Piracy and you, Piracy...to be or not to be?
TSedoras81
Oct 5 2006, 02:00 PM, updated 20y ago
Firstly let me point out that I don't condone stealing and to a certain extent piracy is stealing.
I am starting this topic because I am interested in some opinions on this issue. For example let me start of by saying that for my X360 I have never ever and will never ever plan to buy pirated stuff for it. Never seen the purpose and would never need to. In fact selling and trading on this boards has made it even more economical to buy original.
However, what if by some chance original dvd's become censored so that you do not get full value for your money? For example I am a huge 2-pac fan and I told myself I would buy original when the song ghetto gospel was released. I go to one of the local malls and hook myself up with an original cd and lo and behold it is censored and let me tell you it is a waste of time listening to a censored 2-pac cd.
My argument I guess is that those who do buy original suffer more than those who buy fake stuff. Discuss
TSedoras81
Oct 5 2006, 02:33 PM
Another point I would like to add is the whole issue with regional encoding....I mean at the end of the day the ones who buy original suffer..like for example when my sister came home from the USA with the new season of Family Guy on DVD she couldn't play it over here because it was not region free. How annoying is that....but the ones who buy fake are free to watch any DVD they want. Its annoying!
mistaman
Oct 5 2006, 02:33 PM

Your topic should not be piracy then - it should be What happens when Games are CENSORED? let's not get this discussion started on piracy  Too many have said too much on it already. In the end you'll get flamewars.
TSedoras81
Oct 5 2006, 02:34 PM
Agreed then...would you support piracy if games become censored or would you grit you teeth and take it like a man?
This post has been edited by edoras81: Oct 5 2006, 02:35 PM
XenoFr3ak
Oct 5 2006, 02:46 PM
Sorry to say this ... but why another PIRACY thread lor.
TSedoras81
Oct 5 2006, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Oct 5 2006, 02:46 PM) Sorry to say this ... but why another PIRACY thread lor.  Sorry man, I'm new to these boards.....I thought this was interesting because I feel that those who support original like myself are penalised more so than those who buy fake....sorry guys if you have had endless topics related to this issue but like I said I am new and I find this interesting. However I do apologise if I offend you guys in any way due to my ignorance....
Lord_Ashe
Oct 5 2006, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(edoras81 @ Oct 5 2006, 02:33 PM) Another point I would like to add is the whole issue with regional encoding....I mean at the end of the day the ones who buy original suffer..like for example when my sister came home from the USA with the new season of Family Guy on DVD she couldn't play it over here because it was not region free. How annoying is that....but the ones who buy fake are free to watch any DVD they want. Its annoying! Censorship on CDs is common in Malaysia. What some people do, is buy the CDs online or abroad. Sometimes, for boxsets and the like, it's more worth it to go that way. As for regional encoding, AFAIK most players manufactured in Malaysia are "region-free" meaning they can play any disc from any region in the world. Perhaps your player is slightly older? I've bought original DVDs from ebay several times, from several regions, and subscribe to eflix (malaysia's answer to netflix) and my DVD player has no problems playing any of the content. I can't say I agree with region encoding, but game publishers and movie studios needed a mechanism to control questionable content (censorship) as well as ensure their revenue streams aren't affected by parallel imports - RCE provided them with this ability. This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Oct 5 2006, 03:08 PM
samurai20
Oct 5 2006, 03:29 PM
i think the IDEA for REGION LOCk is STUPID.. so STUPID.. why not all games or DVD region free so it easy to buy that thing or play it .. at any country....
Lord_Ashe
Oct 5 2006, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(samurai20 @ Oct 5 2006, 03:29 PM) i think the IDEA for REGION LOCk is STUPID.. so STUPID.. why not all games or DVD region free so it easy to buy that thing or play it .. at any country.... I agree with you my friend. Unfortunately as I've mentioned above publishers and studios want to make the most money out of their products. For example, if there was no Region Encoding enforced, no one will buy US versions of games since the Asian versions are much cheaper, etc.
TSedoras81
Oct 5 2006, 05:05 PM
Agreed but in the end its sad that those who suffer are us who do support original products. And the problems with my DVD's was all my expensive original DVD's bought from the US did not work with my xbox...sadness.
acougan
Oct 5 2006, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(edoras81 @ Oct 5 2006, 05:05 PM) Agreed but in the end its sad that those who suffer are us who do support original products. And the problems with my DVD's was all my expensive original DVD's bought from the US did not work with my xbox...sadness.
hyper-market cap ayam region free dvd players go for sub RM100 on the censorship thingie, if u really want to experience the "whole, complete" version, u can alway wait & import the director's cut dvd. i dunno anything abt music CD censorship, so no comment on that. This post has been edited by acougan: Oct 5 2006, 05:19 PM
munky
Oct 5 2006, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 5 2006, 04:04 PM) I agree with you my friend. Unfortunately as I've mentioned above publishers and studios want to make the most money out of their products. For example, if there was no Region Encoding enforced, no one will buy US versions of games since the Asian versions are much cheaper, etc. Why cant they sell us versions only in us, asian only in asia, etc.
daidzz
Oct 6 2006, 09:54 AM

