37 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

horns
post May 14 2015, 09:08 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ May 14 2015, 08:54 PM)
how much u bought ?
60+ i think. The brand is hotway rock mobile disk. Outside the box it terang terang states that it supports uasp hehe

edit:

- update to the potential data loss of ssd, internet people are reading it wrongly biggrin.gif http://www.pcworld.com/article/2925173/deb...-after-all.html
- intel ssd toolbox 3.3.0, https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/1...e-Drive-Toolbox

This post has been edited by horns: May 21 2015, 11:02 PM
horns
post May 22 2015, 12:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 22 2015, 02:19 AM)
I saw some article mention if SSD did not power up for 1 week , all data will get erase and gone and cannot start sad.gif
Is it true ? which brand happen ?
yeah. people misinterpreted without proper understandings. it's like many user comments, they don't actually check the 'when' of scenarios. the original author talked about what happens at the end-of-life of a ssd. the rest of the world thought it happens just like that.
horns
post May 29 2015, 12:29 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

i thought i was dreaming just now. after several tests, i think it's real. this is the transfer speed when i do a transfer from my computer to an external ssd (in a hdd enclosure with uasp support. ssd to ssd) in w10 tech preview (build 10125):

the transfer speed from the external ssd to computer is lower, i.e. avg. 198MB/s. (the normal speed in w8.1)

horns
post Jun 4 2015, 01:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Jun 3 2015, 10:33 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I was wondering if Lite-On MU series would be a decent SSD compared to 900S? It is cheaper than 900S it seems
for common use, it should work.

I just checked the price, the difference is just about MYR40.00 max. For that difference i still suggest you get 900s.

Sometimes, i believe 'you get what you pay for'.
horns
post Jun 10 2015, 02:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Jun 10 2015, 01:04 PM)
Havent do housekeeping for my crucial m4 for 3 years..shud i be worry?
First time bought very excited do this and that optimizatio.but now so lazy since it still work and plenty fast oso.

I had two m4s before.1 died suspect due to stupid psu.
yeah guys.stupid psu may kill ur ssd.
if there is nothing important on that ssd, no. there is not much that we have to do for house keeping anyway (other than regular backups for important data).

i guess older drives lacked of decent power protection. one of my oldest ssds lost all its data because of sudden power loss too hehe (it's not dead but it's like being secure erased) after reinitialized, everything is still working, the health is still good.
horns
post Jun 13 2015, 10:46 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 13 2015, 02:20 AM)
Can ssd format with MBR rather than GPT ? because if Install window XP will it have problem or not perform well ?
sure. mbr or gpt have no effects to ssd performance.

horns
post Jun 16 2015, 02:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Jun 16 2015, 10:34 AM)
Loading time eh? let me try more loading intense game and test it out again. Will run benchmark and share over here. Btw, is OEM version recommended to get? I get it because it is quite cheap. RM330 for 256GB. Mind to share me your input? Kentang goreng?
yeah mainly load time should be improved. there are others but it really depends on your setup and usage (e.g. file copy - ssd to ssd, not ssd to hdd or hdd to ssd - i.e. anything that is related directly to reads and writes).

oem ssds are actually similar to retail units with minor adjustments to suit oem orders. the main difference is warranty. this is the only sacrifice and risk that you need to make and take. if you're concerned about warranty, then don't go for it.

i have some sata oem drives. so far they work as good as retail units. they are very affordable so i made my own 'warranty' thing: get a few more as backups. the total costs are still lower than retail units.

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 16 2015, 11:52 AM)
tlc era is coming smile.gif

horns
post Jun 16 2015, 03:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Jun 16 2015, 03:25 PM)
Thanks for giving me the comment. Appreciate it. Since it's like a beta version / demo and test the SSD, i don't really care about the warranty. I only store my stuff in the HDD. SSD only for game in steam. Everything well taken care of by gaben. So it should be alright for me.

Really cheap i would say. Almost the lower price x2.  laugh.gif I was eyeing on Samsung Pro 256GB version.
yeah it depends on how you see things. tbh, my oldest ssd is an oem drive. (i couldn't afford spanking new retail units at that time, so my friend sold me a used oem at very low price smile.gif) it's been many years, and today it's one of my main storage ssds. there is no sign of health issues yet even if i use it to transfer very large files frequently.
horns
post Jun 17 2015, 03:59 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jun 17 2015, 02:51 PM)
Hi, what software/method are suitable to secure erase liteon l9s ssd?

If samsung, got its own software, but i cant find one for liteon.. googled it, but not sure which one is for liteon...

