The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

imbibug
post Mar 26 2015, 09:53 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 26 2015, 11:53 AM)
I would pick whichever value for GB/RM.
Quick Google found that Intel520series came out around 2012Q1 while LiteonS900(M5Pro) are around 2012Q3. But obviously Liteon are newer based on manufacturing.
The date of manufacture tells very little. Even newer is not better with ssds since newer tlc memory and smaller process nodes have a shorter lifespan.

The big difference is that the Intel 520 is using a sandforce controller and has had issues with it int the past. Liteon is using newer 19nm nand and is faster in sequential writes with incompressible data.
imbibug
post Mar 26 2015, 09:56 PM

1,700 posts

Any recommendations for a cheaper ssd? Looking at Liteon Mu series 256Gb for RM359, S900 for RM380, Transcend 370, Adata SP610.

imbibug
post Mar 10 2016, 04:00 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 10 2016, 03:32 PM)
hyperX offers 500mb/s

normal ssdnow offers 450mb/s

since u are using Sata 3 ready, might as well squeeze the most u could go with Kingston.
Thats just the theoretical maximum using the highest capacity SSD of the product line like 1Tb ssds. The 128Gb hyperx will not touch the advertised 500Mb/s speed. For a small cheap drive the v300 is fine.

imbibug
post Mar 10 2016, 08:52 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Mar 10 2016, 05:19 PM)
what speed will it run if I buy 128gb hyperx
I am planning to put my OS and one game that I played mostly in the SSD, maybe will take around 30gb, 120gb should be sufficient
The 120Gb Fury is still way faster than a harddisk even a raptor. So its worth getting if game loading times are too long on a harddisk. Get the Fury over the v300 since its faster the price difference is slight.
imbibug
post Apr 9 2016, 01:38 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(lavenzo @ Mar 31 2016, 10:04 PM)
is kingston hyper x savage good compared to 850 evo?
It depends. If you going to be writing alot, the hyper-x savage would be the better choice (>300Tbw vs 75Tbw for 250Gb) because the spec'd write endurance is 4x better. For light usage the 850evo has a longer warranty.

imbibug
post Jul 1 2016, 03:03 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 21 2016, 02:56 PM)
I'm looking at this too.
But which one are newer?
Sandisk SSD Plus 240GB or the Sandisk Ultra II 240GB? Name are confusing but looking at their website, the SSD Plus is entry level using MLC while the Ultra II is using TLC. Hmmm
The SSDplus is using TLC not MLC. The performance of the newer cheap TLC drives are all quite poor, around the level or abit above the BX200. Sustained file transfers on those TLC drives will slow down alot once the small write cache is filled up, then it will be slower than a harddisk. But it should be ok for the usual lyn gamer pc.
imbibug
post Jul 1 2016, 08:23 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(matni01 @ Jul 1 2016, 04:43 PM)
hello guys, i'm on my interest on installing SSD to my PC.
saw this one SSD,

the PNY CS1311 480GB, cost about RM479 on lelong
that's almost RM1 per GB.

is it worth the buy? does this brand is good?
please help me all the sifus biggrin.gif
The PNY CS1311, Adata SP550, Kingston UV400, Sandisk ssdplus, Sony SLW-M are current low end tlc drives. I think the ssdplus model is the slowest of the bunch, the CS1311 the fastest but disk sizes also matter.

See the BX200 and the 120Gb CS1311 being slower in sequential transfers compared to a 7200rpm harddisk and the older Sandisk Ultra ii tlc drive.

http://www.legitreviews.com/kingston-uv400...d-review_182149
http://www.anandtech.com/show/10234/the-pn...s-tlc-at-15nm/7
http://www.thessdreview.com/our-reviews/pn...w-120gb480gb/5/
imbibug
post Sep 8 2016, 07:15 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 3 2016, 12:32 PM)
hi Shawty... have you come across any SSD brand which with quality/reliability issue? Or in general all SSDs will last long and it is a matter of performance which differentiates them apart?
personally i cannot recall when i have seen a failed SSD or corrupted SSD, but i used SSD on laptop only until recently for my desktop i switched to SSD.
i think reliability is important but if paying more expensive SSD just for the performance, then i may consider buying a cheaper one if all of them last the same...
Some of the bigger brands like Samsung, Sandisk, Intel, Toshiba have access to better nand. Generally the drives using mlc have better durability and performance since tlc is a step backwards when looking at the specs for endurance.
imbibug
post Oct 25 2016, 10:52 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 7 2016, 01:55 AM)
sudden blackout? haha i am not sure too
surely ups can help. it's like a laptop with a functional battery. to me both hdd and ssd are susceptible to power loss. hdd has higher risks because of movable parts.

technically the true power loss prevention is a feature in some enterprise ssd. for consumer ssd, some do advertise that they have it, but its capability is usually limited (eg. only protect data at-rest, not on-the-fly like those found in enterprise ssd).

how important and practical is this feature to us consumers? it really depends. imo it's good to have it, but not really necessary.
Not true. Harddisks now have automatic head parking technology for at least a decade and therefore will probably have less issues with power failures compared to ssds. Consumer SSDs without power loss protection are more susceptible to extreme data loss/corruption during power failures unlike harddisks unless the user has a UPS.

