Keyboards/Piano Self learning piano..

TSalankit
post Feb 23 2015, 05:44 PM, updated 11y ago

17 posts

Hi guys,
Recently I'm learning piano based on self interested as a hobby...
I'm 28 year old, working as an engineer, currently learning piano from web based tutorials etc...
I have an old organ for me to practise fingering and practising it about 2-3 lesson per week,
Up until now, i can read scores (about 20 notes per minutes with 70% accuracy the result is based on an app in my phone to practise reading notes).

This is my concern,
I'm planning to get an electronic piano / keyboard.
But, i have no idea that which type of piano/keyboard i should invest on.

my budget is about 1k - 2.5k,
i'm ok with second-handed in good condition.
the piano should be able to last long (i might pass it to my son tongue.gif )
please advice,

Thanks in advance... biggrin.gif

ciwi1166
post Feb 23 2015, 08:03 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

let me know if u find place to buy 2nd hand keyboard. looking for 1 too.
goldfries
post Feb 23 2015, 09:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Keyboards and Piano look similar but they're not the same.

RM 2k can get you a new keyboard / synthesizer.
TSalankit
post Feb 24 2015, 12:10 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 23 2015, 09:18 PM)
Keyboards and Piano look similar but they're not the same.

RM 2k can get you a new keyboard / synthesizer.
Hi, actually i still can't figure it out what is the major difference between digital piano and keyboards,
basically i just know that the sound of them are different and some have lesser keys compared to digital piano..

pipedream
post Feb 25 2015, 05:13 PM

2,353 posts

Buy a full size, weighted 88 keys digital piano. Trust me on this, don't skimp on quality, sounds doesn't matter here. Better if u can source for a used old piano with real wooden keys to practice on, the feel of playing a real grand is totally different than that of a digital piano. I still needed some time conditioning myself when transitioning from a digital to a real grand piano.

Anyway, I suggests the casio privia series, based on personal experience, I have the least amount of trouble transitioning myself to play a real piano after getting used to the digital.

PX150 should suits your budget though.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 26 2015, 04:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alankit @ Feb 24 2015, 12:10 PM)
Hi, actually i still can't figure it out what is the major difference between digital piano and keyboards,
basically i just know that the sound of them are different and some have lesser keys compared to digital piano..
1) Digital piano - emulates the feel of real piano. Of course, the more expensive it is, the better the feel and accuracy. This means it has weight and reacts to the level of force of your fingers.

2) Keyboard - soft key, high end keyboard will have after touch effect( simulate the level according to force), but the feel is lousy. usually keyboard is smaller and has about 61 keys or so. Digital Piano will have full 88 keys.

I started with keyboard, after tried piano, never want to play keyboard anymore.

Personally, i recommend Yamaha Digital piano. Cheapest is about 3.xk to 4k i think.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 26 2015, 04:13 PM
TSalankit
post Mar 10 2015, 02:28 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 26 2015, 04:11 PM)
1) Digital piano - emulates the feel of real piano. Of course, the more expensive it is, the better the feel and accuracy. This means it has weight and reacts to the level of force of your fingers.

2) Keyboard - soft key, high end keyboard will have after touch effect( simulate the level according to force), but the feel is lousy. usually keyboard is smaller and has about 61 keys or so. Digital Piano will have full 88 keys.

I started with keyboard, after tried piano, never want to play keyboard anymore.

Personally, i recommend Yamaha Digital piano. Cheapest is about 3.xk to 4k i think.
Hi, i've done some survey on low end yamaha digital piano,
without paddel and function buttons costs about RM2.2k and beginner range with paddel costs about 2.8k.

and tat's true, i've tried on a high ended digital piano, it gives the feel like a grand and the keys are completely made of wood ..

SUSMatrix
post Mar 10 2015, 02:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alankit @ Mar 10 2015, 02:28 PM)
Hi, i've done some survey on low end yamaha digital piano,
without paddel and function buttons costs about RM2.2k and beginner range with paddel costs about 2.8k.

and tat's true, i've tried on a high ended digital piano, it gives the feel like a grand and the keys are completely made of wood ..
Err!!! Made from wood??? Not wood lar bro. Not sure what you call it though.

Last time i bought my DGX-630 i think...RM 3.8k. Consider low-end also...sweat.gif

What model did you see for RM2.2k to RM2.8K??

http://my.yamaha.com/en/products/musical-i.../digitalpianos/

Long time no keep track liao.