Thanks in advanced. smile.gif
the simplest way is to use disk management to produce similar outcome. the method uses built-in garbage collection (gc) and trim. all you need to do is to select the disk you wanna clean up, and delete everything (volume, partitions, etc.) in disk management. the drive will become unallocated fully. then leave it alone for 1 to 2 hours (some suggested leaving it overnight). if you're familiar with diskpart, the same can be done with 'clean'.

after the above, you can manually issuing trim to ssd again (e.g. optimize drive in w8.x) to make sure controller processes the command once more.

horns
post Jun 17 2015, 11:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 17 2015, 05:16 PM)
Sorry I dont understand about this SSD problem test , https://blog.algolia.com/when-solid-state-d...not-that-solid/

Wanted to know whether Intel 330 or 335 affected ?
thanks for this article. it's a good read, bringing me back to those old code-reading days (supervise is still one of my favorite tools to be used in linux boxes lol!)

back to the topic, tl;dr; it's about ssds from samsung (the whole 8 series), certain crucial/micron, ocz, intel, etc. being blacklisted in linux's ata driver (along with other storage types and models), because of non-compliance to standards that involves disabling queued trim on them. (from that article, un-queued trim was used and caused issues too)

imo, it's really depends on usage. those are scenarios and workloads in heavy duty linux servers running 24/7. (those lines of codes can be translated into this, in terms of ssd: in mission critical systems, don't ever use consumer ssds, mainstream or enthusiast; and don't enable trim in linux if the ssd is listed). in reality, our computing loads will certainly not reach that level. i know the key point is still about trim in linux. how many of us have trim issues before that caused data corruption? i have crucial m500, and most of the samsung 8 series in that list. i have no issues so far. (maybe because they are running windows) of course, if you're running linux in your machine, i think it's better to avoid those blacklisted drives, or just disable trim if you insisted.

as for your question, yes, at least 330 is affected. (the answer is not obvious but it's in a link from that page, http://www.aerospike.com/docs/operations/p...ification.html)

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jun 17 2015, 06:20 PM)
thanks.. i will recheck on ur method.. btw, is using parted magic safe? i saw some video on youtube using it.
i am not sure about this, but if it's using the similar method that handles hdd's secure erase, then it's not safe imo.

edit: buggy link fixed.

This post has been edited by horns: Jun 18 2015, 12:15 PM
horns
post Jun 17 2015, 11:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jun 17 2015, 11:23 PM)
well, i check on the method that u shared.. it is only applicable to the non bootable ssd  sad.gif
looks like need to gamble with the software... or maybe need to do more research on this, or hear one or two comment from l9s users..
uh? you're doing secure erase, right? of course you can do that to a bootable drive. just boot from windows install media and do it.

imo unless the ssd is slower than usual, there is no need to do secure erase often. i just do every few months (up to a year) when i think it's time to reformat the drive and have a clean install/system restore.
horns
post Jun 18 2015, 08:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jun 18 2015, 06:37 AM)
yeah, im doing secure erase.. according to here

does it means i cannot do it on current ssd instal with OS or i need to boot from another drive?  hmm.gif
That part referrred to a running system in which os in the boot drive is active. It simply means to do a secure erase on it you can either boot the computer with another tool (e.g. windows install media, or simply the tool created with ssd management software), or you put the boot drive to another computer via sata cable as non-booting drive.
horns
post Jun 18 2015, 03:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jun 18 2015, 11:36 AM)
oh now i understand... thanks for clarifying..  smile.gif
no problem. good luck biggrin.gif

horns
post Jun 19 2015, 10:17 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 19 2015, 02:11 AM)
em0ti0n Thanks for the explanation , which means

Windows = Any ssd will do ( trim enable )
Linux with ext4 = Particular model ( trim disable ) Will a newer kernal fix it ? http://www.military-technologies.net/2015/...ially-released/

Guess avoid linux system on ssd first until problem fix but for window any SSD will do right ?
Normal usage , just for loding window faster and program faster , beside it's slow , everytime load something I can hear my Sgate hard disk seeking sound sad.gif

So which SSD do you recommend , budget not more than rm 350
you're confused with the ext4 fix with queued trim blacklist patches for libata. they are different. from libata-related patches (libata-blacklist-queued-trim-on-samsung-ssd-850-pro.patch, libata-update-crucial-micron-blacklist.patch) they just updated the blacklist to add 850 pro (and 850 pro only, not entire 8 series like upstream).

note that i didn't say that os other than linux have bug-free trim. i meant to say, literally, i haven't encountered data corruption issues with trim in windows based on usage as a user.

