Oil & Gas Careers V7, Upstream and Downstream, rise early, work hard, strike oil

thoyol
post Mar 9 2015, 09:26 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(mrlolo @ Mar 6 2015, 04:41 PM)
I would love to be a specialist in one particular area, which would be specific in one particular skill set smile.gif
why should I hire you as a Drilling Engineer if I can hire a Petroleum Engineer graduates to be one??
thoyol
post Mar 9 2015, 09:32 AM

346 posts

[quote=pothead,Mar 7 2015, 09:47 AM]
Good morning my fellow forumers,

Just wanna share one story with you guys. My sister recently went for a trial of under probation for 3 months (ends 16th March 2015) with Baker Labuan (doing Coil Tubing) before they officially gonna offer her placement as FE1 there.

Unfortunately, the HR called her on last Thursday(5/3/2015) saying that she need to attend a tele-conference with her Manager and the HR on that day. Long story short, they said they're terminating her with immediate effect on Friday (6/3/2015) due to the reason of "ekonomi gawat". They already arranging her flight back to KL (board on Fri evening)

Maybe there are terms stated on the offer letter regarding the termination effect immediately w/o any short notice. What bothers me, is it normal for the other O&G company out there? Any HR-related forum members that can enlighten me on this issue. Well to me its kinda unfair to terminate someone today and send them back tomorrow.

They did compensate her for that, but they should at least give 3 days notice before sending her back home. Its like "habis madu sepah dibuang lah"

I don't have any problem with the way the company doing their job, its just I feel that there is room for improvement on how they conducting the process, as we all aware O&G company no longer may guaranteed stable career for the coming days ahead.

P/S : If there's any opening, please feel free to share with me, I'll be glad to assist her building back her career path. She's PE graduates, had her pre-intern at Talisman and her intern with Baker Labuan

Thank you in advance,

Cheers

[/quote
too bad it is normal in o&g. The good thing is the company always pay for the affected employee so whenever they raised a case in labour office, the termination is justifiable.
thoyol
post Mar 9 2015, 02:57 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mrlolo @ Mar 9 2015, 01:19 PM)
Thanks bro for the suggestion, I've checked and there is opening for junior engineer from Wood Mustang which I've never heard before. Really glad to know that Haha.

But I couldn't find ATCPE, may I know what ATCPE stands for?
"Because I've proven that I manage to learn and cover many things within short term (during my internship) Never been exposed to any drilling related things, been to different field of studies. Very minimum knowledge and can't barely identify those things back then, learnt so many things from scratch. Until the company given me trust to lead one of their international project. Thus, which shows my commitment, enthusiasm, interest, capabilities in this field. And I believe this trait will and should prolonged and may benefit to the organisation (company)"

Okay tak bro I answer like this if they asked me? Haha
good answers! smile.gif
thoyol
post Mar 11 2015, 11:13 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(kaisk8freak @ Mar 11 2015, 08:29 AM)
Fabricator kuli here.. Yes we do get shouted at everyday. By now im getting very used to it, so its no big deal.. cool2.gif
But before a client can jerit2, they need to make sure they are worthy of it. Some go beyond the contract SOW, without knowing what a Change Order is. Some cant even pronounce 'padeye' right. I mean if he doesnt aware of the simplest thing, screaming his demand towards the contractor wont make the progress go faster.
pe-dai... betul ke? Hehehe..
thoyol
post Mar 11 2015, 02:53 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 11 2015, 02:07 PM)
Kepada sesiapa yang ada LinkedIn tolong jangan jadi macam saudara Rosli Maidin ini ya... Buruk padahnya...
Hahahaha.. Messing with the wrong person.. Boooyahhh!! Hahaha..
thoyol
post Mar 25 2015, 04:49 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 25 2015, 09:07 AM)
Sad day in oil and gas today, heard about one major offshore incident in Malaysia with casualties. Be safe out there everyone.
willing to share what happened??
thoyol
post Mar 27 2015, 04:29 PM

346 posts

Position : QC Inspector (Piping)
Duration : 6-8 months contract
Start : Immediately

Kalau ada kaki, please forward over to norsyahila.akhalid@dialogasia.com.

thoyol
post Mar 27 2015, 04:51 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 27 2015, 04:50 PM)
MLNG Train 9 Project  cool2.gif
hehehehe.. boss dah terer so kalau ada kaki, tolong rekemen. HR macam aku ni memang jadi penyelamat utk cari orang jer..
thoyol
post Mar 27 2015, 06:00 PM

346 posts

oklah, let me get myself out of the closet.

Mohd Qayyum
Manager - Recruitment & Manpower Planning

I'm looking for a Technical QA/QC Manager to be based in Mutiara Damansara, Petaling Jaya. Need a degree holder with a minimum 8 years of experience in fabrication, turnaround/shutdown & project QA/QC. If you are suitable & interested, please mail me. I had to hide my mail as it attract different kind of attention.

Need all your help to spread the words around. Thanks.

This post has been edited by thoyol: Mar 27 2015, 07:19 PM
thoyol
post Mar 27 2015, 06:41 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 27 2015, 06:02 PM)
Send my regards to Ramesh Rathakrishnan. He is my BFF. Hehe.
he is everyone bestfriend. A good traits of a salesman. Hahahah..
thoyol
post Mar 30 2015, 11:35 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 30 2015, 10:20 AM)
Aku suap lagi kepada abang2 fresh grad. Suap jangan tak suap.
too good laa you. Aku kalau bdk2 fresh nie, aku mmg keras sikit. Lelagi kalau pergi career fair. Nak masuk O&G tapi satu study pun tak buat pasal company and etc.
thoyol
post Apr 2 2015, 11:17 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(HappyHampers @ Apr 1 2015, 05:28 PM)
Ada tips?
HappyHampers,

ROC is the JV partner for my company. Should I raise a red flag about your application as you keep mentioning about payslips details/matters to my partner?

Hehe.. O&G is small bro. Good luck with your application?
thoyol
post Apr 15 2015, 02:23 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Apr 15 2015, 12:43 PM)
That one need to ask HR expert pertaining to IR matters.

Perhaps thoyol can answer this question.
only if the employee is in agreement with the move and sign the consent letter for it.

thoyol
post May 8 2015, 09:59 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ May 8 2015, 09:52 AM)
When tough time comes, jack of all trade is useful. Since you're not confined only to what your discipline is.  It's like being businessman.
i.e. you're mechanical on rotating equipment. When ppl ask you to do tendering etc you don't know how.
Agreed. That is why most of the company are trying to upskill their staff/optimize their stuff during the tough time.
thoyol
post May 11 2015, 11:22 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(pvtos-3 @ May 9 2015, 02:02 PM)
i knew.. and already inform to the HR.. but thy still gave 1 month.  sad.gif
to be frank, i dont think petronas HR give a damn about your notice period. A few of our staffs got pinched and ended up they paid their notice in-lieu.

0.0500sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 AM