Learning with Rocksmith 2014?

TSRobbie Lee
post Jan 25 2015, 01:03 PM, updated 11y ago

44 posts

Hii everyone here smile.gif

I just want to ask your humble opinions about learning how to play electronic guitars only by using Rocksmith 2014 on my PC. A lot of people online recommend it, but I want to hear opinions from my fellow Malaysians first hehehe biggrin.gif I'm looking for an activity to fill up my weekends and since I always had a desire to learn about guitars I decided that I should start now. The main reasons why I would consider Rocksmith 2014 is because it would help save some tuition fees, and I could also learn whenever I had leisure / free time.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 25 2015, 01:09 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Well. i did try it on my PC and Xbox360...but kinda hassle. Anyway, if you already have a electric guitar, just plug into the amp and play lar. Rocksmith probably is good for some exercise. You will need normal pratice as well.

pipedream
post Jan 25 2015, 01:14 PM

2,353 posts

u have better chance of learning from youtube than from that game. the only thing good from the game is the real tone cable, plug in ur computer, download some software amp = awesome

This post has been edited by pipedream: Jan 25 2015, 01:15 PM
ciwi1166
post Jan 25 2015, 01:28 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

i'v tried that game. well for the start, its kinda good bcoz it keeps ur interest up by showing how much you hv progress so far.

but if u want the real deal, imo the traditional way is still better. smile.gif
+3kk!
post Jan 25 2015, 04:50 PM

8,275 posts

you dont need a game/program to learn

if you want to learn theres heaps of resources (which is free)

most of the things a teacher can do cant be replicated in a computer software

so infact you are spending more money to do the same thing
quarantined
post Jan 26 2015, 10:25 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

It is fun and not expensive, so why not?

If your interest doesnt go away then you can consider getting a proper teacher in the future. No rush.
Lacersan
post Jan 31 2015, 07:05 PM

102 posts

Good learning tool.

However, my pet peeve would be the constant retuning at every mini game. I mean come on, it's not a song. Why bother?
SUSMatrix
post Feb 5 2015, 11:04 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

And becareful with the grounding of your power socket. ..last time I play on my xbox....the guitar burns my fingers with electric shock (minot lah, but you can't play it)...but PC is ok...I guess it has to do with some bad grounding...solve problem by using anothet wall socket...

After that, I truly understand the meaning "ELECTRIC" guitar. ..lol
kamulee
post Feb 8 2015, 12:01 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Jan 25 2015, 01:14 PM)
u have better chance of learning from youtube than from that game. the only thing good from the game is the real tone cable, plug in ur computer, download some software amp = awesome
Bro pipedream,
Please advise what kind of software amp...sorry because I new for guitar and bought the rocksmith during its sales.

Now I only have a acoustic guitar Yamaha c70 come with 3 nylon string and three metal string. Bought a pickup (stick type) connect to rs cable can't detect. Is that I need to get a electric guitar or semi acoustic guitar also can work on it? Please advise me.
pipedream
post Feb 8 2015, 09:09 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(kamulee @ Feb 8 2015, 01:01 AM)
Bro pipedream,
Please advise what kind of software amp...sorry because I new for guitar and bought the rocksmith during its sales.

Now I only have a acoustic guitar Yamaha c70 come with 3 nylon string and three metal string. Bought a pickup (stick type) connect to rs cable can't detect. Is that I need to get a electric guitar or semi acoustic guitar also can work on it? Please advise me.
I think the real tone cable only works on electrics. Normal acoustic pickup can't pickup the sound so well.

Anyway, its been ages since I play guitar, if not mistaken it's NI Guitar Rig Pro

0.0158sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:07 AM