39 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

The Classic VW Beetle Thread, Comeon! Show some love!

askar_lcy
post Jun 19 2008, 11:48 PM

382 posts

bro shariff...
u saw my posts wat..
yours is a big tail light n post 72 wat...
y dun u pm me???
black_cat
post Jun 27 2008, 02:52 PM

22 posts

hai,
everyone i wan ask something...
i want rent three car(Volkswagen Beetle better is between 2006-2008) for my next roadshow.
can anyone provide some contact number that can rent this kind of car??
thanks!!!!
beautle
post Jun 27 2008, 04:41 PM

21 posts

too bad i sold my beetle sad.gif sad.gif
askar_lcy
post Jul 10 2008, 06:47 PM

382 posts

ipoh bugfest:
12th&13th July dataran Ipoh

we from kl are heading north on 12th July Saturday morning at 6.45am
Gathering point is Tol/ R&R Sungai Buloh by 6.30am

anyone interested to join our convoy please call :
me : 0129117978

Added on July 14, 2008, 8:33 amlooks like people in low yat don't have any interest on these cars at all??!!
sigh...

This post has been edited by askar_lcy: Jul 14 2008, 08:33 AM
raptorclans
post Jul 16 2008, 04:09 PM

333 posts

Alaaa... I didn't know... I dun check this thread that often... but then again I had stuff to do that weekend... unsure.gif

Anyways, just got my car back, resprayed smile.gif

GameMonster
post Jul 16 2008, 08:20 PM

146 posts

dunno johor's bugfest still got or not?
raptorclans
post Aug 8 2008, 10:52 AM

333 posts

I heard this year Bug-o-Rama's in The Summit PJ... smile.gif
maxking85
post Aug 9 2008, 11:31 AM

74 posts

Hello there,i juz saw this forum...my fren guide me to here since i got a red VW bettles year 1965.but now it juz "sleep" at my johor home since my dad passed away..now i try to continue my dad's dream and try to make it "wake up" and make it a "legend"again..

currently i am in PJ,last 3 month when i went home i figured out that there's 4 part which got problem,first it hard to start up,second the back wheel brake will jam when run half way,third when drive the car it seems like unstable cuz keep up choking all way long...is it because of the spark plug spoil??and the air cond got some gas smell dono why..my VW location is at a small town called Yong Peng which near Batu Pahat..

so my question is,how much if need to repair the problem that i mention?
where is the nearest location that i can repair it around Yong Peng?
is it possible to drive it from JB to KL?Cuz even my dad also never test it..tha farest is went to segamat..
and is it durable to run long distance?
as last time my dad bought it because of his dream to drive this car and he love it very much and treat it as "second wife"..hehe...even my mom sometime also jealous..hehe laugh.gif
The whole car's wiring was done by my dad himself..i'm surprise that it is very tidy..
now i wish to make it alive back and continue my dad's dream..and actually i also love it very much cuz very comfort when driving it..

hope that all the fourmers here can guide me to make it alive..altough i not a fast learner..but pls teach me how to maintain it and wat are the things that need to be careful..thanks...

and oh ya,i wish to bring this VW to PJ do u all think is it a good idea?
any VW lovers live in PJ?and may i know where can hv a service and repair it in PJ area?i live in Kelana Jaya here..i planned to bring it here during national day..which is this month..

and is it i can join u guys so that i can learn more bout it?
thanks a lot..hope got sifu here can teach me bout the machanical things..

thanks a lot..

This post has been edited by maxking85: Aug 9 2008, 11:38 AM
Cloudbuster
post Aug 17 2008, 01:19 AM

Hi Maxking85,

The beetle sifus down at http://mostlymyvw.18.forumer.com may be able to offer you some advice on the technical issues affecting your bug. Most of them are Malaysian Volkswagen owners.

As for me, I am too a newbie on the beetle, so unfortunately I can't offer you much concrete advice. Nevertheless, good luck in your pursuit of beetle restoration!
neomab
post Aug 28 2008, 10:56 PM

Hi guys! I love VW beetles. The classic ones la. Not the new ones. eww. I dont have one though. You see, I'm 18 and i just got my license last year. I wanted to get one but my parents object la. they say the price of maintaining it will be hell. Haiz.... Any advice?
tony2304
post Aug 31 2008, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(neomab @ Aug 28 2008, 10:56 PM)
Hi guys! I love VW beetles. The classic ones la. Not the new ones. eww. I dont have one though. You see, I'm 18 and i just got my license last year. I wanted to get one but my parents object la. they say the price of maintaining it will be hell. Haiz.... Any advice?
These kind of vintage cars should have a pro mech to repair it.. once repaired can last for few years especially VW beetles.

