15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

M Reits Version 7, Malaysia Real Estate Investment

gark
post Sep 14 2015, 06:29 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 14 2015, 05:05 PM)
U back ?
u got burn forest at Indonesia?
I am at the eastern side... no haze here. tongue.gif
gark
post Sep 19 2015, 07:41 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 19 2015, 06:06 PM)
Summit USJ ada h**kers? blink.gif

U mean the hotel izit ph34r.gif
Ada... at higher floors... actually quite scary.. lots of foreigners.. sweat.gif I think already kena raided few times masuk tv...

Summit USJ is a dead place, as much as they would like to improve it, those small small shops give the place a cheapo look.

Although living very near it, i went like 3 to 4 times only

Damen doesnt look like gonna do well in future.. the front n side road jam at all hours... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 19 2015, 07:43 PM
gark
post Sep 20 2015, 11:18 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Sep 20 2015, 09:43 PM)
sunwai putra comment: Sunway Putra Mall comment: Went during public holiday, getting less people compared to earlier launch. at 9pm, 80% shops/kitchens already closed
I think the last time i went there is in the 90s... now mostly MV.. tongue.gif
gark
post Sep 21 2015, 10:33 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 21 2015, 09:04 AM)
With mall REITs, u really need to monitor...

A prime mall can go dead in a matter of a few years...
Example of dying mall now.. not dead yet.. but suffering from cardiac arrest.. BB plaza.. tongue.gif

Showing early symptoms of disease.. paradigm mall... on the upcoming WCT Reit

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 21 2015, 10:36 AM
gark
post Sep 21 2015, 12:30 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2015, 12:04 PM)
Sunway Putra Mall also have early symptoms of disease  sweat.gif
Putra mall is already dead long long time.. then brought back to life temporary.. like zombie.. laugh.gif
gark
post Sep 22 2015, 05:29 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 22 2015, 05:02 PM)
Prime KLCC area office properties + Suria KLCC at net yield comparable to PavilionREIT...next divvy just 1.5 months away...top up! rclxms.gif
The yield... not exciting enough.. yawn.gif
gark
post Sep 22 2015, 06:30 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 22 2015, 05:32 PM)
At this environment, 5% net yield is considered decent lor blush.gif

U want 6-7% net, gotta go for office REITs like MQREIT and UOAREIT

Historically the rental reversion for KLCC-SS is quite strong, can expect 3-5% p.a. divvy growth smile.gif
Across the border.. yields are much nicer. rclxms.gif

For KLCC, i sked the hotel & office all tak laku... caus mostly oil services rental the office other than petronas tongue.gif
gark
post Sep 23 2015, 02:18 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(taitai29 @ Sep 23 2015, 02:04 PM)
Hello to all sifu here I am newbie to REIT and hope to learn from all of you here.  I have some questions and hope some sifu can help me.

1.  If i buy IGBREIT today at 1.28 and buy 100,000 shares, and dividend is 2.18 cents.  How much I am going to pocket after tax? 

2.  When I read those report they mention ex-date, what does it mean? it means I can get dividend if I buy IGBREIT before a specific date?

3.  I understand that the dividend is pay out based on quarterly basis, so if IGBREIT announce result on 29th July, 2.18 cent dividend, paid on 28th August, can I say that the result is for April - June, but result out in july 29th, dividend only paid in end august?

4.  Go back to Question 2, if ex-date is lets say 15th august, can I buy this IGBREIT on 13th August, get dividend on 28th august?  then sell the stock and put money in 1 month FD, then buy back IGBREIT agai before ex-date? 

thanks all.
1. Taxable portion is 10% tax, non taxable portion is 0%
2. You get the dividend if you buy and hold before ex date
3. IGBReit dividend is paid every 6 months, yes there is delay between results and dividend
4. You can but it does not work that way. Stock price is adjusted after ex-dividend.
gark
post Sep 23 2015, 03:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(taitai29 @ Sep 23 2015, 02:56 PM)
Thank you sifu Gark.

OK, so I get bigger picture now. 

So can I say that, I buy igbreit a week before ex date, and get the dividend maybe 2-3 weeks later, and sell the stock later when it climb back to the price before they pay the dividend, looking at the historical chart, the movement of the stock price, in a week or 2 after dividend pay out, the stock price will climb back slowly. 

Then I buy another reit like pavreit which pay dividend quarterly, or other reit which pay dividend in oct or nov. 

Since igbreit dividend pay out is half yearly and on the end of February and August, I just buy the stock before each ex date and use my money on some other reit or stock, does it work that way?
Lol.. IF it climbs back.. if drop how? Later if you want to buy before dividend the price shoot up how? If you want to get dividend, just hold on to the stock rather than take trading risk.

