QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jul 9 2009, 12:03 PM)
Bumi lot is sold out. I'm kind of surprised that bumi lot for ASM is sold out but not ASW2020 AS1M, ASB, ASW,ASM,ASG,ASD
AS1M, ASB, ASW,ASM,ASG,ASD
Jul 9 2009, 02:35 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Jul 17 2009, 12:44 AM
Jul 17 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jul 17 2009, 10:09 AM) I'm a Chinese and have never dealt with ASM before. Is there a lock-in period for this investment? Or is it redeemable at any time? No lock-in period. You may cash out anytime you want.QUOTE(yccheok @ Jul 17 2009, 01:58 PM) So far, everyone is speaking that, ASW and ASM is capital gurantee. However, when I go through the PNB, they do not have a black and white mentioning this. Can anyone provide some black and white information regarding this? Or this is just a rumuor? Please check the unit price. It is FIXED at RM1. Just like those capital guaranteed trusts offered by Public Mutual.By the way guys, the RM1.6 billion ASM to go on sale to all Malaysian is not additional fund as reported by Bernama news agency but the remaining unsold Bumiputra units. Chinese and Indian units are all sold out and there are still RM1.6 billion left for Bumiputra units. This was reported on yesterday's STAR newspaper. QUOTE(VyvernS @ Jul 15 2009, 05:33 PM) ASM to release further units for purchase on 21 July This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 17 2009, 02:13 PMhttp://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...icle/index_html |
Jul 18 2009, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Jul 18 2009, 02:40 PM) Can i open a new account at post offices ? Yes. You can. QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Jul 18 2009, 02:40 PM) And if i decide to go maybank, can i simply go to any random branch to buy it ? Or only certain branch ? ? All Maybank branches are ASNB agent. So you can buy ASM at any Maybank branches nationwide. Same to CIMB Bank and RHB Bank. Good luck !This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 18 2009, 02:45 PM |
Jul 20 2009, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(gstrapinuse @ Jul 20 2009, 08:15 AM) Any news about how many percent of ASM indian units left? Sold out as reported by several news agencies last week. Only Bumi units left. Still got RM1.6 billion unsubscribed as of Thursday last week. |
Jul 21 2009, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(ayumiya @ Jul 21 2009, 09:03 AM) post office here didnt sell ASM, they only handle ASNB,ASB Erm ... ASM is part of ASNB. |
Jul 21 2009, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 21 2009, 03:17 PM) It isn't an issue to let the ASM agent (bank) to have a copy of your IC. It’s the procedure. It doesn’t matter whether you cross it or not. Exactly my thought. Every commercial banks will keep a copy of our MyKad carbon copy when opening an account with them. I do not get the rationale to cross the MyKad photostat copy either. QUOTE(gstrapinuse @ Jul 21 2009, 03:51 PM) The RHB Bank branch i went to just now was full with people.QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jul 21 2009, 04:05 PM) No. It won't.QUOTE(gstrapinuse @ Jul 21 2009, 04:08 PM) Not normally. In fact it won't be open to non-bumi because of the quota system. Anyway, was told Billions of Ringgit of ASW2020 units for Bumiputra still available.QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 21 2009, 05:00 PM) Most likely those aunties are housewives and the uncles have to work. QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 21 2009, 06:00 PM) Yes. 100% got. Just that it won't be in the full amount of the dividend declared.QUOTE(winner @ Jul 21 2009, 06:28 PM) The financial year of ASM ends 31st March, and dividend payout of x% will be declared on yearly basis after the financial year ends. How could you expect to receive the dividend if the financial year has not ended and dividend payout has not been announced yet? A bit confused now. I’ve never sold my units before so I don’t have the 1st hand experience. Perhaps those who have done this before could enlighten us. She will only receive the dividend after 31st March.This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 21 2009, 06:30 PM |
Jul 21 2009, 06:55 PM
Jul 22 2009, 12:10 AM
I first went to the newly opened RHB Islamic Bank in KWSP Building here in downtown Kota Kinabalu but was told they do not do ASNB transaction there. It was already 9.20am then. There is another two Maybank nearby. One Maybank Islamic branch just across the street and another Maybank in Maybank building, just one block away but both were already flooded with people. Decided to try my luck at another RHB Bank branch in Lintas, about 10 minutes away from downtown KK and i got number 49 when i got there. Was told they are giving out 50 numbers for those wish to top-up and another 50 numbers for those who want to open an ASM account. Well, at least still got number for me ...
