M Reits Version 7, Malaysia Real Estate Investment

fasionoval
post Sep 23 2015, 10:02 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Sep 23 2015, 07:11 PM)
REITS - like a long term wife. long term benefit. keep and hold but you can't continue being admire after long.

blue chip stocks - like super model. hot and beautiful. nice to hold. but risky. highest chance to lose and gain.

penny stocks - college girls (ace market) that you invest hoping that they will be mature and elegant (profit) when they venturing into the corporate world (main market)

yup. above sums up by a friend of mine who try to relate relationship into stock market. sweat.gif
is CHINA50=mistress ? hmm.gif
Babizz
post Sep 24 2015, 08:23 AM

12,525 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 20 2015, 09:18 AM)
I think the last time i went there is in the 90s... now mostly MV..  tongue.gif
looking at atria (not so bad) n putramall (very bad), Jaya shopping nostalgia won't save malls brows.gif brows.gif
wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 04:34 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 23 2015, 02:18 PM)
2. You get the dividend if you buy and hold before ex date

You have to be on record on ex date, which means you have to buy about four days before ex date smile.gif

3. IGBReit dividend is paid every 6 months, yes there is delay between results and dividend

Dividend will be paid on payment date.

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 23 2015, 02:18 PM)
4. You can but it does not work that way. Stock price is adjusted after ex-dividend.

How does this work, the price can't be manipulated manually like a unit trust.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 25 2015, 05:02 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 25 2015, 04:43 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

^
Buy ON ex date? Good luck whistling.gif
wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 05:01 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 25 2015, 04:43 PM)
^
Eh you are right.. sorry about that, T+3 slipped my mind smile.gif

gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:04 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:01 PM)
Nothing to do with T+3. If you buy on ex date.. you don't get the dividend. doh.gif

I thought you are 'pro' investor? smile.gif
wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 05:06 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 25 2015, 05:04 PM)
Nothing to do with T+3. If you buy on ex date.. you don't get the dividend.  doh.gif

I thought you are 'pro' investor?  smile.gif
Oh no we are arguing again.. why is that nothing to do with T+3? if you can find a way to be on record immediately after you buy it on ex date you should be eligible.
ShinG3e
post Sep 25 2015, 05:10 PM

o0o
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 25 2015, 04:43 PM)
^
QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:01 PM)
QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:06 PM)
Oh no we are arguing again.. why is that nothing to do with T+3? if you can find a way to be on record immediately after you buy it on ex date you should be eligible.
won't get dividend on ex-date.

been there, done that. cry.gif

bought sunreit on ex-date. habuk also tarak.

nexona88
post Sep 25 2015, 05:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,460 posts

lol siapa ajar buy on ex-date get divvy doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 25 2015, 05:16 PM

16,872 posts

find "ways"?
can geh, u sendiri call up the seller, ask him to do Standing Instruction and remit HIS dividend to you once he receives it lor smile.gif
I'm sure many would be pleased to do that for u smile.gif

and unit trust prices can be manually "manipulated"?

wow, just, wow smile.gif

Pinky

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 25 2015, 05:17 PM
wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 05:22 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Sep 25 2015, 05:10 PM)
won't get dividend on ex-date.

been there, done that.  cry.gif

bought sunreit on ex-date. habuk also tarak.
Something is weird here.. wait see this :

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...cements/3611373

It's not filled in, but it says "both dates inclusive". If it was filled in, it would have the ex-date and payment date. Why does it say "both dates inclusive" if both dates are not inclusive?

wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 05:28 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 25 2015, 05:16 PM)
can geh, u sendiri call up the seller, ask him to do Standing Instruction and remit HIS dividend to you once he receives it lor smile.gif I'm sure many would be pleased to do that for u smile.gif

Are you saying that the price will drop more that the dividend? if not how does the seller make a profit from that?

and unit trust prices can be manually "manipulated"?

You only just realized that? a unit trust is an artificial construct, it isn't listed on Bursa, who determines what the price is at the end of the day? smile.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Sep 25 2015, 05:35 PM

16,872 posts

Allah will determine smile.gif

LOL, here it comes again smile.gif

Happy weekend smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 25 2015, 05:36 PM
nexona88
post Sep 25 2015, 05:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,460 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 25 2015, 05:35 PM)

Happy weekend smile.gif

non-muslim is ban from using the word mad.gif vmad.gif tongue.gif
gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:45 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:06 PM)
Not arguing.. just stating the facts. smile.gif

There is ex-date and entitlement date. The latter is for record purpose for dividend payment.

T+3 is payment date (bank pay for you first), some securities give T+7, T+11 etc.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 25 2015, 05:45 PM
wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 05:46 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 25 2015, 05:35 PM)

Happy weekend smile.gif

Proof here :

https://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3AED&...qlGzpq4BOb6r5gB

See May 19.. dividend $0.65 declared, what is the price on May 20? and what is the price on May 21? did it drop by $0.65 in any of those days?

You want more proof?

https://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3ATGT...JCtOhuATtr6CADA

Where is the drop?

Now look at your mutual fund.. I can guarantee you it will drop by exactly the dividend amount after ex date. How can I do that? go ask a fund manager, any fund manager. They will tell you that they set it that way. In a unit trust the price after a dividend is set (ie. manually manipulated) by the fund manager.

In a listed counter, the price is always determined by supply and demand. No one person or agency manually sets the price. There should be no reason why the price of a share should not go up (or down) after a dividend is declared.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 25 2015, 06:03 PM
wodenus
post Sep 25 2015, 05:47 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Sep 25 2015, 05:45 PM)
Not arguing.. just stating the facts.  smile.gif

There is ex-date and entitlement date. The latter is for record purpose for dividend payment.

T+3 is payment date (bank pay for you first), some securities give T+7, T+11 etc.. smile.gif
Okay.. but what does "both dates inclusive" mean then?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Sep 25 2015, 05:48 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 25 2015, 05:49 PM

16,872 posts

gark
post Sep 25 2015, 05:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 25 2015, 05:46 PM)
Proof here :

https://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3AED&...qlGzpq4BOb6r5gB

See May 19.. dividend $0.65 declared, what is the price on May 20? and what is the price on May 21? did it drop by $0.65 in any of those days?
Any dividend amount is immediately deducted from closing date before ex date and on opening of the ex-date.

This is as per rules for KLSE and also on other exchanges.

Don't know where you learn your investing from, but better brush up on the knowledge. smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 25 2015, 05:53 PM

16,872 posts

Don't talk driving if u can't even tell accelerator pedal from the brake pedal, i.e. the BASICS. smile.gif
Yeah there is drifting, there is heel-and-toe braking and other advanced techniques...
But u don't even know...the basics.

U are wasting others' time and make a fool of yourself smile.gif

Unless that is your intention smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 25 2015, 05:54 PM

271 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:49 PM