Rear Fan v2 (or any case fan), lets discuss casing fan setup

TSe-jump
post Oct 5 2006, 12:03 PM, updated 20y ago

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

ok, since the Rear Fan thread got locked coz of off-topics,
lets discuss casing fans here, n be on topic

here, we discuss fan spec etc, n placing in cases... UV? high cfm? reduces case temp?
anything.. as long it contributes..

ok let me start...
i've mentioned that i ordered some AC Fans some time ago
n guess what arrives few mins ago

*thanks daze

will install now n see any temp reduce over my free 120mm cm silent-fan
well, at least its UV brows.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 5 2006, 12:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Hey e-jump...
I think it's more appropriate if we make this topic as to discuss about fans...

Not just to discuss rear fans.. sweat.gif

We can discuss anything about fans, from the fans that is used on the Processor heatsink, intake fans, PSU's fans, VGA heatsink fans... wink.gif

How's my suggestion?
Good? brows.gif

***Nice fan you've got there...
Mind telling me the speed of that 120MM UVLed AC Ryan fan? drool.gif
Kinda interested... wub.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Oct 5 2006, 12:15 PM
ian_comstar
post Oct 5 2006, 12:18 PM

108 posts

yes, leat's discuss all type of fan & how it fares...
TSe-jump
post Oct 5 2006, 12:52 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

well, i made a bad assumption
it seems i cant control the other 2 3-pin on mobo
so i cant control the can speed of these fans cry.gif [but i can monitor the speed]
the 120mm spins@2krpm while 80mm spins @2.5k
holy shat, the rear fan really blows .. n the wind sound is louuuuuuuuud =__=
nevertheless, even the proc temp on load (9x265 , 1.45v) maintained @50C+ , the stock 70mm fan now spins @4.5k instead of 5.xk++
(my ultra-90 is on the way)
oh, case temp reduce significantly 2-3C
*the only turn-off of these fan is that i can see the led-glue clearly ;__;

oh well, im happy with the fan...
if only i can slower its speed would make it better
sniper69
post Oct 5 2006, 12:54 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

well as for me...i'll put all 12cm as its more silent than 9cm or 8cm whistling.gif...

placement...one in front for cool air intake and 1 at the back for exhaust hot air --- is this understandable? blush.gif biggrin.gif

i also fix a 12cm on top panel for a better air circulation and it help a lot in my target to get lower even lower system temperature...ok, here's my system temp on load...biggrin.gif

sniper on the roof
post Oct 5 2006, 01:00 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 5 2006, 12:10 PM)
Asyik spam aje...lu punya pasal lar it got locked tongue.gif

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 5 2006, 12:52 PM)
well, i made a bad assumption
it seems i cant control the other 2 3-pin on mobo
so i cant control the can speed of these fans cry.gif [but i can monitor the speed]
the 120mm spins@2krpm while 80mm spins @2.5k
holy shat, the rear fan really blows .. n the wind sound is louuuuuuuuud =__=
nevertheless, even the proc temp on load (9x265 , 1.45v) maintained @50C+ , the stock 70mm fan now spins @4.5k instead of 5.xk++
(my ultra-90 is on the way)
oh, case temp reduce significantly 2-3C
*the only turn-off of these fan is that i can see the led-glue clearly ;__;

oh well, im happy with the fan...
if only i can slower its speed would make it better
I see the "chopstick mod" there.
TSe-jump
post Oct 5 2006, 01:05 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

mine
*its now on load (currently folding), but i have no idea why its 0%
**currently disable the 80mm fan, coz i wanna compare sys temp with prev setup

btw sniper, why ur sys temp so high?
my case temp barely touch 40c even after gaming with 6800u

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 5 2006, 01:00 PM)
ini learn from abg.sniper laa tongue.gif

This post has been edited by e-jump: Oct 5 2006, 01:07 PM
sniper69
post Oct 5 2006, 01:17 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 5 2006, 01:05 PM)
mine

btw sniper, why ur sys temp so high?
my case temp barely touch 40c even after gaming with 6800u
laugh.gif, i tot thats the lowest...whistling.gif, actually that's because that time everything's on load, CPU+RAM+VGA...errr video encoding+surf net+BT+watching movie...this pix taken yerterday biggrin.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 5 2006, 04:20 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Asyik spam aje...lu punya pasal lar it got locked  tongue.gif
Oit, gua plak disalahkan... sweat.gif
miraged
post Oct 6 2006, 12:30 AM