Transaction done at 11.30pm This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 22 2009, 12:12 AM |
Jul 22 2009, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 22 2009, 10:36 AM) Actually, just wondering... why would bumis buy ASW or ASM when they have ASB? Unless they already reach max 200k for ASB. Quite obvious isn't it ? QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 10:45 AM) they also have another option which is ASD (didik), which only opened for BUMI subscribers. From the historical perfromance, ASD is seconded to ASB and perform better than ASW/ ASM, and there is no max investment limit for ASD, unit price fixed at RM1/unit too. Not quite true. The return of ASD is more or less the same as ASW2020/ASM. See below :ASW2020 2006 - 6.80% 2007 - 8.00% 2008 - 7.00% ASM 2006 - 6.80% 2007 - 7.80% 2008 - 6.25% ASD (strictly for Bumiputra) 2006 - 6.80% 2007 - 7.00% 2008 - 7.00% ASB (strictly for Bumiputra) 2006 - 7.30% + bonus 1.25% 2007 - 8.00% + bonus 1.00% 2008 - 7.00% + bonus 1.75% **Please not that each investor will only get the full bonus if he/she have the same amount of units in the last 10 years. QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:43 AM) In my personal opinion ASB is mainly to help Malays/BUMIs, so as ASD which only open for BUMI subscription, so these 2 funds will be always outperform the other products of PNB. ASB maybe but not ASD. QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:43 AM) The recently annouced ASD return was 6.3%p.a. for the financial year end 30 Jun 09, so i dont think ASW/ASM will perform better than the 6.3% benchmark for the coming financial year. the next ASW FYE will be at 31 Aug 2009, and ASM will be at 31 March 2010. Please refer above. The return for ASW2020 was 1.00% higher than ASD in 2007.This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 22 2009, 12:40 PM |
Jul 22 2009, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 01:00 PM) Since i am a non-bumi, so investing in ASD is out of my consideration, but it serves as an indication on the dividen going to be declared for ASW in the coming 31 Aug 09. In my opinion those 100% bumi owned fund will be perform better than the 51% bumi owned fund. Now ASM already released to non bumi, so bumi holding of ASM fund is now less than 51%, so i think ASM will not perform as good as other fund lor...... In my case they did not push me into buying ASD. As a Sabahan Bumiputra with Chinese surname, we need to get a special letter from Jabatan Hal Ehwal Negeri to prove that we are legitimate Bumiputra. I am now currently waiting for a letter from them for ASW2020 to confirm that i'm a Bumiputra so i can buy the Bumiputra units that is why if u are a bumi and have max your 200K limit in ASB, and u go to PNB, they will recomend u to buy ASD instead of ASW or ASM. |
Jul 22 2009, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 22 2009, 02:26 PM) Converting to Muslim doesn't make one a Bumiputra. Under the Malaysian constitution, Kadazan/Dusun and Sino-Kadazan are both legitimate Bumiputra. This was one of the terms agreed when Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore joined the federation of Malaysia in 1963.So the question is how can one be a Sino-Kadazan ? When a Chinese marry a Kadazan, their children will be automatically become Sino-Kadazan. There was dispute that the JPN (Jabatan Pendaftaran) doesn't recognize a Sino-Kadazan bearing Chinese surname as Malaysian Bumiputra. This was reported in Star Newspaper many times in year 2007 and 2008 and also about the case that Sino-Kadazan bearing Chinese surname being denied to open an ASB account. Sino-Kadazan also complained that they were being denied all the Bumiputra privileges such as 5% - 7% discount when buying a house in the Peninsular Malaysia as the JPN in Peninsular Malaysia denied their status as Malaysian Bumiputra. This is however, all solved now. I strongly suggest all Sino-Kadazan out there to check the information stored in their MyKad chip. Make sure your status is written as Sino/Native and NOT Chinese. Just an example who is Sino-Kadazan : Scenario A : Chinese father + Kadazan/Dusun mother = Sino-Kadazan children Scenario B : Kadazan/Dusun father + Chinese mother = Sino-Kadazan children Scenario C : Sino-Kadazan father** + Sino-Kadazan mother** = Sino-Kadazan children **(with Chinese surname or not) Scenario D : Sino-Kadazan father** + Chinese mother = Sino-Kadazan children **(with Chinese surname or not) Scenario E : Chinese father + Sino-Kadazan mother** = Sino-Kadazan children **(with Chinese surname or not) The list above was sent out to media and all relevant departments from Putrajaya in late 2007. QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 02:34 PM) for sabahan bumi u need to get the Bumiputera certificate from the ANAK NEGERI in your kampung, then u can submit to PNB. Surat Anak Negeri was frozen long before i was born (i was born in the late 80s) because there are too many fake Surat Anak Negeri circulating. Surat Anak Negeri can also be bought easily back in the 70s. Most likely your colleague was born before 1982 or else there is no way that she got the Surat Anak Negeri. Majority of Sino-Kadazan do bear a Chinese surname. It is actually very easy to spot a fake Sino-Kadazan. Those old Sino-Kadazan born before World War 2, in the 60s and 70s speak Malay as their first language at home, despite being English or Chinese educated. Sino-Kadazan from some inner parts of Sabah address their parents in Hokkien but speak only Malay with their parents. My mom for example, was