BLASTERS Thread V2, NERF, Dart Zone, X-Shot... 1st pg info

LEO1989
post Jun 8 2016, 03:59 PM

430 posts

hi fellow brothers and sisters here, i would like to get a dart gun for my son. His birthday coming soon, i looking and nerf and boomco at the moment, any one of you can share some opinion on this two brand?
LEO1989
post Jun 8 2016, 05:40 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 8 2016, 04:35 PM)
as a father myself, i'd say go with nerf. in my view, amongst nerf, boomco and buzzbee, nerf usually has the cooler, more realistic design. most importantly, nerf design and material are much more resilient to child's play. nerf may under perform, but for sure it will outlast the rest. can't say the same for the darts though  laugh.gif .
QUOTE(strikermac @ Jun 8 2016, 04:52 PM)
Yup, like zeroglyph said, Nerf was a good choice.
And for the market easy to found and get should be Nerf again.
Design is good all around, even some are weird, but most are cool.
i see. Thanks for the advice. Went to toys r us before and saw the promoter is promoting boomco, the built seems nice for me. What attracts me is the dart which sticks, I like the dart design which they come up. But again, I do not know how well is the gun from boomco. Thats why asking you guys here for suggestion.

Any recommended model for nerf? prefer pistol types. biggrin.gif
LEO1989
post Jun 9 2016, 09:24 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 8 2016, 06:42 PM)
As a father myself, i would suggest Nerf over bommco. Reason, easier to collect dart, and availability of cheap china darts.

How old is your kids? Priming might be an issue for smaller kids, but you can buy those motorized blaster.
my son only 3 year old, too early for nerf? hahhaha

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Jun 8 2016, 11:11 PM)
nerf does have suction darts as well: http://nerf.hasbro.com/en-us/product/nerf-...01-DCA58776BB2D

you can even get 3rd party suction darts from ebay and lelong for even cheaper. and those sticks even better than hasbro's . nod.gif

for recommendation, it depends on how old. around 8 Y/O, you can't go wrong with a strongarm. flipfury is too large for small kids, and hammershot is not easy to prime.

stryfe is cool too, but motorized blaster needs batteries and lack the punch out of the box. also, stryfe tends to jam a lot when my kids use it. they just can't control the trigger properly.
QUOTE(strikermac @ Jun 9 2016, 08:12 AM)
If want to have a 1st try out of the nerf pistol types for your kid, could have try the below pistols.

So far this two pistols is basic and not too big for kids I think...
I am looking at strongarm now, seems nice for beginner. i like the persuader, but too bad i heard the review saying the priming will be hard even for adult

Btw, is retaliator good? it can stripdown to pistol right?

LEO1989
post Jun 9 2016, 09:40 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 9 2016, 09:36 AM)
3 year old, buy full auto nerf. No point buy semi auto because it will jam a lot because he might unable to pull the trigger all the way back while pressing the rev button, or manual as you will end up priming for him.
which is semi auto and which auto? what are the difference? hmm.gif
LEO1989
post Jun 9 2016, 10:20 AM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 9 2016, 10:17 AM)
semi auto need manual trigger to feed dart for fire everytime while holding the rev trigger.

full auto got 2 types, one uses flywheel and the other uses plunger. Flywheel full auto still have to rev trigger which you need to pressed while pulling the trigger. The difference with semi auto is that it keeps firing if you hold the trigger pressed. Plunger full auto only has trigger, which keep firing darts when it is pressed, but without rev trigger, hence easier for kids.
i see, so many types of nerf guns, abit blur now. hahaha, need slowly study them one by one
LEO1989
post Jun 9 2016, 06:07 PM

430 posts

just curious, is there any 80-90% look alike clones of nerf in the market?
LEO1989
post Jun 9 2016, 10:22 PM

