30 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Car Batteries, What brand do you use? Why?

wkc5657
post Jan 15 2019, 10:49 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 14 2019, 08:38 PM)
I suspect that the market has been disrupted with the supply of substandard batteries and it's pointless holding on established brands especially with the current economic situation wherein everyone is try to save a buck I guess.

The battery makers are the ones choosing to manufacture certain ranges/models at lower income countries (so as to achieve lower production cost, in order for their financial statement to show more profit).

Amaron is under Johnson Controls, an electrical specialist group, won't be too bad (very least will be average).
Roman Catholic
post Jan 15 2019, 11:00 AM

3,030 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 15 2019, 10:49 AM)
The battery makers are the ones choosing to manufacture certain ranges/models at lower income countries (so as to achieve lower production cost, in order for their financial statement to show more profit).

Amaron is under Johnson Controls, an electrical specialist group, won't be too bad (very least will be average).
I sure hope the brand Amaron outperforms in terms of quality & lifespan, with proper care & maintaince. At least, it gives us end user options for choosing good batteries and supplier in maintaining and carrying the product line.

However I believe that a forummer therain01, said that Amaron unit after its warranty is showing signs of weakness already. That's the first -ve I've heard apart from all the +ves "So far so good."

Hoping that the averages would be a good one too, just as you've put it.

wkc5657
post Jan 15 2019, 11:27 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 15 2019, 11:00 AM)
I sure hope the brand Amaron outperforms in terms of quality & lifespan, with proper care & maintaince. At least, it gives us end user options for choosing good batteries and supplier in maintaining and carrying the product line.

However I believe that a forummer therain01, said that Amaron unit after its warranty is showing signs of weakness already. That's the first -ve I've heard apart from all the +ves "So far so good."

Hoping that the averages would be a good one too, just as you've put it.
Have to make a correction on my previous statement, amaron under joint venture partnership with johnson controls, not part of johnson controls company. Varta is the one under johnson controls.

There are more external factors other than the mere battery construction.

If there are parasitic load, any high end battery will be killed within a shorter lifespan.

If usually go through a lot of uneven roads/high vibration areas, battery will have shortened lifespan.

If under high temperature (especially turbocharged cars), if battery located within the engine bay, also shorten lifespan.

If a lot of start/stop traffic, because not receiving long enough charge, will also shorten the battery life.

There are also factors like alternator and grounding condition, correct choice of battery size/load type, connection condition, faulty switches, bluetooth that can't shut down (some cars have this weird bug that will keep searching indefinitely because there are strong enough bluetooth sources nearby), etc.

Because if you're really "that" concerned about battery life, get an AGM and a proper lead acid battery charger. If you're really into the money, lithium based car batteries (super light and powerful but low reserve charge).

eddyann
post Jan 15 2019, 03:04 PM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

using Century Marathoner, 2 years now and still strong
Roman Catholic
post Jan 16 2019, 07:04 AM

3,030 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 15 2019, 11:27 AM)
Have to make a correction on my previous statement, amaron under joint venture partnership with johnson controls, not part of johnson controls company. Varta is the one under johnson controls.

There are more external factors other than the mere battery construction.

If there are parasitic load, any high end battery will be killed within a shorter lifespan.

If usually go through a lot of uneven roads/high vibration areas, battery will have shortened lifespan.

If under high temperature (especially turbocharged cars), if battery located within the engine bay, also shorten lifespan.

If a lot of start/stop traffic, because not receiving long enough charge, will also shorten the battery life.

There are also factors like alternator and grounding condition, correct choice of battery size/load type, connection condition, faulty switches, bluetooth that can't shut down (some cars have this weird bug that will keep searching indefinitely because there are strong enough bluetooth sources nearby), etc.

Because if you're really "that" concerned about battery life, get an AGM and a proper lead acid battery charger. If you're really into the money, lithium based car batteries (super light and powerful but low reserve charge).
Thank you wkc5657 for your reply. Yes I do agree with you on all the external factors, even the best battery will still be subjected to those external factors. Just that we have to deal with each external factor and find a sweet spot for them.