Chinese educated in primary school and English educated in secondary school but speak only Malay with her parents and siblings. QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 02:34 PM) My colleague she has the same scenerio as u, and she got it approved after submitting the cert from anak negeri, now she can invest in all funds available by PNB, with the ASN passbook she can also get bumi 7% discount for buying property. Actually one only needs to make sure his/her race recorded in JPN is Sino/Native then he/she will be able to get a 7% bumiputra discount when buying property in the Peninsular Malaysia. I have had an ASB account since 2002 but in order for me to buy the Bumiputra units of ASW2020, i need another official letter from Jabatan Hal Ehwal Negeri despite what is recorded as my race in JPN. It's been 4 months since i submitted all the documents but i have yet to hear from them. Talking about Wawasan 2020 ... DUH ! We're still far from there ! This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 22 2009, 05:15 PM |
Jul 22 2009, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 22 2009, 06:31 PM) Hey, thanks for the infos. Really opened up my mind on the status, coz im not too sure bout that before. U did mention you have a chinese surname, meaning to say ur father is a chinese, right? But u also stated that your mum is a chinese? So actually both of your parents are sino-kadazan, but actually they are chinese? As long as they are born as a sino-kadazan (no matter both parents are chinese or indians) as long as they have the status, they're bumiputras, right? No. Neither of my parents are Chinese. They are part Chinese but NOT pure Chinese. They are both Sino-Kadazan. Both bearing Chinese surname. One of their ancestors from long time ago have got to be pure Chinese. There is where the Chinese surname came from. My great-grandfather from my father's side is a pure Chinese. There is however, no trace of pure Chinese family member from my mother's side. My great-great-grandfather from my mother's side is a Japanese. He married my great-great-grandmother, a Sino-Kadazan girl then in Jesselton (now known as Kota Kinabalu). My great-grandmother (the daughter of this Japanese guy and my great-great-grandmother) then married a Sino-Kadazan guy, which make their children, my grandmother being one of them a rightful Sino-Kadazan. Then again, my grandmother married a Sino-Kadazan guy (my grandfather) several years after world war 2 ended. There is where our Sino-Kadazan blood came from. I hope it's not too confusing There is no such thing as Indian Kadazan. I mean there are indeed Indian marrying Kadazan here in Sabah but their children won't qualify for Bumiputra status. QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jul 22 2009, 06:31 PM) How bout if a sino-kadazan married a muslim, does the children considered sino-kadazan also or bumiputra muslim??? I am not too sure about this one. The religion has got to be Muslim for sure This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 22 2009, 07:41 PM |
Jul 22 2009, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 22 2009, 08:40 PM) The Bumi discount rate is determined by the Statement Government. Therefore, the discount rates vary in different states. For example, developers in Johor need to give 15% discount to Bumi buyers for its residential properties, as opposed to KL 5%, Selangor 7% and Penang 5%. In Sabah we get NOTHING. Yes. I mean no discount at all. They only say that 30% of the houses on sale will be reserved for Bumiputra QUOTE(winner @ Jul 22 2009, 08:40 PM) It's sad to hear that our government imposes such restriction on Sabahan/Sarawakian Bumi. But hey...why do you need ASW2020 since you can buy ASB. You've probably maximised your purchase limit for ASB? Hahaha QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:56 PM) i wonder why is that happened? my mom is a bumiputra from Kedah (as my grandpa is Kedah-born-Siamese), she has ASB account since 1990s, Sorry but your mom is not a Bumiputra. She is able to invest in ASB because she belongs to the minority group. As stated in the ASNB website, Siam, Portuguese and Mualaf can invest in ALL ASNB funds but they are NOT Bumiputra. Please refer to the website attached below : ASNB ELIGIBILITY QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:56 PM) she can open ASW/ASD easily without any restrition by just showing the ASB passbook, if they can recognise your status when u open the ASB I wonder why this happened? I have another ex-colleague, being a Malaccan-Portugese, he can also open ASD by just showing ASB passbook. Now they have new rules? When i opened my ASB account back in 2002, i was asked to submit all supporting documents that i'm a legit Sino-Kadazan to the nearest PNB office and they will forward the documents to KL HQ for verification. The whole process took about one month.As said earlier, having an ASB account doesn't necessarily mean one is a Malaysian Bumiputra. Those minorities (Siam, Portuguese and Mualaf) mentioned above are good example. Anyways, we were told that they have standardized the process to open any Bumiputra only ASNB accounts and we must get the official letter from Jabatan Hal Ehwal Negeri since last year. QUOTE(lurkermcnugget @ Jul 22 2009, 10:22 PM) btw, anyone of you out there that are fake bumiputera...eEEEZzzzzzzzzzzzZZ, just say the magic word..AraMAIIIIITIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!! Being able to say "aramaiti" is not enough. Besides, most young Sino-Kadazan nowadays can't speak any Kadazan/Dusun at all. Even back in the old days, Malay has always been the first language for Sino-Kadazan family. Even many young Kadazan nowadays aren't Kadazan/Dusun literate. QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 22 2009, 10:30 PM) Well, PNB was initially set up to help Bumi/Malays, the 1st 2 funds of PNB namely ASB and ASN, was 100% for Bumi, ASN was the first ever fund from PNB and you are right. It was 100% for Bumi then and ASN was a capital protected fund too. ASB was introduced in the early 90s.This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 22 2009, 10:43 PM |
