327 posts

Ceasar is so beautiful! I want a syrian! ;0;
misa
post Oct 11 2006, 07:41 PM

327 posts

|sorcerer| your hammies are so cute.

Guys, put up more photos of your syrian hamsters! Would love to see 'em. tongue.gif
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 01:27 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(RazrV3 @ Oct 13 2006, 01:17 AM)
wah.. so many things to do de ar..

i jus brought kuaci and put it inside..

i guess 2molo i go buy Jap tofus lo..
Buy hamster food as well -- at the pet store hehe tongue.gif Kuaci is not good la if given in large quantities -- it's like junk food to them. They love 'em but it's not good. You're superb for taking this homeless hammie and her newborn pups into your home! rclxms.gif All the best with caring for them.

No idea what hamster it is? Whether it's a robo, a winter white, a campbell or a syrian?

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 13 2006, 01:29 AM
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 01:12 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 01:04 PM)
errmm, not sure how big it is. well, mayb will put some toilet row in it....
the metal rack is stainless steel is it? dun noe where to get.... rclxub.gif how about the coconut hut? seems nice.
Coconut hut can get from Pets Family or Pet Safari or Natural Aquatic. A lot of pet stores have it la. It's about RM7-9 depending on where you get it from. My hamsters don't like the coconut huts -- it's also pretty useless for them since it's supposed to be elevated from the ground and hamsters are not into climbing much unless there's ladders, etc. I don't know -- mine's just not into using the coconut huts. tongue.gif I even tried placing it low on the ground for them and they still won't use it.
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 01:26 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 01:23 PM)
lol.actually i saw from the gerbil thread one. haha. i will try n look at the pet shop and see wat i can get. btw, i dun live in kl. lol biggrin.gif
Oh! hehe good luck with finding one -- sure got wan. If seriously, you cannot find any coconut huts there -- let me know la. I can post it to you laugh.gif

misa
post Oct 13 2006, 01:43 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 01:28 PM)
wah?!! rili a not....haha. thanks a lot. ok, will pm u if i wan lar. haha.
Yup, yup -- no problem. tongue.gif
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 01:50 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 01:44 PM)
lol. anyway, how much mealw0orms do u feed to dwarfs? i feed 9-12 mealworms. but they are freeze fried and kinda small small size.
If you need to fatten them up, then it's okay to feed that much. I feed mine now with only 6 mealworms a day. I also feed my hammies with steamed chicken, turkey ham, eggs for added protein. And they love apple and carrots and small pieces of bread.

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 13 2006, 01:51 PM
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 02:09 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 02:01 PM)
wah...so many food ar....cant feed apple and carrot though, coz will lead to some disease-mine is dwarf. anyway, i juz feed them mealworms twice a week, or should i increase ? turkey ham can ar? i thought got some ingredients which might be harmful to them?
Out of curiosity, where did you get the information that apples and carrots cannot be fed to dwarf hammies? You can give apples and carrots twice a week. Dwarf hamsters can be allowed proportionately more vegetable matter than syrian hamsters. Apple, carrot, and even pear are better than vegetables (like cucumber) which have a high moisture content. Avoid feeding lettuce though.

Oh and with regards to the mealworms, well, my dwarf hammies each of them take one mealworm a day la -- sometimes half -- sometimes more. So altogether, I dish out about 6 mealworms a day for them all. Hehe. Up to you la -- it's best that they eat their mixture of seeds, etc. So the rest of these are just treats and extras. Bread also, I give twice a week only. Animal protein is important for them -- so you can give a bit of mealworms, crickets as well, and dog or cat biscuits. Just a bit. Sunflower seeds -- give sparingly, it's like junk food to them.

With regards to turkey ham and chicken -- you can offer these as treats as well. Not to be given as their main source of diet la. So once a week or twice a week just as well.

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 13 2006, 02:11 PM
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 02:27 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 02:14 PM)
lol. it is right in this thread. 1st page.
can feed choy sum ar? i got feed them cat biscuits twice a week.
Hehe no la -- the key is moderation. Like I said, their main diet is their hamster mix -- the seeds, etc. The rest are good for them as added protein and nutrients. But as with everything in this world, too much of a good thing can turn out to be a very bad thing.

And yeah, careful with the watery products, can cause diarrhea.
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 02:32 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 02:29 PM)
lol. now only i noe. last time i got feed, then after saw the 1st page, no apples or carrots oleady. ok, will get some.
You can research on the internet tongue.gif -- I haven't read an article that says apples and carrots cannot be fed. Also, they like bananas too. Give them once a week la. Just a tiny chunk for them to much on. Some like it -- some don't. Mine enjoy it as a treat.

In small amounts, they also appreciate mango, grape, and strawberry. Again, too much of a good thing is icky for them. Just remember that hehe.

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 13 2006, 02:34 PM
misa
post Oct 13 2006, 02:38 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Oct 13 2006, 02:34 PM)
actually i  saw on some overseas forum saying these fruits are harmful. according to them, these fruits are a big no no. duno true or not.
Well, these are all precautions taken by hammie owners -- once again, the key is moderation. The only proven stuff that are dangerous for hammies to eat are human sweets, like chocolate or candy, salty food, garlic, onions, pickles, raw kidney beans, raw potatoes, etc.

I've been feeding my hammies with this diet for years and I've had hamsters for more than 6 years. They all live long lives. Just go with your gut instincts and also, research more so you yourself will be more confident with the diet that you want to feed them with.

All the best!

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 13 2006, 02:45 PM
misa
post Oct 16 2006, 09:16 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Oct 16 2006, 09:07 PM)

fatttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!
homg is that yours? what do you feed him and how much does the fella eat in a day? so cool though. laugh.gif
misa
post Oct 18 2006, 12:56 AM

327 posts

Omg the syrians and the winter whites are so adorable! And the golden girl is so so cute! If I could I'd take them all home tongue.gif

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 18 2006, 12:57 AM
misa
post Oct 18 2006, 03:22 AM

327 posts

Reanne! drool.gif I've officially been poisoned by your syrians! And omg your black boy! He's gorgeous! And your BEW boy is beautiful. notworthy.gif

Hehe besides taking home the golden girl -- I want the blonde as well la. tongue.gif 'cuz the blonde is soooo cute!

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 18 2006, 03:30 AM
misa
post Oct 25 2006, 03:26 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Oct 24 2006, 08:09 AM)
2nd batch of puddings
Wow! They're so cute! Somehow their colour reminds me of orange sponge cake. ...now I'm hungry laugh.gif
misa
post Oct 29 2006, 02:26 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 29 2006, 01:52 AM)
Hehe so cute! Call him Jumpers la lol eee can't wait to get my two syrians from Reanne rclxm9.gif

misa
post Oct 29 2006, 02:38 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 29 2006, 02:31 AM)
Jumpers.... sounds nice... and he is jumpy hahhaha.... OK, Jumpers it is. Thanks heheheh...

Faster get your Syrians lah.... they are so cute.
Hehe Jumpers! rclxms.gif Adorable liao~~~~~ and yes yes I can't wait to get them but unfortunately have to wait until I get back from Australia cry.gif

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 29 2006, 02:39 AM
misa
post Nov 1 2006, 02:49 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Nov 1 2006, 07:15 AM)
She looks squishy doesn't she?
laugh.gif Reanne, who's that? So cute and chubby le! wub.gif