> Military Thread V15, Gong Xi Fa Cai; Huat ah

thpace
post Mar 11 2015, 06:31 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 11 2015, 06:21 PM)
lol, now it's all cleared up.

so since all are talking about aster,

means aster is the roll royce of sam?

haha
Not really also... We are not building like something of the Type 45 destroyer or FREMM which is very specific air-defence type of ships

The concept should be something like SG formidable Multi-role, right now SGPV is mainly tuned to ASW laugh.gif
waja2000
post Mar 11 2015, 06:32 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(trollboy @ Mar 11 2015, 06:19 PM)
just miss target ...
IReallyNeed Answers
post Mar 11 2015, 06:33 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 11 2015, 06:24 PM)
It not bad, just for a ship that class or that price at least area defence capabilities. MICA basically limit it to point defence only . MICA is comparable to Aster 15 minus the booster and less versatile for layered defence. Look at SG Formidable class 

Basically the radar purchase limits or should I say seal the MICA fate from early on.

If there no IP/TOT plus shipyard upgrade included. I would say we could get better  weapon system
Mica ... we purchase more like no future thinking
- short range 20km only, not able to provide good self defense capability, simply weak fighting capability.
- only single missile for each VLS cell. means our Gowind only have 8 unit defense missile. only 8 cell VLS we get.
- how do you think usd 500 million ship with so weak defense capability?

wow, looking at this, and comparing what sinkies have, i does seem like we're in a disavantage, even tho sinkies ships are approaching 10years old.

so thats mean our radar have limited capability too?

only penetrate up to 20km?

oh my...
waja2000
post Mar 11 2015, 06:35 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 11 2015, 06:31 PM)
Not really also... We are not building like something of the Type 45 destroyer or FREMM which is very specific air-defence type of ships

The concept should be something like SG formidable Multi-role, right now SGPV is mainly tuned to ASW  laugh.gif
France Fremm also ASW version (plus land attack), SG formidable is AAW frigate so have strong air defense missile . we ASW, we ASW so can't compare loh. just we hope abit better mid range defense capability only.   

This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 11 2015, 06:37 PM
waja2000
post Mar 11 2015, 06:49 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 11 2015, 06:33 PM)
wow, looking at this, and comparing what sinkies have, i does seem like we're in a disavantage, even tho sinkies ships are approaching 10years old.
so thats mean our radar have limited capability too?
only penetrate up to 20km?
oh my...
well SG formidable is Anti-Air Warfare frigate, so there ship have good AESA radar, than support long range defense missile like Aster 15/30.
our Gowind due to design as ASW frigate, so use standard Smart 3D radar (250km surveillance range, most common radar for low cost ship) , than only support Mica and ESSM missile, so we more hope our Gowind have proper defense capability like ESSM missile can cover 50km defense range, Searam or CIWS to cover 2nd level defense of ship. than should be more complete ASW frigate for next gen RMN frigate。

BorneoAlliance
post Mar 11 2015, 07:06 PM

New Setback: F-35s Won’t Be Able to Conduct Close-Air-Support Until 2020

Unlike previous precision-guided air-dropped weapons, the Small Diameter Bomb II (SDB II) has the ability to track and hit moving targets from up to 40 miles. It will enter service in 2017.

The F-35 however, will not have the software package required to operate the bomb until 2022.

The delay will reduce the F-35’s ability to provide close-air support to ground troops, and raises questions about the aircraft’s ability to adequately replace the A-10 Warthog if Congress allows the Air Force to retire it.

Air Force leaders want to retire the A-10 by February 2019 so it can transfer the resources supporting the aircraft to the development of the F-35, which will be one of many aircraft that will backfill the A-10.

The SDB II will not even fit onto the F-35B – the Marine Corps variant – without modifications to the aircraft’s weapons bay. But the Pentagon is in no rush to make those changes, because the weapon still will not work until the correct software package is installed.

“When we get to the (software upgrade) of the F-35s those are going to be great CAS (close air support) platforms – when we get there. So we’ve got to continue to move down that with respect to the systems,” Air Force Gen. Herbert “Hawk” Carlisle, Commander of Air Combat Command, told reporters on March 6.

The SDB II uses a guidance system known as a “tri-mode” seeker, which can direct the weapon using millimeter wave radar, uncooled imaging infrared guidance and semi-active laser technology.

“Really, in the close-in CAS fight, and the most challenging being danger close where you have adversaries and friendlies in very close proximity – we have to be able to support the ground component at that point. We need the ability to deliver weapons rapidly. We need the high magazine, we need precision and we need to be able to control the yield,” Carlisle said.

Part of the Joint Strike Fighter program’s developmental strategy includes a series of incremental software drops, each of which adds new capability. The drop that will make the F-35 capable of operating the SBD II is not scheduled to take place until 2022.