Jul 23 2009, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(liez @ Jul 22 2009, 11:30 PM) Newspaper or TV news will do too.QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:20 PM) There is NO SUCH THING as pure Chinese to begin with. Especially, if your ancestor are from Southern China. None of the Southern Chinese are pure Chinese genetically. It is my way to differentiate local Chinese with Sino-Kadazan. I do not know where did you get this information that Chinese from the Southern China are not pure Chinese as my friend who studied about the Chinese culture and went to China just to study everything about Chinese did not know this. Even history shows that Korean and Japanese were all once Chinese and their ancestors came from the mainland. Anyway, we have gone off-topic too far QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:57 PM) This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 23 2009, 12:21 AM |
Jul 23 2009, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jul 23 2009, 08:04 AM) There are DISTINCT feature different between Northern and Southern Chinese. And, among Southern Chinese, Hakka is the most recent group that migrated south. So, they retain more of the Han's feature. I couldn't spot any difference between between Northern and Southern Chinese. But mainland Chinese and overseas Chinese are sure different in feature and all. Anyway, Chinese nowadays are collectively referred as Han Chinese and am proud of it. HAN Sorry for going OT QUOTE(plc255 @ Jul 23 2009, 10:55 AM) The capital protected feature of this fund can be changed, should PNB have a reason to (for politic or whatever reason). True. ASN was fixed at RM1 per unit. And this was replace by ASB in the early 90s. All original ASN account holders receive a notice from PNB to switch their account to ASB.I might be too young to know, but once upon a time, ASN is a FIXED price scheme like ASM / ASW2020 / ASB today. They floated the price in 1 Jan 1991. Today, ASN is a floating price scheme, and price move along with the KLSE market. QUOTE(qsil @ Jul 23 2009, 06:56 AM) hey guys....can somebody go back to the investment thread topic.....blow water until wat pure chinese ...sino kadazan.....a bit way off la QUOTE(tachlio @ Jul 23 2009, 07:45 AM) You all a bit OT ady, here is discuss about ASB, ASW ETC, non regarding the bumi or non-bumi issue, It is related in a way. About who is eligible to invest in AS(X) and who's not. Know your rights please other other thread to discuss about that This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 23 2009, 11:43 AM |
Jul 23 2009, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 23 2009, 11:51 AM) Worst come to worst, if one fine day, PNB declare 4% or less for ASB/ASW/ASM then u are free to withdraw and put in in other investment instrument, as they do not have lock-in period. Many capital protected products in the market only "guarantee the capital " when u hold the products till the maturity say 3-5 years. PNB fixed price products do not have this restriction. I for one will be one of the first to withdraw all my investment in PNB when that day comes QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 23 2009, 11:51 AM) This is some of my toughts anybody can shares if u know any investment have better return and as safe as these products? There are many investments schemes that can provide better return but sadly these investment schemes are off limit to average joes like us |
Jul 27 2009, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jul 27 2009, 08:17 PM) What i am trying to say is that if u check ASW brochures, it is stated 51% for bumi, and 49% for non bumi. When they offered 2 billion additional units in April 2009, non bumi unit which is (49%) 998million sold out in 4 hours, whereas bumi unit (51%) 1.02 billion still not fully sold till to date, and PNB is not planning to release the unsold bumi lots to non bumi, but i guess bumi will slowly buying up the unsold units as ASW is the 2nd /3rd options fund after ASB. I was told that billions of Bumiputra ASW2020 units still available |
Aug 1 2009, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(snowcrash @ Aug 1 2009, 01:11 AM) Personally, my escape route is much further south... Eh, i have always thought it's either Singapore or Hong Kong. I know so far Hong Kong is still preferable for some reason QUOTE(potatoes @ Aug 1 2009, 12:16 PM) Thought it is a capital protected fund with price of each unit fixed at RM1.00 ? No ? |
Aug 4 2009, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Aug 4 2009, 02:09 PM) Early January if my memory serves me correctly. Usually you will only get the interest credited to your account in mid-January. Normally i go to the bank to update my passbook around 25 - 30 January every year.This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 4 2009, 02:41 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0434sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:08 PM |