Singing Classes

TSSaberCortez
post Feb 20 2015, 09:34 PM, updated 11y ago

710 posts

Hey guys,
I am just wondering, everybody been telling my voice sucks, I am just wondering if I should take singing classes, does it really help? This is what I recorded, and I know that it is bad:
https://soundcloud.com/danielnoobster/try-try,
However i am just wondering if I take singing class, will it improve my voice to the point where I can sing in public or should I just forget about it?

Another question is: How much and any good teacher in puchong?
babycry123
post Feb 23 2015, 12:33 AM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Feb 20 2015, 09:34 PM)
Hey guys,
I am just wondering, everybody been telling my voice sucks, I am just wondering if I should take singing classes, does it really help? This is what I recorded, and I know that it is bad:
However i am just wondering if I take singing class, will it improve my voice to the point where I can sing in public or should I just forget about it?

You sounded flat in that recording. Yes, anyone can take singing lesson. Be it your voice bad, you still can take lesson. Singing lesson doesn't judge a person's voice. You definitely can improve your voice to the point where you can sing public. If you are passion about singing, then you should take. Listen more to songs that you like and listen carefully to every single note to improve your pitch sense. You can google "The guitar store lesson". They do provide singing lesson. Good luck.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 26 2015, 04:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Personally, i think singing is a natural gift thing. if your voice is bad, don't think it can improve much. Most people who can sing well, already can sing good even b4 they take any lessons.

If for fun ok lah. If you wanna be serious, i think better not. But of course, nowadays, if you wanna be a pop star. It's all about packaging and not singing.

babycry123
post Feb 26 2015, 11:39 PM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 26 2015, 04:19 PM)
Personally, i think singing is a natural gift thing. if your voice is bad, don't think it can improve much. Most people who can sing well, already can sing good even b4 they take any lessons.

If for fun ok lah. If you wanna be serious, i think better not. But of course, nowadays, if you wanna be a pop star. It's all about packaging and not singing.
Dude, you are just so wrong about this. People who have bad voice is because they don't know how to use their voice correctly, once they take lesson they will slowly improve and use their voice correctly. Even if some people have bad voice, lesson will make their voice sound better. Be it for fun or serious, one can still take lesson if singing is their hobby. People who can sing well is because they were exposed to music at young age or they sing when they were at young age, not because that they are gifted with singing voice. If you started singing at young age, it's undoubtedly that your voice will be nice too. Don't discourage people, my friend.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 26 2015, 11:59 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Feb 26 2015, 11:39 PM)
Dude, you are just so wrong about this. People who have bad voice is because they don't know how to use their voice correctly, once they take lesson they will slowly improve and use their voice correctly. Even if some people have bad voice, lesson will make their voice sound better. Be it for fun or serious, one can still take lesson if singing is their hobby. People who can sing well is because they were exposed to music at young age or they sing when they were at young age, not because that they are gifted with singing voice. If you started singing at young age, it's undoubtedly that your voice will be nice too. Don't discourage people, my friend.
You don't understand what i said. What i meant is if you don't have a good voice to begin with, you will never become exceptional. You can go from being bad to somewhat improved, but will never be exceptional. That's just a fact. Just look at all those tons of singers out there. The good ones can become exceptional, the crap ones just stay crap...or at most somewhat improved. And it has nothing to do with singing start from young age or what....some people are just naturally good even if they don't sing often.

Ex:
Leon Lai, Aaron Kwok - from mediocre/crap to somewhat improved over the years.
Twins - utter rubbish from day 1 till today
Jacky Cheung - from being naturally good and talented until today, he has honed his skills to whole new level.
Chris Martin (Coldplay) - mediocre voice ...still the same over the years (Dun get me wrong, i am big fan of Coldplay, doesn't change the fact Chris Martin is a great song writer/musician but mediocre singer).

Just a small example....and these are professional singers who i'm sure have tons of teachers guiding them....i can't remember anyone who has rise from crap level to godly voice level.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 27 2015, 12:12 AM
scorpionballs
post Feb 27 2015, 02:24 AM

30 posts

Good thread about it here: http://www.reddit.com/r/explainlikeimfive/...a_good_singing/

Major points:

There are nine cartilaginous structures that make up the larynx (voice box). Most of those structures play pivotal roles in shaping the sound, character, and control of your voice.

As you can probably tell, like faces, the voice varies significantly from person to person. That is because small differences in these structures cause pretty noticeable effects on the overall output.

Sure, practice matters, but the difference in potential between you and some professional singer like Dean Martin is massive.

And:

I would say range is the factor most limited by the structure of the larynx. Proper technique can help a person hit higher or lower pitches within their range that would otherwise be difficult to hit, but a person cannot increase the range of notes that their voice can reach. After that, tone is probably the most limited. You're stuck with the tone of voice that you have. You can adjust it to some extent, and some people can even adjust it to a great extent, but each person is more or less stuck with the tone they have.