The Marine Corps’ F-35B is slated to reach operational status following a software drop later this year. The Air Force plans to reach operational status with its F-35A in 2016 using the next software update.

http://sputniknews.com/news/20150311/1019320014.html
thpace
post Mar 11 2015, 07:28 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

F35 set back again hahaha
thpace
post Mar 11 2015, 07:34 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Mar 11 2015, 06:35 PM)
France Fremm also ASW version (plus land attack), SG formidable is AAW frigate so have strong air defense missile . we ASW, we ASW so can't compare loh. just we hope abit better mid range defense capability only.   
no lah.. their multi purpose is land oriented.. French

only Italy and Moracco are specially designed as ASW
hafizushi
post Mar 11 2015, 07:34 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Mar 11 2015, 06:26 PM)
Mica ... we purchase more like no future thinking 
- short range 20km only, not able to provide good self defense capability, simply weak fighting capability. at lease should go for new CAMM missile 25km range than can quadpack to each VLS cell, total become 32 unit defense missile.
- only single missile for each VLS cell. means our Gowind only have 8 unit defense missile. only 8 cell VLS we get.
- how do you think usd 500 million ship with so weak defense capability?
- Radar at Gowind only support Mica and ESSM and newest CAMM
i think at least 16 VLS based on wiki but still that also not yet confirm
hafizushi
post Mar 11 2015, 07:41 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 11 2015, 06:21 PM)
lol, now it's all cleared up.

so since all are talking about aster,

means aster is the roll royce of sam?

haha
aster 30 or sm2 missile but both missile cost a fortune
hafizushi
post Mar 11 2015, 07:49 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Mar 11 2015, 06:49 PM)
well SG formidable is Anti-Air Warfare frigate, so there ship have good AESA radar, than support long range defense missile like Aster 15/30. 
our Gowind due to design as ASW frigate, so use standard Smart 3D radar (250km surveillance range, most common radar for low cost ship) , than only support Mica and ESSM missile, so we more hope our Gowind have proper defense capability like ESSM missile can cover 50km defense range, Searam or CIWS to cover 2nd level defense of ship.   than should be more complete ASW frigate for next gen RMN frigate。

btw those herakles are PESA radar not AESA

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herakles_%28radar%29

I agree we should have at least have searam or millenium gun for ciws

This post has been edited by hafizushi: Mar 11 2015, 07:49 PM
IReallyNeed Answers
post Mar 11 2015, 08:39 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Mar 11 2015, 07:06 PM)
New Setback: F-35s Won’t Be Able to Conduct Close-Air-Support Until 2020
Unlike previous precision-guided air-dropped weapons, the Small Diameter Bomb II (SDB II) has the ability to track and hit moving targets from up to 40 miles. It will enter service in 2017.

The F-35 however, will not have the software package required to operate the bomb until 2022.

The delay will reduce the F-35’s ability to provide close-air support to ground troops, and raises questions about the aircraft’s ability to adequately replace the A-10 Warthog if Congress allows the Air Force to retire it.

Air Force leaders want to retire the A-10 by February 2019 so it can transfer the resources supporting the aircraft to the development of the F-35, which will be one of many aircraft that will backfill the A-10.

The SDB II will not even fit onto the F-35B – the Marine Corps variant – without modifications to the aircraft’s weapons bay. But the Pentagon is in no rush to make those changes, because the weapon still will not work until the correct software package is installed.

“When we get to the (software upgrade) of the F-35s those are going to be great CAS (close air support) platforms – when we get there.  So we’ve got to continue to move down that with respect to the systems,” Air Force Gen. Herbert “Hawk” Carlisle, Commander of Air Combat Command, told reporters on March 6.

The SDB II uses a guidance system known as a “tri-mode” seeker, which can direct the weapon using millimeter wave radar, uncooled imaging infrared guidance and semi-active laser technology.

“Really, in the close-in CAS fight, and the most challenging being danger close where you have adversaries and friendlies in very close proximity – we have to be able to support the ground component at that point.  We need the ability to deliver weapons rapidly.  We need the high magazine, we need precision and we need to be able to control the yield,” Carlisle said.

Part of the Joint Strike Fighter program’s developmental strategy includes a series of incremental software drops, each of which adds new capability. The drop that will make the F-35 capable of operating the SBD II is not scheduled to take place until 2022.

The Marine Corps’ F-35B is slated to reach operational status following a software drop later this year. The Air Force plans to reach operational status with its F-35A in 2016 using the next software update.

http://sputniknews.com/news/20150311/1019320014.html
Didn't know they're using f35 to replace a10

Always thinks the a10 looks awesome and fantastic!

If only they give us tot/ip for a10!hahahaha

KYPMbangi
post Mar 11 2015, 08:49 PM

39 posts

Military Helicopter Crashes in Florida; Eleven Feared Dead

Seven Marines and four soldiers were missing early Wednesday following an Army helicopter crash in Florida, officials said.

The servicemen were aboard one of two UH-60 Black Hawk helicopters participating in a routine training mission which went down off the coast.

"We have found some human remains," Eglin Air Force Base spokesman Andy Bourland told NBC News. He said he did not have further details on the identities or number.

Earlier, senior U.S. military officials said they feared all 11 service members had died.

Some aircraft debris also has washed ashore, Bourland said. He told NBC News that a search and rescue operation was ongoing — though poor visibility and fog was hampering efforts. It was too soon to say what caused the crash, but there were "weather issues" overnight, Bourland added.

A Coast Guard vessel recovered debris including the downed chopper's tail rotor overnight, officials told NBC News.

[NBC]
thpace
post Mar 11 2015, 08:50 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 11 2015, 08:39 PM)
Didn't know they're using f35 to replace a10

Always thinks the a10 looks awesome and fantastic!

If only they give us tot/ip for a10!hahahaha
too good for current use

considering how old it is, it will be a nightmare to maintain

This post has been edited by thpace: Mar 11 2015, 08:55 PM
waja2000
post Mar 11 2015, 09:02 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 11 2015, 07:34 PM)
no lah.. their multi purpose is  land oriented.. French

only Italy and Moracco are specially designed as ASW
just follow Wiki have list country fremm ship role spec.

QUOTE(hafizushi @ Mar 11 2015, 07:34 PM)
i think at least 16 VLS based on wiki but still that also not yet confirm
hopefully is, but still mica. no much different.

QUOTE(hafizushi @ Mar 11 2015, 07:49 PM)
btw those herakles are PESA radar not AESA

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herakles_%28radar%29
I agree we should have at least have searam or millenium gun for ciws
TQ for info.
waja2000
post Mar 11 2015, 09:16 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(hafizushi @ Mar 11 2015, 07:41 PM)
aster 30 or sm2 missile but both missile cost a fortune
well if we get aster 30 or sm2 missile, than should be new AAW warship, quantity more likely about 2 ship, so quantity missile not much. overall procurement cost still acceptable.
IReallyNeed Answers
post Mar 11 2015, 09:34 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 11 2015, 08:50 PM)
too good for current use

considering how old it is, it will be a nightmare to maintain
They should have update the platform and system while keeping its robustness.

I always see this similar to heavy machine gunner, low reliable tech, heavy damage, but lacks intelligent.

waja2000
post Mar 11 2015, 09:41 PM

137 posts

time to new Military Thread V16, maybe yinchet already go to langkawi biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 11 2015, 09:41 PM
thpace
post Mar 11 2015, 09:48 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 11 2015, 09:34 PM)
They should have update the platform and system while keeping its robustness.

I always see this similar to heavy machine gunner, low reliable tech, heavy damage, but lacks intelligent.
very vulnerable to manpad

their maintenance now is salvaging part from retired ones which only US have, not ideal for our usage in anyway

BorneoAlliance
post Mar 11 2015, 09:51 PM

Two Ton Drone: Russian Company Developing New Versatile Multipurpose UAV

Engineers at the United Instrument Corporation, a branch of the state-owned innovation corporation Rostec, have conceptualized a new two-ton unmanned aerial vehicle, capable of transporting supplies, personnel, reconnaissance equipment and onboard weapons systems.

The two-ton drone concept is based on the new Chirok ('Teal'), a drone equipped with an air cushion design with no equivalent in the world of UAV design. Developed by the Moscow Radio Engineering Research Institute, the air cushion design allows the Chirok to take off and land in virtually any natural conditions —from uneven surfaces, to sand or snow-covered and wetland territories, to water surfaces.

A source at the United Instrument Corporation told the press Tuesday that "at the moment, a theoretical study of the elements of an apparatus weighing over two tons, built on the basis of the 750kg Chirok UAV has already been carried out. It uses all the same technology, but in a number of areas the 'Big Chirok' will exceed its 'little brother'." Rossiyskaya Gazeta notes that a prototype of the two ton drone may be approved following the testing of the Chirok this summer.

The 750kg Chirok UAV will be presented at the 12th International Aviation and Space Salon MAKS this August in Zhukovsky, Moscow region. The UAV is capable of carrying 2-3 passengers plus gear; alternately it can be loaded with aerial reconnaissance equipment or armaments to serve as an assault drone. The multiuse device has a maximum flight distance of 2,500 km, and can fly at a maximum height of 6,000 meters.

The stealth-capable device also has civilian applications: it can monitor forest fires and natural disaster zones, deliver supplies to extremely remote locations, and engage in environmental observation.

http://sputniknews.com/military/20150311/1019337665.html

116 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0260sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:21 PM