The Classic VW Beetle Thread, Comeon! Show some love!
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 24 2008, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(Thunder05 @ Nov 23 2008, 11:57 PM) got meh?? dunno la.. btw way guys.. wanna ask u bout my vw carb.. where can find a recon good n working carb?? coz mine got a problem.. huhu.. the car cannot go for normal timing..must adjust to high n the car will not die on the road while stopping.. coz this is the problem happens to my car.. huhu.. if adjust to normal fine timing..when on the air cond.. surely died.. must increase the timing than the aircond can be used.. coz lots ppl said it b'coz of the carb problem..sum of them don't have this problem..if this happen to any of u guys?? got solution for this?? usually when normal timing..without a.c is good..but then when with a.c must tune a bit higher..i not sure how high ur man tune for u..but for beetle..my friend told me must tune a bit higher..maybe around 5% to 10%(i not sure)..and also if ur engine oil is long long time ago already..u got to change it..it will some how effect the engine temperature and cause to die off slowly..this is wat happend to my car..not sure is the same with ur's or not..
askar_lcy
Nov 24 2008, 10:35 AM
thunder,go get a carb repair kit and it's time to learn DIY!!!  very easy only,u buy then i teach u.
rkjsoo
Nov 24 2008, 10:42 AM
lol sifu has spoken
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 24 2008, 12:08 PM
i also wanna learn how to diy a bit leh..my old carb..got problem..the screw/thingy the size is like the spark plug, the thingy function is if the thingy longgar..the timing will run off..kind of like mati engine veay easy..so wat happend is the thingy i screw too hard..then the hole crack already..so now this thingy is kind of longgar all the time and i go to change a new carb.. Attached thumbnail(s)
Thunder05
Nov 24 2008, 01:10 PM
ya ya.. i got simptom like soya.. "the timing will run off..kind of like mati engine veay easy" from high---------> low.... then.. wanna died... have to press the pedal minyak to keep the enjin run....like a drifter skill..press brake... heel pedal minyak.. hehehe..normally happens after wanna drop gear at traffic light or stuck in jem.. afraid if the car go died suddenly on the road.. wakakaka.. few times exp..already.. huhu... on klia highway.. elite... usj 9 perumahan.. ahahah...
This post has been edited by Thunder05: Nov 24 2008, 01:11 PM
siksa
Nov 24 2008, 01:13 PM
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 24 2008, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Thunder05 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:10 PM) ya ya.. i got simptom like soya.. "the timing will run off..kind of like mati engine veay easy" from high---------> low.... then.. wanna died... have to press the pedal minyak to keep the enjin run....like a drifter skill..press brake... heel pedal minyak.. hehehe..normally happens after wanna drop gear at traffic light or stuck in jem.. afraid if the car go died suddenly on the road.. wakakaka.. few times exp..already.. huhu... on klia highway.. elite... usj 9 perumahan.. ahahah... u saw my photo??got the red circle i circle up??u try to see is there anything like tat at ur crab..if that thing is loose..this problem will happend..
Thunder05
Nov 24 2008, 01:16 PM
wohooooo...dragster hotrod bettel.. xD Added on November 24, 2008, 1:42 pmQUOTE(soyaben86 @ Nov 24 2008, 01:15 PM) u saw my photo??got the red circle i circle up??u try to see is there anything like tat at ur crab..if that thing is loose..this problem will happend.. okies i will take at look at it today..after work... waa.. so much to learn.. XD This post has been edited by Thunder05: Nov 24 2008, 01:42 PM
askar_lcy
Nov 24 2008, 02:25 PM
no it's not called hot rod... it's chopped n dropped. the red circle thingy u can change in any vw workshop. i do not know if that affects in timing.. but my guesses are the gas inlet and air inlet screws are screwed up so u both facing the same problem... if the screw thingy was over screwed,means it making holes in the carb,so sorry,no more medicine would cure the carb....
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 24 2008, 02:41 PM
that thingy..i screw will effect the timing..make ur car mati engine often..also the screw is nothing..the hole i screw this thingy in got problem..old carbs always have this problem..the thread will gone then the side will crack and say bye bye to the carb..so i'm looking for any super duper glue to see can fix this problem or not..cause that hole will leak some petrol out..so i got to get those glue that are good along with petrol..
Thunder05
if the screw is lose and u tighten it and still loose again..u go apply a few layers of those white tape..(those ppl use for sealing leaking hose..)then screw it back..then can already..but make sure u don't cover a smally tiny hole in that "thingy"..if u cover that..the timing will gone..for new model of carb..i think the "thingy" is not hole..is spring type wan..
askar_lcy
Nov 24 2008, 09:08 PM
petrol leak out? say bye bye to your carb.
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 25 2008, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(askar_lcy @ Nov 24 2008, 09:08 PM) petrol leak out? say bye bye to your carb. not really leak out lar..just a few drip drip drip lar..  my old crab more worst..got 1 part will leak out wan leh..can see with naked eye that the petrol is leaking out..that's y i change a new carb..
askar_lcy
Nov 25 2008, 10:43 AM
guys... if petrol is dripping out,please becareful,try and send to repair asap.. alot of beetle got burnt becaz of the same issue,petrol drip out from carb and initially touches the distributor or coil therefore making sparks and burnt.
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 25 2008, 10:45 AM
askar..actually all carbs will leak some petrol out..depend how serious is it..even my new carb..when i do some cleaing at my engine area..i notice at the back of my carb will have those thick yellowish stain..when i smell it..it smells like petrol..
askar_lcy
Nov 25 2008, 11:43 AM
no no... vaporised n leak are big different... if u "see" or felt the surface of the carb is "wet" or "cold" it's normal. if u practically sees a drop of petrol it's not normal... even so my carb only has vaporised at right side facing the altrernator n very minimum.
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 25 2008, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(askar_lcy @ Nov 25 2008, 11:43 AM) no no... vaporised n leak are big different... if u "see" or felt the surface of the carb is "wet" or "cold" it's normal. if u practically sees a drop of petrol it's not normal... even so my carb only has vaporised at right side facing the altrernator n very minimum. oh..haha..mistaken the veporised and dripping.. mine abit okok lor..how minimum is ur minimum??u using which type of filter??
askar_lcy
Nov 25 2008, 12:03 PM
normal plastic type filter lo... inside my petrol pump also got filter wan my minimum ah... can see wet mark but when touch it's dry... how to explain leh.. like u put a drop of petrol on bare metal,it will spread very quickly to all over the surface,and u can see it is wet,but when u touch there's nothing.even if u put fire on it(the metal not the carb) also it wont burn lo..
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 25 2008, 12:14 PM
haha..the filter i mean is air filter..sry..didn't say it clear clear..
askar_lcy
Nov 25 2008, 11:47 PM
cheh... mine is AS engine,so it's an original FI engine's air filter. big big bazooka filter they call it
SUSsoyaben86
Nov 26 2008, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(askar_lcy @ Nov 25 2008, 11:47 PM) cheh... mine is AS engine,so it's an original FI engine's air filter. big big bazooka filter they call it i think is using paper wan rite??not oil type rite??