The New Mazda 2 SKYACTIV - v1.0, Zoom Zoom Kudo Design

sanadi
post Feb 10 2015, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(pizzy @ Feb 10 2015, 02:01 PM)
mazda 3 skyactiv & mazda 6 skyactiv also come with i-stop
m2 skyactiv spec showing 185/60 R16 (60 series), can we change to 185/55 R16 (55 series) which same with honda city?
60 series should be more comfort compare to 55 series  hmm.gif
185/60 R16 change to 185/55 R16 you get 3% speedo error.

185/60 r16 change to 205/55 R16 you get 0.9% speedo error.

http://tire-size-conversion.com/tire-size-calculator/
sanadi
post Feb 10 2015, 02:14 PM

QUOTE(sanadi @ Feb 10 2015, 02:12 PM)

But 205 mm width I believe would make the car more easy to aquaplane, which is a BAD thing.
Slizer
post Feb 10 2015, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(sanadi @ Feb 10 2015, 02:14 PM)
But 205 mm width I believe would make the car more easy to aquaplane, which is a BAD thing.
What is aquaplane?
terion
post Feb 10 2015, 02:37 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

Aquaplaning or hydroplaning by the tires of a road vehicle, aircraft or other wheeled vehicle occurs when a layer of water builds between the wheels of the vehicle and the road surface, leading to a loss of traction that prevents the vehicle from responding to control inputs. If it occurs to all wheels simultaneously, the vehicle becomes, in effect, an uncontrolled sled.

Aquaplaning is a different phenomenon from water on the roadway merely acting as a lubricant. Traction is diminished on wet pavement even when aquaplaning is not occurring

sos kicap: wikipedia

This post has been edited by terion: Feb 10 2015, 02:38 PM
terion
post Feb 10 2015, 02:40 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Feb 10 2015, 02:12 PM)

is there a 195/55/R16 size? lol tongue.gif
GulaV
post Feb 10 2015, 02:44 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Feb 10 2015, 02:40 PM)
is there a 195/55/R16 size? lol tongue.gif
Goodyear Excellence

Does this counts? tongue.gif
Slizer
post Feb 10 2015, 02:47 PM

QUOTE(terion @ Feb 10 2015, 02:37 PM)
Aquaplaning or hydroplaning by the tires of a road vehicle, aircraft or other wheeled vehicle occurs when a layer of water builds between the wheels of the vehicle and the road surface, leading to a loss of traction that prevents the vehicle from responding to control inputs. If it occurs to all wheels simultaneously, the vehicle becomes, in effect, an uncontrolled sled.

Aquaplaning is a different phenomenon from water on the roadway merely acting as a lubricant. Traction is diminished on wet pavement even when aquaplaning is not occurring

sos kicap: wikipedia
If we change rim then everything will be settle.
haha.

pizzy
post Feb 10 2015, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(sanadi @ Feb 10 2015, 02:14 PM)
205 can fit into 185 width rim?
terion
post Feb 10 2015, 02:55 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(GulaV @ Feb 10 2015, 02:44 PM)
Goodyear Excellence

Does this counts?  tongue.gif
ya should be closest to our ori size i think nod.gif

QUOTE(Slizer @ Feb 10 2015, 02:47 PM)
If we change rim then everything will be settle.
haha.
how does that solve aquaplaning? doh.gif

QUOTE(pizzy @ Feb 10 2015, 02:48 PM)
205 can fit into 185 width rim?
should be ok, just the tyre will bulge out a bit then normal
Slizer
post Feb 10 2015, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(terion @ Feb 10 2015, 02:55 PM)
ya should be closest to our ori size i think  nod.gif
how does that solve aquaplaning?  doh.gif
should be ok, just the tyre will bulge out a bit then normal
Not sure leh. Change rim and suitable tyre size will it solve the problem? Based on our tyre for our rim is very rare.

This post has been edited by Slizer: Feb 10 2015, 03:31 PM
breonwei
post Feb 10 2015, 03:50 PM

427 posts

Back to the tint question, base on your experience, which tint can effectively shield heat from the hot sun? Reading shows Huper Optik Ceramic 50 is not a good candidate for heat shield.

My current car is with Eco tint security tint (forgot which series) but it is damn good under hot sun. Can't feel the heat by putting my arm next to the window under hot sun.

However Mazda associated tint shop does not offer Eco tint.
terion
post Feb 10 2015, 03:59 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Slizer @ Feb 10 2015, 03:17 PM)
Not sure leh. Change rim and suitable tyre size will it solve the problem? Based on our tyre for our rim is very rare.
i think the tyre is the one that will make the biggest difference.

