AS1M, ASB, ASW,ASM,ASG,ASD

aeiou228
post Apr 20 2009, 10:34 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 20 2009, 12:26 PM)
Maybank allows transfer from Maybank2U ---> ASB!!!! . edit: sry, asb only smile.gif

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif 

Finally!! I dont hv any reason to line up at the bank now biggrin.gif

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../INV-Investment

Make your additional ASB investment through M2U today!

Now M2U registered users can make additional ASB investment conveniently online. All you need is a valid ASB membership number and you will be able to add investment units for yourself and/or other third party accounts.
Amanah Saham Bumiputra only ?? ASM and ASW can or not ?
aeiou228
post Apr 21 2009, 03:34 PM

5,867 posts

A lot of people said ASM and ASW are good investment because of the high annual dividend yield and the "GUARANTEED" RM1 per unit par value. I followed the bandwagon today and invested in ASM today at Maybank. I asked the bank officer whether the ASM RM1 per unit par value is guaranteed or not and the bank officer said yes. I tried to search for the official statement from ASNB to reconfirm the claimed in the internet but to no avail. Can any one show me the link to the official statement that states ASM and ASW2020 RM1 per unit par value is guaranteed ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Apr 21 2009, 03:40 PM
aeiou228
post Apr 21 2009, 04:06 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(StupidZ @ Apr 21 2009, 03:49 PM)
Based on my understanding, as long as there are available units on the "market", then you can buy it.

However I'm not sure whether a person got any maximum limit to hold how many units as per each different type of Amanah Saham, does anyone know where can we find the information about this?
Example: if one of my friends want to sell of his ASM, can I go together with him, then

1. transfer his unit to me?

or

2. on the spot, he sell, then i buy?

Which one is possible?
1. Amanah Saham is not transferable.

2. Possible but not guaranty you can get it. It depend on the timing.
aeiou228
post Apr 21 2009, 09:47 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 21 2009, 03:34 PM)
A lot of people said ASM and ASW are good investment because of the high annual dividend yield and the "GUARANTEED" RM1 per unit par value. I followed the bandwagon today and invested in ASM today at Maybank. I asked the bank officer whether the ASM RM1 per unit par value is guaranteed or not and the bank officer said yes. I tried to search for the official statement from ASNB to reconfirm the claimed in the internet but to no avail. Can any one show me the link to the official statement that states ASM and ASW2020 RM1 per unit par value is guaranteed ?
No one can provide a link to confirm the above ?

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 21 2009, 05:03 PM)
Those people must be banging their head to the wall now. Since ASM has higher return potential  biggrin.gif  No offense.
Well not really. Sukuk and Amanah Saham are two different financial instruments altogether. Both have different characteristic in terms of ROI and risks. Sukuk guarantee 5% p.a. ROI for 3 years whereas ASM never guarantee ROI. Given the current economic situation, I wouldn't be surprise if ASM pays < 5 cents per unit next year. Thus, the possibility of SUKUK investors banging their head against the wall is very slim and it could be possibly the other way round.

aeiou228
post Apr 22 2009, 11:24 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 22 2009, 04:51 PM)
Malaysian Chinese are known to have huge cash reserves. It is not surprising at all.
I don't think that's the reason. The reason being the Chinese allocation is lesser and limited to few funds only whereas the Bumis can invest freely to all fund options from ASNB and the allocation is way larger than Chinese. That is why the take up rate for bumi allocation is slower.

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Apr 22 2009, 05:01 PM)
because they increase the maximum amount to RM20,000 from RM10,000 which effectively halves the number of people who can invest. Besides, they impose a 30% quota until 20th July, and that move restricts greatly the amount of units available.