IamAHuman
post Jan 16 2019, 07:59 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 9 2019, 09:35 PM)
What's so special about ctek vs other pulse chargers?
Like this one:
MYR 44.85
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/bO4QPwET
QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 10 2019, 10:31 AM)
Don't buy these unknown brands unless you truly know about them and used them before.

For peace of mind, just get proper lead acid battery charges made by ctek or bosch. They have built in chip for circuitry protection and charge modulation so it won't cause damage to the battery and the charger. Yes, they cost multiples of what you saw, but again, peace of mind.
Since we are in the topic of battery charger / reconditioning, I have a dilemma here.

My agm battery is about 5 years + and I just measured its standing / resting volt at 12.3V, which is at the low side but not too low.

Hence, am thinking of either changing to a new agm battery which will cost me rm1500 or so, or buy ctek 5.0 to recondition the battery.

The only thing is that I’m not sure if I were to recondition the battery, how long would it extend it’s life seeing it’s past 5 years already.

Any users of ctek or others would like to comment?
fireballs
post Jan 16 2019, 09:50 AM

5,627 posts

Perhaps any friendly guys here can borrow his ctek to try first?
Another question, is agm batteries really necessary? Can use normal? As long as the cold cranking amps is enough should be fine isn't it. (Assuming no idle stop eco stop)
hafiez
post Jan 16 2019, 10:08 AM

2,974 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 16 2019, 09:50 AM)
Another question, is agm batteries really necessary? Can use normal? As long as the cold cranking amps is enough should be fine isn't it. (Assuming no idle stop eco stop)

yes
VeeJay
post Jan 16 2019, 11:10 AM

3,763 posts

One of biggest benefit of AGM batteries is, for those who do not use their vehicle on regular basis, it has the capability to hold the power longer.

some reading material here...

https://www.batterystuff.com/kb/articles/ba...ery-basics.html

IamAHuman
post Jan 16 2019, 01:39 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jan 16 2019, 10:08 AM)
yes
Haha... I wish too! But seriously, it'll be hard to find a kind soul to offer this biggrin.gif

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jan 16 2019, 11:10 AM)
One of biggest benefit of AGM batteries is, for those who do not use their vehicle on regular basis, it has the capability to hold the power longer.

some reading material here...

https://www.batterystuff.com/kb/articles/ba...ery-basics.html
Yup but AGM batteries are priced 2x or 3x from the normal batteries.
wkc5657
post Jan 16 2019, 01:40 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 16 2019, 07:59 AM)
Since we are in the topic of battery charger / reconditioning, I have a dilemma here.

My agm  battery is about 5 years + and I just measured its standing / resting volt at 12.3V, which is at the low side but not too low.

Hence, am thinking of either changing to a new agm battery which will cost me rm1500 or so, or buy ctek 5.0 to recondition the battery.

The only thing is that I’m not sure if I were to recondition the battery, how long would it extend it’s life seeing it’s past 5 years already.

I believe it would be more economical that you buy yourself a lead acid charger.

But there is no guarantee that the charger would help bring it back to original level as there is no way to ascertain what kind of wear and tear occurred within the construction which is out of view.

I have ctek charger but i reside way down south.

Not necessary for AGM, just get the correctly rated battery for your car electrical needs. But if already on AGM, just charge it up as AGM is much more receptive to recharging than other construction types.
IamAHuman
post Jan 16 2019, 01:43 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 16 2019, 01:40 PM)
I believe it would be more economical that you buy yourself a lead acid charger.

But there is no guarantee that the charger would help bring it back to original level as there is no way to ascertain what kind of wear and tear occurred within the construction which is out of view.
I have ctek charger but i reside way down south.

Not necessary for AGM, just get the correctly rated battery for your car electrical needs. But if already on AGM, just charge it up as AGM is much more receptive to recharging than other construction types.
what version of ctek do you have bro? How long have you used it and lastly, is it a worthwhile investment? Meaning does it really prolong your battery life by perhaps 1.5x or 2x more?
wkc5657
post Jan 16 2019, 01:49 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 16 2019, 01:43 PM)
what version of ctek do you have bro? How long have you used it and lastly, is it a worthwhile investment? Meaning does it really prolong your battery life by perhaps 1.5x or 2x more?
I'm using the older 5.0 version, bought it online through RS components, the price was around 450 but that was quite some years ago.