What sanadi meant about the aquaplaning is based on the fact that the wider the tyre, the easier for it to aquaplane. but also depends on the tyre pattern and brand in the end

QUOTE(breonwei @ Feb 10 2015, 03:50 PM)
Back to the tint question, base on your experience, which tint can effectively shield heat from the hot sun? Reading shows Huper Optik Ceramic 50 is not a good candidate for heat shield.

My current car is with Eco tint security tint (forgot which series) but it is damn good under hot sun. Can't feel the heat by putting my arm next to the window under hot sun.

However Mazda associated tint shop does not offer Eco tint.
ya i heard ECO not bad but i think nowadays tinting got for 2 purposes

1 is of cause to block out the sun ray, ultra violet light, etc... which is the primary reason to fix tint in the first place

the 2nd is security, which to me i think is more important that blocking out 99% of UV rays but of cause the darker the tint the better la tongue.gif

the problem is usually the security type tint, wont block out as much as a normal heat shield type tint

breonwei
post Feb 10 2015, 04:10 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Feb 10 2015, 03:59 PM)
i think the tyre is the one that will make the biggest difference.

What sanadi meant about the aquaplaning is based on the fact that the wider the tyre, the easier for it to aquaplane. but also depends on the tyre pattern and brand in the end
ya i heard ECO not bad but i think nowadays tinting got for 2 purposes

1 is of cause to block out the sun ray, ultra violet light, etc... which is the primary reason to fix tint in the first place

the 2nd is security, which to me i think is more important that blocking out 99% of UV rays but of cause the darker the tint the better la  tongue.gif

the problem is usually the security type tint, wont block out as much as a normal heat shield type tint
Totally agree. Security is a great concern considering crime rate is high. I didn't know Eco tint security film is such costly. I think I paid RM1100 last time after discount for my MPV. Will go back to the shop to get a quote for Mazda 2. Until today I still think Eco tint is doing a superb job. Will update again once I have the price & model for Eco tint.
sanadi
post Feb 10 2015, 04:15 PM

If you want Michelin for 195/55 R16, the only one available is Primacy HP. That one costs RM1001 a piece! GULP!

http://www.michelin.com.my/Products-Servic...Si=-1&sizeLi=-1

Other than Goodyear Excellence, any other suitable tyres?

This post has been edited by sanadi: Feb 10 2015, 04:17 PM
chinlail
post Feb 10 2015, 04:23 PM

128 posts

Proxes T1R by Toyo. Reviews not that good
terion
post Feb 10 2015, 04:34 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

breonwei, do keep us updated on the price thks

taking about tyres, what brand and model is the one factory fitted to our cars? i remember seeing it but cant recall the name
terion
post Feb 10 2015, 04:47 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Feb 10 2015, 04:15 PM)
If you want Michelin for 195/55 R16, the only one available is Primacy HP. That one costs RM1001 a piece! GULP!

http://www.michelin.com.my/Products-Servic...Si=-1&sizeLi=-1

Other than Goodyear Excellence, any other suitable tyres?
thats the SRP price, i believe if outside shop price should be cheaper

might be even cheaper if we do a group buy also or approach some tyre shop as a club to get more discount brows.gif
Slizer
post Feb 10 2015, 04:48 PM

Hey guys. Is ray tect cs75 good enough for out car? The spec is not as good as the price.
farmcow
post Feb 10 2015, 05:32 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Slizer @ Feb 10 2015, 04:48 PM)
Hey guys. Is ray tect cs75 good enough for out car? The spec is not as good as the price.
wad about 3m ? from car tint thread smile.gif

Hi Sir,

For front windscreen you can choose our 3M Ceramic 75 series which have no problem with smart tag. And the side using Nano series.

Spec for Ceramic 75
(72% VL Transmittance , 40% TSER, 44% IR Rejection, 99% UV Rejection, 19% Glare Reduction)

Spec for Nano 70
(66% VL Transmittance , 50% TSER, 97% IR Rejection, 99.9% UV Rejection, 22% Glare Reduction)

The one with smart tag issue will be crystalline series which have very high IR Rejection which cause Smart Tag that using Infrared to work. As you can see at below the IR rejection at 97%, so you have to compromise the heat rejection with slighly lower spec film so that smart tag can be work.

Spec for Crystalline 70
(68% VL Transmittance , 50% TSER, 97% IR Rejection, 99.9% UV Rejection, 22% Glare Reduction)

This post has been edited by farmcow: Feb 10 2015, 05:37 PM
s1steven
post Feb 10 2015, 09:46 PM

25 posts

Saw white sedan today, very nice back lamp

146 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled