HSI Heatsink for the 6600GT AGP, VF700CU + 6600GT AGP

TSLittleGhost
post Oct 1 2006, 08:33 AM, updated 20y ago

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Hello guys, refering to this site

http://www.zalman.co.kr/product/cooler/FS-V7_6600GT_eng.html

i will need a HSI heatsink for my card in order for the 66GT to work properly with the VF700CU

But the thing is, i don't have one since my stock cooler intergrates the HSI heatsink.

So judging by the pictures from the site, since the HSI sink seems pretty "uneffective", can i replace the sink with a decent Copper Ramsink?

Thank You
Rlhh
post Oct 1 2006, 12:17 PM

1,159 posts

You can replace it as long as you find a heatsink that fits properly.
TSLittleGhost
post Oct 1 2006, 03:30 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Rlhh @ Oct 1 2006, 12:17 PM)
You can replace it as long as you find a heatsink that fits properly.
but the copper ram sinks are "tiny"

will it cool down the HSI properly?

I am also thinking of soldering three ram sinks together to make a larger one. Will it work?

Thanks!
PowerSlide
post Oct 1 2006, 04:46 PM

----------
6,035 posts

the HSI is HOOOOOOOOOOOT!

if u can DIY try make it larger so can dissapate heat better but how u gona mount it?
evilnickwong
post Oct 1 2006, 04:54 PM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

If you mean copper BGA RAMsinks, then those are probably a little small. Not to mention using thermal tape is not very good.
TSLittleGhost
post Oct 1 2006, 05:21 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 1 2006, 04:46 PM)
the HSI is HOOOOOOOOOOOT!

if u can DIY try make it larger so can dissapate heat better but how u gona mount it?
the V1100 turns the card upside down, so i'll just let the gravitational force do the job

What do you guys think of it?
Rlhh
post Oct 1 2006, 05:35 PM

1,159 posts

but by soldering can you solder a perfect small solder? I'm wondering if the solder will effect the performance of the ramsinks if not done properly.

By just using gravity to do the job is even worst. You can try mounting it by using arctic silver epoxy if you don't mind it sticking there forever.

Edit : wait a second, does your 6600GT looks exactly same as the picture above? If yes just cut two small holes on the side and use back the pushpins to hold the heatsink that your going to use.

This post has been edited by Rlhh: Oct 1 2006, 05:39 PM
mADmAN
post Oct 1 2006, 05:36 PM

10,530 posts

i say get urself an old processor heatsink and cut it up to fit on to the HSI. as for mounting... mebbe u could try using 3m thermal tape to make it stick to the HSI chip although im sure AS5 would be better, only thing is the mounting wil be an issue... its may be fine if u leave ur case alone...but what if u move it? or bump into it?

also, i doubt gravity alone wold be sufficient to put pressure onto the chip.
PowerSlide
post Oct 1 2006, 07:52 PM

----------
6,035 posts

i dun think dat will do a great job..w/o the pressure contact wont be good

wat brand is ur 66gt?
TSLittleGhost
post Oct 2 2006, 02:49 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Rlhh @ Oct 1 2006, 05:35 PM)
but by soldering can you solder a perfect small solder? I'm wondering if the solder will effect the performance of the ramsinks if not done properly.

By just using gravity to do the job is even worst. You can try mounting it by using arctic silver epoxy if you don't mind it sticking there forever.

Edit : wait a second, does your 6600GT looks exactly same as the picture above? If yes just cut two small holes on the side and use back the pushpins to hold the heatsink that your going to use.
yes the 66GT looks the same as the picture above.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 1 2006, 05:36 PM)
i say get urself an old processor heatsink and cut it up to fit on to the HSI. as for mounting... mebbe u could try using 3m thermal tape to make it stick to the HSI chip although im sure AS5 would be better, only thing is the mounting wil be an issue... its may be fine if u leave ur case alone...but what if u move it? or bump into it?

also, i doubt gravity alone wold be sufficient to put pressure onto the chip.
The initial plan was to use my old Pentium MMX heatsink with a strip of thermal tape, but i'm afraid it might be a little too big.