After that, everything is pretty dependent on technique. Pitch, control, power, phrasing, breathing... these are all important aspects of singing that can be trained and developed. Can you sound like Dean Martin? Not unless you have a similar tone and range, but can you sing as well as Dean Martin? If you practice your technique enough, you could.
ciwi1166
post Feb 27 2015, 12:57 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

i found out among my friends who regularly said they go karaoke. when ask to sing a cappella style, so crap. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Feb 27 2015, 02:37 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(scorpionballs @ Feb 27 2015, 02:24 AM)
Good thread about it here: http://www.reddit.com/r/explainlikeimfive/...a_good_singing/

Major points:
There are nine cartilaginous structures that make up the larynx (voice box). Most of those structures play pivotal roles in shaping the sound, character, and control of your voice.

As you can probably tell, like faces, the voice varies significantly from person to person. That is because small differences in these structures cause pretty noticeable effects on the overall output.

Sure, practice matters, but the difference in potential between you and some professional singer like Dean Martin is massive.

And:
I would say range is the factor most limited by the structure of the larynx. Proper technique can help a person hit higher or lower pitches within their range that would otherwise be difficult to hit, but a person cannot increase the range of notes that their voice can reach. After that, tone is probably the most limited. You're stuck with the tone of voice that you have. You can adjust it to some extent, and some people can even adjust it to a great extent, but each person is more or less stuck with the tone they have.

After that, everything is pretty dependent on technique. Pitch, control, power, phrasing, breathing... these are all important aspects of singing that can be trained and developed. Can you sound like Dean Martin? Not unless you have a similar tone and range, but can you sing as well as Dean Martin? If you practice your technique enough, you could.
Very good explanation. thumbup.gif

Although sometimes, you can be unique without being really good...like Rod Stewart. Personallly, i prefer distinct vocal rather than godly Mariah Carey Dolphin squeak 10 octaves or what....tongue.gif

SUSMatrix
post Feb 27 2015, 02:39 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Feb 27 2015, 12:57 PM)
i found out among my friends who regularly said they go karaoke. when ask to sing a cappella style, so crap. biggrin.gif tongue.gif
Most karaoke singer only sing solo the main melody, where got cappella...Cappella requires lots of training and teamwork i suppose...me no expert Cap Pella. biggrin.gif
ciwi1166
post Feb 27 2015, 08:10 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 27 2015, 02:39 PM)
Most karaoke singer only sing solo the main melody, where got cappella...Cappella requires lots of training and teamwork i suppose...me no expert Cap Pella. biggrin.gif
i just want to simple test their voice whether good or not... biggrin.gif it's easy to sing when ur voice are drown out by the music during karaoke.
siles1991
post Feb 27 2015, 09:57 PM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 26 2015, 11:59 PM)
You don't understand what i said. What i meant is if you don't have a good voice to begin with, you will never become exceptional. You can go from being bad to somewhat improved, but will never be exceptional. That's just a fact. Just look at all those tons of singers out there. The good ones can become exceptional, the crap ones just stay crap...or at most somewhat improved. And it has nothing to do with singing start from young age or what....some people are just naturally good even if they don't sing often.

Ex:
Leon Lai, Aaron Kwok - from mediocre/crap to somewhat improved over the years.
Twins - utter rubbish from day 1 till today
Jacky Cheung - from being naturally good and talented until today, he has honed his skills to whole new level.
Chris Martin (Coldplay) - mediocre voice ...still the same over the years (Dun get me wrong, i am big fan of Coldplay, doesn't change the fact Chris Martin is a great song writer/musician but mediocre singer).

Just a small example....and these are professional singers who i'm sure have tons of teachers guiding them....i can't remember anyone who has rise from crap level to godly voice level.

Cheers.
everyone is not gifted with the exceptional voice like whitney houston, kelly clarkson, adam lambert, freddie mercury, michael jackson.

But that doesn't mean they can't be exceptional singers. People stay mediocre because they choose to stay mediocre. Some naturally find their voices easier than others, some dont. You compare mainstream singers but have you ever thought of opera singers? Opera is one of the genre's where the singers STRIVE to get better, to be the best they can whereas some mainstream singers are fine just being where they are at.

Opera singers are phenomenal, having great voices from training. Training and practice will get you far and it's delusional to think that you can't be as good as other people. You can't be exactly the same as them, but that doesn't mean you can't be as good as them in a different "voice".

For example Adam Lambert had experience in drama and theater since a young age, you think he just got his great voice from birth? You think it's so easy to get into theater? He has practiced a lot. Practice and passion will get you far.

