109 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers V7, Upstream and Downstream, rise early, work hard, strike oil

SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 03:37 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ May 6 2015, 03:13 PM)
not only related to OnG, other heavy industries as well, learn alot from field experience, even though at beginning you will have difficult time, but along the way, you learn the trick, sum more, it's never ending learning process, it build up your common sense and skill to troubleshoot and polish your human sensory

(^__^)
Yes, you are right.
What a book says is just a personal view from the author, like working in East Malaysia and West Malaysia will have different level of corrosion.
I have a friend that worked in Pahang and both of us have a Kawasaki Victor. Best of all, both of the bikes are about the same age brows.gif
And his bike's exhaust rusting are way severe than mine.
But does the book will take this as a factor? I doubt so, that's why experience are very important.
Like I worked in Qatar recently, this is the first time I see the flanges are badly dis-aligned or the pipe too long. Just imagine you need to use hydraulic jack to make a gap.
mohdyakup
post May 6 2015, 03:46 PM

4,351 posts

Mannnn if you working at Gebeng area, do not leave that red soil sticking at your vehicle chasis for too long because the residue are corrosive in nature (due to active mining at surrounding area).

There are cases few Hilux & Triton enjen berlubang sudah liao.
nash9701
post May 6 2015, 04:42 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 03:37 PM)
Yes, you are right.
What a book says is just a personal view from the author, like working in East Malaysia and West Malaysia will have different level of corrosion.
I have a friend that worked in Pahang and both of us have a Kawasaki Victor. Best of all, both of the bikes are about the same age brows.gif
And his bike's exhaust rusting are way severe than mine.
But does the book will take this as a factor? I doubt so, that's why experience are very important.
Like I worked in Qatar recently, this is the first time I see the flanges are badly dis-aligned or the pipe too long. Just imagine you need to use hydraulic jack to make a gap.
haha, not to mention to install spading on flange where the old design never consider this spade gap especially big piping flange. when come to M&R, people headache jack here n there as spading have standard thickness. if you want to downsize it, you need to justify by calculation (ASME B-31.3) to ensure it can withstand the pressure (risk assessment).

(^__^)
SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 04:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ May 6 2015, 04:42 PM)
haha, not to mention to install spading on flange where the old design never consider this spade gap especially big piping flange. when come to M&R, people headache jack here n there as spading have standard thickness. if you want to downsize it, you need to justify by calculation (ASME B-31.3) to ensure it can withstand the pressure (risk assessment).

(^__^)
Not really, as the old plant I worked before very seldom have such problems.
nash9701
post May 6 2015, 05:17 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 04:44 PM)
Not really, as the old plant I worked before very seldom have such problems.
Few case, yes. For me it just another experience where i got chance to learn something new to me.

(^__^)
mr.bright
post May 6 2015, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 01:52 PM)
An engineer that always sit in the office, is just a standard village hero that can only talk following what a book says.
Any job related for O&G, for better future and security, still working in the field are better.
subsurface team (geologist, geophysicist, petrophysicist, reservoir eng etc) station in office most of their time. hydrocarbon does not come out to the surface without having them. what the hell is oil coming from?? they play vital role in o&g business.
MasBoleh!
post May 6 2015, 06:16 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 08:52 AM)
Looking for IT job in O&G doh.gif
In mandarin, is like lighting a light in toilet, search poop whistling.gif
I thought those rigs also require computer systems to maintain? hmm.gif But then other than IT, what else can me this IT fellow do? smile.gif

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: May 6 2015, 06:16 PM
SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 06:27 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ May 6 2015, 05:17 PM)
Few case, yes. For me it just another experience where i got chance to learn something new to me.

(^__^)
Learn from field are better, atleast the skill is yours.

QUOTE(mr.bright @ May 6 2015, 05:58 PM)
subsurface team (geologist, geophysicist, petrophysicist, reservoir eng etc) station in office most of their time. hydrocarbon does not come out to the surface without having them. what the hell is oil coming from??  they play vital role in o&g business.
Well, without them, people can still discover oil. So don't talk like without them, nobody can drill oil out.

