Travel Travel to Japan V6, Discover Japan start here.

ch1ck3n
post Mar 24 2015, 11:10 PM

1,437 posts

hey guys, seem to have really a lot of frequent japanese travellers here.

Well AA sale and just got myself tickets to Japan.
I went once to Osaka, Nagoya, Kyoto and back to Osaka. This was done in 6 days. We rushed pretty much the whole way.

This time round.

15 days in total, getting hitched end of this year. so this trip is considered a honeymoon trip!
ch1ck3n
post Mar 24 2015, 11:10 PM

1,437 posts

hey guys, seem to have really a lot of frequent japanese travellers here.

Well AA sale and just got myself tickets to Japan.
I went once to Osaka, Nagoya, Kyoto and back to Osaka. This was done in 6 days. We rushed pretty much the whole way.

This time round.

15 days in total, getting hitched end of this year. so this trip is considered a honeymoon trip!

Would love to get some advice from the forumers here.
No idea where to start the planning.

I am flying in from Osaka, and will be exiting Haneda.

Me and my fiancee, love temples. Love local culture but we also love to see city life too.

I am guessing city life in Tokyo and all the culture and lovely views will be at Osaka, Kyoto, Nagoya and maybe Hiroshima area.

Would u suggest me to go for a 7 day JR Pass? or I would save money if I plan the trip really well and need not utilize the pass?

would also love to have any recommnedations for accomodation airbnb style smile.gif we pushed our budget a little above the beyond cause of the 15 day stay.. haha we were looking at 10-12...but.. hahaha what the heck.

thanks in advance guys

This post has been edited by ch1ck3n: Mar 24 2015, 11:14 PM
ch1ck3n
post Mar 24 2015, 11:16 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 24 2015, 11:12 PM)
Nice, when is your travelling period? congrats too  rclxms.gif
didnt realize i double posted..what the heck.

20th March 2016 - 4th April 2016. hoping sakura will come early next year and we can go hunting for it if we miss it in osaka Ie: going tokyo
ch1ck3n
post Mar 24 2015, 11:20 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 24 2015, 11:19 PM)
another 2016 sakura hunter here  laugh.gif
i wanted snow, it was simple to get snow.. my wife to be wants the sakura.. blush.gif try not to fail her as a new husband hahaha!
ch1ck3n
post Mar 30 2015, 11:39 AM

1,437 posts

initial planning right now, numbers of day is 15 days total. but not sure how to allocate yet. I am planning the journey so that we might not need to waste return train trips.

Flying in from Osaka:

Osaka (been here before, will spend the least amount of days here. Is it worth considering to have this as a base to travel to Nara/Kyoto? or should i move hotels and stay in Nara/Kyoto. I honestly prefer the pace of life in Nara/Kyoto. Osaka is much like Tokyo which will be featured quite heavily in the end of my trip)

to

Koya-san(Still KIV, love the view but may not be too keen in staying in a temple and the cost is a little over the budget) or Takayama (but will be later if it is )

to

Nara

to

Kyoto

to

Nagoya

to

Takayama (love the rural setting/post town setting of this town) / Hakone (fiancee would love to try to get a glimpse of mt fuji. even if not in full view at least near it haha)

to

Tokyo (will fly off from here )

Questions I would like to ask, if from Nagoya to Hakone. Is there a post town which I can visit which is similar to Takayama? I might want to skip koyasan. Would like to spend 1 or 2 nights in a rural setting and enjoy japanese small town culture.

Thank you in advance to sifus here.

EDIT : found there is kiso valley which fits the itinerary . =) would love to hear from sifus here if there is any notable places i should not miss out on?

thanks!

This post has been edited by ch1ck3n: Mar 30 2015, 12:01 PM
ch1ck3n
post Mar 30 2015, 12:50 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 30 2015, 12:33 PM)
From Nagoya > Hakone This Journey. Small Village town you can found are all at Nagano.

Since you got homework. Pass my test. I give you ''clue'' that kick start the homework.
How to go that you still need to do homework.

- Oshika
- Kiso
- Nagiso
- Nakagawa
- Ogawa
- Magome
So far most notable is to get from Nagoya to Nakatsugawa.

From there we go to Magome via Bus and forward our luggages through the information center from Magome to Tsumago.

Plan to take the beautiful trail from Magome to Tsumago, and homework shows Magome to Tsumago less uphill than the other way round.

Did more h/w and seems to me like there is no direct access from Kiso Valley to Hakone. Still have to go back to Shinjuku. From Shinjuku, will utilize the Hakone Free Pass to get to hakone and can try their romance car. haha

Was wondering if Kiso to Hakone is possible, seems likely not through hyperdia.
ch1ck3n
post Apr 1 2015, 10:47 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Apr 1 2015, 09:24 AM)
This yamazaki so nice to drink?
if you can get it cheap in Japan, it is worth it. Rrp in Malaysia is not worth it.
Also, Yamazaki shot to fame when they were awarded for being a top whiskey.

ch1ck3n
post Apr 1 2015, 02:16 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 1 2015, 01:14 PM)
Yeah ever since they shot to fame, visitors to Japan  are buying them in droves. So difficult to find the 12 year expression =(
i remember drinking it last time before they won it. that time still young. Dont know how to enjoy.Recently buy to drink and try. I feel it may be good for a 12, but for that price... a bit hesitant.