You cant just get free dividend without risk. whistling.gif

Pink Spider our resident REIT sexpert will take your questions now. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 23 2015, 03:50 PM
gark
post Sep 23 2015, 04:51 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 23 2015, 04:40 PM)
i read somewhere saying we must hold the stock on "record date" which is usually 2 days after the ex date. I am confused on who is correct as there appears to have different sayings in the internet. And for us, the record date is Lodgement date?

ie:
http://finance.zacks.com/happens-sell-divi...idend-1631.html
In Malaysia there is no record date.

As long as you buy BEFORE ex-date you are entitled to dividend, even if you sell ON ex-date. wink.gif

gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:04 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:01 PM)
Eh you are right.. sorry about that, T+3 slipped my mind smile.gif
Nothing to do with T+3. If you buy on ex date.. you don't get the dividend. doh.gif

I thought you are 'pro' investor? smile.gif
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:45 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:06 PM)
Oh no we are arguing again.. why is that nothing to do with T+3? if you can find a way to be on record immediately after you buy it on ex date you should be eligible.
Not arguing.. just stating the facts. smile.gif

There is ex-date and entitlement date. The latter is for record purpose for dividend payment.

T+3 is payment date (bank pay for you first), some securities give T+7, T+11 etc.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 25 2015, 05:45 PM
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:46 PM)
Proof here :

https://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3AED&...qlGzpq4BOb6r5gB

See May 19.. dividend $0.65 declared, what is the price on May 20? and what is the price on May 21? did it drop by $0.65 in any of those days?
Any dividend amount is immediately deducted from closing date before ex date and on opening of the ex-date.

This is as per rules for KLSE and also on other exchanges.

Don't know where you learn your investing from, but better brush up on the knowledge. smile.gif
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:53 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:47 PM)
Okay.. but what does "both dates inclusive" mean then?
Share registra need 2 days to update the shareholder information, hence 2 days difference between ex date and date of lodgement/entitlement date.

See here for previous post on this.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 23 2015, 04:51 PM)
The buyer buy your shares after ex-date won't able to meet the dateline of lodgement data, so rest assure you will get the dividend if you sell after the ex-date.

You need to know why there is a lodgement date.
When you buy share today, the share is not credited into your CDS immediately, it will after about 2 business day, hence lodgement date is always differ with ex-date 2 days.
So whoever buy your share after ex-date will miss the lodgement date, so when share registrar see their book time, you still in the list of shareholders.
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 06:11 PM

12,534 posts

Already give answer, ask stupid questions some more.. really lazy to answer. smile.gif

You dont like the rules, please write to Bursa Malaysia. smile.gif
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 06:18 PM

12,534 posts

Dividend rules from Investopedia - applicable to US stock exchanges as well. rolleyes.gif

DEFINITION of 'Cum Dividend'
When a buyer of a security is entitled to receive a dividend that has been declared, but not paid.

BREAKING DOWN 'Cum Dividend'
Cum dividend means "with dividend." A stock trades cum-dividend up until the ex-dividend date . On or after this point, the stock trades without its dividend rights.
DEFINITION of 'Ex-Dividend'
A classification of trading shares when a declared dividend belongs to the seller rather than the buyer. A stock will be given ex-dividend status if a person has been confirmed by the company to receive the dividend payment.

BREAKING DOWN 'Ex-Dividend'
A stock trades ex-dividend on or after the ex-dividend date (ex-date). After the ex-date has been declared, the stock will usually drop in price by the amount of the expected dividend.
This post has been edited by gark: Sep 25 2015, 06:19 PM
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 06:20 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 06:18 PM)
I didn't know BSKL had such a rule.. I don't know whether there's such a rule on the major exchanges, but it's academic anyway since the EOD price on dividend date does not match the dividend.
The price is adjusted on OPENING of the stock on ex-dividend.. not on EOD which is the CLOSING price! doh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 25 2015, 06:21 PM
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 06:22 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 25 2015, 06:20 PM)
Just back from 7-11 with popcorn n soda
Hope not too late to catch up the show
Gimme some.. this wooden (kayu) guy is sure entertaining... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 25 2015, 06:23 PM
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 06:25 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 06:23 PM)
So BSKL mandates that a stock should open at a set price on ex-date? what are the implications of that for your average investor?
Nothing.. it is totally fair.

The opening reference price is same as closing price of previous day under normal circumstances.

Except when there is a dividend there will be adjustment on the opening reference price on ex-dividend.

This is to prevent manipulators to buy before ex and sell after ex to 'cheat' other investors of their dividend. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 25 2015, 06:27 PM
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 06:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 06:45 PM)
So suppose I buy a counter which has a good chance of declaring a good solid dividend. I'm not the only one who knows that, so just before the dividend, I buy it and sure enough it goes up. Then I sell it before ex-date because I know it's going to drop. Then I will get my "dividend" before the dividend is declared smile.gif if I am wrong and it does not go up, I know it will drop by the dividend amount, so I will sell at that price and get the dividend, thus I will break even excluding brokerage (which is really cheap btw.) 

So worst case I break even, best case I make some money. Where's the catch in that?
Well you are welcome to try. smile.gif

See how much money you make. tongue.gif

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1072sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:16 PM