CPU, under voltage

TSDickong
post Oct 7 2006, 05:12 PM, updated 20y ago

1,689 posts

Hi guys, wonder is it anything wrong to undervoltage, example, i am using AMD64 3800x2 default voltage is 1.4v but i ran at 1.325v, but when i oc to 2.6ghz i have to raise to 1.45v, for me i think its to high. any comment from sifu. TQ

This post has been edited by Dickong: Oct 7 2006, 05:15 PM
chilly
post Oct 7 2006, 05:18 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 7 2006, 05:12 PM)
Hi guys, wonder is it anything wrong to undervoltage, example, i am using AMD64 3800x2 default voltage is 1.4v but i ran at 1.325v, but when i oc to 2.6ghz i have to raise to 1.45v, for me i think its to high. any comment from sifu. TQ
wow..man..3.25v! shocking.gif only for 2.6 GHz?...hehe...with this kind of vcore u can reach almost 4 Ghz with good cooling system [maybe NO2], btw wat is ur cooling system?
TSDickong
post Oct 7 2006, 05:21 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(chilly @ Oct 7 2006, 05:18 PM)
wow..man..3.25v!  shocking.gif only for 2.6 GHz?...hehe...with this kind of vcore u can reach almost 4 Ghz with good cooling system [maybe NO2], btw wat is ur cooling system?
Brother did you read my post properly, i mean underclock my voltage to 1.35v instead of default at 1.4v
chilly
post Oct 7 2006, 05:23 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 7 2006, 05:21 PM)
Brother did you read my post properly, i mean underclock my voltage to 1.35v instead of default at 1.4v
sorry, i didnt notice that.. sweat.gif ..wat about ur CPU temperature?
TSDickong
post Oct 7 2006, 05:28 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(chilly @ Oct 7 2006, 05:23 PM)
sorry, i didnt notice that.. sweat.gif ..wat about ur CPU temperature?
It quiet low at 29 idle n 38 running 2x prime 95, anyway, any sifu can answer my question, whether is it adviseable to undervoltage .TQ
e-jump
post Oct 7 2006, 05:33 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

there no problem undervolting, as long it'll pass prime minimum of 6-8hrs
if not, some of heavy cpu dependant apps will fail (prime/folding etc)

i may be able to run photoshop, notmal surfing, bT, musics etc at 2.4ghz 1.45v
but i cant prime stable n fold unless i use 1.52v

This post has been edited by e-jump: Oct 7 2006, 05:35 PM
TSDickong
post Oct 7 2006, 05:52 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 7 2006, 05:33 PM)
there no problem undervolting, as long it'll pass prime minimum of 6-8hrs
if not, some of heavy cpu dependant apps will fail (prime/folding etc)

i may be able to run photoshop, notmal surfing, bT, musics etc at 2.4ghz 1.45v
but i cant prime stable n fold unless i use 1.52v
Thanks for the info, anyway i did prime for more than 8 hours for that voltage, just curious whether is it wrong to do that.
e-jump
post Oct 7 2006, 05:57 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

well, if its stable, then theres no problem
but make sure prime cpu+ram (Blend mode) coz sometimes the memory controller is the culprit for failures if u only do small fft's
TSDickong
post Oct 7 2006, 06:04 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 7 2006, 05:57 PM)
well, if its stable, then theres no problem
but make sure prime cpu+ram (Blend mode) coz sometimes the memory controller is the culprit for failures if u only do small fft's

Normally, when i do prime 95 i use blend, that mean a lot of ram test.

0.0164sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:04 AM