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 8 2016, 07:27 PM)
imo current ssds are fine for casual workloads. tlc is just starting to become common, and it might be still fine when qlc nand is here to stay.

also, if the endurance is a serious concern, i think manufacturers are more worried than us consumers. they risk more than we do.
TLC was just starting to be common years ago, its now the most common nand for consumer ssds.

Casual users who just use their pc's for playing videos and games probably won't notice the drawbacks of tlc. Degraded read speeds from voltage drift is a general problem and there is no real fix except for brute force data overwrites on a regular basis through the firmware which will reduce endurance. Having to rely on more advanced data error correction codes also reduces read speed significantly. There hasn't been much interest in investigating this issue by more mainstream reviewers but someone has documented the heavy drop in read speeds for the BX200 and he mentions the SP550 also has similar issues.
https://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=117557
imbibug
post Oct 25 2016, 11:00 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Oct 12 2016, 12:06 PM)
My lite-on S900 256GB stopped working without warning after about 1.5 years also whereas my older Plextor M5 is still working fine. Strange since both should be using the same marvell controller and toshiba nand.
Thinking about getting the Transcend 370 as replacement.
QUOTE(horns @ Oct 13 2016, 02:50 AM)
this model is really giving plextor a bad impression.
all my old plextor are still running fine too.
The S900 isn't a plextor just because it just happened to use the same components at the time of the review. The Liteon model could switch to cheaper nand depending on market prices for memory unlike Plextor which is a more premium brand and probably have higher quality specs.
imbibug
post Nov 23 2016, 10:04 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 26 2016, 01:22 AM)
Yes i am aware of the automatic head parking in hdd. Imo that tech alone just help minimize risks, but still not enough to resolve anything else which cause failures due to the mechanical nature of a hdd. Again, the comparison between ssd and hdd is relative, not absolute. Both are susceptible imo.

Most consumer ssds in retail market are without power loss protection. The real question is: how many of us actually had issues due to sudden power loss because of this missing feature? If it's that susceptible like you described, i think it will become a common issue by now, and no one will really wanna spend much on ssd to get into troubles later on.
No. Ssd's can hard brick after a power failure if the FTA table gets corrupted due to power loss, even if it is rare which isn't the case with disks even it is mechanical because of what I talked about.
Current cheaper ssd which cut more corners may be even more susceptible to power loss failures.

As for tlc nand, imo as long as you're using it within their limits, they will work well. If you wanna do heavy stuff, choose something with good mlc. Also, 960 evo has bad ass speeds. It uses tlc.
That doesn't make any sense. Ssds are supposed to be fast otherwise there wouldn't be a point paying the same amount for about 1000 times less storage capacity.

Performance degradation will always happen with time. For ssd, it's about what it can still achieve when it's in the steady state. Tlc will definitely not be as good as mlc, but it's not really that bad also. I still use 840 evo in one of my laptops. From time to time i run filebench just out of curiosity. The speeds are still 450+MB/s after about 3 years of usage. Yes i don't have experience about drives other than samsung tlc drives, so i could be very wrong when you talk about tlc models from other brands.
Then you have no idea about what I'm talking about. This is an issue about tlc voltage drift which affect performance in a very short time. Especially when you say that your only experience and knowledge about tlc is with Samsung's v-nand drives.

The 840evo has a 2nd firmware update since the first fix wasn't successful. The 2nd fix is basically a brute force fix by overwriting the same data on the spot alot more frequently to stop performance degradation.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 26 2016, 02:02 AM)
im kinda disappointed on TLC drives in general mainly due to pricing. theyre more or less replacing previous price points of MLC with the MLC going up instead. yet it has lower perf and endurance
Yes you get it. We are getting a lower quality product for the same price point.
imbibug
post Aug 2 2017, 12:58 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Jul 25 2017, 08:14 PM)
Hi, is the benchmark for my Kingston UV400 120GB ok?
It looks ok. For a home user the 4k random read/write speed is more important than sequential benchmarks.
Results of a 480Gb UV400:
The 4k read/write sucks badly for this TLC ssd.

I found that TLC ssds will usually fail to complete (0Mb/s) the copy-benchmark in AS-benchmark utility which matches up with real world experience; with larger programs/games, the installation process can take very long in comparison with MLC type ssds.
https://www.techspot.com/downloads/6014-as-...-benchmark.html
Try the copy benchmark and see if it works properly.

0.1013sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:30 AM