Anyway, mark down the date in July.... after they remove the quota, you may invest again at that time. smile.gif

Added on April 22, 2009, 5:03 pm

Yea, malaysia government is literally borrowing from the chinese to finance their deficits.
I think as regard to ASNB or PNB, Bumi owns larger fund size than Chinese. Unless you are talking about income tax.

aeiou228
post Apr 23 2009, 05:39 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 23 2009, 02:40 PM)
Why can't they make the fund first come first served like Sukuk or BSM ? Quota system is so yesterday. Survival of the fittest. Early bird catches the worm.
QUOTE(soul2soul @ Apr 23 2009, 02:45 PM)
I think it's fair. you can see the amount of cash among the malays and indians... obviously not so much.... The government wants to give them time to buy also mah...

Give and take....
That's not fair ! Government can't do that. The purchase limit per account is fair and just in the spirit of equal distribution. If based on your suggestion of 1st come 1st served, It only takes a hand full of millionaires to wallop the whole funds within minutes. No chance for ordinary people be it malay, chinese or indian to invest.
Example if a retired businessman having RM20million laying in FD yielding only 2.5% p.a., he will be the 1st man waiting at ASNB/banks entrance door on 27th morning if there is no preset limit for him to invest into ASW.

aeiou228
post Apr 23 2009, 06:56 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(oumind @ Apr 23 2009, 05:45 PM)
Retired businessman with RM20million uses FD?  The person should engage a private banker.  There is many investment instruments  for high net worth individuals, e.g. hedge funds using various strategies.
There are such people my dear friend. Especially those not living in the big cities. And mind you, not all 'Malaysian' millionaires have access to fund managers nor their willingness to trust a non government backing fund Managers. Again, even a small numbers of low risk-tolerance millionaire will be enough to snatch up the ASW within minutes if it is not limited.
aeiou228
post Apr 25 2009, 11:42 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(cooldownguy86 @ Apr 25 2009, 07:16 AM)
hello all, i wanna ask if i can open ASW2020 account for other ppl (say my mom, so she don't need to go to the bank and queue). is there such a thing as a combined ASW2020 account (say 5 ppl in the family holding the same account)?

thanks!
Highly unlikely. Open account need applicant's thumb print. No join name account too.
aeiou228
post Apr 27 2009, 12:10 PM

5,867 posts

Went to bank at 9.00am got the queue no 42. Line was down till 10am and was limited to 1 counter for ASW only. Waited until 11.30am only queue no.7 was called. So left the bank 1st before going back again in the afternoon. Those came in later was told nombor sudah habis. If you plan to go during lunch hour, forget it. The banking hall was packed like sardine can.

Added on April 27, 2009, 12:11 pm
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Apr 27 2009, 12:08 PM)
haha.... just heard already sold out..... .really so many ppl grabbing....

drool.gif
Really ?? how reliable ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Apr 27 2009, 12:11 PM
aeiou228
post Apr 27 2009, 12:31 PM

5,867 posts

Just called my banker and was told non-bumi ASW allocation sold out. Wasted 3 hours for nothing today.
aeiou228
post Apr 27 2009, 01:07 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(tigeranne74 @ Apr 27 2009, 12:55 PM)
Just came back from Maybank Seremban 2.Chinese shares sold out at 11:55 just now.Queued outside d bank with my kids from 8:30.Got number 45.But after all that...we got nothing.So disappointing.We non bumis have to rush like herds of cows for our miserable allocation whilst the bumis can afford to look on calmly at us non 'princes n princesses' of this land sad.gif
That's the treatment for being non bumi or 2nd class citizen. You just can't blame them if they curse the government and how they wish to change a new government.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Apr 27 2009, 01:08 PM
aeiou228
post Apr 27 2009, 01:22 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 01:07 PM)
Don't be sucks being non-bumi coz non-bumi are more rich lol...
If I were you, I will never say this kind of statement publicly. The more non bumi self proclaimed they are richer, talented. superior, the better excuse for NEP to stay.
aeiou228
post Apr 28 2009, 11:53 AM

5,867 posts

Here is something to ponder

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...67178&sec=focus

Tuesday April 28, 2009
Make 1Malaysia more than mere slogan

OUR Prime Minister has come up with the 1Malaysia concept to provide a way forward for Malaysia so that we can remain competitive with other countries, especially our Asean neighbours.

