The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

aniq8676
post Mar 8 2021, 01:51 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Mar 8 2021, 11:27 AM)
depends on maxis white wan is from huawei brand black one not too sure which brand
KAON broadband

http://www.kaonbroadband.com/product/retri...epeater&lang=en
aniq8676
post Mar 9 2021, 12:33 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Mar 9 2021, 08:32 AM)
Well I recall there was a D-Link one but the router itself is ancient now so no point

There is a way to keep VOIP but requires keeping the stock router as a dumb access point for VOIP (aka Modem to Mesh Router to old Router (wifi disabled) to phone)

What I don't get is that the Huawei Modem has 2 phone ports and Unifi uses that, but maxis doesn't and always has to get a router that has Phone ports.
because the huawei modem is supplied from TM, only TM can access it. Any isp that uses Infra TM is not allowed access to Modem TM. After all Most areas of Maxis Fiber use TM Infra.
aniq8676
post Mar 14 2021, 11:21 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Mar 14 2021, 10:21 PM)
Astro also combine with Allo now ?
yes, officially since April 2020, while January 2019 during the TNB pilot project in Jasin Melaka

https://amanz.my/2020234767/

https://www.lowyat.net/2020/211926/astro-al...le-partnership/

https://amanz.my/2019190300/

aniq8676
post Mar 16 2021, 06:54 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ Mar 16 2021, 06:22 PM)
Hi guys, TM just set up a Fiber DP Box on the pole near my place, according to TM Point, it will be activated in a week time and for the time being it won't be shared with Maxis, Celcom, etc.

So is that means, I have no other options to get fiber broadband except TM Unifi?
for now will be given priority for all streamyx users to migrate to Unifi, at the same time they will also open slots for new unifi users. The next few months will be open to other ISPs such as Celcom Maxis Digi (If the port still available)
aniq8676
post Mar 16 2021, 07:44 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ Mar 16 2021, 07:30 PM)
Which means I need to wait a bit longer to register for Maxis or if I'm unlucky the nearest port will all be occupied by new Unifi subscribers..
additional info, the new DP port has been reserved for Streamyx users automatically, even if they have not registered and the DP has not been activated yet

aniq8676
post Mar 16 2021, 08:51 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ Mar 16 2021, 08:26 PM)
looks like the all ports for the box has been reserved.
priority for Streamyx customers
aniq8676
post Apr 7 2021, 01:26 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(okw1 @ Apr 7 2021, 01:09 PM)
Hi all, few questions here:

1. What is the difference between Unifi 300mbps and Maxis fibre 300mbps? saw the price of two plans is so different (RM 149 vs RM 199)
2. How is the experience of Maxis Fibre? Good/bad service?

Thanks for answering my questions.
UNIFI 300Mbps
-Included UNIFI PLUS BOX Full Channel (RM60)
-Free 600 minutes (10hrs)
-Public IP (Default)

MAXIS 300Mbps

-4G Backup
-9sen/min or Add-on RM10 Unlimited call
-Private IP (Default)
aniq8676
post Apr 8 2021, 09:59 AM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(okw1 @ Apr 8 2021, 08:58 AM)
Thanks for the answer!

For the Public and Private IP, actually which is better?
For me, I would choose Public IP over Private IP.
Maxis also has a Public IP but not given to users by default, have to make a request through Maxis customer service.
aniq8676
post Apr 28 2021, 10:02 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(Koranshita @ Apr 28 2021, 08:56 PM)
hi guys

i received promotion on Maxis fibre
RM99
broadband simcard 20G + Maxis Fibre 30mps unlimited - contract 2y

I am using maxis broadband now.. so wanna ask.. will the speed be better if I use the fibre compare to my hotspot from my phone or it will more or less the same?
btw I just read ( I nvr have any fibre before)
when they come to do setup, they will drill the walls? i tot they just pasang the router that's all