Kathie Bretches-Urban, co-founder of Metropolitan Educational Theatre Network (now MET2)[228] where Lambert performed as a youth, said "He has invested his entire life in music and performing . . . He'd just come out onstage, and it popped"

This post has been edited by siles1991: Feb 27 2015, 10:28 PM
babycry123
post Feb 27 2015, 11:59 PM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

I am not quoting anyone as it may lead to argument. I have already said, natural voice doesn't come naturally. Practice is always in place. Don't tell me Aaron Kwok or what Jacky Cheung. They are in Cantopop genre, and in that genre, they are only good at falsetto, not natural high range. Range or not, it doesn't matter, what matters is your pitch sense. Simple, if you don't have a good voice to begin with, you can practice and learn how to use your own voice correctly until you have a good voice. People who never had singing lessons that I know are Bon Scott from ACDC and AXL from GNR, but GNR sang when he was young. I guess you are not even a singer yourself, because I am. A singer will never say this kind of discourage word.

siles1991
post Feb 28 2015, 12:17 AM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Feb 27 2015, 11:59 PM)
I am not quoting anyone as it may lead to argument. I have already said, natural voice doesn't come naturally. Practice is always in place. Don't tell me Aaron Kwok or what Jacky Cheung. They are in Cantopop genre, and in that genre, they are only good at falsetto, not natural high range. Range or not, it doesn't matter, what matters is your pitch sense. Simple, if you don't have a good voice to begin with, you can practice and learn how to use your own voice correctly until you have a good voice. People who never had singing lessons that I know are Bon Scott from ACDC and AXL from GNR, but GNR sang when he was young. I guess you are not even a singer yourself, because I am. A singer will never say this kind of discourage word.
that i can agree on a singer wont discourage other singers.
siles1991
post Feb 28 2015, 02:31 AM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Feb 20 2015, 09:34 PM)
Hey guys,

Honest opinion it's not that bad. I wouldn't say it's good, but i've heard worst. Singing classes will really help a lot, and I think your guitar is out of tune as well.

Singing classes will help if you really try. My experience was I went for some singing lessons, few months later my sibling and even my parents joined because they heard how much I had improved. People used to say my singing is bad even my cousin who is musically inclined and has been in musicals and concerts and even one who had won a singing competition. Now they say i'm getting really good, and that i'm better than them, but I don't have the confidence to believe that yet haha.

All I can say is, get yourself some singing lessons and don't give up. So many times I recorded myself and said OMG SO BAD, but don't let it get you down just keep trying.
TSSaberCortez
post Feb 28 2015, 12:34 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Feb 28 2015, 03:31 AM)
Honest opinion it's not that bad. I wouldn't say it's good, but i've heard worst. Singing classes will really help a lot, and I think your guitar is out of tune as well.

Singing classes will help if you really try. My experience was I went for some singing lessons, few months later my sibling and even my parents joined because they heard how much I had improved. People used to say my singing is bad even my cousin who is musically inclined and has been in musicals and concerts and even one who had won a singing competition. Now they say i'm getting really good, and that i'm better than them, but I don't have the confidence to believe that yet haha.

All I can say is, get yourself some singing lessons and don't give up. So many times I recorded myself and said OMG SO BAD, but don't let it get you down just keep trying.
Thanks guys. smile.gif I will start next month. smile.gif
someone_stupid
post Feb 28 2015, 05:30 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Feb 28 2015, 12:34 PM)
Thanks guys. smile.gif I will start next month. smile.gif
i'm thinking of doing the same, voice sucks in my own opinion and nobody told me otherwise or agree with it for that matter but.. why not do it. Where are you btw? anywhere to recommend in pj area?
TSSaberCortez
post Feb 28 2015, 08:53 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Feb 28 2015, 06:30 PM)
i'm thinking of doing the same, voice sucks in my own opinion and nobody told me otherwise or agree with it for that matter but.. why not do it. Where are you btw? anywhere to recommend in pj area?
I am in puchong/seri kembangan area. PJ, no clue..
syaoranlove
post Mar 2 2015, 03:26 PM

Since got people post this thread, I might as well ask if my voice sounds good or not... blush.gif I sing Japanese song 1 laugh.gif sorry for stealing your thread TS sweat.gif

the youtube cannot work.... here's the link http://youtu.be/Umum5fbrW_c

This post has been edited by syaoranlove: Mar 2 2015, 03:27 PM
Foong Leng
post Mar 5 2015, 10:13 PM

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Feb 20 2015, 10:34 PM)
Hey guys,

Foong Leng
post Mar 5 2015, 10:47 PM

everyone can sing, to improve definitely u should proper guardian from a experience coach. recently i start my vocal class and improve alot on my sing skill. if youre interested i can recommend you my vocal coach in mid valley.

0.0207sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:15 PM