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ May 6 2015, 06:16 PM)
I thought those rigs also require computer systems to maintain?  hmm.gif But then other than IT, what else can me this IT fellow do? smile.gif
What type of IT system? They only need old school system to show them the flow, temperature and pressure. Do they need Windows 8 for tat?
mr.bright
post May 6 2015, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 06:27 PM)
Well, without them, people can still discover oil. So don't talk like without them, nobody can drill oil out.
What type of IT system? They only need old school system to show them the flow, temperature and pressure. Do they need Windows 8 for tat?
Ya. Pls drill wherever place you like smile.gif
MEngineer
post May 6 2015, 06:58 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(mr.bright @ May 6 2015, 05:58 PM)
subsurface team (geologist, geophysicist, petrophysicist, reservoir eng etc) station in office most of their time. hydrocarbon does not come out to the surface without having them. what the hell is oil coming from??  they play vital role in o&g business.
Totally agree with you. Working in the office does not mean someone is stupid or less important compared to working out in the field. In Oil and Gas business it is all about collaboration and harnessing the knowledge of people from different functions.

People in the field know best to execute work. People in the office have their unique role to plan and strategize.

Geologist and reservoir engineers are first to build the plan to produce oil.
MEngineer
post May 6 2015, 07:01 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 06:27 PM)
It is just basic IT system which a helpdesk onshore can assist. The brain of the production is actually the DCS which is needs specialized skills to maintain which are instrumentation and controls engineer.
viole
post May 6 2015, 07:43 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

I thought those rigs also require computer systems to maintain?  hmm.gif But then other than IT, what else can me this IT fellow do? smile.gif
i know some of IT guys in my client company go to site regularly. their work related more to comm like vsat, and maintaining offshore server, etc.
Nakaoji
post May 6 2015, 08:06 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ May 4 2015, 11:41 PM)
Lain kali beli tablet senang. Save lotsa prawn & JAV.
Tulah. Now menyesal. Ada sorang je perempuan atas ni dah tu tak sama shift so tak berkesempatan nak jumpa sad.gif

Tapi hari tu ada tiga perempuan datang sekali pangkat dia, pergh. Menangis dengar. Haha. Sorang Regional Rig Manager for Asia Pacific, sorang lagi Regional Accountant for Asia Pacific, sorang lagi HSE Manager. Haha. Ambil kau. Terkejut aku dengar,

QUOTE(Janusis @ May 5 2015, 06:11 AM)
DHI?
Right on spot, buddy !
mohdyakup
post May 6 2015, 08:10 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(mr.bright @ May 6 2015, 06:58 PM)
Ya. Pls drill wherever place you like smile.gif
Nakaoji
post May 6 2015, 08:13 PM

102 posts

Try search ScopeTel. Diorang handle satellite communication atas rig. Ada kut kena mengena sikit dengan IT. Tak sure lah.
mohdyakup
post May 6 2015, 08:17 PM

4,351 posts

Kesian orang yang buat FDP berkampung in office only liao... Not to mention Hydrocarbon Accountant pun akan merasa sadding too tongue.gif

I guess whatever your position on-field/off-field all peoples in this industry play its vital roles too. O&G is an integrated supply chain across the organization, be it Upstream and Downstream.
ninpo_buu
post May 6 2015, 08:22 PM

36 posts

i thought reservoir eng also went offshore sometimes..salah eh?sorry
azmankl
post May 6 2015, 08:23 PM

27 posts

Sedih dgr subsurface tak dihargai...
Takyah buat exploration, appraisal and fdp lagi la lepas ni
SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 08:24 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ May 6 2015, 07:01 PM)
It is just basic IT system which a helpdesk onshore can assist. The brain of the production is actually the DCS which is needs specialized skills to maintain which are instrumentation and controls engineer.
Does DCS need special skills?
You must be joking. Even a primary school leaver can operate it.
Nakaoji
post May 6 2015, 08:33 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(ninpo_buu @ May 6 2015, 08:22 PM)
i thought reservoir eng also went offshore sometimes..salah eh?sorry
Sometime. If they have certain issues with data they received. Macam yang aku tengok ni, dia datang sebab hari tu Service company bagi in different format and different terminology and during real time operation, they provided different format and different terminology. So he came and make sure that the format is the same, lah apalah. Aku pun tak berapa faham sebab dia Pakistani. Haha. But he came for only three days. Selasa sampai, Khamis balik.

109 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:57 AM