430 posts

i see,okok, thanks for the advice. let u guys know after getting one

LEO1989
post Jun 13 2016, 02:38 PM

430 posts

just get a nerf retialator from toys r us. RM159.9 free RM20 voucher. nice deal?
LEO1989
post Jun 13 2016, 04:11 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Jun 13 2016, 03:39 PM)
Should be nice deal in normal price with extra RM20 voucher. thumbsup.gif  Enjoy~
lol, its my son to enjoy, not me, hahaha. BTW, i did check out the boomco guns personally, seems the built quality really nice. and notice some nerf series paintings already faded(even still in box) .
LEO1989
post Jun 13 2016, 04:44 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Jun 13 2016, 04:18 PM)
Yup tat Boomco, their blaster material look solid n nice that the selling point.
So far only Boomco can against Nerf on blaster market, other brands is so so actually...
Another one is K'NEX K-Force but less people talk about it, haha...
i can see boomco has potential, hope they come out more series and more model. Few of the guns are nice design, example whipblast, you can swing the gun down for reload, cool concept. lol
LEO1989
post Jun 13 2016, 05:06 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 13 2016, 05:02 PM)
Boomco are more towards fun,  rather than practicality. They got unique blaster. And spinsanity 3x really fun.

Btw, updating my collection

[attachmentid=6836103]
wow bro thumbup.gif nice collection you have
LEO1989
post Jun 13 2016, 05:06 PM

430 posts

btw, too bad msia no bb guns allowed, else going to collect ady, hehehe
LEO1989
post Jun 14 2016, 12:31 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Jun 14 2016, 10:40 AM)
Ok, btw... my 1st modded Nerf Stryfe, n the only Stryfe I have.
Get poison already... haha... tongue.gif

[attachmentid=6839949]
thumbsup.gif nice mod. btw, anyone bought clone darts from china? are they useable?
LEO1989
post Jun 14 2016, 12:52 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(strikermac @ Jun 14 2016, 10:40 AM)
Ok, btw... my 1st modded Nerf Stryfe, n the only Stryfe I have.
Get poison already... haha... tongue.gif

[attachmentid=6839949]
did you stryfe support full auto now?hahaha
LEO1989
post Jun 14 2016, 02:45 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 9 2016, 10:17 AM)
semi auto need manual trigger to feed dart for fire everytime while holding the rev trigger.

full auto got 2 types, one uses flywheel and the other uses plunger. Flywheel full auto still have to rev trigger which you need to pressed while pulling the trigger. The difference with semi auto is that it keeps firing if you hold the trigger pressed. Plunger full auto only has trigger, which keep firing darts when it is pressed, but without rev trigger, hence easier for kids.
there, sphiroth bro explained about semi auto and auto biggrin.gif
LEO1989
post Jun 14 2016, 05:16 PM

430 posts

hmmm, i think i wanna take up a challenge to mod a nerf stryfe to become fully auto gun
LEO1989
post Jun 14 2016, 05:40 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 14 2016, 05:33 PM)
You need a motor to push the darts,  and additional bettery for that motor (if not it will lessen power to the flywheel), fabricate the mounting for the motor,  switch for the trigger,  ang given the space constrain, it will be very hard.

Have you seen the internal yet?
yeap, saw it before in youtube only thou. not yet touched one, the hardest part indeed is the auto pushing the dart.
LEO1989
post Jun 14 2016, 06:05 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 14 2016, 05:44 PM)
If you good with 3d design such as solidworks, you can design those parts and i can help you print them.

This is how rapidstrike dart pusher looks like.

[attachmentid=6845380]
nice bro! u have a 3d printer? btw, i plan use less mechanical part changes and try apply more electronics to solve. let see wat i can think off. hahaha
LEO1989
post Jun 15 2016, 03:55 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Jun 15 2016, 02:42 AM)
I heard someone summoned my full auto stryfe tongue.gif

Sorry fo the bad quality, I have to download it from facebook page instead. Lost the original file.

nice thumbsup.gif
LEO1989
post Jun 30 2016, 05:21 PM

430 posts

any sifu know where to get cheap boomco targets? or any other material which boomco bullet can stick?

0.0573sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:06 PM