2015, 02:30 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

Here's a suggestion - Put up your first chapter electronically for us bookworms to sample. We'll tell you if we might be interested or not.

I haven't bought much books lately, but I'm more than willing to support a local writer if I don't think their work is shabby. Its about time Malaysia produces its own globally recognized author, I'd say.

I mean if crap like Twilight and 50 Shades can sell in the millions...
fievel_w
post Mar 10 2015, 01:20 PM

Hi, good luck in publishing your book. There's a GLC - Kota Buku which provides a space at their office to help writers publish their content. I have visited the space and it is conducive for aspiring writers. [Free wifi, coffee & snacks] Perhaps you can enquire them. http://kotabuku.my/services/kota-buku-academy/

Agrees with arubin smile.gif

saintnotsinner
post Mar 11 2015, 12:43 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Mar 7 2015, 12:46 PM)
Hi all.

anyone can help me?  sad.gif
you can publish on your own. of course you have to hire PR company for marketing and promotion too.

0.0252sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:08 PM