Early Childhood Education Centre, For 0-4 years old.

SUSsupersound
post Mar 10 2015, 01:21 PM

11,554 posts

You already 5 days never spend time with your children and weekends also you refuse to.
Why you want to give birth in the first place?
Spending time with your children can prevent mental problems.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 11 2015, 01:24 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 10 2015, 10:44 PM)
U said until like we are a totally useless parent & not responsible.

Like i mentioned earlier, we wana do something different instead of just home education, play, shopping centre, recreation activities etc.

And i wana add on, we are going to attend the class with our child. So i dont c any issue of not spending time with our child.
Rather than wasting money on useless programs, is good to do more house activities at home. Bringing children to see their grand parents are another good idea.
For children, is good to let them play more in the beginning age, good for their brain development.
Put them to learning center will give -ve result on this.
The fact is, you are heading towards useless and irresponsible. Money can't solve anything, waste money on this is more for you to show off. You never think what is the best for your children.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 11 2015, 11:27 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 11 2015, 08:03 AM)
As a parents i think there is nothing wrong to send the children to such classes. Moreover, we are doing it together. To add on, i'm looking for playing classes @education centre such as games, art, music & the session will be weekend @1-2 times per month, 1-2hours per session.

Care to further elaborate why it is "show off" to send our child to such classes?
Trust me, there are more FOC activities that can do much better than wasting money.
SHow off? Is what you are doing now. As everyone are wasting money to such centers, you just want to follow the group.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 15 2015, 01:25 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Mar 15 2015, 12:04 PM)
You may also can try on Beebop Circus located in The School, Jaya One. Back in 2013, I went for a month trial (yes, they gave free trial class for a month!). I signed up during Baby Fair in KLCC, not sure they are still doing that.

Let me share my experiences bringing my toddler (he was 18 months then):
1st trial: ok, seemed to enjoy it
2nd trial: on the way to the class, he slept. Carried him with stroller to the class, still sleeping, class began, still sleeping, class ended, started to wake up. Cranky because he woke up in strange place with loud music.
3rd trial: I brought him an hour earlier, all in good mood. Class started, he kept playing and refused to join the class. The instructor kept encouraging him to join in, but he refused to do so..  doh.gif At the end, he played all by himself
4th trial: can't make it as we were away. At the end, didn't sign up for it.

So, I concluded that my toddler wasn't ready for the classes yet. My main reason to sign up for classes is that he will have some friends to play with, not so lonely, have a bit of social interactions. My sister told me that we will need 2 -3 months to settle him in the classes. Her son went to Schicida at 18 months too, worse still, skipping most of classes for the 1st two months, then started to settle in after 3 months. Another sister, she enrolled her daughter to Heguru ( same as Schicida ), settled her daughter within a month.

You will need a lot of patience to handle them. Make sure that your LO have sufficient nap and feed them well before the classes, else you will waste your time and money when they refuse to join the classes.

Knowing my son, I settled for Playgroup instead. Get a few mothers together, meet once a week, no fix routine, at different venue and let the children play together. Sometimes we meet at the playground, sometimes at mall (ie Yukids or Jkids). He is way happier than attending classes.
< 3 years old still too early for classes.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 16 2015, 04:20 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(varman1534 @ Mar 16 2015, 10:29 AM)

I personally think we should teach our kids on all the traditional game that we had during our young times. Like how to make kite, paint egg, clay, make simple cake, gasing and etc..

All center out there just concern on $$$.. ur travelling time, fuel all will run into the drain..Save money for the kids edu..cost its getting very expensive nowadays..and dont spoil them (dont show them the luxury life style)...

Spend time with ur kids, get involved with the activities..it will bring back ur old memories  and besides that u may tressure ur kids hidden talents..
Yes, this is the right attitude to raise our children.
Sadly, most people forget on this and just because of own mindset of people have this, I need to have also doh.gif
Let our children eat more fish will develop the brain better thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 17 2015, 11:16 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 16 2015, 07:57 PM)
Sometimes we got to admit that sooner or later things will change. Specially those born in the 90's & so on..

We use to stay at home to watch cartoon @certain hours n play snake wif Nokia 3210?

And now, ipad, watsapp, astro?
Yes, you are right thumbup.gif
Now parents like to boast around, comparing how many times a year they are wasting money in clinics, how to get their children in to other long term sickness thumbup.gif
So you are telling that, following what is wrong are right whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 01:44 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Mar 18 2015, 01:27 AM)
That's not true, you will be surprised on how easily they can adapt. Please don't be confuse with the term, "classes", they are not academic based.
Do you have a child or attended any classes with him or her? The activities you describe as above are available in enrichment centre like Da Vinci, Little Chef, etc. And yes, the kids will spend time with parents, get involved in activities in the classes.