The just announced scrapping of the 30% bumi equity quota for some service sub-sectors should bring in new investment, new technology and new management expertise from foreign and local investor for the benefit of all Malaysians.

However, the recent ASM investment scheme along racial quota is a slap in the face for all Malaysians who think 1Malaysia is a marked change in government policies.

We can all live with ASN and ASB which are for bumis only as a scheme of social restructuring.

However, ASM has provided an avenue for all Malaysians to pull their financial resources for the development of the country.

The allotted Chinese quota has all been snapped up on the second day of the launch, while the other quotas have been poorly subscribed. Why do we still impose racial quotas when we need the financial resources of all Malaysians to get through this global turmoil?

Remove the quota and let all Malaysians help pull the country out from the mess created by the developed nations.

Let 1Malaysia be a reality and not just a slogan.

PROUD MALAYSIAN,

Penang.

aeiou228
post Jul 22 2009, 10:42 PM

5,867 posts

May I know if I already have RM20K in ASM, bought in the earlier tranche, Can I top up RM20K to RM40K in next ASM tranche ?
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2009, 11:57 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:20 PM)
MilesAndMore,

There is NO SUCH THING as pure Chinese to begin with.  Especially, if your ancestor are from Southern China. None of the Southern Chinese are pure Chinese genetically.

Dreamer
shakehead.gif shakehead.gif None of the millions of southern chinese in Yunnan, Guangxi, Guangdong and Hainan are HAN Chinese doh.gif doh.gif ?? Very interesting !! Care to explain how you know there are not pure Han Chinese GENETICALLY ??? I thought there are billion of people in China and majority of them are Han ??

aeiou228
post Aug 1 2009, 10:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 1 2009, 05:41 PM)
Eh, i have always thought it's either Singapore or Hong Kong. I know so far Hong Kong is still preferable for some reason  smile.gif
Thought it is a capital protected fund with price of each unit fixed at RM1.00 ? No ?
Stay away from AS1M fund. I can't find capital guaranteed nor capital protected clause in the prospectus. Maybe help me to double check again.
AS1M Prospectus
aeiou228
post Aug 2 2009, 09:35 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbinn2008 @ Aug 2 2009, 12:21 AM)
It's not capital guaranteed fund. See the clause below in it's propectus.

7.1.1 Determination of Prices and Charges
The buying and selling price of AS 1Malaysia unit is fixed at RM1.00. However, AS 1Malaysia is not a
capital guaranteed fund as defined under the Guidelines.
Thanks...... rclxms.gif

bbinn2008, can you please find out the capital guaranteed clause for ASM and ASW also ??

BTW, is there anyway to search the content of a pdf file ? Ctrl+F doesn't work on .pdf.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 2 2009, 09:44 AM
aeiou228
post Aug 2 2009, 02:13 PM

5,867 posts

Good analysis, vergas nod.gif rclxms.gif

But ASM n ASW don't have maturity date, do they ? Even bank officers and newspaper claimed ASM and ASW are capital guaranteed at RM1. No one yet in this forum can substantiate this argument with a link to an official source.
aeiou228
post Aug 2 2009, 02:50 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bbinn2008 @ Aug 2 2009, 02:18 PM)
No capital guaranteed clause in ASM and ASW as well.
Does the ASM, ASW prospectus states similar clause as in 7.1.1 ??
aeiou228
post Aug 3 2009, 01:33 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Aug 3 2009, 11:52 AM)
Interest no guarantees or whatsoever.

Although it specifically said in the prospectus that it will always trade in RM1 per unit meaning prices won't drop. But it also says it is not capital guaranteed as per guidelines. Not sure if it is possible to get a negative interest (charges) on your account if the year is bad.

I wouldn't classify it as risky as normal unit trust out there though which fluctuates daily and eat into your capital.
sweat.gif got ar ??? mana ? mana ? which section ?

0.4880sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:40 PM