Hardware Is 50° hot?, Need some opinions

TShunk mercenaries
post Mar 1 2015, 05:23 AM, updated 10y ago

202 posts

My proc idle temp is around 46° to 53° and it can increase to around 60° when playing games.
I noticed after a few hours of surfing, my PC would become somewhat laggy.
Could it be the high temperature that causing it?

I'm using i3 2100 with stock cooler.
Is it normal to have temp like this?

HWMonitor Screenshot:
samftrmd
post Mar 1 2015, 08:21 AM

Interface 2037
1,588 posts

Temperature is acceptable. Cleaning should not hurt. Surfing lag need to monitor resource usage. Can confirm with other browser.
WebWalker
post Mar 1 2015, 10:15 AM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

The CPU temperature is look okay to me.

What is your system specs and OS?

Intel i3 2100 was released on 2011 and that make your system 4 years old.
If you have upgraded your system from Win 7 to Win 8.1, then it is advisable to stay with Win 7.
Win 7 is much faster OS for older machine.

This post has been edited by WebWalker: Mar 1 2015, 10:19 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post Mar 1 2015, 08:45 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

TS ur fan rpm speed fully loaded should be quite noisy. time for re-thermal paste& i guess can drop until 30-40°c during idle mode.
netmatrix
post Mar 1 2015, 08:55 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

QUOTE(hunk mercenaries @ Mar 1 2015, 05:23 AM)

HWMonitor Screenshot:
This is mine with a Youtube video at the background. Almost idle. Inside is cleaned of dust periodically. Room temp is normal not air conditioned. Temp will increase up to 70 when gaming.

Nothing to worry about as the PC has gradual increase in temp since purchased new 4 years ago. Changing thermal compound would only help a little.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Mar 1 2015, 08:56 PM
callyyprain
post Mar 1 2015, 09:40 PM

136 posts

Thermal replacement shall be 3-year once. This replacement period gives you a big cooling to the CPU smile.gif 75C+ is what you call hot.
h@ksam
post Mar 1 2015, 10:37 PM

@ is a
3,444 posts

looks normal, if you want lower temps upgrade the heatsink cooler.
TShunk mercenaries
post Mar 2 2015, 05:27 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(WebWalker @ Mar 1 2015, 10:15 AM)
The CPU temperature is look okay to me.

What is your system specs and OS?

Intel  i3 2100 was released on 2011 and that make your system 4 years old.
If you have upgraded your system from Win 7 to Win 8.1, then it is advisable to stay with Win 7.
Win 7 is much faster OS for older machine.
I'm using
i3 2100
8GB ram
500gb HDD
HD 6950
550W PSU

whoaaa...how did you know? ohmy.gif
I've been using windows 8.1 for a couple of month now(just trying) sweat.gif
Do you think I should to revert back to window 7?
I have no problem doing so. Windows 7 is good.
TShunk mercenaries
post Mar 2 2015, 06:04 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Mar 1 2015, 10:37 PM)
looks normal, if you want lower temps upgrade the heatsink cooler.
I've been thinking about aftermarket cooler, but there's so many to choose. hmm.gif
Can anyone suggest me a reliable cooler within the price range of RM50-RM70?

What do you think about this:
k!nex
post Mar 2 2015, 07:58 AM

Restless stars
3,327 posts

QUOTE(hunk mercenaries @ Mar 2 2015, 05:27 AM)
I'm using
i3 2100
8GB ram
500gb HDD
HD 6950
550W PSU

whoaaa...how did you know? ohmy.gif
I've been using windows 8.1 for a couple of month now(just trying) sweat.gif
Do you think I should to revert back to window 7?
I have no problem doing so. Windows 7 is good.
No. If you have done upgrade to windows 8.1 . Stay with it. I have been a tester for migrating windows 7 to 8.1 for corporate environment, my finding is that old PC do boot up faster with windows 8.1 .We even done test using Pentium D with 3GB of RAM. Fault is more tolerable in Win 8.1 , it can repair itself automatically most of the time and native USB 3.0 support . Win 8.1 already has built-in drivers for USB 3.0. The only thing I don't like about Microsoft new product is Office 2013, that thing launch like a snail these days compare to Office 2010.

Since you are using an i3 , don't bother upgrading the CPU cooler, it is a waste of money. Stock one should suffice. Just clean off the dust and replace the thermal paste once in a blue moon. Your lag I supposed is due to application not hardware.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Mar 2 2015, 08:04 AM
samftrmd
post Mar 2 2015, 08:31 PM

Interface 2037
1,588 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Mar 2 2015, 07:58 AM)
No. If you have done upgrade to windows 8.1 . Stay with it. I have been a tester for migrating windows 7 to 8.1 for corporate environment, my finding is that old PC do boot up faster with windows 8.1 .We even done test using Pentium D with 3GB of RAM.  Fault is more tolerable in Win 8.1 , it can repair itself automatically most of the time and native USB 3.0 support . Win 8.1 already has built-in drivers for USB 3.0. The only thing I don't like about Microsoft new product is Office 2013, that thing launch like a snail these days compare to Office 2010.

Since you are using an i3 , don't bother upgrading the CPU cooler, it is a waste of money. Stock one should suffice. Just clean off the dust and replace the thermal paste once in a blue moon. Your lag I supposed is due to application not hardware.
Agree, Since TS mention surfing, after cleaning should try to confirm browser and resource usage.
TShunk mercenaries
post Mar 3 2015, 06:36 AM

202 posts

Today I already buy thermal paste. Maybe tomorrow can reapply it and clean my pc as well.
Thanks Everybody for your help. Really appreciate it.
SUStlts
post Mar 4 2015, 08:21 AM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

so any update ??got lower the temp after change the thermal?
1qaz1qaz
post Mar 4 2015, 09:46 AM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,890 posts

blow all the dust out.
bring ur tower to any motor shop that hv some air gun gv them rm5 or so
replace thermal paste should drop abit.

This post has been edited by 1qaz1qaz: Mar 4 2015, 09:49 AM
1qaz1qaz
post Mar 4 2015, 09:49 AM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,890 posts

QUOTE(hunk mercenaries @ Mar 2 2015, 06:04 AM)
I've been thinking about aftermarket cooler, but there's so many to choose. hmm.gif
Can anyone suggest me a reliable cooler within the price range of RM50-RM70?

What do you think about this:
get a Hyper 212 around rm100-ish
SUStlts
post Mar 4 2015, 01:19 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

I also got same problem like u...but mine is gpu 7770...my case got no fan..when playing game alarm ring at above 70degree..when pop side penal ok abit no alarm. Btw i reapply themal and clean the fin liao

0.0210sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:25 PM