Is it the P-range you saw?

TSalankit
post Mar 10 2015, 05:23 PM

17 posts

yeah, P range.
that 1 where the keys made from wood is CVP range..
far more expansive than beginner range...
if not mistaken its about RM30k+
SUSMatrix
post Mar 11 2015, 09:36 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alankit @ Mar 10 2015, 05:23 PM)
yeah, P range.
that 1 where the keys made from wood is CVP range..
far more expansive than beginner range...
if not mistaken its about RM30k+
Oooohhh CVP range...unless you can play at godly level and professional, no need lar.

Beginners just go for the cheapest digital piano with decent feel. A few years back, no P range i think, now good lar, got cheaper option.

Now Everyone can Flyplay Yamaha piano!!

thumbup.gif

Btw, if got budget hor, get a pair of good speakers to go with it....the stock speakers are decent, but if you paired it with a dedicated 2.1 speakers, then you can really unleash the power of your digital piano.

I use an Aego M 2.1 speakers for the output for my DGX-630

This post has been edited by Matrix: Mar 11 2015, 09:43 AM
ragnasin
post Mar 11 2015, 06:01 PM

QUOTE(alankit @ Feb 23 2015, 05:44 PM)
Hi guys,
Recently I'm learning piano based on self interested as a hobby...
I'm 28 year old, working as an engineer, currently learning piano from web based tutorials etc...
I have an old organ for me to practise fingering and practising it about 2-3 lesson per week,
Up until now, i can read scores (about 20 notes per minutes with 70% accuracy the result is based on an app in my phone to practise reading notes).

This is my concern,
I'm planning to get an electronic piano / keyboard.
But, i have no idea that which type of piano/keyboard i should invest on.

my budget is about 1k - 2.5k,
i'm ok with second-handed in good condition.
the piano should be able to last long (i might pass it to my son  tongue.gif )
please advice,

Thanks in advance...  biggrin.gif
Just "walk horse see flower", found that you have a good heart learning. Happy to c some1 have such high self initiative learning piano by own self.
Let me show you this guide base on my experience... but decision on yours!
1)Size of keyboard
electric piano (have leg stand that much heavier and that is harder to move), keyboard (those not portable and smaller sumore can run by battery).
Seriously i not sure about this even ask mr google.
I think this is not the main concern... main thing is you need 88 full keys piano or much smaller piano such as only 5~6 chords?
No doubt smaller keyboard is cheaper, but you have the heart go for the 88 keys.
2)Feeling the key of the keyboard
You really need sit down touch and feel the keyboard.
Last time i keep seeing my piano teacher selling keyboard to customer, customer does not try.
Customer just think that the price expensive then think that is a good piano. NO!!!!! No matter how you must try....
Some keyboard spring up faster(the feeling on you), some key more harder to press... some key is slightly bigger(yes it got different).
So, please sit down and try to feel, no matter you are pro or not pro on playing... please try!!!
3)Sound~
Electric , piano , grand piano ,guitar violin no matter wat, it sound different, some more dim, some sound softer
Try some of the unit they have, the more "Angel sound while play" that the baby you should buy!!!
4)Pedal
Some of the keyboard dont have pedal, so you cant control the "sustain" sound so perfectly. If you go for exam, this make big diff!!
Some keyboard you can set auto sustain but it seem annoying when fast tempo song was played.
5)Other function
If you future trying to have a solo band, this function it so important.
You can save down your own playing, repeat it and make a remix.
Or either you can save a looping drum set, playing like a huge band on SOLO! but this required must skill, youtuber have alot sample.
6)Price/Brand
U have your own budget right (1k - 2.5k) but if you really found a really NICE SOUND NICE FEELING piano or keyboard dont hesitate buy it!!
If not you will regret, but remember please dont waste money buy liao just leave the piano there!!! i c alot cases like this!!!

Hope this help abit, for me most important is the feeling of playing. blush.gif

*As above is refer to this OP reference, if for piano and grand piano there still got alot of consideration*
**sorry for the broken english**

This post has been edited by ragnasin: Mar 11 2015, 06:06 PM
TSalankit
post Mar 12 2015, 01:40 PM

17 posts

Hey, ragnasin

there's a lot of hints u gave me, since i'm very new into this industry~ ;P
i'm playing piano as my hobby and a place to relax my mind, so far i barely can recognize all the keys from the sheets from 3rd c to middle c to 7c, but my hand coordination to each keys are still have a big gap to fill in smile.gif

Then i having problem to transition from key to key...

i assume this needs a lot of practise and technique concentration. Do you have any tips for this matter, it would be a great help biggrin.gif

so far i'm learning this piece, (p.s. just the intro part, first 2 row ) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
mozart-wolfgang-amadeus-vous-dirai-maman-twinkle-twinkle-
play some actual score will help a lot in hand coordination...

so far, i cant get enough mind mapping on the keys. i think i need to play more often... i'm barely playing my organ for 2-3 hours per week rclxub.gif

do u think i should buy a digital piano replacing that old organ unit for me to start parctise mind mapping on my own piano??

