36 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V), Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 09:54 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Aug 27 2015, 09:43 AM)
Yes, I believe we as non-bumi have to exercise precaution and monitor the policies..

Although SC has the authority to approve any request from FP to VP, taking into consideration, the gomen priority on enhancing Bumi equity ownership, ASB is definitely standing strong compared to the other FP funds..

As such, the other FP funds are then subjected to the aim of gomen as well.. as SC also gomen de.. ^^
I wud rank the risk for FP fund starting with Highest:-
1. ASM
2. AS1M
3. ASW
Having said tat, I wud opined bau on 1/1/2016
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 10:14 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Aug 27 2015, 08:22 AM)
Interesting point if this applies. I've heard of the same rule before re: lowest balance of the month. That means if my ASB2 is 0 on 31/8 and in the morning of 1/9 before I put 40k in it, probably that means my lowest balance in September is 0. Hmm ... Let's see if other experts can vouch for this.
Incorrect as yo min bal in Sep is RM40k which starts from 1/9
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 12:00 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 27 2015, 10:20 AM)
well, at 8am for example, before you put in 40k, it's 0
Daily bal means outstanding units @ 11.59pm (just b4 midnite)
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 12:16 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 27 2015, 11:16 AM)
Care to share why you rank in that order?
ASM - open to everyone
AS1M - bumi hold 50%
ASW - bumi hold 51%
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 12:20 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 27 2015, 12:03 PM)
i see.

so if u sell off 40k on 31 august, your minimum balance for august becomes 0? back to square 1?
Yup nod.gif
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 12:27 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(dawsonyap @ Aug 27 2015, 11:56 AM)
just wondering - how many of you would still recommend to continue trying to top up the FP funds for non - bumis (ASW/ASM/AS1M) or most of you would just hold on till december...
Me

wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 12:36 PM

10,001 posts

ASNB declared 6.40% for ASW
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 12:41 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 27 2015, 12:39 PM)
not surprising
Within expectation
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 01:16 PM

10,001 posts

As usual, ASW c/f 2.10% to 2016
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 01:31 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 27 2015, 01:23 PM)
Not bad.

Maybe around 5.5% for 2016 in view of the gloomy global economy.
Since inception, their Lowest is above 6%

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 27 2015, 01:27 PM)
Sifu, do you know on top of your head, what was the carryover % from 2014 to 2015 for ASW?
I have the figures
Will let u know tonite
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 02:39 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Aug 27 2015, 01:41 PM)

So if I read it correctly

2014 - 2015    2.7% carryover
2015 - 2016    2.1% carryover

looks like ASW did not do well this year (smaller carryover AND also lower dividend rate).

Cannot expect it to do magic even during bad time, right? Ha.
Wat is the difference between magic n illusion? tongue.gif
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 05:42 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 27 2015, 04:01 PM)
Yea.

What important now is that able to give at least 5% and stable yield.
I xpect min 6% annually
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 05:47 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 27 2015, 05:10 PM)
KLCI was very much worse back in 2008 compared to now.

you're right - I too am more concerned about the divvy next year because of the effects from FY 2015/2016. FY2014/2015 is not really that bad...yet,because 2014 gave us some cushion.

Edit : extra comments.
In fact, v shld look at EPU when measure future payout
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 09:33 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 27 2015, 05:51 PM)
Generally, EPU for a fund, be it Equities or Balanced would drop if mkt is bad. Bond Fund, may or may not drop,... because investors may plow their money into Bonds and Bond Funds when equities are bad.
EPU (aka earnings per unit) is to measure the ability to generate profits based on available capital
wil-i-am
post Aug 27 2015, 10:32 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 27 2015, 10:27 PM)
Aware that EPU = Earnings per Unit of a specified fund. To me, I was commenting on the EPU with the basis of the EPU being a numerical figure (in RM for PNB) of the total amount of earnings of a fund at the cutoff date of a complete Financial Year divided by the number of units in issue as of the cutoff date.
If u noticed, their EPU is on declining trend over the years
Tis is a big challenge for ASNB as they need to generate sufficient returns to maintain Dividend @ 6% mark

wil-i-am
post Aug 28 2015, 12:03 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 27 2015, 11:57 PM)
Say you put that RM5k on 1 February in AS1M. Originally, balance in AS1M was RM1k. The lowest balance for AS1M in February, would therefore be RM1k. If you want to make it counted, you have to deposit before 1st of each month.
Incorrect as the min bal in Feb is RM6k from 1/2 onwards

wil-i-am
post Aug 28 2015, 12:12 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 28 2015, 12:08 AM)
Nope. It's not counted that way. ASNB office opens at 8.30am. Before you deposit that 5k, the lowest balance in February is 1k. Doesn't matter even if the deposit is made on 1 February. Because PNB takes the lowest balance at any point in time within the month.
Min bal refers to o/s bal on any day (i.e. just b4 midnite) in a calendar mth
wil-i-am
post Aug 28 2015, 12:16 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 28 2015, 12:14 AM)
No. I work in PNB. We don't count it like that.
I went thru numerous 'actual/real' events for FP funds n my calculation was endorsed by ASNB

wil-i-am
post Aug 28 2015, 12:26 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Aug 28 2015, 12:21 AM)
The presenter either doesn't know his stuff, or doesn't understand what you're talking. PNB doesn't count it that way because it would open up opportunities for people to shift funds every single month between ASB,  ASB2, AS1M and other FP funds and potentially could get higher returns at the cost to the company. (Since different funds have different dividend dates)

I've made calculation for all my accounts in ASB,  ASB2 and AS1M. And the numbers are absolutely spot on.
I managed to top up for ASW on 1/8/2014 ony for the mth of Aug 2014 n ASNB took closing bal @ 1/8/2014 to calculate 1 mth int

wil-i-am
post Aug 28 2015, 09:41 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 28 2015, 03:13 AM)
Tks Wil,.. I have not compared, so this is good news for me. BY the way, just a hypothesis here, wouldn't you say that the Retained Earnings per UNit (from previous years)  + the Current Year Earnings per UNit - the Dividend Payout per UNit = the Net Asset Value per UNit of a fund.

WE can find out the Retained Earnings per Unit from the yearly press conference held for dividend ann't.

WE can find out the Current Year EPU and the Current Year DPU from the AR.

Then we would be able to decipher the NAV per Unit as at the cutoff date !

Any other factors involved besides what I have indicated in the abve ?
Bro,
U can't calculate NAV based on 1st para info. Instead, u can calculate how much profits is c/f to next yr
To calculate NAV, u need:-
a. % of mgt fees
b. value of mgt fees
c. total units issued
Having said tat, the above calculation gives u NAV based on cost instead of current market value. Thus, u need to factor in appropriate % (either premium or discount; very subjective) to the NAV to arrive at real NAV

36 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0592sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:59 PM