Windows 10 for Phone, Now available for download

aliesterfiend
post Aug 14 2015, 02:43 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

How to force update ? When I check the update option it shows mine is up to date but actually still on 10166.
aliesterfiend
post Aug 14 2015, 05:50 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ryanlow134 @ Aug 14 2015, 02:48 PM)
Have you installed Windows Insider and select the fast ring after you've upgraded to Windows 10 Mobile?
I have chosen the slower build. Couldn't find anywhere to change unlike the pc version as far as I know.

In anycase, can someone point me the link for the best way I can do rollback to windows 8.1 ? Mine is lumia 532.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Aug 14 2015, 05:51 PM
aliesterfiend
post Aug 14 2015, 10:51 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Does anyone else have any problem connecting the phone to pc (or laptop) via USB cble ?
aliesterfiend
post Aug 17 2015, 01:31 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Aug 15 2015, 04:36 PM)
what problem you facing?
Phone cannot detect to both my Win10 pc and Win8.1 laptop. I can charge fine but the phone does not appear in 'My Computer'.

I did manage to force upgrade to the 10522 (?) version by changing the slow ring to fast ring but was wondering if I should do clear installation instead.

This is just my secondary phone and I don't really need to back up any data though. I can redownload my songs from the cloud (have problem sually wehn downloading songs from cloud (OneDrive) as with every 10 that I choose to download, maybe only 5 will get though. The rest are just the title with no data in them.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Aug 17 2015, 01:34 PM
aliesterfiend
post Sep 28 2015, 09:28 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(medan78 @ Sep 23 2015, 09:28 PM)
I rolled back to 8.1 recently. Found the latest update 101536 to be more buggy than before. Main problem is battery drain. Seems this is different on each model. Using 640XL.

Hopefully the final version will iron out these issuea. As of now, I'm happy with the smoothness 8.1 offers.
Same for me. I'm still going to get win10 though with a new phone once the thing becomes official.
aliesterfiend
post Nov 1 2015, 06:00 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Does anyone or has it been mentioned somewhere when the real thing will come out ?
aliesterfiend
post Nov 30 2015, 01:20 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(tkk_21 @ Nov 30 2015, 09:21 AM)
do you guys manage to get voice navigation on waze? my waze can navi but no voice navigation. on w10m 10586 L640LTE.
I tried with both win8.1 and win10 but no lock. However now I'm using HereDrive. Get's the job done and I don't have to install 3rd party apps. smile.gif
aliesterfiend
post Dec 2 2015, 10:28 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

When 8.1 can be officially upgraded to 10 ?
aliesterfiend
post Dec 14 2015, 09:41 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Just checking if anyone have an issue with charging the phone after upgrading to windows 10 ? My 532 been having this problem (most of the time it says 'connecting but not charging'). Not sure if it's my phone problem or something to do with the OS.

I couldn't even charge using usb cable and pc/laptop since it does not detect.

p/s: I wasn't using the original charger though since my original charger was 'killed' by my 2 year old daughter.
aliesterfiend
post Dec 15 2015, 09:40 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Dec 14 2015, 07:15 PM)
the phone will show charging if I leave it there charging
if I use it for a while during charging it will shows the same thing like yours
and the charging time is extremely long, 4 hours for full charge on my 1520, changing to a more powerful charger with 2A output doesn't make any difference. I'm pretty sure 1520 can charge faster with 2A output charger when I was on wp8.1.
maybe win10m is still buggy or maybe our phone lack proper firmware
extra info shows im on lumia cyan, but I actually update to win10m from lumia denim
When I use cheap charger it came a warning that 'the phone will charge faster if you use charger that comes with the phone' or something like that. The thing is that I can't charge the phone anymore and it's totally out. Not sure if KLCC store sell any original charger (last time I went they don't have one).

To send for warranty, do I need to revert back to windows 8.1 ?

p/s: it's true indeed that windows 10 battery life is better than windows 8.1 for my normal usage though.
aliesterfiend
post Dec 15 2015, 03:07 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Dec 15 2015, 10:48 AM)
if you send back for warranty they will revert to wp8.1 for you too
most likely it's the w10m problem, not the hardware
if you really want to be sure, revert back to wp8.1 and try charging it
After few trouble shooting (thanks to the nice girl at Microsoft KLCC) it's not battery issue. smile.gif I tested using one of the display phone battery and my phone turn on okay. My battery is charging accordingly when using the display phone.

So now, it goes down to 2 issue, windows 10 or the port.

Since I can't charge my phone (connected, but not charging) I kinda temporarily swap my battery with the one on display so I can do the rollback later at home.

If after rollback it's still not charging then I guess it's port (not likely though since it can connect and detect the phone) then must be the OS.

What I'm afraid if some other firmware related issue since this phone is also use by my young kids (to play games or just to test whether gravity works tongue.gif ) so it could also be because of some hard abuse (bending etcs).

Whatever, cross finger and I hope the roll back works.

