The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

patienceGNR
post Mar 23 2017, 08:52 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Mar 23 2017, 08:25 PM)
Just call Maxis.
Nah, they can't tell me why. For two years been having this problem.
patienceGNR
post Mar 24 2017, 05:56 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 24 2017, 05:00 PM)
Their router is crap but it shouldn't disconnect unless the load is very heavy.

Check your fibre connection and see if it is fine when your internet is disconnected. Could be a poor fibre link.
What do you mean in the bolded sentence, how do I do that? hmm.gif
patienceGNR
post Mar 25 2017, 01:45 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 25 2017, 01:03 PM)
There's another device called the ONU which convert the fibre signal to Ethernet.
How do I check when internet is disconnected? I'm staying in a high rise btw.
patienceGNR
post Mar 25 2017, 10:35 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 25 2017, 10:17 PM)
I not sure Maxis for fibre, there may be no modem for their high rise customer.

Ask them to send maxperts over to check.
Xiaomi is incompatible.
Maxperts came and go 3-4 times over span of 3 months for this issue last year and they couldn't solve it to date.

Only thing they could solve was my down 10, up 5 mbps speed. That they changed the silver modem and it's OK thereafter.

Frequent disconnection is still around.

Update: I realise now my download is only capped at 5Mbps (speedtest.net and maxis speedtest) and upload is 10Mbps.

Guess it's time to call them for this problem again.

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Mar 25 2017, 10:53 PM
patienceGNR
post Mar 25 2017, 10:57 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 25 2017, 10:54 PM)
Try another ISP like Unifi maybe?
WORSE. Horrible ping for Overwatch. 200ms ALL DAY LONG vs Maxis 15ms.

Diablo 3 300ms ping while Maxis can get decent 210ms.

I'd love to try third party router but I'm moving out quite soon... will be terminating the service already.
patienceGNR
post Sep 19 2017, 09:33 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

Currently facing heavy packet loss. At least 30% to non-local websites.
patienceGNR
post Sep 19 2017, 10:00 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

68% loss to nvidia's website.

patienceGNR
post Sep 19 2017, 10:07 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

I'm on the line with their CS by the name of Ahmad, worst CSO of Maxis thus far. Actually, the first. I've never met anyone as bad before this.

I have always had spoken to professional, courteous and quick witted CSOs.

This one, just listens to me yap and never takes ownership, or even attempt to speak to their team leader about this situation. He's thinking I'm bullshitting about this packet loss issue.

I even told him to check this thread itself, gave him a permalink even - and he's still not attempting to do it.

Edit: oh, he doesn't even know what Reddit is OR EVEN packet loss... what a shame. He's there just for the money. No heart to work at all.

Ahmad, I know you may be reading this later, I hope you change your attitude.

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Sep 19 2017, 10:09 PM
patienceGNR
post Sep 19 2017, 10:30 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(hyfreD @ Sep 19 2017, 10:23 PM)
my maxis fibre unusable at the moment , suffering massive packet loss, fml
Yup.

Complaining to their CS, the guy didn't take my report seriously, saying it's because of peak hour usage, bla bla bla. The usual first attempt to tai chi the issue out of the way...

Now I can't even access my Facebook, I was doing my side business and now I'm left hanging half way with my customer. doh.gif puji mak betul that Ahmad guy...

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Sep 19 2017, 10:31 PM
patienceGNR
post Sep 19 2017, 11:15 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(magma_blaziken @ Sep 19 2017, 11:07 PM)
Finally got through to Maxis Fiber CS. Was informed affecting those on TM infra since 8pm onwards. They have sent a report to technical team but have no estimation on resolution time. My cheapskate VPN seems to be improving my connection to overseas servers.
Nah, not 8PM, to be precise is at 9.20PM because I was on the internet from 8.30PM to 9PM and there was no issue, I didn't notice any slow downs until I wanted to reply to someone on FB... then my message couldn't send out, my WhatsApp web got disconnected, FB chat go offline, sister's Reddit cannot load, and just right I was gonna download Nvidia Shadowplay, all stopped at that moment.

and I called their CS at 9.27PM and screwed the CS guy for 1 hour because he was telling me this is the normal peak hour slowdown. and for him to not know what packet loss is, how can I trust him when he said it's the usual peak hour slowdown?

So much bullshit. I have IT background myself, and when someone tries to outsmart me, they're gonna get it one.
patienceGNR
post Sep 20 2017, 08:48 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 19 2017, 11:18 PM)
Agree 100% bro. The CSO are not really trained in IT and if they can't even understand basic troubleshooting issues and networking terms, I don't know why they are being hired to be the first line for customer enquiries in the first place  bangwall.gif
No, it's not 100% their fault. Their trainers are lousy! They should be trained basic networking stuffs like pinging with command prompt, and also what packet losses, trace routes are.

It's ridiculous for a telco staff to not know this! Especially one being in the fixed BB service itself.

QUOTE(hyfreD @ Sep 19 2017, 11:26 PM)
update : its fixed, at least for me
It was ok by around the time you posted. I remember I tested pinging to affected websites around 11+

That's what I call an action. Be it by maxis or TM.
patienceGNR
post Jul 3 2018, 02:56 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 3 2018, 02:41 PM)
For those who plan to sign-up with Maxis Home Fibre, forget about Maxis, you may want to look at Unifi new package, 30mbps for under RM100.
https://www.lowyat.net/2018/165490/unifi-30...r-rm100-july18/
But TM haven't roll out. 15th onwards...

