Financial Property Ownership (Foreigner Co-Own)

TSpanda-man
post Feb 27 2015, 12:09 AM, updated 11y ago

2,691 posts

hi lyn'ers,

was looking around the web, but not much available. so hoping some sifu's here can help me out.

I'm married to a non-malaysian and was thinking to buy a new property and have both our names on the SPA. If the total price of the apartment is >RM1mil, is it ok to do a 50:50 split? or does the foreigner's share alone need to be >RM1mil?

Anyone know about how to go about this or better yet, dealt with this before?

thanks.
TBJ
post Feb 27 2015, 12:29 AM

374 posts

you mean to be eligible for MM2H qualification?
TSpanda-man
post Feb 27 2015, 12:32 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(TBJ @ Feb 27 2015, 12:29 AM)
you mean to be eligible for MM2H qualification?
well we wont be applying for MM2H as she can get PR eventually as i'm malaysian, but was wondering if my wife can be put as an owner on SPA. as they do have the >RM1mil requirement for foriegners, but not sure how it applies to joint ownership. does that mean as 50% ownership it is RM500k or if 50% needs to be >1mil. so its a bit confusing.
babybaby1988
post Feb 27 2015, 01:00 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 27 2015, 12:09 AM)
hi lyn'ers,

was looking around the web, but not much available. so hoping some sifu's here can help me out.

I'm married to a non-malaysian and was thinking to buy a new property and have both our names on the SPA. If the total price of the apartment is >RM1mil, is it ok to do a 50:50 split? or does the foreigner's share alone need to be >RM1mil?

thanks.
CODE
foreign interest means any interest, associated group of interests or
parties acting in concert which comprises
(a) individual who is not a Malaysian citizen; and/or
(b) individual who is Permanent Resident; and/or
(c) foreign company or institution; and/or
(d) local company or local institution whereby the
parties as stated in item (a) and/or (b) and/or (c)
hold more than 50% of the voting rights in that local
company or local institution.

It seems yes.
U and wife can buy such residential unit so long as it is over RM1 mil.
Do check respectively state guidelines as state guidelines overrides EPU

TBJ
post Feb 27 2015, 09:12 AM

374 posts

i see, sorry, i do not know a foreigner have a requirement of min RM1million purchase, if the law requires that, 50% must be equivalent to RM1million value as well.
realcyma
post Feb 27 2015, 09:59 AM

641 posts

hi lyn'ers,

thanks.
should be 1m for the house. no need to 50:50 split.

but, now selangor is 2mil.
ims2628
post Feb 27 2015, 10:06 AM

1,053 posts

hi lyn'ers,

thanks.
if joint name SPA must 1 million and above , some area require min 2 million for foreigner.

So i will advice just put your name in SPA if property lesser than 1 mil
TSpanda-man
post Mar 2 2015, 09:56 AM

2,691 posts

oh i see. ok lah. then if its like that, then ill just keep my name on SPA. was just hoping to get larger loan. thanks guys for the clarification!

0.1588sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:17 PM