enlighten me how is the process of installing maxis fibre
Of course the speed on fiber internet is more stable all the time compared to mobile internet.
The way the fiber is installed depends on the path of the fiber into the house. Of course it will use a drill on the wall or on the ceiling
While for houses that already have Fiber wall socket, there is no need to do anything
aniq8676
post Apr 30 2021, 11:07 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(cilimerah @ Apr 30 2021, 08:49 PM)
user posted image  saw this ad on fb. Is this legit or fake?
perhaps the promotional price can only be obtained through selected agents
aniq8676
post May 4 2021, 03:55 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(liciece @ May 4 2021, 03:13 PM)
All right, already reported to Maxis. Now just wish they could fix it asap. How long did they take to fix it last time?
When it comes to TM infra & modem ,this issue will be handed over to Telekom Malaysia.
The time to fix this issue depends on Telekom Malaysia itself. Estimate within 24-48 hours after report is created
aniq8676
post May 14 2021, 01:08 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(ad2000 @ May 14 2021, 10:29 AM)
I once subscribed to both Unifi and Maxis for almost 8 months last year. BTU modem line 1 - Unifi : line  2 - Maxis before I terminated Unifi once contract fullfilled last Dec. It also depends on port availability.
It is understood that Telekom Malaysia no longer allows a single fiber to be used by more than one ISP. That means you can only subscribe to one ISP at a time. The term one single fiber one ISP also applies to any other ISP as well.
aniq8676
post May 16 2021, 03:45 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(monyetgila @ May 16 2021, 03:38 PM)
hi..currently using maxis 30mbps on vdsl..
recently my apartment already upgrade unifi ftth..a few neighbours already enjoying ftth speed under unifi..
is there any way to get unifi release the ftth port for maxis users??
prefer to stay with maxis to enjoy maxis one prime rather than change to unifi

been to maxis centre but they say ftth not available at my apartment.
For other ISPs have to wait 2-3 months until the migration process of Unifi users to fiber optics is completed.
aniq8676
post Jun 2 2021, 06:35 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(Takashi1978 @ Jun 2 2021, 04:23 PM)
I have the standard Maxis provided router Archer C5V.

Problem is now that my wife is fully WFH for now, her company laptop keeps discon and connect many many many times.
Especially frustrating when she is on video or conf calls with clients.

None of my other device at home (desktop, my own comp laptop, phones etc) are experiencing this problem.

Already updated all firmware on her laptop and problem still persist.

Anyone getting this problem too?
may be due to the old WIFI driver. You can try another method by using a LAN cable or WIFI Dongle

TPLINK TL-WN725N RM24
TPLINK TL-WN727N RM22
TPLINK TL-WN821N RM33

aniq8676
post Jun 10 2021, 04:35 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(Reyz @ Jun 10 2021, 04:23 PM)
guyss...my `taman` already got fiber cable lay since last week and the unifi agent already collecting registration for unifi fibre application.i just want to know usually how long the unifi fibre actiavted until we can register for maxis fibre?since im already on maxis postpaid+shareline i want to combine with maxis fibre to get maxis prime.
TM infra will be activated within 2-3 months, depending on the infra installation progress.
While for ISPs other than unifi will have to wait another 1-2 months, because TM will prioritize the process of migrating existing Streamyx users to unifi fiber plan automatically.
aniq8676
post Jun 10 2021, 06:25 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(Reyz @ Jun 10 2021, 05:42 PM)
Thanks for reply bro.even they told me they will sedia banyak port but i still scared cant register the fibre internet.waiting almost 13 years for this.macam kene subscribe unifi dulu je ni then after 2 years change to maxis fibre😌
For existing Streamyx users and upcoming new unifi users, yes they will install many ports according to the calculation of how many Streamyx users in the area. Because TM is now in the process of terminating the streamyx plan.
As for other ISPs, it only depends on the availability of the port.
aniq8676
post Jun 23 2021, 07:29 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(phh9310 @ Jun 23 2021, 07:08 PM)
just apply unifi fiber... before 30days u can terminate unifi fiber then apply maxis fiber  brows.gif
yes you can, but for areas that have just had fiber service, you can't do that, TM will not be open for other ISPs for that time. need to wait 1-2 months.
aniq8676
post Jun 27 2021, 04:14 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Jun 27 2021, 03:37 PM)
What's the regular procedure after an application is submitted?

I lived in a condo and submitted for an application on 18 June and an agent followed up with me on 21st to get my address details. Till now, there is no further follow up. My address is covered as I checked the details in maxis fibre coverage checker.
Maxis will wait for confirmation from TM first (If using TM Infra).
Second, TM and Maxis need to get permission from your building management.
For information, most building management does not allow outsiders to enter during the period of this Movement Control Order. Most likely the process of installing Maxis fiber in your home will be delayed.

Anyway, you can call the agent you have registered.
aniq8676
post Jun 27 2021, 07:17 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(Halfhearted04 @ Jun 27 2021, 07:08 PM)
I am 6 months away from end of my two year contract. Can i request to downgrade my speed ? so i can pay less on my monthly.
No, unless you want your contract renewed to 24 months again
aniq8676
post Aug 27 2021, 11:21 PM

1,412 posts

QUOTE(Reyz @ Aug 27 2021, 10:52 PM)
guys..im about to install maxis fibre tomorrow.subscibed the package 30Mbps.for this package do i eligible to get wifi 6 router like this?or which one they will use?

For those who subscribe 30mbps will receive this model.

0.1783sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:41 PM