Any suggestion besides official Nokia/Microsoft charge and cable, what other brands I can use ?

Any particular spec that I should look at (voltage whatever) ?

aliesterfiend
post Dec 16 2015, 11:31 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Any news when 550 will be available ? May want to replace my 532
aliesterfiend
post Dec 16 2015, 12:45 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Dec 16 2015, 12:23 PM)
port mostly get damaged due to overcharging, usually damaged port wont be able to detect any connection. most likely the problem is caused by the OS
my problem is just the same as yours
when I use wireless charging on my 1520 it also takes 4 hours for a full charge.
so battery no problem, charging port no problem, definitely the OS is causing such long charging time.
Ok. Last night I tried again, the phone is connected (I can access the sd card using pc).

However it does not detect when using 'windows device recovery tool'. mad.gif I've tried manual/force rebooting still it can't detect the phone so can't do rollback.

Maybe because I was using cheap RM 15 usb cable. Going to find a good 'expensive' data transfer cable to see if it works. Any suggestion which brand I can buy ?

Anything that's sold in KLCC preferably.
aliesterfiend
post Dec 16 2015, 02:35 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 16 2015, 12:55 PM)
Eye targeting 430 as secondary phone because 920 as the primary phone. Is buying 532 better than 430?
I bought 532 for 399 last time. Never have complaint (except this now charging issues which may or may not caused of my windows 10 upgrade).

Otherwise it's pretty good for it's price.
aliesterfiend
post Dec 16 2015, 05:31 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Dec 16 2015, 04:27 PM)
it's best to use original cable, I don't know what 3rd party brand to recommend
maybe u should try to reinstall and update the driver
Couldn't find any original nokia/lumia/microsoft charger at KLCC so bought Belkin one. Same this, connected but not charging. One thing left to do is to rollback later tonight (hopefully I have the time).

Good thing is that my battery is not full thanks to KLCC Microsoft shop. biggrin.gif

Ok, found this links.

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-217...ng-windows.html

http://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions/plu...harging-345945/

I guess reformat and reinstall might fix the phone.

If I can't rollback then I guess I will try a clean reinstall on windows 10 and see what happened next.

If still can't.. then unfortunately have to go to servie centre lah. sad.gif

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Dec 16 2015, 06:00 PM
aliesterfiend
post Dec 17 2015, 09:50 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Dec 16 2015, 06:31 PM)
I don't think reformat or reinstall will help, those links are talking about battery of computer/laptop
try to do a hard reset if you haven't done it after upgrading from wp8.1
and try to uninstall and reinstall the driver of windows phone
WDRT should have a "My device was not detected" button for you to click
What I mean reformat/reinstall is reverting back to win 8.1 (which I finally manage to do it last night).

Using Belkin cable it detects easily and I manage to do it in about 15-20 minutes.

However when I charge the phone it shows the usual battery charging icon but when I woke up at 5 am this morning my battery is still at 55% (when I started to charge before I went to sleep).

SO I took out the battery, gosok² sikit the battery and the insides of the phone then battery can charge. I change to flight mode and the battery was fully charged (100%) in an hour.

So I guess it's hardware defect ?

Anyone can gove me the exact address for microsoft service centre ?

I think it's near or inside amcorp mall pj.

aliesterfiend
post Dec 18 2015, 08:50 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Dec 18 2015, 06:44 AM)
Mobile Technic Sdn Bhd

[attachmentid=5561316]
Thanks man. Now for the past 2 days since I downgraded no more battery charging issues (except the first time). Probably the trip to service centre will be delayed a bit. biggrin.gif

aliesterfiend
post Jan 20 2016, 02:44 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(ajax91 @ Jan 19 2016, 05:22 PM)
anyone on fast ring?
how is the latest build?
I plan to change to fast ring from slow ring
I am right now using my 'just came back from repair' 532.

Pro:

1. Faster than 8.1
2. Smaller OS file size
3. Battery performance seems better than 8.1 (no hard data, just feels like it).

However encountered few issues.

1. Twice after receiving calls screen goes totally blank like the 'black screen of death'. The second time I had to hard reset (the first time just turn the power button off/on only).

2. Using groove music, when I unlock the phone, the music/app stops. Not sure if by design or the app simply crashed.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 21 2016, 09:24 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Jan 20 2016, 07:58 PM)
What is the problem with your 532 that make you sent it for repair?
Mainboard. Cannot charge.
aliesterfiend
post Jan 22 2016, 09:35 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Jan 22 2016, 08:55 AM)
I see. After how many month of ownership?
Bought after raya last year. I think around August ?

Charging issue. Can connect to the phone find but charging is kinda touch and go. Sometimes can charge and sometimes cannot.

Anyway, I just went to KLCC to play around with 550. Not much different than my 532 except slightly bigger screen but the inside I think are mostly around same spec.

Guess I'm going to wait for 650.

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: Jan 22 2016, 09:37 AM

0.0331sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:57 AM