Dont worry about anythin my frend. we're not affended. mayb we juz had way too many topics on this n one way or another this thread WILL be closed but lets talk bout it for a while. if u want to buy original songs without cencorship. go to a mp3 download site that u gotta pay for downloads . no cencorship n no piracy. out
TSedoras81
Oct 6 2006, 11:31 AM
The mp3 site is a useful tool but any music lover will tell its nothing like owning an original cd with the original casing with that sweet original smell....only to know someone has got in and erased all the good stuff...sad
munky
Oct 6 2006, 02:01 PM
Maybe u were not lucky. Coz i bought original slipknot cd, korn, etc, without any cencorship. U can hear all the F word, bla bla bla
UltramanToron
Oct 7 2006, 02:19 AM

support piracy! make loan shark richer! yeehaaa!
nxt time at least check/research things before u buy if u don wana reget it later... unless u don care abt every penny u spent..
just my opinion as i know some won agree.
tailgunner
Oct 7 2006, 09:08 AM

edoras81, im here to High School Driver You!!
marauderz
Oct 7 2006, 11:40 AM
As long as there's no official game ratings board here in Malaysia, there's no risk of games being censored since most ppl here still think games are small business. Movies & shows are already censored cause that's what the traditionalist farts understand and can see easily.
As for region coding.. yes.. it's a very very bad thing, but everyone has their reasons. Just be thankful that for 2 out of the 3 next gen consoles the region locking is an OPTION for the publisher to use, and not required.
acougan
Oct 7 2006, 12:21 PM
i wonder issit becos "there's no official game ratings board here in Malaysia", so makes it harder to launch xbox360 in Malaysia, as most of its lineup is rated mature or close to mature. was Saint Rows really banned in Sg?
XenoFr3ak
Oct 7 2006, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 7 2006, 12:21 PM) i wonder issit becos "there's no official game ratings board here in Malaysia", so makes it harder to launch xbox360 in Malaysia, as most of its lineup is rated mature or close to mature. was Saint Rows really banned in Sg? There are some talk about the 360 at the recent tech siminar from Microsoft but official launch Xbox360 in Malaysia, i wanna believed it will happen soon but who am i kiddin lor caused it will not happen due to the high piracy market of MS software going around here. Sad .. but nuttin can be done about it. There is one of the reason .. i hate piracy. It suxor. Yeah, Saint Row is banned in SG but many ppl got theirs from outside of SG. Works the same as here, if MY gov banned some M titles coming to MY .. we can always get it some other places.
madhatter2k
Oct 8 2006, 01:59 AM
yeah, piracy sux..big time.. but what else can we do? the goverment takes action about pirated musics, movies and softwares, but they don't even care about games. why? because they sees games as "toys", and what harm can they(the pirates) done to our community by selling pirated "toys"? we gamers can only just sit back in demise while the gaming industries in our country falls down on its knees.. but there's still some concerned games developers and distributers that takes action into their own hands, such as EA Asia Pasific that sued some cybercafes in Malaysia coz they use pirated copies on their machines. act such as this really helps, but i'm afraid it's not that much.. maybe MS won't launch the console in Malaysia, or maybe not..and maybe the future holds a better tomorrow for gamers, who knows..
silencer
Oct 8 2006, 03:52 AM
why dont they just release the porn games...so it will definitely bring my gaming interest back to life........lol