I am happier with Maxis than being with TM... but I'll definitely not pay more for broadband as the government has instructed the telcos to reduce the price, and double the speeds.
patienceGNR
post Jul 3 2018, 06:14 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 3 2018, 03:57 PM)
If you know Maxis "pattern", they will never reduce the price, double the speed unless their business drops. So we have to put pressure to Maxis by diverting their potential customers away.
By the way, I'm a pioneer Maxis Home Fibre customer, if Maxis don't respond to the competition by August, don't expect loyalty from me.
Sigh, then I terus sign up UniFi or not I wonder... sad.gif
cos Maxis is good for its ping, while UniFi may be a roller coaster. Already terminated my Klang house unifi and switched to Maxis because of ping, my brothers weren't complaining any more after hahaha...

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 3 2018, 05:23 PM)
Heard no free call
Yes, if you read the article, it's said to be broadband only. No free calls, no other dingdongs. :/
patienceGNR
post Jul 3 2018, 10:23 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 3 2018, 06:46 PM)
Maxis good for its ping? I don’t think so. Your problem can be attributed to the router instead of the service, if you would have got a better router from TM, you would have much better ping.
I'm using the same router for both TM and Maxis smile.gif

ASUS RT-N12HP since 2013/2014, until last year around Feb/March when I changed to Maxis, issue with ping was resolved and my brothers weren't complaining about ping until today. Heck, there was zero complaints actually lol.
patienceGNR
post Jul 3 2018, 10:33 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 3 2018, 10:26 PM)
Ah fair enough, but the next upgrade would be the Asus RT-AC1300UHP. I highly recommend it.
No money lah, hehe. Plus only my parents and one brother is there only. No need so powerful. Perhaps for my new house can la tongue.gif there also I might still sign up for Maxis, TIME BB I read through their FB page so many complaint about this not working, that not working... especially web surfing.

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Jul 3 2018, 10:34 PM
patienceGNR
post Jul 3 2018, 11:19 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 3 2018, 11:10 PM)
Haha fair enough, TIME is very good though, and much better than Unifi and Maxis at this stage, but we will see in two weeks time.
RM per Mb, sure TIME beats all but well, even with the new roll out of cheaper BB out there, TIME remains status quo, still unable to penetrate landed props I believe. Oh well. I'll just continue using my i150 for now and see if by mid month Maxis rolls out anything tongue.gif Maxis hasn't announced anything and tomorrow, I believe their sales would be calling me... I signed up for 30Mbps 10-15 minutes before Lowyat's posting about the UniFi <RM100 roll out, HAHAHA. Damn.
patienceGNR
post Jul 11 2018, 02:46 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

Just received a very very very satisfactory service from Maxis CS.

I don't know where else can write about this publicly.

So I moved to a new place, and installed new service here. But something went wrong. Here's the chronology...

Early June - supposed to install but needed to reschedule due to person in charge's exams was changed the last minute. (I applied for 10Mbps here)

The reschedule didn't happen at Maxis side, until I re-applied through their website again early July for 30Mbps this time around.

The salesperson called me and said they couldn't proceed as I have an existing RFID ongoing and hasn't been 'closed' yet. They asked if I wanted to proceed with the first installation, I said YES. Of course, already in progress, proceed la kan?

So comes today, the contractors all came and installed, and told me this is for 10Mbps, I told them no, I wanted 30Mbps, but it's fine, I can always call Maxis and do so BUT having the past experience that I upgraded from 10 to 30Mbps (at my parents' house) I didn't get the DECT phone for free, as free DECT phone is only applicable to new/fresh applications only.

I called up Maxis hotline and received the best ever service from any service provider.

Fian/Fyan (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) took the complaint from me.

My complaint was simply that Maxis's telesales (2nd application for 30Mbps) person did NOT reconfirm with me that the FIRST application is 10Mbps, whilst the SECOND application is 30Mbps. Plus I forgot that I applied for 10Mbps.

What this guy did was that he WENT THE EXTRA MILE to get me a rebate/waiver of RM 99 (the cost of DECT phone sold by Maxis) for the next bill and said "You can purchase the phone by yourself", I don't take that as insult but to be able to offer THAT, I'd say that's fine... I can't ask for anything more then...

I wish to write about this particular CSO for his extra effort being put in to help me PLUS he will upgrade my plan to 30Mbps later on. Thank you Maxis, retain this type of CSO because he will be the one bringing the company to a greater height.

And this is why I remained with Maxis Fiber throughout so many years. Good and professional Customer Service.

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Jul 11 2018, 02:47 PM
patienceGNR
post Jul 11 2018, 11:32 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Jul 11 2018, 05:27 PM)
Just got my Fiber 30Mbps installed. Darn i have waited centuries for fiber at my Taman. Stable 30 up and 30 down.
Great! Can't wait to have mine upgraded to 30Mbps, but just realised the stock router is shit...

Ping between my PC to router is sometimes 100+, sometimes up to 3000ms.

Sometimes even packet loss. GGWP. Time to get a proper aftermarket, hahahahaha.

This post has been edited by patienceGNR: Jul 11 2018, 11:48 PM

patienceGNR
post Jul 12 2018, 09:15 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Jul 12 2018, 08:34 AM)
You mean their white router with the big ass maxis logo? Or do they have another model?
Yes that one. Amini or something brand.

They told me also maxis will have a new model coming soon. TP Link model. hmm.gif
patienceGNR
post Jul 12 2018, 12:03 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 12 2018, 11:18 AM)
Maxis’s router have been shit since the beginning.
Thomson was horrible, this too HAHAHA. Well doesn't matter, I intended to get a third party after all.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1533sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:04 AM