Not many parents are as talented as you are, can make a kite or bake a cake, so they get a little help from the professionals. Ok?  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Speechless..
My wife are working on this line, so she knows what is the best. And nope, <3 send them to what ever are time wasting and just to show off how retard that parent are whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 02:05 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Mar 18 2015, 02:03 AM)
Your wife is in this line? What is she work as? It means that she is not truthful to the job if she didn't believe in what she is doing! Is she just scamming all the retarded parents?
Nope, she won't accept any children that are < 3 years old. She just an owner of 6 kindis in Negeri Sembilan.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 09:34 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Mar 18 2015, 02:10 AM)
Kindy is for above 4 years old  doh.gif

Below 3 years old, they go to Preschool or Day care. But this is out of topic from enrichment classes TS is asking about.
Most kindis are doing pre and day care also, especially in KV areas.
My wife don't want to take as they won't really concentrate for > 20 minutes.
That's why all those classes only doing an 1 hour session per week.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 12:45 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Mar 18 2015, 10:40 AM)
My son is only 2 year old so I yet to send him to any classes. I buy many picture books, wooden blocks, alphabet/shape puzzle and many montessori materials. Sometimes play with him, sometimes let him explore by himself...
Let them explore them self will be a good start, on teaching them to be independent.
If going any classes that require parents around, this is to teach the children always rely on parents when facing more crowd.
To develop a children's brain, there are a lot of ways, but early childhood education center are the wrong way.
We had a genius with IQ > 180 last time which is almost same age with me. He work in US's Silicone Valley with the age of 20.
By the age of 30, he come back to Malaysia with sorrow. By today, I'm still living happily while he is laid to long rest forever.
Do you want your children like this?
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 02:12 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Mar 18 2015, 02:07 PM)
Kindergarten is different from preschool or day care, and your wife is running Kindergarten which accepts 3 years old  and above. Kindy is daily, Mon to Fri, while a Preschool can be 3 times a week or 5 times a week. Kindy is more structured and always end up with exam while preschool is more towards a play school without any exam.

While enrichment classes is only once a week for 45 mins to an hour. The classes can be either art, gym, speech and drama, music, etc. I know a parent who starts sending his 6 months old baby to swimming classes, and the baby can float by himself at 12 months old. Swimming is an important survival skills and most babies will enjoy to be in water.

I didn't think it's wrong for the parent to send his child to these enrichment classes. But it is important that the child equally happy and enjoying the classes. Otherwise it's futile.
Yup, you are totally right, that's why nowadays younger generation not able to take any pressure thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 06:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 18 2015, 05:05 PM)
If we just emphasize on home education without enrolling them to enrichment class (<4 years old), so how is the child gona learn to socialise? Wait until kindi, which is like 5 years old?

By the way, it has to depend on ur home environment too. What if there are few kids running around, 5-6 adults talking, watching tv n most annoying part - elders will always wana chip in their opinions too & some demand u do it their ways.

So how? Every family has their own issues & challenges.
Now most people are sending their children to kindis at the age of 4.
If our parent is advising us, we can always listen and judge.
Straight forward deny them are bad.
BTW, by looking at your reply and finding all sort of excuse, why you want a child in the first place? Just merely to show off?
Don't forget, sooner or later you will get old also, do you like that your children also ignores you at that time?
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 06:29 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Mar 18 2015, 05:53 PM)
I believe every parents is giving their best to their kids within their limit.
We cannot keep on comparing with the past, like during old time, kids swim and play in river, running around the kampung to chase after the chickens. We do not live in this environment. Besides, last time also always heard cases of kids drown...

But we still tried our best to provide our best, like bringing them to swimming class. With a certified trainer and safe environment. Attending these classes, not only the little one get to learn, but the parents get to learn at the same time, especially the new parents.

I feel that not only the kids need to learn, we as parents also need to keep up to date, expose ourself to different thing, so that we can give proper guidance to our kids.
So, bending your head down all the time is right also?
We have options to choose, but most of us choose the wrong option.
Last time got children drown, now still got.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 08:16 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 18 2015, 07:03 PM)
Well you got a point there. Given the situation that i have mentioned earlier at such a family environment, so what would be ur advise? I assume u r probably a seasoned parents vs im a newbie.
Always listen to what old men says, then judge your self.
Keeping both the young and old together will strengthen the family ties.
What you are doing now is what you will be getting next time.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 18 2015, 08:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 18 2015, 08:23 PM)
Yes agree. Nothing against that.

Coming back to my situation, with kids running around, 5-6 adults watching tv, talking etc. So how should i "home edu" my kids at such a distracting environment? Leave aside the parents will once a while comment here & there while u r "educating" ur child.
Well, you can always talk to them that you need some time for your kids.
SUSsupersound
post Mar 20 2015, 10:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Mar 20 2015, 07:47 PM)
Done that d. But im a lazy fella, so i bought those flash cards. Baby is kinda bored wif it now. Unless i buy more/ DIY more. I even use the poker cards since recently was CNY.
Own self can do it for free but refuse to. Instead, willing to pay money by doing the same sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Mar 21 2015, 11:02 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Mar 21 2015, 10:24 AM)
Not to say free also because you have to factor in the cost of cardboard, printer ink and glue. I'd say around 25 cents per flashcards but it's way cheaper than buying as those will be around 50-70 cents per piece. So the saving is about 50% to 70%. The pro is you can prepare whatever material you want as to compare buying because the choices in bookstores  are really limited. Con is time and effort is needed.
Nope, I mean going to those centers. As we are doing the same also.
Why those centers required parents around? Is because :
1. they don't want to take risk of injuries.
2. children won't really learn(or I would say some still don't know how to express them self).

We have a lot of such flash cards for free since my wife operates kindis.

0.1539sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:46 PM