Honestly, if you can get a macallan 15 for yamazaki 12 price. macallan 15 is still a better drink to enjoy.

ch1ck3n
post Apr 1 2015, 04:48 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 1 2015, 04:22 PM)
I like how smooth it is compared to the likes of Glenfidditch 12 and Glenlivet 12, but yeah the price has been up recently.

Previously 4500yen duty free
Now 5700yen duty free, which will cease to sell
Next cheapest, 7000yen consumption tax free or 7580 after taxed, but hard to find due to its popularity
I've seen it being sold for close to 9000yen at certain shops. Crazy pricing.

On the other hand, I think Macallan 15 should be easy to find in Japan. Not as common as the 12, but the 12 is really cheap! Cheaper than what I can find in Langkawi
hahaha, go to distillery and drink FOC! two shots.
ch1ck3n
post Apr 3 2015, 08:41 AM

1,437 posts

hey guys, would you all prefer USJ or Disneyland..torn between the two!
ch1ck3n
post Apr 3 2015, 09:34 AM

1,437 posts

i am going from osaka to tokyo. so either is fine by me. i got my mind set on disney till i heard of the new harry potter attraction in USJ.. !
ch1ck3n
post Apr 5 2015, 03:59 PM

1,437 posts

another quick question guys, is it better if i move from osaka 2 night, to nara 2 night, then to kyoto 2 nights?

or should i base myself in one of these cities. will be using airbnb, and with airbnb the longer u rent, the better deal it is.

but this depends if cost of train travel or moving accomodation is better cost saving.

i am doing hw, dont shoot me! but would like to know personal opinion better. smile.gif
ch1ck3n
post Apr 5 2015, 04:22 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 5 2015, 04:05 PM)
Osaka and Kyoto either one can add one more night.
Nara no need overnight.
Just start your journey at 8am morning. You can finished Nara by 3 - 4pm then head back to Kyoto.
thank you smile.gif 2 nights for osaka only as i was based there for 4 nights previous trip.
will put more time in kyoto!

ch1ck3n
post Apr 6 2015, 10:30 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Apr 5 2015, 11:16 PM)
In appreciate to the sempais here and also to return to the community, I share my actual itinerary (slightly different from planned version, but not too different) as well as the total amount spent during my 10 day 9 night trip to Japan a week ago. Hopefully others can use it to get a rough idea on the budgeting required for their trip to Japan.

Itinerary
[attachmentid=4399781]

Budget (calculated based on 1000yen = RM30
[attachmentid=4399782]
The plan within Tokyo could've been more efficient, but some of it was decided on the spot when we decided we have extra time.

Under transportation, besides misc local trains, it also includes expensive ones such as:
All nikko pass + express ticket = 6430 yen
Bus to and return from Fuji Q = 3750 yen
Willer overnight bus to Kyoto = 7600 yen
So if you just plan to stay in Tokyo without going for day trips, it should be much lower

I think with even proper planning we could've saved some money on local trains by going with day passes, but we paid extra for the flexibility I guess since it is difficult to just rely on either the JR train pass or Metro train pass.
at that rate of accommodation, where were u staying.
i got similar itinerary to u next year, but i am from Osaka to Tokyo!
ch1ck3n
post Apr 6 2015, 11:50 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 6 2015, 11:45 AM)
Oh your figures are per person cost issit?
from his writing, i am pretty sure it is per night and also per person.

ch1ck3n
post Apr 9 2015, 10:04 PM

1,437 posts

sifus, if hunting for snow in march and not wanting to go for ski-ing. more for onsen in snow. is Minakami the right place to go? or by end of march, the snow would be all gone?

Minakami seems to very accessible through Tokyo.Thats why that pops out.

thanks!
ch1ck3n
post Apr 10 2015, 09:36 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(Dookie @ Apr 9 2015, 10:55 PM)
Why not go to Kusatsu instead. Went there early March last year, and there were still good amount of snow back then. And the onsen there is one of the better ones in whole Japan. You can reach there via joetsu shinkansen from Tokyo station.
Thank u for the heads up! homework time smile.gif

QUOTE(michlove @ Apr 10 2015, 09:21 AM)
During the latter half of March you will still see snow in Ainokura, Takayama and Shirakawa-go.
You should also be able to find plenty of snow in Unazuki Onsen town (Shin-Kurobe Station on Hokuriku Shinkansen, then Toyama Regional Railway to Unazuki Onsen).

http://www.kurobe-unazuki.jp/en

Because of heavy snow, Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route and Kurobe Gorge Railway won't be open in end of March. It only opens after mid April.
Thank u for the heads up! Have you been to mt fuji? the hike doesnt seem hard to do. wondering if there is snow up there haha.

ch1ck3n
post Apr 10 2015, 09:50 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Apr 10 2015, 09:40 AM)
snow at Mount fuji and climbing in March? go do homework first then ask here.
seems like i have an answer smile.gif haha..just a rough idea. never do hw on that climbing thing hahaha. it is a far fetch idea.

cheers ! biggrin.gif

0.0556sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:28 AM