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 1 2006, 07:52 PM)
i dun think dat will do a great job..w/o the pressure contact wont be good

wat brand is ur 66gt?
My brand of 66GT is the Galaxy 6600GT AGP.

I'm still searching for HSI heatsinks from cards like 6200 and 6600 series.
PowerSlide
post Oct 2 2006, 04:47 PM

----------
6,035 posts

den is better source for the zalman hsi sink..dun pray pray wid it..can get burning hot
TSLittleGhost
post Oct 2 2006, 04:50 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 2 2006, 04:47 PM)
den is better source for the zalman hsi sink..dun pray pray wid it..can get burning hot
i don't have much choice really for the moment sad.gif

The 66GT's Heatsink fan is about to fail any moment now. I have to find a proper cooling before it fails miserably. All the stupid luck i have sad.gif
PowerSlide
post Oct 2 2006, 05:05 PM

----------
6,035 posts

find some old sink den cut, grind n drill n use ziptees!!!
sHawTY
post Oct 2 2006, 09:54 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Since the webbie says u should use a HSI, then go with it la... rclxms.gif

Should give u much much lower temperature then what u're having right now... wink.gif
Rlhh
post Oct 3 2006, 05:37 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 2 2006, 09:54 PM)
Since the webbie says u should use a HSI, then go with it la... rclxms.gif

Should give u much much lower temperature then what u're having right now... wink.gif
He wasn't asking whether he needed to use a HSI or not, he was asking if there was any alternative.

Back to the question, like I said earlier, get a heatsink and cut it to the right side then drill two holes at the side to use the pushpins to stick the heatsink to the card.
mADmAN
post Oct 3 2006, 06:41 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Rlhh @ Oct 3 2006, 05:37 PM)
Back to the question, like I said earlier, get a heatsink and cut it to the right side then drill two holes at the side to use the pushpins to stick the heatsink to the card.
thats the problem dude... his ori heatsink has the HSI sinks integrated with the core sinks. which means only 2 mounting holes and that would have been taken up by the VF700. mouting any HSI sinks on it would be a pain since u cant really secure it.

which is why i mentioned 3m thermal tape earlier. get an old heatsink and cut it up to size... then use the 3m thermal tape to help keep it in place.
sHawTY
post Oct 3 2006, 11:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 3 2006, 06:41 PM)
thats the problem dude... his ori heatsink has the HSI sinks integrated with the core sinks. which means only 2 mounting holes and that would have been taken up by the VF700. mouting any HSI sinks on it would be a pain since u cant really secure it.

which is why i mentioned 3m thermal tape earlier. get an old heatsink and cut it up to size... then use the 3m thermal tape to help keep it in place.
Hey madman, maybe u can help him out on doing that... icon_idea.gif

Good idea isn't it? wink.gif
Rlhh
post Oct 4 2006, 07:44 PM

1,159 posts

No offence madman, but can you read the post above?

I asked whether its the SAME as the one in the picture. The one in the pictures uses PUSHPINS to secure its HSI heatsink.

If the original heatsink intergrates with the GPU cooler it doesn't mean there wont be a hole for the extra HSI cooler.
TSLittleGhost
post Oct 5 2006, 06:14 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Successfully installed the VF700ALCU onto my Galaxy 6600GT. The HSI Heatsink used is from an old MMX processor's Heatsink. I cut it into half.

Stressed using ATI Tool, Idle around 45C, Load under 68C, Running at 5V Constantly.

Thank you guys, you guys had been great help.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Oct 5 2006, 08:42 PM
PowerSlide
post Oct 5 2006, 07:02 PM

----------
6,035 posts

dats very good looking

how u secure it in place?

TSLittleGhost
post Oct 5 2006, 08:38 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 5 2006, 07:02 PM)
dats very good looking

how u secure it in place?
temporary insulated wires.

They'll work fine, except that the zip ties probably work better. I'm still looking for those finer ones, the ones i have are too big sad.gif

0.0224sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:57 AM