I don't really know, and i'm not using AGM, but my battery died around 2.5 years despite 2nd half of the life was on a monthly charge. The factory fitted unit wasn't great to begin with, so hard to say.

But if you're already on AGM to begin wutg, i guess no harm to try charging it first.

From some forums on european countries, their factory fitted battery lasted beyond 8 years. But i didn't read further to gather details whether that driver done any charging before.
IamAHuman
post Jan 16 2019, 02:07 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 16 2019, 01:49 PM)
I'm using the older 5.0 version, bought it online through RS components, the price was around 450 but that was quite some years ago.

I don't really know, and i'm not using AGM, but my battery died around 2.5 years despite 2nd half of the life was on a monthly charge. The factory fitted unit wasn't great to begin with, so hard to say.

But if you're already on AGM to begin wutg, i guess no harm to try charging it first.

From some forums on european countries, their factory fitted battery lasted beyond 8 years. But i didn't read further to gather details whether that driver done any charging before.
thanks for the feedback bro. Am thinking of investing in the ctek but it's priced at rm500 now. So, dunno whether it's worth it or I should just simply change the battery. Thanks again!
VeeJay
post Jan 16 2019, 02:22 PM

3,763 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 16 2019, 01:39 PM)
Haha... I wish too! But seriously, it'll be hard to find a kind soul to offer this  biggrin.gif
ya its kinda expensive in Msia...sigh!
Roman Catholic
post Jan 16 2019, 05:05 PM

3,030 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 16 2019, 07:59 AM)

My agm  battery is about 5 years + and I just measured its standing / resting volt at 12.3V, which is at the low side but not too low.

I've read somewhere that AGM's last 7 years or more !

So yeah get a charger and charger it back up again since the voltage is low. At least you would have recoup your investment on the charger before you're done with 2nd AGM.

If you're unsure that your AGM will hold its charge, while deciding out on the charger, get the battery shop to charge up your unit and see how it goes. If it can hold its own then get a charger.
wkc5657
post Jan 16 2019, 05:25 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 16 2019, 05:05 PM)
I've read somewhere that AGM's last 7 years or more !

In the right condition (mainly lots of long drive and cool climate), can last that amount of time without using a charger. Happens in europe mostly.
hafiez
post Jan 16 2019, 06:57 PM

2,974 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 16 2019, 01:39 PM)
Haha... I wish too! But seriously, it'll be hard to find a kind soul to offer this  biggrin.gif

I have 3 car. they are varta AGM by default. now two of them using century marathoner normal, only one left with varta agm. varta need to spend rm1.1k-1.2k. but with century, around 300/400 only.

like u said, as long as the requirement are met, its okay.
IamAHuman
post Jan 16 2019, 10:48 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jan 16 2019, 06:57 PM)
I have 3 car. they are varta AGM by default. now two of them using century marathoner normal, only one left with varta agm. varta need to spend rm1.1k-1.2k. but with century, around 300/400 only.

like u said, as long as the requirement are met, its okay.
I heard some say it’ll damage the car’s electrical system. Don’t mind if I ask what are your 3 cars?
hafiez
post Jan 16 2019, 11:09 PM

2,974 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 16 2019, 10:48 PM)
I heard some say it’ll damage the car’s electrical system. Don’t mind if I ask what are your 3 cars?

no. AGM just a technology how the battery holds the power. like I said, as long as the power requirement are met by the battery according to the manufacturer, its okay already

I have MB W245 and W176, both on century marathoner. W245 already on its 2nd battery after 5 years of ownership. normal battery only can last around 2years max for my case. Meanwhile my MB W246 are still on Varta AGM which they previous owner replace it after 4/5 years I guess because there is a date stamped on the battery stated 2017.

both MB W245 and W176 I think could only last another year max. then maybe I will change back to Varta, but not AGM series. maybe EFB only. I don't have the luxury to use AGM batteries lah… laugh.gif

for the MB W246, I will wait the AGM to finish, then move to EFB. depends on the budget lah that time haha...

30 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:46 PM