also note that it's not about file systems like ext4 (it's a different issue). the blacklist is in libata, the ata driver. (in debian 8.1's kernel 3.16.7-ctk11, actually debian just added 850 pro into the list, and updated crucial/micron's listing based on upstream) i suspect it cannot be fixed entirely via kernel patches, but it must involve manufacturers (e.g. to fix firmware issues). there are news that samsung was contacted about this. it was said crucial has done something to its firmware too.

well you can wait until there are proper fix. tbh, there were already a lot of user comments about nothing were affected significantly for common usage with linux. you can choose to use windows with any ssd; or, use linux with ssd not listed; or use linux with ssd listed, without trim.

liteon s900 256gb should be good enough for you but the price might be over 350. take a look at the ssd section in garage sales. you might find something worthy there.
horns
post Jun 21 2015, 05:38 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 20 2015, 08:20 AM)
it is 4 months already since i camp in 256gb zone

now gatal 2 change 500GB or even 1TB SSD laugh.gif doh.gif hoping big price drop in another 4 months time

damm i love tech life...it is always WAIT WAIT WAIT THEN *BAM* BUY and repeat cycle over again laugh.gif rclxub.gif
haha that's why it's better to save more and get the largest possible.

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jun 20 2015, 08:25 AM)
guy,
I got myself 2x512 GB Liteon L9M and V2S series...
what I need to do for the first time assembly in to system?
hm there is not much you have to do. you can try look for firmware updates first and apply them. if it's w8.x, there is really nothing you have to do.

QUOTE(merinyu @ Jun 21 2015, 12:04 PM)
Just to share my experience with 256GB Liteon LS9. First it's small and my desktop bracket is too big. Only screwed to one side of the bracket. Second speed test it didn't reached the published speed. Finally found out that my old MB Marvell SATA slot doesn't support the full capability. Switched to Intel SATA slot and it did reached the published speed.

If you do have the budget, it's worth to tryout and I do feel some increased speed in windows bootup and loading of applications.
maybe your casing is older. new casings normally come with 2.5" caddies also.
horns
post Jun 22 2015, 03:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nik91 @ Jun 22 2015, 12:33 AM)
Hai... I need some suggestions.. I need to get my first ever SSD for my Asus laptop.. (GL552)

So, there is a lot of brand to choose for M.2 2280 SATA3 SSD i.e Kingston, ADATA, Plextor, Transcend...

Which one is the best in term of reliablity and performance? Are those SSDs compatible with my laptop? Are they comes with screw?

I heard that Plextor is good because they only pick high-quality components to build their SSDs? Is it true??
i checked the laptop's specs, it's said that it supports sata 2280 m.2 ssd. (not pcie ssd) your choices should be among those sata-based m.2 bare drives, like plextor m6g. i'm not sure if it comes with a screw (plextor m5m msata unit does come with a screw)

mainstream sata ssds these days should run at similar speeds (m6g should be like m6s). for reliability, my preferences are plextor and crucial. (note that this doesn't mean other brands are relatively bad)
horns
post Jun 25 2015, 01:34 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nuekkacak @ Jun 25 2015, 05:17 AM)
Hai my friend.. 2 question need to be answered..

1) sorry for off topic.. I just want to ask about the reability of SSHD.. Since SSHD have a nearly speed like SSD and bigger space per RM, i think i want to consider to buy SSHD..

Currently my rig have plextor 128gb SSD + 1TB Hdd.. That Hdd kind of slowing down my ssd like need to wake up when i click at Hdd partition..

2) Any suggestion SSD suitable for my old compaq CQ40 since it only have sata II..

TQ in advance
1) never used any sshd before. as for hdd delays, in power configurations just turn 'turn off hdd' option to never (0), and it should do the trick.

2) any mainstream sata3 ssds should be fine. they're cheaper also.
horns
post Jun 25 2015, 03:39 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nuekkacak @ Jun 25 2015, 01:42 PM)
Can u eleborate more on power config for hdd delay please? Computer noob here
it's in control panel > power options > click 'change plan settings' in the current power profile > click 'change advanced power settings' > select had disks > select 'turn off hard disk after' > edit the value to 0

horns
post Jun 25 2015, 05:32 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nuekkacak @ Jun 25 2015, 05:26 PM)
TQ horns  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
no problem. that's a part of basic ssd optimizations.
horns
post Jun 26 2015, 08:41 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Jun 26 2015, 01:20 AM)
Hi guys, I'm getting my first SSD. For 120GB, would the Intel 320 be a good choice? Lazada's selling it for RM199 now.
it's too old, and it's eol. transcend ssd370 is much better.

edit: for those who are interested in samsung sm951, there is a seller selling it in garage sales section, namely, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3593258

This post has been edited by horns: Jun 26 2015, 08:43 AM

37 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0585sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:29 AM