The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 27 2022, 03:11 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 26 2022, 03:08 PM)
Maxis public ip also shared liao unlike those days. Nowadays very easy to detect ip sharing when browsing lazada. It will kept complaining that too much traffic from your side even though you only used 1 devices to browse their site.

Anyway, goodbye Maxshit... request transfer out to Unifi. After transfer baru mau counter offer tv or RM89 100mbps for a year. Last time when I accepted, said can call them asking for offer after a year. Tried calling but kept saying no offer. Might as well port out to unifi since Unifi randomly offer upgrade to users. Cousin 500mbps only RM179 since he only used Unifi since beginning.
How is public IP shared? If the IP is shared then it's already CGNAT based already where everyone shares the same gateway IP out to the internet.

Just go to Unifi thread and see for yourself how much complaints they have almost daily. While you still hop from Maxis to Unifi? You actually stand better chance of jumping to Celcom or DiGi instead.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 27 2022, 11:51 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 27 2022, 03:25 AM)
I did read them before considering to change. My parents house had unifi and I think it's okay for my usage. Aiming to use and see if Unifi offer free speed upgrade seeing how many are getting 500mbps for way less.

As for public ip, I have been using them since I get maxis fiber when fiberisation started. It worked well back then but for the past year, I have been getting traffic error message on Lazada. That's why I suspect it is shared ( I'm not very versed with networking) or I wasn't getting public ip nowadays. I'm not using maxia router therefore they cant change my login credentials.
Maxis does not by default give you public IP and its' now the same for Unifi and Celcom. Doesn't mean you've been long with them means you'll get public IP automatically. You need to request for it and it's the same now for other ISPs too.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 27 2022, 11:59 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 27 2022, 11:55 AM)
Of course I requested... Duh...
No such problem unless i have some proxy or VPN turned on. Most likely you have some sort of proxy caching or VPN turned on in the background. Most financial and eCommerce sites don't tolerate VPN/proxies well because high possibility of fraud.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 27 2022, 12:26 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 27 2022, 12:17 PM)
I'll mention if I use VPN or any sort of proxy. Nada... not even antivirus nor firewall. I thought my pc got problem, use old laptop also same problem. Lazada keep asking me to slide cause too much traffic from my side.
Most likely that IP address used by someone who did mass spamming and got blacklisted that's why you unfortunate took on that public IP.

This is even worst for Unifi. Seen lots of illegal call centres run by China syndicates. They use Unifi lines a lot in their call centres.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Mar 27 2022, 12:32 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Mar 27 2022, 12:28 PM)
for me a public ip user I also always get the slide thing, I think lazada is just very trigger happy on showing that notice
You can avoid that human slider verification by using their app. Maybe they don't like users browsing their site using general web browsers for safety reasons or lots of bots crawling thorough their site.

It could be user agent sensitive.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jun 6 2022, 10:39 PM

1,030 posts

Northern region Maxis fibre pings suddenly shot up by 5ms from usual.

Anything happening?

Used to get like 7-8ms for pings to KL servers and 15ms for SG.
Now suddenly getting 15ms to KL servers and 20+ms to SG.

2nd hop all like 1-2ms only but the next few hops all got spikes. On TM wholesale network.

Is something messed up? Suddenly TM also becomes one of the upstream providers with Maxis. Is TM messing with your network now?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jul 10 2022, 02:25 PM

1,030 posts

Maxis

What happened to Maxis Fibre network recently?
Pings used to be under 5ms from Perak now at least double from what they used to be 2 months ago?

I thought my fibre line kaput already but it turned out the first 2 hops no changed from what is used to be the entire problem now starts from 4th hop which is 58.71.243.49 regional router of yours.

Did your competent engineers who managed your broadband network last time all left the company already?

It's been months since April until now your network started to become lame like this. Too many signups? Overcongested already? Everybody switching from Unifi? Your technicians sleeping? Staffed outsourced already and no replacements? Laying off your workforce?

My pings used to be only less than 5ms earlier this year to KL/Subang/Cyberjaya servers.
Now I'm getting no less than 12ms everyday which it used to me my pings to Singapore.

Stop sleeping and please wake up to investigate this seriously?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Jul 10 2022, 02:37 PM

1,030 posts

My Singapore server pings used to be under 15ms AT MOST to most of their major servers, StarHub, MyRepublic, ViewQwest, i3D, OVH, M247, Newmedia Express.

Now ah? Over 20ms on average daily.

What the fish, Maxis?

Just around 150km to KL/Cyberjaya up north but pings now doubled to oblivion? 2 months already suffering like this when will it end?
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Sep 16 2022, 11:38 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Sep 16 2022, 11:28 PM)
If I was not mistake, I still receiving bill by email in current month.
If you didn't receive your bill via email, you can still download your previous and latest bill through the MyMaxisApp in pdf format.

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Sep 16 2022, 11:39 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Dec 29 2022, 11:38 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Dec 28 2022, 01:57 PM)
guys, may i know setting for ipv6. try many combo slaac, dhcpv6, stateless, rdnss, still cant get ipv6. im using omada er605 tplink
Maxis already supports native IPv6. Use DHCPv6 for minimal payload and best IP assignment method. You need to connect to IPv4 first before your IPv6 is relayed through it.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Dec 30 2022, 07:39 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ Dec 30 2022, 12:20 PM)
what I suppose to fill?
my router does not have native option
DNS address you can use 3rd party ones from this list:
https://www.lifewire.com/free-and-public-dns-servers-2626062

The rest leave it as auto assign/delegated. Gateway and subnet leave them blank.

