Android Smartwatch V2, Discuss Any Smartwatch Here

hwa107
post Jan 16 2017, 12:52 AM

827 posts

Hi guys,

I need recommendation for a SmartWatch.

FYI, I'm currently using LG G Watch R, however the battery is dying, and it has dead pixel, so I'm now considering of upgrade to a new one. Can suggest me a good SmartWatch?

What you guys think of Huawei SmartWatch? Will Huawei release an upgraded version? Or should I go directly to Garmin Fenix 5X? Which is more than 1X more expensive than Huawei?

Thank you and onegaishimasu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
hwa107
post Jan 16 2017, 12:33 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jan 16 2017, 07:10 AM)
Huawei Watch still a good choice, as it will have Android Wear 2.0 when it launch in Feb. I upgraded to Asus ZenWatch 3, performance wise I'll saw similar, lack heartrate sensor ( if that's your thing ) but gain ambient light sensor.

Normally will avoid those unpopular product/brand, as it most likely have bad software support.
QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jan 16 2017, 08:15 AM)
If you  are active person that doe alot of sport...i would say go with garmin, it offer much better battery life with thier monochrome screen..... 6 week of watch mode * damm awesome* but the down side is you wont have much fashionable watch face....

If you are casual type of person who like fashion, try out HW, it offer much more watch face then garmin did minus the heart rate sensor (not sure the new version include one) .... but you have to charge it daily on moderate usage...
Thanks so much for the suggestion.

I still couldn't make my mine tho, I my self I want Fenix 5X but it just too expensive, was looking at Huawei but I think Asus not bad too, will definitely consider it.
hwa107
post Jan 16 2017, 11:53 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 16 2017, 11:34 PM)
Ive been using everyday since I got it and yea. There are hairline scratches.. It gives the watch personality. Haha
If u want apps n function. Android wear is much better.
I was using 360 and Huawei and I got s3 because of the speaker n design only. Im still not liking the notifications and reply options.
For now Huawei is good choice. If dont mind flat tyre n not up to date get 360 I heard Moto gonna paused on smart watch.  If not get Asus zen watch 3.
I think I'll pass on Asus Zen Watch 3 due to it's proprietary band. So for now it's just Huawei, which I think is almost end of it's production cycle line, no?

Regardless I'll wait until Android Wear 2.0 and also Google SmartWatch release see how, unless my LG G Watch R suddenly died on me, then it'll be Huawei sweat.gif
hwa107
post Jan 17 2017, 10:04 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jan 17 2017, 06:46 AM)
FYI, huawei watch also sort of proprietary  whistling.gif 
The band/strap looks like 22mm but the spring bar size was 18mm. So if you want 22mm band, you cant. If you want swap band, can only use 18mm.

If you can wait, then no point getting Huawei watch as Google's one should be better. Unless Huawei watch price drop lower few months later.

Forgot there's another option for you, LG Urbane 2 LTE, cant recall whom but one of the active forumer have it.
I just read this:

http://www.droid-life.com/2015/09/17/huawe...-change-straps/

It seem like the band is 22mm, but because of the lug u have to find the one with 18mm at the end but strap still 22mm. Is it possible to use normal bar without the lug for the watch? I know some watch shop sell those bars.

If so then I think it'll be the same with Asus Zen Watch, just change to normal bar then it won't be proprietary anymore?

This post has been edited by hwa107: Jan 17 2017, 10:04 AM
hwa107
post Jan 17 2017, 12:30 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jan 17 2017, 10:45 AM)
Not sure if such band are easy to find, if even exist  tongue.gif

Normal bar should work no issue, as long size fit.
Yeah, it'll be hard to find lol

Here's another photo for better explanation

hwa107
post Jan 19 2017, 02:01 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jan 19 2017, 01:56 PM)
my moto 360 1st gen went dead after back from sunway lagoon.lol..any recommendation?
Let's wait for Google SmartWatch biggrin.gif
hwa107
post Jan 19 2017, 03:02 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(Witchblade @ Jan 19 2017, 02:48 PM)
Already 1 week using my s3 frontier. Really love it.. Canceled to buy moto 360 2nd gen and Huawei watch loaded with aw coz of frontier. I'm think I'm doing right purchase.
How's the compatibility with non Samsung Android phone? Can view notification? Control music etc? How's the app support?
hwa107
post Jan 20 2017, 01:03 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Jan 20 2017, 12:44 PM)
this makes me wanna buy it laugh.gif
Hold your horses! Wait till Google release their SmartWatch first! Just after CNY only!! LOL
hwa107
post Jan 20 2017, 02:58 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jan 20 2017, 02:37 PM)
what special for Google SmartWatch  brows.gif
Leak say that it has the Digital Dial think which works like Samsung S3 dial gear, but it's a knob at the watch side, so u kinda navigate the watch by twisting the knob.

If I understanding of Digital Dial is correct la.

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jan 20 2017, 02:47 PM)
It is created by LG  but branded as google smartwatch and it runs on android 2.0 just like all other smart watches when update roll out .... biggrin.gif

But im competing to buy fenix 3 since it price drop on the unit and maximum battery life of 2 week  laugh.gif
Will Garmin release Wear 2.0 for Fenix 3?
hwa107
post Jan 23 2017, 08:33 AM

827 posts

Isn't Fenix running on Android Wear? mega_shok.gif
hwa107
post Jan 24 2017, 09:52 AM

827 posts

The LG Watch Style (pictured on the right) is a smaller version with no additional buttons and a strap that appears to be leather. We imagine you'll have several different straps to choose from, as well as different finishes for the watch body itself.