SUSMatrix
post Mar 12 2015, 05:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(alankit @ Mar 12 2015, 01:40 PM)
Hey, ragnasin

i'm playing piano as my hobby and a place to relax my mind, so far i barely can recognize all the keys from the sheets from 3rd c to middle c to 7c, but my hand coordination to each keys are still have a big gap to fill in smile.gif

i assume this needs a lot of practise and technique concentration. Do you have any tips for this matter, it would be a great help biggrin.gif

so far i'm learning this piece, (p.s. just the intro part, first 2 row ) biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

so far, i cant get enough mind mapping on the keys. i think i need to play more often... i'm barely playing my organ for 2-3 hours per week  rclxub.gif

do u think i should buy a digital piano replacing that old organ unit for me to start parctise mind mapping on my own piano??
If have budget...YES. I seriously hates organ. Organ is wind instrument, Piano is string instrument. The feel and sound is so much difference.

Btw, no need to be too concern about mind-mapping or what. Just play some songs you like. Learn from youtube if have to. Got lots of great tutorials of popular songs out there.

Later, you should get some lessons....or else you "chou for yap more"...lol. Good luck!
ragnasin
post Mar 12 2015, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(alankit @ Mar 12 2015, 01:40 PM)
Hey, ragnasin

so far i'm learning this piece, (p.s. just the intro part, first 2 row ) biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

so far, i cant get enough mind mapping on the keys. i think i need to play more often... i'm barely playing my organ for 2-3 hours per week  rclxub.gif

I teach before piano for few year, some same ages friends previously also find me for teaching them.
I using those standards teacher method that use in Malaysia (i belief so,cause i using tat syllabus too).
But alot higher ages beginner rushing for playing a few pop song, at the end they cant read or side reading too well...only stick with 1~3 song using memories.
I strongly disagree for this (although i have few shortcut way).
You wont have a real success for that.
As now what you ask for is

i)look for the notes of " C " start from the middle.
ii)look for " C' " which is higher octave c, look for the lower " 'C " too, remember this notes on the "staff" (5 lines)
iii)use this notes as a mark, count your notes where near to which C??
iv)count start from the C and determine the notes.
v)repeat practice sleep and get faster....

I not sure you understand or not... it hard to use write to tell you how to make everything easy...

JoGaki
post Mar 12 2015, 06:34 PM

144 posts

Some choices

Korg Kross 61

Korg SP 170S

Korg SP 280
JoGaki
post Mar 12 2015, 06:37 PM

144 posts

Also another one to consider

http://www.ckmusic.com.my/webshaper/store/...at.asp?catID=43
TSalankit
post Mar 13 2015, 09:06 AM

17 posts

Hi, i understand what you meant...
i'll try it on my own practise ^^
wongpeter
post Mar 18 2015, 03:11 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(ragnasin @ Mar 11 2015, 06:01 PM)
Just "walk horse see flower", found that you have a good heart learning. Happy to c some1 have such high self initiative learning piano by own self.

**sorry for the broken english**
Sry but what is "walk horse see flower".
Or did you mean to say "ride cow look for horse"?
SUSMatrix
post Mar 18 2015, 03:23 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Mar 18 2015, 03:11 PM)
Sry but what is "walk horse see flower".
Or did you mean to say "ride cow look for horse"?
LOL!!! laugh.gif I also wonder what is "walk horse see flower"!!!!!
simon_lwc
post Mar 30 2015, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 18 2015, 03:23 PM)
LOL!!!  laugh.gif I also wonder what is "walk horse see flower"!!!!!
In Chinese expression is "走馬看花".

I own a Yamaha DGX650 Digital Piano. I am also self learning Piano for the past 1 year (I did learn from music teacher for 2 mths, then I stop). I have problem with notes reading, very slow . But I can play by ear and do my own chord.

0.0226sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:58 AM