405 posts

Asyik spam aje...lu punya pasal lar it got locked  tongue.gif
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 5 2006, 04:20 PM)
Oit, gua plak disalahkan... sweat.gif
yeah... i locked it... saw no point.. u guys talking about almost every single part in pc.
anyways, ejump's here to save the day.
i was SHOCKED when i saw rear fan v2.

u guys never fail to impress me!

anwyays, acryan fans look great.
all the best u guys in ur air cooling.
TSe-jump
post Oct 6 2006, 12:38 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

actually the loud wind sound came from the 120mm fan
the wind sound will go quieter when the rpm is reduced to 1.6k rpm n below (tested using 3-pin cpu fan w/ smart control)
however the wind blown quite powerful.. i guess it really blows 70++cfm >__<
guess i need to think how to mod it to fit my soon-to-come ultra-90 n get a slower 120mm fan for the exhaust fan

btw miraged, hows ur vizo?

This post has been edited by e-jump: Oct 6 2006, 12:38 AM
sHawTY
post Oct 6 2006, 01:21 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 6 2006, 12:38 AM)
the wind sound will go quieter when the rpm is reduced to 1.6k rpm n below (tested using 3-pin cpu fan w/ smart control)
guess i need to think how to mod it to fit my soon-to-come ultra-90 n get a slower 120mm fan for the exhaust fan

Hehe, e-jump...
If you can't stand the noise of that AC-Ryan 120MM fan, why don't u trade with my Vantec Spectrum UV LED 120MM fan...

It's 1680 RPm...

Much slower than you're AC-Ryan 120MM fan... laugh.gif

Joking only... tongue.gif
PowerSlide
post Oct 6 2006, 01:32 AM

----------
6,035 posts

im running 120X38mm for rear..some dc centaur bought from allngap..

no bling for me..all my previous led fans failed in not 1 year doh.gif tongue.gif
hunt17
post Oct 6 2006, 01:52 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Oct 6 2006, 12:38 AM)

compare to vantec tornado fans..how loud is it? but if its blow 70cfm.. should be ok i think

sHawTY
post Oct 6 2006, 06:43 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hunt17 @ Oct 6 2006, 01:52 AM)
compare to vantec tornado fans..how loud is it? but if its blow 70cfm.. should be ok i think
Offcourse Tornado's are better than AC Ryan...
But, the Vantec Tornado'es fans are too loud... sweat.gif

That's the downside of Vantec Tornado's fans... tongue.gif
TSe-jump
post Oct 6 2006, 06:47 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

well, all this while i was using CMsilent fan
so when change to this fan, gonna take time to adapt the wind sound
dont get me wrong, the fan is dead silent, juz that the "whooosh~" of high cfm blows
well, its a 2krpm 70cfm afterall

btw, at what dba fan starts to go near dead silent?
i have the feeling its the honeycomb grills at case exhaust causing the loud wind sound sweat.gif

This post has been edited by e-jump: Oct 6 2006, 08:18 AM
miraged
post Oct 6 2006, 10:15 PM

405 posts

usually they say anything below 24dba is considered silent
i prefer... 18dba.

about my VIZO ejump, it's more silent than my darn atrix 500T PSU. those dual fans, at MAX.... goodness! sounds like vaccuumm cleaner.

let's put it this way. in terms of noise
Aerocool 12cm fan (hopeless! whaddya think? came with the darn casing smile.gif ) <CM xDreamIII HSF < Vizo < Zalman 700cu-Led < atrix 500T

yup...darn darn darn noisy the atrix.

ejump... ur acryan is slightly better than vizo. im managing only 62.7cfm (from their website) @ 31dBa. spinning at 17** rpm
however, it's not as noisy as acryan la.

anwyays, i'm not a fanatic. it cools my pc adequately. my figures look good, and yeah. im happy
miraged
post Oct 6 2006, 10:18 PM

405 posts

http://www.rcaanews.org/noiselev.htm
http://www.sfu.ca/sonic-studio/handbook/Decibel.html

for info about noise levels
vey99
post Oct 6 2006, 10:33 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

The noise level is really subjective. For me, I usually have the a/c on, no fans or music playing when I am on my PC. So to me, even the constant whirr of the HSF fan is loud to me. But when I play music and I can still hear my rig then I consider noisy lah, esp. my current AM2 rig.

