Is the ASM still available tomorrow? Can ASM units be purchased online if there is an existing account?
AS1M, ASB, ASW,ASM,ASG,ASD
Apr 21 2009, 10:11 PM
74 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Is the ASM still available tomorrow? Can ASM units be purchased online if there is an existing account?
Apr 22 2009, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Apr 22 2009, 12:23 PM) I think sales have slowed down considerably because a lot of people invested their cash to the Sukuk and also the previous bond sale. Still got? Did u go in the morning?Just now I went to top up in Maybank, there wasn't even a queue. Just took a deposit slip and walk to the counter to do my business. 1 aunty was just opening an account beside me. Edit: Oh yeah, I notice an interest payment on the 1st of April in my book for ASM. Anyone knows whats that about? Is that the pro-rated interest payment? I started last Dec. |
Apr 22 2009, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(tysern @ Apr 22 2009, 02:18 PM) Hi, can anyone kindly help me out on this. I am a first time investor and I do not have any accounts with ASM/ ASM2020 whatsoever. You just need to open an account in order for u to purchase ASM/ASW units. To open an account, you need to go to their agents eg: RHB Bank, Pos M'sia etc n tell them u wanna open such an account. They'll give u a prescribed form to fill in. So far I heard they accept cash terms only. Someone is asking them to accept bank drafts. I'm unsure if this request has been passed though.I plan to invest some money this time, what are the procedures for me? Where can I open the account, When can I open the account, and do I have to bring all my investments in Cash Terms Only to the bank? Meaning on the day I open my account, do I have to bring the cash together at the same time? Can anyone enlighten me, Thanks. |
Apr 22 2009, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(tysern @ Apr 22 2009, 02:31 PM) Thanks. Right now I'm in a dilemma of how much to bring. You know like my dad told me, you better be careful. Just because you want to invest your money, it turns out into a huge tragedy, really not worth it man. Some more I'm investing the extra funds from my college education, very dangerous. Hehehe, this explains my initial question to another forummer about the timing he went. Coz I have a friend who tried to purchase during lunch just now but was told that it was sold out for non-bumi lots. Am not sure. You can call to enquire I guess. So, you can buy 100 units if it's still available or if not, there's a slim chance that u can wait for someone to sell it out n u buy it.Can I open today, provided they have 100 units left?, (100 in the initial investment right, or do I have to wait until they have 100 units to sell to me?) This post has been edited by sassy_chiq: Apr 22 2009, 02:45 PM |
Apr 22 2009, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Apr 22 2009, 02:46 PM) It is sold out for non bumi. I can confirmed. Went at 11am asked.. They say still have plenty. So I withdrawed my FD and go lined up like others > > Few minutes later they say all sold out for chinese quota > > Don't know indian still have or not. Oh, so it's confirmed then? How come so fast eh? I thought everyone banked into Sukuk earlier. 30% of RM3.3b = RM990m also can finish so fast ya? |
Apr 22 2009, 03:19 PM
Jul 21 2009, 10:17 AM
Still got units?
Added on July 21, 2009, 10:17 am QUOTE(winner @ Jul 21 2009, 10:15 AM) I've just got mine. So good. Which bank you went? What time to queue?Congratulations to those who have managed to grab some units of ASM today! This post has been edited by sassy_chiq: Jul 21 2009, 10:17 AM |
Jul 21 2009, 11:07 AM
So, is it safe to assume that there's higher chances at PNB office compared to post office n banks?
Jul 21 2009, 11:31 AM
Hm...banker's cheque...Must be a big sum u r buying.
Jul 21 2009, 12:29 PM
Yeahlor, I think still got la. But was at KJ Maybank...so slooow, many ppl go there I think, or the system slower than others? I dunno. :/
Jul 21 2009, 01:27 PM
Yay! Got mine done.
Anyone has any idea about this AS1M? It's like ASM/ASW or is it like sukuk where it is a bond? |
Jul 22 2009, 12:15 PM
ASM units sold out 2009/07/22 Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) has announced that all remaining Amanah Saham Malaysia (ASM) units have been sold out. The 1.6 billion units were part of the 3.33 billion additional ASM units announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak at the 2009 Malaysian Unit Trust Week in Johor Baru on April 20. Bumiputera investors were allocated 50 per cent, Chinese 30 per cent, Indians 15 per cent and the rest five per cent http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/art...icle/index_html This post has been edited by sassy_chiq: Jul 22 2009, 12:16 PM |
Jul 22 2009, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 01:00 PM) The return for ASW2020 was 1.00% higher than ASD in 2007.QUOTE Miles and More, your facts and figures are make sense. But the comparison between ASW and ASD shd not be compared according to fisical year, it shd be compared to financial year end. ASD financial year was at 30 june, whereas ASW is 31 Aug, in 2007 ASW outperform ASD because in the period of 30 Jun to 31 aug 2007, share market was booming, (bearing in mind that ASD/ASW are fixed price equity fund), so ASW performs better due to this booming period which was not covered by ASD. To see the actual performance it will be fair to see the performance in the same period of time, both funds need to be ended at the same FYE, only u can see the differences. Likewise, our share market is doing very good from 1 July 09 till todate, if the share market keep performs till 31 aug, FYE of ASW, then ASW could perform better than ASD. but in general i agree that not much difference in between ASM/ASW/ASD for the past few years. Since i am a non-bumi, so investing in ASD is out of my consideration, but it serves as an indication on the dividen going to be declared for ASW in the coming 31 Aug 09. In my opinion those 100% bumi owned fund will be perform better than the 51% bumi owned fund. Now ASM already released to non bumi, so bumi holding of ASM fund is now less than 51%, so i think ASM will not perform as good as other fund lor...... that is why if u are a bumi and have max your 200K limit in ASB, and u go to PNB, they will recomend u to buy ASD instead of ASW or ASM. This is solely my prediction, dont quote me for this, the answer will be coming on 31 Aug 09 for ASW or 31 March 2010 for ASM for the dividen declaration. i hope ASW/ASM can do better than ASD too. |
| Change to: | 0.0406sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:40 PM |