When you successfully connect to IPv4, the router will connect back to Maxis IPv6 broadband router servers to assign you with an IPv6 address automatically. Don't forget to enable Internet Protocol IPv6(TCP/IPv6) in your network adapter option settings in Windows and other clients such as those in Linux, and your mobile devices.

Follow this guide from TP-Link:

Select CASE 2: The IPV4 Internet Connection Type is PPPoE
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/support/faq/1525/

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Dec 30 2022, 07:46 PM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Feb 9 2023, 12:25 AM

1,030 posts

Been using them for more than 5 years without any contract renewal.
Another question, anyone noticed that now Maxis Fibre has silently throttle "upload speeds" to European/US servers?

Everytime I do a speedtest with a VPN to Europe/US, my 30Mbps will max out 90% somewhere like 28Mbps but upload speed only 2Mbps. Anyone can confirm?

This is not good.

Weird thing is if using SG VPN, the upload speed returns to symmetrical 30M just as what you subscribed.

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: Feb 9 2023, 12:26 AM
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Feb 9 2023, 08:21 PM

1,030 posts

What is RM10 more per month these days? Can't even buy you a decent restaurant meal.

I've been using Maxis Fibre for more than 5 years no plans to touch or upgrade. Contract looong over and had my public IP account activated during 1st year of use.

But I noticed degradation to their service lately. Overseas connection slowing down especially to Europe/USA, latency increasing even to local servers and peering partners they started to peer with TMNet and Tata which is not as good as the GTT and Level 3 partners they had last time.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 3 2023, 11:15 PM

1,030 posts

Maxis Home Fibre is among the most expensive plan now even with the most Basic 30Mbps plan if you opt for public IP.

With RM99 + 6% SST, you're now paying almost RM105 for such basic speed of just 30M.

After using it for more than 5 years, I might consider leaving soon.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 5 2023, 09:38 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Anime in HD @ Aug 4 2023, 08:42 AM)
Which telco offer 30Mbps with free Public IP?
TM?

You might want to wait new price in September...CelcomDigi Fibre is just rebrand from Digi Fibre...no Public IP...Astro Fibre...im not sure...when i see the new TM or Maxis RAO in Soyacincau post...the internet speed is pretty much the same...just that the telco probably will announce much cheaper higher speed plan just to get to TM Global 9Tbps bandwidth...

Remember in 2018...Maxis is the first to introduce new 30Mbps & 100Mbps package...you just need to recontract...i hope they would release 300Mbps price RM89...let see.. whistling.gif
It's quite alarming that 5G providers can now provide plans with speeds averaging at 300-500mbps for just RM68 per month subscription without contract.

Here I'm paying a miserable RM105 including SST 6% for a mere 30Mbps which I'm already with for more than 5 years.

Maxis and TM Unifi is indirectly telling their customers to cancel their fibre contracts and never to look back at fixed fibre again?

We're talking about 5G here which is now almost as capable as fixed fibre. For the price reductions and savings, I don't mind if I lose my public IP address and invest in a good 5G modem in return. As a bachelor, my job requires me to travel often and I seldom stay at home to enjoy my fibre home access. Most of the time I arrive home at late nights on weekdays.

A 5G modem which allows me to carry it conveniently with my travelling is better option.

TNB Allo made the right decision to lower 100M to RM69. It should be priced around that for 100M plans.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 5 2023, 10:03 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Aug 5 2023, 09:48 PM)
5G is not guaranteed speed. More users connected, the lesser time slice to service your modem. You are at mercy of how crowded the tower is, not to mention other physics-cal limitations.

With fibre, you gets a somewhat-guaranteed and somewhat-consistent baseline speed.

I'm not saying it justifies 30Mbps @ RM105. i'm talking in a general sense of comparing why fibre price can be expected to be (slightly) higher than wireless. Still, of course cheaper fibre is better.
Not guaranteed speed but it's FAST which most average users out there want most.
DNB guarantees a min of 100Mbps even with 1-bar signal. That is how good it is.

5G+ will introduced speeds capable of 10Gbps in next few years time.

I am a person who stays very little at home, spend most of my time outside at work on workdays. Fibre fixed line makes lesser sense to me. I am ok if the solution is almost as good as fibre in terms of latency but what is MOST important is speed and affordability.

Telco-U RM68 plan is again shaking the industry!
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 9 2023, 08:18 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 9 2023, 06:47 PM)
Really hope maxis gets gigabit too sad.gif
I look forward towards TIME or TNB Allo wholesale network will come to my TM dominated landed home area instead.

In West Malaysia, our only options are TNB Allo, TIME recent move towards expanding to landed areas and TM.

Sabah = Celcom Timur Sabah (CTS)
Sarawak = Sarawak Open Fibre Access (SACOFA)
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 26 2023, 02:06 PM

1,030 posts

After 5 years+ close to 6 years with Maxis Fibre if nothing is done soon to keep existing customers I will be one of the leavers soon.
Paying RM105 now for a slow 30M with public IP subscription, the recent 5G plans from uMobile and YES are so enticing.

For that kind of speed and price close to double that of 5G plans with speeds upto 1Gbps, why still faithfully paying so much every month when seldom used?

The recent 5G plans introduced by Maxis also not attractive at all.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 26 2023, 04:25 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Aug 26 2023, 03:22 PM)
Well you wouldn't get a public IP with those 5G plans

But still, it's time for the 30Mbps plan to die or prices to drop
Don't really need them anymore. My CCTVs at home are cloud based with DDNS enabled.

There are many ways to workaround now. Save the money get a good VPN/host my own VPS or virtual ISP to get a better route.
SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 31 2023, 06:02 PM

1,030 posts

0.2089sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:33 AM