Guyz...here are some photo snap from PJ Summit Bug Fest 2008

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

danny_ptlm
post Sep 3 2008, 02:24 PM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

nice car there...
moo moo
post Sep 12 2008, 12:21 AM

325 posts

hi there everyone! i'm new here. recently me and my sis have bought over my grandpa's 1973 beetle (cos he's selling it but me and sis has got some sentimental values with the bug).. so we decided to restore it and make it shine again.
to tell u the truth, i know nuts about the beetle so any kind soul here can guide me through the restoration works? i need to know if there's any reputable workshops in MLK or KL that i can go to. prefer MLK cos the beetle is stationed there.
my sis wanted to convert it to an auto.. dunno whether izzit possible or not.
things that we plan to do: replace rusty+broken parts, upgrade air conditioner (dunno feasible or not), change all necessary parts

thx for reading btw

This post has been edited by moo moo: Sep 12 2008, 12:31 AM
TSSetaNoriyasu
post Sep 13 2008, 09:02 AM

ふううううううう
1,067 posts

you can install an aircond, but it'll sap the power right out of the engine especially on the smaller 1200cc engines so i wouldn't suggest it.

My poor old 1200cc '66 is suffering because of my decision to put in an aircond

moo moo
post Sep 13 2008, 11:12 AM

325 posts

i think my grandpa changed it to 1600cc
Lim Ling Yang
post Sep 13 2008, 12:33 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

Dont convert auto.
moo moo
post Sep 14 2008, 02:18 PM

325 posts

why not?
askar_lcy
post Sep 23 2008, 04:44 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(GameMonster @ Jul 16 2008, 08:20 PM)
dunno johor's bugfest still got or not?

i heard that johor's chair person for the bug organization had passed away.so there's no person who are willing to take up the responsible (which the main concern is no $$$ )

QUOTE(maxking85 @ Aug 9 2008, 11:31 AM)
Hello there,i juz saw this forum...my fren guide me to here since i got a red VW bettles year 1965.but now it juz "sleep" at my johor home since my dad passed away..now i try to continue my dad's dream and try to make it "wake up" and make it a "legend"again.....

hi,glad to see that another person want's to make beetle alive.
well,i can tell u that there's no where beetles cant reach.it's the common vehicle used in WW2 and it travels over the globe.there're Danish who traveled from Denmark to Beijing for olympics if i did not mistaken,thais drove to hanoi,m'sian drove to thai etc etc...okay well maybe u can say their bugs are very good condition,but as far as i'm concerned,my bug went to ipoh once,kuantan(my hometown) twice,seremban once,port dickson once and klang every weekend almost..i'm in cyberjaya MMU. my bug condition is very bad as i did not spend money on performance YET.what i'm trying to say is,have faith in your bug.i have friends from batu pahat and JB who traveled to kl for bug-o-rama last month.
btw,if u want to have recomended vw workshop,i can ask my fren to source out for u in JB.there're 3 or so i heard.

QUOTE(neomab @ Aug 28 2008, 10:56 PM)

why not?i have a friend who's only 16 and he has a VW already despite of having license yet.he's already learning how to fix small small stuff on it.tell u what,if you really love this car that much,get books about it and study it.alternatively if you're in KL u can let me know i photostate for u,but u pay la.i bought the book for RM99,and i also photostated a book from my fren which costs me RM25.i made a mistake for not studying first before buying and i get alot of regrets after buying despite of still having fun driving the VW.u must learn alot so that u don't get cheated and u're better when bargain in price.
as for maintenance.so far i had spent about less than 1k for maintain.i service the car my self and fixed the problems more than three times when it went dead on the road.i can tell u it's relatively easy to solve VW problems IF you're diligent enough to study the book.cheers.

QUOTE(moo moo @ Sep 12 2008, 12:21 AM)
hi there everyone! i'm new here. recently me and my sis have bought over my grandpa's 1973 beetle (cos he's selling it but me and sis has got some sentimental values with the bug).. so we decided to restore it and make it shine again.
to tell u the truth, i know nuts about the beetle so any kind soul here can guide me through the restoration works? i need to know if there's any reputable workshops in MLK or KL that i can go to. prefer MLK cos the beetle is stationed there.
my sis wanted to convert it to an auto.. dunno whether izzit possible or not.
things that we plan to do: replace rusty+broken parts, upgrade air conditioner (dunno feasible or not), change all necessary parts

