The New Mazda 2 SKYACTIV - v1.0, Zoom Zoom Kudo Design

skywoon
post Feb 24 2015, 04:59 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(GNR @ Feb 24 2015, 10:59 AM)
No idea about the 208 reliability issues, but 308 is known for its issues with its turbo (constant depollution issues). That's why aftermarket it is selling for very cheap. I was targetting that car at first but after doing some research, it's not worth the money and effort to maintain the car. However the 408 is using a different 1.6 turbo engine than the 308. So if you're looking for a peugeot, get the 408 or you can get the NA version of the 308 (VTI). And like you've rightfully put it, maintenance of a conti car is of course much more than a Jap car.

If you really need info on spare parts stock of Mazda, you can go to the Mazda 3 car club and ask our bros there. If I remember correctly, someone pointed out that spare parts availability of Mazda used to be shit (long time ago), but considering the amount of Mazdas that are being sold here since the past few years, Mazda spare parts availability is not an issue anymore (especially since Mazda started producing the cars locally CKD, there should be plenty of spare parts). I don't remember reading/hearing any complaints on this as well. As for the price, it's generally known to be slightly more expensive than Honda/Vios, same goes with the maintenance.
since all skyactiv series are new in the market, still under free maintenance & warranty period, nobody can answer you maintenance cost.
spare parts & maintenance should be slightly more expensive than Toyota/Honda. all skyactiv car will send back service center for repair & service at the moment to prevent warranty void. i dont think can get spare parts outside mazda easily at this moment.

i read an article, skyactiv car hood is longer to put in 4-2-1 exhaust manifold, thus compromise read seat space. you can compare M6 with Accord, M3 with Altis/Civic, M2 with City/Vios, mazda's hood is longer. my advice is always rear in parking, only front in parking after you really get used to skyactiv long hood design.

so far didnt heard any major complain/issue from M3 owner, except the well known lower arm bush noise affecting M6, M3, CX5. which is under warranty & replaceable at service center. some said the replacement solve the noise problem some said no. mine the noise not so serious thus haven't claim warranty yet. not sure M2 will face this issue not.

M3 spare parts is expensive, everything is quoted in thousand by Mazda. pair of headlamp >rm4k, windscreen >rm3k, side screen >rm500, wiper >rm100, battery >rm1k, headlamp washer >1k etc... soul red paint is more expensive than other color. M2 should be cheaper since is from Thailand, but sure more expensive than Toyota/Honda.

overall, skyactiv mazda is a good car. i love its performance, handling, interior & exterior. it is a driver's car, if you care a lot about rear seat, you shouldn't consider mazda at the 1st place.
skywoon
post Feb 24 2015, 05:34 PM

26 posts

for those who want to know more about SKYACTIV Technology

This post has been edited by skywoon: Feb 24 2015, 05:42 PM
skywoon
post Feb 24 2015, 06:44 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(heroes1986 @ Feb 24 2015, 05:55 PM)
sorry, mind I ask what is long arm bush noise?
Wow for m3, spare parts is expensive (to me of course). m3 is total CBU from Japan?

Btw, thanks for sharing on those information abt skyactiv. Nice!
Too bad we did not have i-eLoop for m2.

R u getting m2 as well?
Lower arm bush noise = ngek ngek noise when drive over speed bump, especially after rain, the car is wet.
CBU M3 is from Japan
Not getting m2, have been driving m3 for 6 months.
skywoon
post Feb 25 2015, 10:53 AM

26 posts

I-eloop will charge to a special capacitor when break, the capacitor will power electronic devices, not sure how much the capacitor cost. sweat.gif

I think the Lower arm bush noise is design problem, sc only change bush. Not really know what is the root cause.

According sc, u can replace with normal battery, then I-stop, i-eloop won't function. But I rather pay, won't take the risk, unless proven.

The frustration we m3 owner face is bermaz didn't bring in any accessory or upgrade option. Even you can find it outside or oversea, it will void your warranty. Hopefully once m2 & m3 ckd will change this.

Overall Mazda not a problematic car, don't be too worry, enjoy your ride.
At least don't have VW DSG & Ford DCT problem. These are the reason i give up Jetta & Focus.
skywoon
post Mar 10 2015, 12:47 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(little-sama @ Mar 9 2015, 10:21 PM)
M3 FC, depend your right leg. My current avg is 7.6L/100km, didn't reset since I got my car half year ago.
I live in KL. Normal mirage is around 500+km/tank.
Past CNY I manage to achieved 750km/tank while I drove back kampung plus 1-2 hours traffic jam.
some other M3 owner achieved even lower avg than me.
To me ,it is considered very good FC for 2.0 NA car.

0.3586sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:58 PM