For fans I using a 120mm CM triblade for my HDD, its really silent and spins at around 1200-1400, but its too weak to be exhaust fan. I think 120mm sweet spot is around 1600-1800 rpm, where CFM and DB are balanced.
miraged
post Oct 6 2006, 11:58 PM

405 posts

well said. agreed
sniper on the roof
post Oct 7 2006, 10:09 AM

23,414 posts

Those cfm and dba figures are just reference only. In most cases they're fairy tales so it's nothing really to compare.

vey99
post Oct 7 2006, 05:01 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 7 2006, 10:09 AM)
Those cfm and dba figures are just reference only. In most cases they're fairy tales so it's nothing really to compare.
LOL what a way to describe it but yes the DB and CFM all up to them to put one, there is no standard platform to compare, so its good that we discuss it here instead of trial and error (and offloading ur stuff in garage sales tongue.gif ) ya...
yuckfou
post Oct 7 2006, 11:18 PM

L.O.V.E R.I.P
2,249 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 7 2006, 10:09 AM)
true sometimes.
i also wonder whether those cfm are exactly wat they say,any home equiptment tat can measure?
sniper on the roof
post Oct 8 2006, 12:13 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Oct 7 2006, 05:01 PM)
LOL what a way to describe it but yes the DB and CFM all up to them to put one, there is no standard platform to compare, so its good that we discuss it here instead of trial and error (and offloading ur stuff in garage sales  tongue.gif ) ya...
Basically..50 or 80cfm doesn't matter also.Personally.. if theres no motor noise at 5v and doesn't whine at full speed..that's a good fan di. I can guarantee that if u fit different fans of the same size n same design/blade amount...run them at same rpm via controller...there's no diff no matter what the spec says.
sHawTY
post Oct 8 2006, 03:12 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(yuckfou @ Oct 7 2006, 11:18 PM)
true sometimes.
i also wonder whether those cfm are exactly wat they say,any home equiptment tat can measure?
There is, but it's not an equipment that you can find it everyday...
And it should be large and big... sweat.gif
owikh84
post Sep 9 2008, 10:48 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

How do I control the AC Ryan 120mm fan speed? Some of them are connected to my mobo & other to PSU peripheral connectors
chyu89
post Sep 9 2008, 11:24 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Did u try speedfan? or u can get some cheap fan controllers from ngbh.
owikh84
post Sep 10 2008, 12:12 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Sep 9 2008, 11:24 PM)
Did u try speedfan? or u can get some cheap fan controllers from ngbh.
Tried speedfan but seems like not working
Haiz will get a fan controller asap cannot tahan loud bad noise doh.gif cool.gif
tkh_1001
post Sep 10 2008, 12:42 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Sep 10 2008, 12:12 AM)
Tried speedfan but seems like not working
Haiz will get a fan controller asap cannot tahan loud bad noise  doh.gif  cool.gif
deepcool rockman fan controller is quite cheapo n nice

but then when u use liao u hear some very slight buzzing sound sweat.gif
eksnipers
post Jan 25 2009, 03:58 PM

17 posts

its true adding fan = hight/more voltage used
mat_tz
post Jan 27 2009, 10:34 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(eksnipers @ Jan 25 2009, 03:58 PM)
its true adding fan = hight/more voltage used
not voltage..
but watt..
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
deejay220989
post Feb 16 2009, 11:38 PM

1,141 posts

Hey guys..

Is it true that CFM doesn't matter?
I thought of getting the 'Cooler Master High Performance Silent LED Fan' which has 90 CFM.

Any other good fans to recommend?
ZeneticX
post Feb 17 2009, 12:23 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Guys any good led/neon 120cm fans to recommend?other than CM (they die fast) and Xigmatek (better than CM but only 1 colour available)
chyu89
post Feb 17 2009, 12:23 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

CFM matters. CFM is the amount of air ma. So the more is the merrier.

There's few type of fan in my list like CM 90cfm, Xigmatek XLF, Silverstone 121/123.
iBenQ
post Feb 17 2009, 02:52 AM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Feb 17 2009, 12:23 AM)
CFM matters. CFM is the amount of air ma. So the more is the merrier.

There's few type of fan in my list like CM 90cfm, Xigmatek XLF, Silverstone 121/123.
yeah... but ure missing another important thing, air pressure

well for casing, high cfm fans is enough, but for 3rd party hsf, air pressure is important too... and better if the fan has focus flow biggrin.gif
tkh_1001
post Feb 17 2009, 06:17 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Feb 16 2009, 11:38 PM)
Hey guys..

Is it true that CFM doesn't matter?
I thought of getting the 'Cooler Master High Performance Silent LED Fan' which has 90 CFM.

Any other good fans to recommend?
Performance of fans is typically measured by air volume per time (usually in cubic feet per minute, CFM), or by air speed. CFM values are more meaningful than air speed measurements, since they take into account the size of the fan. Obviously, a 120x120mm fan will provide better cooling than a 50x50mm fan, even if both produce the same air speed.