On the left, the LG Watch Sport looks to be taking on Samsung's Gear S line. It's shown in a metal and rubber configuration and is a good bit larger than the Style version. Like the Style, we expect to be able to buy one with a choice of bands and finishes.

LG was a launch partner for Android Wear when it debuted, and it's no surprise that they are one of the first companies out of the gate with a 2.0 watch. They've been committed to the platform and already offer some great choices in their G Watch line. It will be interesting to see what Android Wear 2.0 and LG can bring to the table to refresh a wearables market that's not seeing much (if any) growth. We'll know more in a few weeks.

SOS

Anyone getting this? brows.gif
hwa107
post Feb 9 2017, 05:26 PM

827 posts

The LG Watch Sport is such a big disappointment, super bulky yet the design is elegant kind, some more the band cannot be change that's a huge deal breaker.

ptui!
hwa107
post Feb 10 2017, 01:03 PM

827 posts

Casio WSD F-20 vs Garmin Fenix 5X

Which one more worth?
hwa107
post Feb 10 2017, 04:45 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Feb 10 2017, 03:04 PM)
it depend on what kind watch person you are and like.....

If your into casual Gym and Short hike then Casio WSD F-20 would be for you as it is considered semi-sports watch, it has all the function of the sport watches and a nice bright OLED LCD and touch screen but nevertheless the trade off would be your battery life won't last that long (I consider it to be close to Gear S3 category along with other android wear devices on moderate usage which is a day and half).

If you like to go for deep jungle trekking and long mountain cycling or even HIT training then Garmin Fenix 5X for you as it is an rugged outdoor adventurous watch, it too also had the function of the sport watches but a lot more then Casio offer but it doesn't have the function of bright OLED LCD and touch screen (display is based on pebble LED backlit e-paper display). Battery life can last up to 2 week (Benchmark base on the Fenix 3 HR)...

Personal for me i prefer to fenix because i hate charging everyday and those bright OLED display and touch screen  pretty much redundant for me that i dont used and it just chew up more battery then it can offer....
Thanks for your in dept explanation, and yes I'm agree with u also. Unfortunately I'm not a sport person, I choose between the 2 is only for their look, and rugged.

What I'm looking is a watch that looks rugged and long lasting, but usually these kind of design are more focus on activity tracking, which I won't be utilise, and it'll be a waste of money.

I was hoping the LG Watch Sport will have a good design but... sweat.gif sweat.gif
hwa107
post Feb 24 2017, 03:00 PM

827 posts

Huawei Watch 2

What you all think?
hwa107
post Mar 4 2017, 10:19 AM

827 posts

I'm using Android Wear, and most of the time I use my watch for notification, though it just notification but I always have the urge to see who's messaging me, and it's very distracting. So I bought a smartwatch just to satisfy the urge, a quick glance will do.

I also rely heavily on Google apps especially Keep and Map, I walk a lot during the weekend therefore don't want to use phone while walking, even when driving I can check my watch for navigation. And I also use my watch as remote for playing songs. laugh.gif

Basically that's how I use my watch, I tried Sleep on Android before but that doesn't know what's the benefit other than the statistic. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hwa107: Mar 4 2017, 10:20 AM
hwa107
post Mar 5 2017, 01:33 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Mar 4 2017, 09:49 PM)
Sleep for Android basically for sleep tracking. You can track with phone only but the phone needs to be on the bed so it can detect your movements ... i usually charge my phone when i sleep so if i charge with cable then on my bed, abit messy .... so i track with watch, my phone can be on the table ...

Android wear good leh ... I'm using an expense tracker to track my expenses, everytime i spend money i need to whip out my phone to records, wish tizen got app like this ... AW got ... then recently dl some meditation app, got AW support also ... tizen really nothing zz
Hey, expenses tracking using AW is a very good idea! Will find which app is good when I'm free.

Yes I agree that AW has more functionality compare to Tizen. Gear S3 is very good looking, as I'm currently looking for new smartwatch, I'm very tempted to buy Gear S3. But the functionality of AW has kept me from buying it.
hwa107
post Mar 8 2017, 01:40 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Mar 5 2017, 10:08 PM)
I aim long time already before i buy my smartwatch, actually i buy it for 2 reasons, 1 for sleep tracking and 1 for expense tracking ....i didn't expect tizen to have only ONE expense tracking app (and it sux) ... I literally searched the whole market and really have only 1 ... zz

For AW, try this .... I tried the phone app and it's pretty good ... i'm not sure how it integrates with AW

Wallet - Budget Tracker by BudgetBakers.com

I really hope someone will come out with a method to install AW on Gear S3  sweat.gif
Thank you for your suggestion, from the look of the app page it seems like a very well designed app, will try out later when I get home.

May I know is it is it a free with advertisement app?
hwa107
post Mar 26 2017, 11:27 AM

827 posts

Anyone here have any experience on buying SmartWatch in Japan?

I'm planning to buy Huawei Watch 2 in Japan, as we know it'll be release in Japan on April. May I know is there any disadvantage or something I should be aware of if I'm buying SmartWatch from Japan? Will the LTE feature work internationally?

Thanks in advance!
hwa107
post Apr 5 2017, 01:53 PM

827 posts

Huawei Watch 2 is displaying in Pavilion!!

0.0927sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:44 PM