Windows 10 for Phone, Now available for download

ameri
post Jan 23 2015, 11:19 AM

484 posts

I can see the design is inconsistent across the OS.
The title bar (the top portion of an app) design is vary even by Microsoft app. Just compare Phone and Outlook from the image above and you'll know what I mean.

However the other addition is of course nice. thumbup.gif
ameri
post Feb 14 2015, 06:51 AM

484 posts

somehow B looks more elegant, flatter and modern hmm.gif
i prefer B.
but that would be nice if it's a little bit bigger.

those who've update their phone, feed us more screenshot please! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ameri: Feb 14 2015, 06:54 AM
ameri
post Feb 14 2015, 02:36 PM

484 posts

nice! thumbup.gif

ameri
post Feb 16 2015, 03:10 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(jonrulezz @ Feb 16 2015, 11:06 AM)
Anyone here with a supported W10 device willing to give me their PhoneManufacturerModelName? Its in the extras+info in the settings app under Manufacturer Name. And also the mobile operator, just in case. Curious 1520 user here wanna try it out hehheheh.
not yet available for 1520. you have to wait more. laugh.gif
ameri
post Feb 18 2015, 08:21 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Feb 17 2015, 09:35 AM)
Lumia 720 is not supported. I thought all wp8.1 is upgradable?

Feel like wanna cry like this.

Or they're still working on it?
wait for it. eventually it will come to your phone.
ameri
post Apr 28 2015, 12:26 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Apr 24 2015, 08:26 PM)
I'm not in favour of hamburgers and other controls at the top of the screen. The new Outlook Mail is not one-handed friendly.
i guess we need to get accustom to it. or don't update at all. biggrin.gif
ameri
post Jul 13 2015, 10:05 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jul 12 2015, 01:14 PM)
How did you upgrade from windows 8 to 10? Are whatsapp, instagram and other apps working?
You can start here. Just follow the steps.
https://insider.windows.com/Home/Index
ameri
post Jul 24 2015, 10:26 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 24 2015, 08:58 AM)
just saw this leaked news for upcoming Lumia phones...

Microsoft's Cityman and Talkman flagship Lumia phones and what you need to know
http://www.windowscentral.com/microsoft-ci...ip-full-details

have to say... the 950XL has gotten me quite interested. can't wait to see what comes out of it... I just love "pen" technology... smile.gif
Yup.
To sums it up,
Talkman (Lumia 950):

- Matte White or black polycarbonate body
- 5.2 inch WQHD (1440x2560) OLED display
- Snapdragon 808, 64-bit Hexa core
- Iris scanner (infrared) for Windows Hello
- 3GB of RAM
- 32GB of internal storage with a microSD card slot
- 20MP PureView rear camera
- 5MP Wide-angle front facing camera
- 3000 mAh removable battery
- Qi wireless charging with flip cover
- USB Type-C
Cityman (Lumia 950 XL):

-Matte White or black polycarbonate body
-5.7 inch WQHD (1440x2560) OLED display
-Snapdragon 810, 64-bit Octa core
-Iris scanner (infrared) for Windows Hello
-3GB of RAM
-32GB of internal storage with a microSD card slot
-20MP PureView rear camera with triple LED flash
-1mm silver ring inside the circumference of the black camera pod
-Aluminum side buttons
-5MP Wide-angle front facing camera
-3300 mAh removable battery
-Qi wireless charging integrated
-USB Type-C

Iris scanner is a new technology in smartphone business. Excited to see how will this turned up.
Plus it is a good move to have implement removable battery on flagship device while others ditch it.
Can't wait for December to come!

This post has been edited by ameri: Jul 24 2015, 10:30 AM
ameri
post Jul 24 2015, 04:56 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 24 2015, 01:30 PM)
ya, the two things that came off as a surprise (but good one) -- battery and microSD. battery... i dun really bother much these days since we got power banks. but, it's still good coz based on what i read, Windows 10 will be the 'last' Windows. after that, it will be just patches and updates. so, possibly, as long as hardware can take it, it will be a "lasting" phone... battery usually dies after 3 years... so, a replaceable battery is a good thing.
Don't worry about updates. Microsoft have a good track record in updating their phone.
Heck even Lumia 920 which introduced in 2012 still can update to W10 mobile.
Basically all older Lumia phone entitled to update to the upcoming W10 mobile.
ameri
post Jul 24 2015, 06:32 PM

484 posts

Features depend on hardware.
Some features like Hello Cortana, Continuum and upcoming Windows Hello (of course iris scanner required) wont be available on unsupported hardware.
Well, at least you get refreshed UI + performance upgrade. So every time major update rolled out, you fell like you own a brand new phone again.
ameri
post Jul 28 2015, 03:05 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(doolichan @ Jul 28 2015, 02:37 PM)
Base on the leaked specs talkman doesn't seem to have LTE. Getting interested in cityman though
So does Cityman doesn't mention got LTE or not.
Tell me today's flagship that doesn't have LTE.
Even Lumia 920 from 3 years ago got LTE.
Doesn't mentioned in the leaked spec doesn't mean it lacks from it.
So does all other connection that didn't mentioned like bluetooth, NFC etc doesn't means it lacks from it.
Plus all high end Snapdragon chip supports LTE.

0.0203sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:25 PM