Given CFM specifications are valid only when the pressure on both sides of the fan is equal; that is, when the fan is operating in free space. Under real-life conditions, when the fan is installed in a device, the specified CFM rating of the fan will not be reached; here, it depends on installation and on the overall design of the cooling system.

Larger fans provide a better ratio between air throughput and noise. To achieve the best compromise between cooling performance and noise, chose the largest fan possible.

SOS: http://www.heatsink-guide.com/

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 17 2009, 12:23 AM)
Guys any good led/neon 120cm fans to recommend?other than CM (they die fast) and Xigmatek (better than CM but only 1 colour available)
hmm..try nucleartec led fan ... but their cfm is not so high la....

suitable for modders... the led is doing fine for me around 1 year before i sold it thumbup.gif
deejay220989
post Feb 17 2009, 08:50 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Feb 17 2009, 06:17 PM)
Performance of fans is typically measured by air volume per time (usually in cubic feet per minute, CFM), or by air speed. CFM values are more meaningful than air speed measurements, since they take into account the size of the fan. Obviously, a 120x120mm fan will provide better cooling than a 50x50mm fan, even if both produce the same air speed.

Given CFM specifications are valid only when the pressure on both sides of the fan is equal; that is, when the fan is operating in free space. Under real-life conditions, when the fan is installed in a device, the specified CFM rating of the fan will not be reached; here, it depends on installation and on the overall design of the cooling system.

Larger fans provide a better ratio between air throughput and noise. To achieve the best compromise between cooling performance and noise, chose the largest fan possible.

suitable for modders... the led is doing fine for me around 1 year before i sold it thumbup.gif
Thanks for your explaination!

Anyone has any good high CFM fans to recommend? Is the 'Cooler Master 90 CFM High Performance Silent LED Fan' good?

I see that alot of ppl like Scythe's fans..but they are expensive -.-
ZeneticX
post Feb 17 2009, 10:26 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Feb 17 2009, 06:17 PM)

any with high cfm and good leds as well?will get 2 units of XLF and others hav to look at other brands
tkh_1001
post Feb 18 2009, 12:06 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Feb 17 2009, 08:50 PM)
Thanks for your explaination!

Anyone has any good high CFM fans to recommend? Is the 'Cooler Master 90 CFM High Performance Silent LED Fan' good?

I see that alot of ppl like Scythe's fans..but they are expensive -.-
i just copy bulat bulat from the site actually tongue.gif

btw, the cm led fan seems to be only running at 60cfm and it shud be quite silent....

from my own experience and feedback i heard, cm led normally doesnt last u long... around 3 months i guess lol....

normally one of the led will die lol...

high cfm fans wud be something like fm123, panaflo, delta, nmb and scythe.....

but those fans are extremely noisy tongue.gif definitely not for silent setup or silent freak lol

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 17 2009, 10:26 PM)
any with high cfm and good leds as well?will get 2 units of XLF and others hav to look at other brands
erm....if u want led and yet give u silence with mid cfm... then, xlf will be the choice...

i am happy with it so far.... the led fan has been used for around 1 year ++ already till know and its still working....

but i got a report that the led dies too... but so far only got one case that i hear....

maybe u can try vizo led fan also... its around 70cfm... but its not as silent as the xlf tho....

so far i cant recall any higher cfm led fan already sweat.gif

ZeneticX
post Feb 18 2009, 12:24 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

what about 140mm led uv led/neon fans?
tkh_1001
post Feb 18 2009, 06:45 AM

2,547 posts

140mm ka... macam pernah see before in garage sales lol...

iirc it shud produce around 50cfm and the brand is evercool .... lol
deejay220989
post Feb 18 2009, 06:51 AM

1,141 posts

Actually I don't really mind about the LEDs, I just want a good fan hehe..
I'm also not a silent freak..a lil noise is okay..hahaha

What amount of CFM is considered good? 50 CFM and above?

tkh_1001
post Feb 18 2009, 06:13 PM

2,547 posts

personally i will take some mid cfm fan of around 50-70 cfm rating for my casing and also heatsink lol....

this way i can keep it silent and yet good enuf to cool things down ....

from what i remember, vizo led fan at 70cfm is already audible....
ZeneticX
post Feb 18 2009, 10:22 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

for the 140mm fan i plan to get the cm 140mm blue led 1.yeah crap leds but no choice,or any1 here can recommend similar 1 with longer lasting leds and with same or better cfm.

and how should i place the 140mm on the top of my cm690?blow in or out?here's a estimate pic of my case fan set up

iBenQ
post Feb 18 2009, 10:55 PM

1,550 posts

top exhaust, rear exhaust, front intake, bottom intake

0.0297sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:30 AM