thx for reading btw

hi moo...very happy to see another (two) person interested in keeping VW alive.
and very happy too because you (two) are the few girl i know who love n own vw (one more is here too who replied u earlier on.) well,i have a fren in seremban who drive VW and he's a very friendly guy.he could teach u alot too.but first of all is your car stalled or still movable?
when i bought this car i also know nothing about this car.i still remember that i made myself looked stupid when i ask one of the seller i visit "how about the water?will it boil quickly?" the seller laughed at me and say "bro this is an Aircooled!"
then i joined alot of VW fanatics in a few forums and i did some read ups on the net and now i know abit to keep my volks alive.i've not been to MLK's any VW gathering but during july or june there was a bug fest there so i'm thinking it ain't hard to find a good shop there especially there're alot of old shops around.also,u are lucky to stay in MLK becaz there's the VW spareparts shop and it's the supplier for MOST parts to the KL shops in JLN Ipoh.
actually i'm planning a visit to that shop sometime before raya.so if u don't mind u could leave me your contact and let me (and my fren who're a VW fan too) to take a look at your vw.

prices,hard to tell before we actually see your car.

air cond.for 1.2cc...neh neh...not enough power unless u don't mind crusing low speed.but then IF your tuning and some modification is right,1.2cc COULD be more powerful than 1.3cc.yes,don't doubt wat i say. tongue.gif
1.6cc,go ahead caz mine with a/c and felt no different after switching it on.BUT STILL have to mind your tuning. smile.gif

auto shifts,well,DO IT IF YOU HAVE FULL SETS OF PARTS KEPT IN YOUR GARAGE ALREADY.
no joke,it's worth every cent to do it if u have the whole complete sets.but IF YOU DON'T,dont ever think about it as it could cost more than a running bug u could get on street.but anyway the auto shifts isn't like the modern auto cars.
well,the originals ones had 4geears,N,R,1,2.N is when u kept the car stalled,R ofcaz reverse,1 is for pickup and once u reached 50KMH u have to switch to 2.well,the only different is that u have 2forward gears and no clutch pedal.
VW auto shifts uses a sensor which sense the engine giving much torque to the gear then only it enables the gear even when u already leave it on 1.so it means,a very "slow" reaction on pick up.
it means when u stopped at traffic,by the time it gets green light,u put your gears on 1 and stepped on accel pedal,it had to wait for 2 or more seconds before the gears actually get intact and move forwards.
so when you're driving and VW original Auto ,please step on gas before it turns green...hahahhahaa brows.gif

well due all respects i really hope that VW can be alive among us teenagers and to let you all learn more about VW why don't u all join these forum?
english and alot to learn/buy : www.volksriders.org (aka mostlymyvw.com)
chinese vw with china and hk pros : http://carivw.forumz.cc

bought an engine with my friend to be a project.
we decided to open it up and do an overhaul on it...
it's the first time for us.but everything must have a breakthrough...so we used a half day to drop the engine from the car...and taking it out gave us a hard time..(man it ain't light!!)
so the dismantling starts...everything is so easy to take out..hahahaha..
(if you don't know,this is the fan housing plus air filter plus intake manifold.)
rocker arm taken off
cylinder head taken off
and cylinder itself being taken off...

Added on October 4, 2008, 9:59 amhey guys....if u all want to know more about the progress...please bump...
well....caz i can't post anything more the [IMG] limit already over...
sad.gif

This post has been edited by askar_lcy: Oct 4 2008, 09:59 AM
rkjsoo
post Oct 7 2008, 10:06 PM

3,620 posts

bump LOL
askar_lcy
post Oct 8 2008, 12:28 AM

382 posts

the pistons after being sand..blocks being modified a lil.
valve grinding before and after...
special tools for valve spring locking
valve adjustment
this is how the engine looks like now.

Added on October 9, 2008, 10:35 pmGuy's,there's a meaningful things would like you all to take part in..

quoted from other places:
"a drive from KL to Malacca, each car pays RM 30 and all funds collected are given to MAKNA in their research and support of cancer patients and their families. All cars welcome , new or old, am trying to get a few sponsors to help ease the petrol costs and maybe a goodie bag. pls support or help in anyway you can, pls call me or e mail me for more details...thank you..
Mr.Robby - 012 377 6776

6th Dec Putrajaya to Malacca 9:15 am....till 5.15 pm.

if you cant make it for this event but would still like to donate, pls
Address your donation to:
MAKNA (Majlis Kanser Nasional)

BG 03A & 05 Ground Floor,
Megan Ambassy.
225, Jalan Ampang,
50450 Kuala Lumpur,Malaysia
Tel:+603-2162 9178 Fax:+603-2162 9203
Payable to MAKNA

thanks, minimum RM 30 or more if you wish, if you would like the Goodie bag, if any pls contact me with your receipt from MAKNA

Thanks "

this was written in our beetle forum,initially a group of beetle would be joining this event,so it'll be a great chance for u guys who owned beetle to convoy together.
cheers.

This post has been edited by askar_lcy: Oct 9 2008, 10:35 PM

39 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:41 AM